DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the laminated glazing and multilayered interlayer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0232624 Lu.
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches a laminated glazing (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a first rigid substrate (paragraph 0051);
a multilayer polymer interlayer (paragraph 0030); and
a second rigid substrate (paragraph 0051);
wherein the multilayer polymer interlayer comprises:
a first layer (skin) comprising a first poly(vinyl acetal) resin (Resin-C, paragraph 0086) having a first residual hydroxyl content (Table 2, 19%) and a first residual acetate content (paragraph 0080, 2%), and a first plasticizer (Table 2 teaching a phr), wherein the first layer has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 30°C (Table 1, examples DL-1 to DL-4),
a second layer (core) comprising a second poly(vinyl acetal) resin (Resin-A, Table 1, examples DL-1 to DL-4) having a second residual hydroxyl content (paragraph 0078, 10-11%), and a second plasticizer (Table 1 teaching phr), wherein the second layer has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of -3°C (Table 1, examples DL-1 to DL-4); and
a third layer (skin) comprising a third poly(vinyl acetal) resin (Resin-C, paragraph 0086) having a third residual hydroxyl content (Table 2, 19%) and a third plasticizer (Table 2 teaching a phr), wherein the third layer has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 30°C (Table 1, examples DL-1 to DL-4),
wherein the second layer is between the first layer and the third layer (paragraph 0086 teaching core and skin layers),
wherein the laminated glazing has a damping loss factor (η) of 0.37 (Table 3, example DI-1).
Lu does not explicitly teach the loss factor per area. However, Lu does teach the loss factor (η) measured according to the MIM method (paragraph 0058). As shown by Applicant (see instant figure 4), the loss factor measured according to the MIM method corresponds to the loss factor per area. Therefore, while Lu only explicitly teaches the loss factor measured according to MIM, because this corresponds to the loss factor per area, the loss factor per area of Lu would also fall within the claimed range of “at least 0.0450.”
Regarding claim 2, Lu teaches that the first poly(vinyl acetal) resin and the third poly(vinyl acetal) resin are the same (paragraph 0086, both skin layers using Resin-C).
Regarding claim 3, Lu teaches that the difference between the first residual hydroxyl content and the second residual hydroxyl content is 7-9 wt% (paragraph 0078 and paragraph 0080 teaching the hydroxyl contents for both resins).
Regarding claim 7, Lu teaches that the interlayer comprises an IR absorber in at least one layer (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Lu teaches that the interlayer further comprises a non-poly(vinyl acetal) layer (paragraph 0049, PU for example).
Regarding claim 9, Lu teaches that the interlayer has a damping loss factor (η) of 0.37 (Table 3, example DI-1).
Lu does not explicitly teach the loss factor per area. However, Lu does teach the loss factor (η) measured according to the MIM method (paragraph 0058). As shown by Applicant (see instant figure 4), the loss factor measured according to the MIM method corresponds to the loss factor per area. Therefore, while Lu only explicitly teaches the loss factor measured according to MIM, because this corresponds to the loss factor per area, the loss factor per area of Lu would also fall within the claimed range of “at least 0.29.”
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches that the laminated glazing is a window in a vehicle (paragraph 0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0232624 Lu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0143649 Oota et al.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Lu teaches the laminated glazing but does not teach a tapered interlayer. Oota teaches a multilayered laminated glazing where the multilayer interlayer is a tapered interlayer (paragraph 0065), and one layer of the multilayered interlayer has a tapered profile (figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the tapered shape of Oota in the product of Lu because this reduces the occurrence of double images (paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 6, Lu teaches the laminated glazing but does not teach a shade band. Oota teaches a multilayered laminated glazing where the interlayer has a gradient color band (paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the shade band of Oota in the product of Lu because this reduces the glare for the driver (paragraph 0044). Please note that “gradient” is satisfied by the presence of color in the shade band, and the relative lack of color in the transparent portion of the glazing.
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches most of the limitations with respect to claim 1 above. Lu teaches that the laminated glazing is a window in a vehicle (paragraph 0003), but does not specify windshield. Oota teaches a multilayered laminated glazing where the glazing is used as a windshield (paragraph 0177). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the windshield use of Oota in the product of Lu because this is one of the windows in a vehicle (Lu paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches that the first poly(vinyl acetal) resin and the third poly(vinyl acetal) resin are the same (paragraph 0086, both skin layers using Resin-C).
Regarding claim 13, Lu teaches that the difference between the first residual hydroxyl content and the second residual hydroxyl content is 7-9 wt% (paragraph 0078 and paragraph 0080 teaching the hydroxyl contents for both resins).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Lu teaches the laminated glazing but does not teach a tapered interlayer. Oota teaches a multilayered laminated glazing where the multilayer interlayer is a tapered interlayer (paragraph 0065), and one layer of the multilayered interlayer has a tapered profile (figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the tapered shape of Oota in the product of Lu because this reduces the occurrence of double images (paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 16, Lu teaches the laminated glazing but does not teach a shade band. Oota teaches a multilayered laminated glazing where the interlayer has a gradient color band (paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the shade band of Oota in the product of Lu because this reduces the glare for the driver (paragraph 0044). Please note that “gradient” is satisfied by the presence of color in the shade band, and the relative lack of color in the transparent portion of the glazing.
Regarding claim 17, Lu teaches that the interlayer comprises an IR absorber in at least one layer (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 18, Lu teaches that the interlayer further comprises a non-poly(vinyl acetal) layer (paragraph 0049, PU for example).
Regarding claim 19, Lu teaches that the interlayer has a damping loss factor (η) of 0.37 (Table 3, example DI-1).
Lu does not explicitly teach the loss factor per area. However, Lu does teach the loss factor (η) measured according to the MIM method (paragraph 0058). As shown by Applicant (see instant figure 4), the loss factor measured according to the MIM method corresponds to the loss factor per area. Therefore, while Lu only explicitly teaches the loss factor measured according to MIM, because this corresponds to the loss factor per area, the loss factor per area of Lu would also fall within the claimed range of “at least 0.29.”
Regarding claim 20, Oota further teaches that the windshield is used for a head-up display in a vehicle (paragraph 0177).
Conclusion
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781