DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 5, 7-8, 13-15, 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/01/2026.
The Examiner notes the Applicant also elected claims 9-10 and 16. Claims 9-10 depend from non-elected claim 8 which is directed to the unelected embodiment of fig.5. Additionally, Applicant elected claim 16 which depends from non-elected claim 15 which is directed to the unelected embodiment of fig.3.
Subsequently, claims 9-10 and 16 are also considered withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 11-12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Otake et al. (US 2008/0212630).
With respect to claim 1, Otake discloses a laser element (fig.6) comprising: a laminated semiconductor layer (fig.6 #111/112/113/114) including a first reflection layer (fig.6 #112) with respect to a first wavelength ([0028] wavelength of vcsel) and an active layer (fig.6 #113) that performs surface emission at the first wavelength; a laser medium (fig.6 #131) disposed on a rear side of an optical axis of the laminated semiconductor layer and including a second reflection layer (fig.6 #132) with respect to a second wavelength ([0043]) on a first surface (fig.6 #131 lower) facing the laminated semiconductor layer and a third reflection layer (fig.6 #116) with respect to the first wavelength ([0028]) on a second surface (fig.6 #131 top) on a side opposite to the first surface; a fourth reflection layer (fig.6 #133) with respect to the second wavelength ([0043]), the forth reflection layer being disposed on the second surface or disposed on a rear side of the optical axis with respect to the second surface; a first resonator that causes light of the first wavelength to resonate between the first reflection layer and the third reflection layer (see fig.1 lambda0); a second resonator that causes light of the second wavelength to resonate between the second reflection layer and the fourth reflection layer (see fig.1 lambda1); and a heat exhaust unit (fig.6 #119 + air gap #120) that is disposed between the laminated semiconductor layer and the laser medium, and exhausts heat generated in at least one of the laminated semiconductor layer or the laser medium (metal of #119 necessarily sinks heat, while air gap allows for convective cooling), wherein the optical axis of the laminated semiconductor layer and an optical axis of the laser medium are coaxially arranged (as seen in fig.1/6).
With respect to claim 2, Otake discloses the heat exhaust unit includes a first member (fig.6 #119) disposed between the laminated semiconductor layer and the laser medium and having a thermal conductivity higher than the laser medium ([0034] #119 is Au based metal having higher thermal conductivity than YAG).
With respect to claim 4, Otake discloses a second member (fig.6 air gap slit #120) that is bonded to a side surface of the laminated semiconductor layer, a side surface of the first member, and a side surface of the laser medium (fig.6 slit #120 bonded to the outlined elements based on connection at #119; note that ‘direct’ bonding/contact not claimed) and dissipates heat transmitted to the first member (based on convective cooling via air flow).
With respect to claim 11, Otake discloses a plurality of the first resonators and a plurality of the second resonators in a plane direction of the laminated semiconductor layer, the heat exhaust unit, and the laser medium (see fig.14).
With respect to claim 12, Otake discloses the heat exhaust unit has an air gap disposed between the laminated semiconductor layer and the laser medium (fig.6 air gap slit #120).
With respect to claim 19, Otake discloses the laminated semiconductor layer includes a fifth reflection layer (fig.6 #114) with respect to the first wavelength ([0028]) disposed on a side closer to the laser medium than the first reflection layer, and the fifth reflection layer transmits a part of the light of the first wavelength (necessarily true for pumping light to reach #131; see also lambda0 in fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake in view of Essaian et al. (US 9019999).
With respect to claim 6, Otake teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the first member contains at least one of sapphire or diamond, and the second member includes a metal material. Essaian teaches a similar diode pumped solid state laser (fig.1) which includes a sapphire endcap (fig.1 #6) formed on the solid state element and between the pump and solid state element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Otake by adding a sapphire endcap between the pump and solid state laser as taught by Essaian in order to remove heat and improve efficiency (Essaian, col.8 lines 15-20).
Note that after combination, the sapphire cap is labeled as the first member while the metal #119 of Otake is labeled as the second member and which continues to meet the limitations outlined in claims 1 and 4 above.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake in view of Hirano (PCT/JP2019/042302; US 2022/0029377 used as a translation thereof).
With respect to claim 18, Otake teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the fourth reflection layer is an output coupling mirror in the second resonator. Hirano teaches a related diode pumped solid state laser (fig.1) which includes the option of using an end reflection coating (fig.7) or an outcoupling mirror (fig.1 #8) at the resonator end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Otake to remove the fourth reflection layer and provide it’s function instead as a separate output coupling mirror as demonstrated by Hirano as Hirano has demonstrated each is a suitable option (see MPEP 2144.06 II) and spacing apart the end mirror would for adding components to the solid state laser cavity (see also MPEP 2144.04 V C).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake in view of Shi et al. (US 2022/0345220).
With respect to claim 20, Otake teaches the device outlined above in the rejection of claim 1, but does not specify a control unit that performs control to emit light from the laser element. Shi teaches a related diode pumped element (fig.10a), with the pumped element being formed within the cavity of the diode (fig.10a #1040) and further the use of a driving control ([0118]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Otake to make use of a control unit to control the laser element as demonstrated by Shi in order to provide a source of current to allow the laser to produce light in a desired manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the included pto892 form for a list of related art.
US 7039075, 6667999, 6101201, 5982802 are noted as teaching related cooling systems for devices similar to that outlined in claim 1.
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828