DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 3/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of pending claim(s) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Regarding claim 1 (similarly, claims 23, 45 and 67), the Applicant argues that the combination of Zhou and Hasegawa fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations of:
a. “receiving, from a location server, a request location information message indicating that the network node is expected to report at least one positioning measurement of at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) resource for each of a plurality of timing error groups (TEGs) of the network node” and
b. “performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over one or more repetitions of the at least one PRS resource based on a capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources”.
However, the Examiner maintains that Zhou, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
a. “receiving, from a location server, a request location information message indicating that the network node is expected to report at least one positioning measurement of at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) resource for each of a plurality of timing error groups (TEGs) of the network node” (= UE receives a request from gNB to transmit an SRS for positioning, see [0054 and 0086]; and in some embodiments of Rel-16 positioning, the IE NR-UL-ProvideCapabilities may be used by a UE to support UL-PRS and to provide UL-PRS capabilities of the target device to the location server, see [0057 and 0094])
The Examiner also maintains that the Hasegawa teaches the claimed limitations: b. “performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over one or more repetitions of the at least one PRS resource based on a capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources” (= WTRU may be configured by LMF to receive a first PRS, second PRS and third PRS resource to determine location estimate, see [0223 and 0197]; WTRU may be configured to perform TEG measurement and are reporting, see [0233]; WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, see [0234]; WTRU may be configured to use multiple TEDs for DL-PRS reception and UL-PRS transmission in a set of resource; and WTRU may use at least two DL-PRS resources to measure RSTD, see [0237 and 0247]).
Therefore, the combination of Zhou and Hasegawa is proper and the Office Action is being made FINAL as shown below.
3. The rejection of all the dependent claims, by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims, is also being made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-15, 23-31, 34-37, 45-53, 56-59, 67-75 and 78-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhou et al., (US 2022/0357420), (hereinafter, Zhou 1) in view of Hasegawa et al., (US 2023/0388959), (hereinafter, Hasegawa).
Regarding claims 1, 23, 45 and 67 Zhou discloses a method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium of wireless positioning performed by a network node, comprising:
receiving, from a location server, a request location information message indicating that the network node is expected to report at least one positioning measurement of at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) resource for each of a plurality of timing error groups (TEGs) of the network node (= UE sends a NR-UL-ProvideCapabilities to a gNB indicating that the UE is capable to report a TEG for UL TDOA; UE receives a request from gNB to transmit an SRS for positioning, see [0054]; and in some embodiments of Rel-16 positioning, the IE NR-UL-ProvideCapabilities may be used by a UE to support UL-PRS and to provide UL-PRS capabilities of the target device to the location server, see [0057]); and
transmitting, to the location server, a provide location information message including at least the plurality of TEGs and the at least one positioning measurement associated with each of the plurality of TEGs (= UE transmits SRS for positioning; UE may report a TEG with the SRS; and the Tx TEGs information may then be forwarded to the LMF, see [0056]).
Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitation of:
“performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over one or more repetitions of the at least one PRS resource based on a capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources”.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitation of:
“performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over one or more repetitions of the at least one PRS resource based on a capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources” (= WTRU may be configured by LMF to receive a first PRS, second PRS and third PRS resource to determine location estimate, see [0223 and 0197]; WTRU may be configured to perform TEG measurement and are reporting, see [0233]; WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, see [0234]; WTRU may be configured to use multiple TEDs for DL-PRS reception and UL-PRS transmission in a set of resource; and WTRU may use at least two DL-PRS resources to measure RSTD, see [0237 and 0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 2, 24, 46 and 68 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is capable of performing simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources, and performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs comprises performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over one repetition of the at least one PRS resource.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the method/network node/non-transitory computer-readable medium is capable of performing simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources, and performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs comprises performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over one repetition of the at least one PRS resource (= WTRU may be configured by LMF to receive a first PRS, second PRS and third PRS resource to determine location estimate, see [0223]; WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, see [0234]; WTRU may be configured to use multiple TEDs for DL-PRS reception and UL-PRS transmission in a set of resource, see [0237 and 0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 3, 25, 47, 69 as mentioned in claim 2, 24 46 and 68, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: transmitting a provide location information message to the location server after the one repetition of the at least one PRS resource.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: transmitting a provide location information message to the location server after the one repetition of the at least one PRS resource (see, [0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 4, 26, 48 and 70 as mentioned in claim 1, 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is not capable of performing simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources, and performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs comprises performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over a plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is not capable of performing simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources, and performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs comprises performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over a plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource.
(see, [0240 and 0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 5, 27, 49 and 71 as mentioned in claim 4, 26, 48 and 70, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over the plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource comprises: performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource using a different TEG of the plurality of TEGs in each of the plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for each of the plurality of TEGs over the plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource comprises: performing the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource using a different TEG of the plurality of TEGs in each of the plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource (see, [0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 6, 28, 50 and 72 as mentioned in claim 4, 26, 48 and 70, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: transmitting a provide location information message to the location server after the plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: transmitting a provide location information message to the location server after the plurality of repetitions of the at least one PRS resource (see, [0246]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 7, 29, 51 and 73 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein each of the plurality of TEGs is associated with a transmit beam or a receive beam used to perform the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for that TEG.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein each of the plurality of TEGs is associated with a transmit beam or a receive beam used to perform the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for that TEG (see, [0234-35 and 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 8, 30, 52 and 74 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein each of the plurality of TEGs is associated with a transmit antenna or a receive antenna used to perform the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for that TEG.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein each of the plurality of TEGs is associated with a transmit antenna or a receive antenna used to perform the at least one positioning measurement of the at least one PRS resource for that TEG (see, [0234-35 and 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 9, 31, 53 and 75 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: transmitting, to the location server, a provide capabilities message indicating capabilities of the network node to measure PRS resources for a positioning session, the provide capabilities message including at least one or more parameters indicating the capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: transmitting, to the location server, a provide capabilities message indicating capabilities of the network node to measure PRS resources for a positioning session, the provide capabilities message including at least one or more parameters indicating the capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources (see, [0234-35 and 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 12, 34, 56 and 78 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a user equipment (UE), the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one downlink PRS resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a reception time of the at least one downlink PRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Rx TEGs, the request location information message is received via Long-Ter Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP), and the provide location information message is transmitted via LPP.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a user equipment (UE), the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one downlink PRS resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a reception time of the at least one downlink PRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Rx TEGs, the request location information message is received via Long-Ter Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP), and the provide location information message is transmitted via LPP (see, [0189 and 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 13, 35, 57 and 79 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a UE, the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a transmission time of the at least one SRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Tx TEGs, the request location information message is received via LPP, and the provide location information message is transmitted via LPP.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a UE, the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a transmission time of the at least one SRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Tx TEGs, the request location information message is received via LPP, and the provide location information message is transmitted via LPP (see, [0124, 0135, 0141 and 0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 14, 36, 58 and 80 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a base station, the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one SRS resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a reception time of the at least one SRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Rx TEGs, the request location information message is received via New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa), and the provide location information message is transmitted via NRPPa.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a base station, the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one SRS resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a reception time of the at least one SRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Rx TEGs, the request location information message is received via New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa), and the provide location information message is transmitted via NRPPa (see, [0124, 0135, 0141 and 0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
Regarding claims 15, 37, 59 and 81 as mentioned in claim 1, 23, 45 and 67, Zhou explicitly fails to disclose the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a base station, the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one downlink PRS resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a transmission time of the at least one downlink PRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Tx TEGs, the request location information message is received via NRPPa, and the provide location information message is transmitted via NRPPa.
However, Hasegawa, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the network node is a base station, the at least one PRS resource comprises at least one downlink PRS resource, the at least one positioning measurement is based on a transmission time of the at least one downlink PRS resource, the plurality of TEGs comprises a plurality of Tx TEGs, the request location information message is received via NRPPa, and the provide location information message is transmitted via NRPPa (see, [0124, 0135, 0141 and 0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Hasegawa with Zhou for the benefit of achieving a communication system that a device receives a positioning reference signal via multiple paths thereby helping in determining an RTT.
5. Claims 10-11, 32-33, 54-55 and 76-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhou 1 and Hasegawa in view of Zhou et al., (US 2022/0252690), (hereinafter, Zhou 2).
Regarding claims 10, 32, 54 and 76, as mentioned in claim 9, 31, 53 and 75, the combination of Zhou 1 and Hasegawa explicitly fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more parameters indicating the capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources are reported per frequency band or per frequency band combination.
However, Zhou 2, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein: the method wherein the one or more parameters indicating the capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources are reported per frequency band or per frequency band combination (see, [0132-33 and 0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Zhou 2 with Zhou 1 and Hasegawa for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes techniques for New Radio positioning enhancements.
Regarding claims 11, 33, 55 and 77, as mentioned in claim 9, 31, 53 and 75, the combination of Zhou 1 and Hasegawa explicitly fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more parameters indicating the capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources include: a number of receive (Rx) TEGs supported per positioning frequency layer (PFL), a number of transmit (Tx) TEGs supported per PFL, a number of (Rx, Tx) TEG pairs supported per PFL,a number of Rx-Tx TEGs supported per PFL, a number of simultaneous Rx TEGs the network node can process per PFL, a number of simultaneous Tx TEGs the network node can process per PFL, a number of simultaneous (Rx, Tx) TEG pairs the network node can process per PFL, a number of simultaneous Rx-Tx TEGs the network node can process per PFL, or any combination thereof.
However, Zhou 2, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/network node/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the one or more parameters indicating the capability of the network node to perform simultaneous TEG processing of PRS resources include: a number of receive (Rx) TEGs supported per positioning frequency layer (PFL), a number of transmit (Tx) TEGs supported per PFL, a number of (Rx, Tx) TEG pairs supported per PFL,a number of Rx-Tx TEGs supported per PFL, a number of simultaneous Rx TEGs the network node can process per PFL, a number of simultaneous Tx TEGs the network node can process per PFL, a number of simultaneous (Rx, Tx) TEG pairs the network node can process per PFL, a number of simultaneous Rx-Tx TEGs the network node can process per PFL, or any combination thereof(see, [0132-33 and 0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Zhou 2 with Zhou 1 and Hasegawa for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes techniques for New Radio positioning enhancements.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 16-22, 38-44, 60-66 and 82-88 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.