DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Return system in claims 1, 9 and 16
Transmission part in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Estachy US 2019/0209950.
Claim 1, Estachy teaches a filter comprising a casing (110) and a plurality of filtering elements (10) stacked between a first cover (60) and a second cover (50), the first cover rests against the casing in a stacking direction of the filtering elements, the filter further comprises a cover backing (52) coupled to the second cover by a return system configured to return the second cover towards the first cover, wherein the cover backing rests against the casing in the stacking direction and the second cover separates a zone of the casing adapted to receive filtered fluid from a zone of the casing adapted to receive fluid to filter (fig. 1-12).
Claims 2-8, Estachy further teaches the cover backing is openwork (fig. 3); the first and second covers include a gasket (fig. 4, 12); the return system comprises at least one return assembly, the at least one return assembly comprising a spring (56) and a stressing member (56a) for applying stress on the spring (fig. 3-6); a sleeve (34a) extending from the first cover to the second cover (fig. 4); the sleeve has a keyed connection (threads) with the first cover (fig. 4); the sleeve has a circumferential groove (on which bolts fit) at a side of the second cover opposite the filtering elements (fig. 4); and the first cover comprises a key (34a) for mounting one of the plurality of filtering elements in a given position with respect to the first cover (fig. 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cover backing of Estachy does not rest against the casing in the stacking direction, as seen in figure 12 below.
Applicant argues that second cover does not separate the clean zone from the dirty zone. In figure 4 of Estachy, the second cover (50) at (57) forms a seal with the cover backing (52) to separate a zone that receives fluid to be filtered (within 98) from a zone to receive filtered fluid (the zone between the stack and the casing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 and 16-21 allowed.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 9, Estachy teaches a method for assembling a filter comprising: stacking a plurality of filtering elements (10) between a first cover (60) and a second cover (50), connecting a transmission part (34a) to the first cover, coupling a cover backing (52) to the second cover via a return system, wherein the return system is configured to return the second cover towards the first cover, prestressing the return system and fastening the cover backing to the transmission part, mounting the plurality of filtering element in a casing such that the first cover rests against the casing in a stacking direction of the filtering elements, where the second cover separates a zone of the casing adapted to receive filtered fluid from a zone of the casing adapted to receive fluid to filter (at 57) (fig. 1-12). Estachy does not teach at least partially detaching the cover backing from the transmission part, such that the cover backing rests against the casing in the stacking direction nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Estachy to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 16, Estachy teaches a filter comprising a casing having a shoulder (at 60), a first cover (60) and a second cover (50) that are spaced apart from one another in a stacking direction, a plurality of filtering elements (10) stacked between the first and second covers in the stacking direction, the first cover resting against the casing in the stacking direction, a cover backing (52) coupled to the second cover by a return system configured to return the second cover towards the first cover, the second cover that is coupled to the cover backing by the return system separating a zone of the casing configured to receive filtered fluid from a zone of the casing configured to receive fluid to filter (at 57) (fig. 1-12). Estachy does not teach the cover backing resting against the shoulder of the casing the stacking direction to form a stop against movement of the cover backing in the stacking direction nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Estachy to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 15, Estachy teaches the cover backing rests against an inwardly projecting shoulder of the casing (fig. 12) but does not teach forming a stop against movement of the cover backing in the stacking direction nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Estachy to arrive at the claimed invention.
The additional claims are allowable as depending from one of the above claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779