DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the application filed on November 8, 2023 and any subsequent filings.
Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 1-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Estachy (US 10688414 B2) (appears on the PTO-892).
Regarding Claim 1, Estachy teaches a filter (Filter 100, Estachy, Pr 89, Figure 12) comprising a casing (casing 110, Estachy, Pr 89) and a plurality of filtering elements (filter elements 10, Estachy, Pr 90, Figure 1) stacked between a first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) and a second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4), wherein the first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) rests against the casing in a stacking direction of the filtering elements (filter elements 10, Estachy, Pr 54, Figure 4), where the filter further comprises a cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) coupled to the second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4) by a return system configured to return the second cover towards the first cover (Biasing means 56, e.g. springs, are mounted so as to force the first cover 50 against the stack of filter elements 10 and ensure that adjacent filter elements 10 are tightly pressed against one another between the first cover 50 and the second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 68, Figure 4) where the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) rests against the casing (casing 110, Estachy, Pr 89) in the stacking direction and the second cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) separates (divider 70, Estachy, Pr 87, Figure 4) a zone of the casing adapted to receive filtered fluid ( core 76, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) from a zone of the casing adapted to receive fluid to filter ( inlet portions 112, Estachy, Pr 92, Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 2, the cover backing is openwork (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Estachy discloses a return system that has at least one return assembly each of the at least one return assembly that has a spring and a stressing member for applying stress on the spring (Biasing means 56, e.g. springs, are mounted so as to force the first cover 50 against the stack of filter elements 10 and ensure that adjacent filter elements 10 are tightly pressed against one another between the first cover 50 and the second cover 60 the springs are fastened using sleeves 56 a, Estachy, Pr 68, Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estachy, et al., U.S. Patent No. 10688414 B2 ("Estachy"), in view of Nurse, et al., U.S. Patent No. 6338797 B1 ("Nurse").
Regarding Claim 3, paragraph 7 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy, to achieve invention of claim 1. Estachy further discloses first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) and the second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4). Estachy does not teach a gasket in the filter.
Nurse discloses a gasket (annular seal 34, Nurse, Column 4, line 40-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the unified invention of Estachy with some limitations of Nurse because both the unified invention of Estachy and Nurse fall within the same field of innovation regarding filters. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Nurse streamlined fluid flow and improved overall performance of the filtering system while also reducing costs (Nurse, Column 1, line 48-52) in terms of the assembly costs and material costs (nurse, Column 1, line 53-58).
Regarding Claim 5, paragraph 7 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy, to achieve invention of claim 1. Paragraphs 13-16 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references does teach a sleeve (sleeve filter 20, Nurse, Column 4, line 35-38) extending from the first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) to the second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 9, paragraphs 13-16 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references does teach a filter (Filter 100, Estachy, Pr 89, Figure 12), that has stacking of a plurality of filtering elements (stacking a selected number of filter element pairs, Estachy, Pr 3, Figure 4) between a first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) and a second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4); connecting a transmission part (also referred to as a sleeve)(inner surface 55, Estachy, Pr 66, Figure 4) to the first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4); coupling a cover backing to the second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4) via a return system, wherein the return system (Biasing means 56, e.g. springs, are mounted so as to force the first cover 50 against the stack of filter elements 10 and ensure that adjacent filter elements 10 are tightly pressed against one another between the first cover 50 and the second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 68, Figure 4) is configured to return the second cover towards the first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4); prestressing the return system (Biasing means 56, e.g. springs, are mounted and are tightly pressed against one another between the first cover 50 and the second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 68, Figure 4) and fastening the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) to the transmission part (sleeve filter 20, Nurse, Column 4, line 35-38); mounting the plurality of filtering elements (filter elements 10, Estachy, Pr 54, Figure 4) in a casing such that the first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) rests against the casing in a stacking direction of the filtering elements (filter elements 10, Estachy, Pr 54, Figure 4); and the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) from the transmission part (sleeve filter 20, Nurse, Column 4, line 35-38), such that the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) rests against the casing in the stacking direction and that the second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4) separates a zone of the casing adapted to receive filtered fluid from a zone of the casing adapted to receive fluid to filter (Estachy, Figure 4).
Claims 6-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estachy, et al., U.S. Patent No. 10688414 B2 ("Estachy"), in view of Nurse, et al., U.S. Patent No. 6338797 B1 ("Nurse"), in further view of Brandt, et al. U.S. Patent Application No. 20120292243 A1 ("Brandt ").
Regarding Claim 6, paragraph 17 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 5. The combination of references discloses a sleeve that has connection with at least one of the first cover and the second cover. The combination of references does not disclose a sleeve with a keyed connection.
Brandt teaches a sleeve with a keyed connection (exterior sleeve 53, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the unified invention of Estachy and Nurse with some limitations of Brandt because both the unified invention of Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt fall within the same field of innovation regarding filters. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Brandt increases the reliably removing contaminants from the fluid, reusability of the core assembly, allows for the filter to easily removed and replaced once it becomes fouled (Brandt, Pr 7), and cleaned in place and reinstalled (Brandt, Pr 8).
Regarding Claim 7, paragraph 17 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 5. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a sleeve has a circumferential groove at a side of the second cover opposite the filtering elements (exterior sleeve 53, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8 paragraph 7 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy, to achieve invention of claim 1. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a first cover (second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 91, Figure 4) and a second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4) comprises a key (exterior sleeve 53, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1) for mounting one of the plurality of filtering elements (filter elements 10, Estachy, Pr 90, Figure 1) in a given position with respect to said at least one of the first cover and the second cover (Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 10, paragraph 18 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 9. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a transmission part (exterior sleeve 53 and interior sleeve 55, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1) is provided beside the filtering elements (Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, paragraph 18 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 9. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a transmission part includes a sleeve (exterior sleeve 53 and interior sleeve 55, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1) of the filter, which is mounted coaxially with the filtering elements (Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12, paragraph 18 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 9. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a fastening the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) to the transmission part (exterior sleeve 53 and interior sleeve 55, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1) comprises arranging a stop ( screws to fix the main body 52 to a desired positition, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) between the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) and the transmission part (Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 13, paragraph 27 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 12. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a stop (screws to fix the main body 52 to a desired position, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) is arranged at a side of the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) opposite the second cover (first cover 50, Estachy, Pr 76, Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 14, paragraph 18 in this office action discusses the references from Estachy and Nurse, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 9. Paragraphs 19-22 in this office action discuss the references from Estachy, Nurse, and Brandt, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references discloses a load (the forces exhibited by the springs mounted to cover and cover backing are an inherent feature of the mounting) of the return system (Biasing means 56, e.g. springs, are mounted so as to force the first cover 50 against the stack of filter elements 10 and ensure that adjacent filter elements 10 are tightly pressed against one another between the first cover 50 and the second cover 60, Estachy, Pr 68, Figure 4) transmitted through a first part of the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) when the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) is fixed to the transmission part (exterior sleeve 53 and interior sleeve 55, Brandt, Pr 27, Figure 1), and through a second part of the cover backing (main body 52, Estachy, Pr 65, Figure 4) when the cover backing rests against the casing (casing 110, Estachy, Pr 89).
Conclusion
/DeMarkus Jerrell Hodge/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779