DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on February 9, 2026. Claims 1, 13, 19 and 29 are amended. Claims 9, 10, 16, 18, 22-26, 28 and 30-40 are cancelled. Claims 1-8, 11-15, 17, 19-21, 27 and 29 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed February 9, 206, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 1, 13, 19 and 29 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, 17, 19-21, 27 and 29 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11, 13-15, 19, 21, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104540169 A1 (WANG et al.) (hereinafter WANG) in view of CN 110346754 A (FU et al.) (hereinafter FU).
In re claim 1, WANG discloses a positioning method ([0013], “determining unit, used for according to the cell of a positioning reference signal PRS information defines a gap offset, or for participating in the location according to the cell of the PRS information or cell of the participating in the location determining frequency information for obtaining the gap offset information”. [0018], “The beneficial effects brought by the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention is that by solution of gap offset is determined according to the cell location of PRS information, improves the terminal detects the probability of participating in cell positioning of PRS in the measurement gap, thereby improved the detection performance of the PRS”), comprising: determining, by a Location Management Function, LMF, recommendation information of Positioning Reference Signal, PRS ([0007], “The positioning reference signal PRS information of the cell participating in the location defines a gap offset, or PRS information or the participating cell according to said parameter and a locating frequency information of the cell is determined for obtaining the gap offset information” (here the network entity or the cell defines a gap offset or PRS recommended information such as locating frequency information. Here, defines is interpreted as determines)); and transmitting, by the LMF, the recommendation information of PRS to control a PRS measurement to be performed in a Measurement Gap, MG ([0008], “the gap offset or the information for obtaining the gap offset to the base station of the service cell” (this gap offset is sent to the base station of the serving cell). [0009], “A method for configuring measurement gap” (this gap offset recommendation is used to perform measurement in a measurement gap). [0010], “the base station receives the gap offset transmitted by the terminal or location center” (here the base station may receive this PRS recommendation information from the location center)), wherein the method further comprises: transmitting, by the LMF, the recommendation information of PRS to a terminal ([0011], “said base station sends the clearance configuration information to the terminal”. [0047], “the location center to locate the positioning assistance data RSTD of pilot frequency measurement to the terminal”. [0071], “base station of the serving cell can send RSTD to the terminal inter-frequency measurement clearance configuration information, the gap configuration signal information comprises gap pattern and the received gap offset” (transmitting to the terminal)), wherein the recommendation information of PRS is configured to perform a positioning measurement by the terminal ([0066], “the terminal detects the PRS in the measurement gap, and improves the detection performance of the PRS”. [0074], “Fig. 2: Step 104, terminal receiving gap and PRS configuration information of a measurement cell corresponding to the identification of the measuring cell according to the gap configuration information for RSTD the inter-frequency measurement, and according to RSTD pilot frequency measurement result of the measurement cell determines its own position” (with this configured offset, PRS detection within the measurement gap is improved and enables the terminal to do measurements within the gap)).
WANG does not explicitly disclose location management function or LMF for the network entity in the claim.
FU discloses a location management function or LMF (Fig. 4, Page 12, lines 9-12, “when the network side device is the LMF, the UE performs information interaction with the LMF as shown in FIG. 4, i.e. the UE sends request message of the information needed in the positioning process to the LMF. LMF to respond according to the request message of the UE, and sends a response message to the UE” (LMF transmitting measurement information to the UE). Page 12, lines 31-33, “so the UE can be sent by the network side device of the response message, directly obtaining the target LTE cell of the current time, or the target LTE cell and time difference of the NR cell” (receiving recommendation information from LMF comprising time difference of the NR cell). Page 3, line 1, “Specifically, the network side device is as follows: the location management entity LMF”. Page 10, lines 28-31, “step S201, the UE sends a request message to the network side device; wherein the request message for the UE acquiring the information required in the positioning process, the network side device in the 5G system, which may be used to locate comprises locating management entity LMF or 5G base station, so the UE can request message sent to the LMF” (sending a request message by UE to LMF for positioning assistance). Page 13, lines 19-31, “receiving the LMF sent information carries the measurement gap configured for the UE, detecting the target LTE cell signal according to the measurement gap, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell…Thus can be seen, in the present embodiment of the invention, the response message sending request message to the LMF by UE, and receives the direct reply according to the request message by the LMF, the current time can be obtained to the target LTE cell, or the target LTE cell of NR cell to the time difference…the UE in the locating process”. Page 11, lines 12-14, “That is, the network side device receives the request message sent by the UE after the needing information carried in the request message, to respond, so that UE according to the response message sent by the network side device, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell” (here network side device which is the LMF sends PRS recommendation information to UE for positioning)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG and FU to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurements within the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
In re claim 2, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein WANG discloses wherein the transmitting the recommendation information of PRS, comprises: transmitting the recommendation information of PRS to a base station ([0010], “the base station receives the gap offset transmitted by the terminal or location center or information for obtaining the gap offset”).
In re claim 3, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein WANG discloses the method further comprising: transmitting a PRS configuration to a terminal ([0011], “said base station sends the clearance configuration information to the terminal”).
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein FU discloses wherein the determining the recommendation information of PRS, comprises: determining the recommendation information of PRS according to the MG that has configured for a terminal (Page 3, lines 28-37, “receiving the network side device sending the response message indicates the UE carries through signal detecting the target LTE cell, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell information, according to the current idle gap or measurement gap detecting the target LTE cell signal (obtaining current time of the target cell based on measurement gap information), obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell, or receiving the network side device sent information carries the measurement gap configured for the UE, detecting the target LTE cell signal according to the measurement gap, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell”).
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein WANG discloses the method further comprising: receiving a PRS configuration transmitted by a base station, wherein the PRS configuration is determined by the base station based on the recommendation information of PRS ([0009], “A method for configuring measurement gap, the method comprising”. [0010], “the base station receives the gap offset transmitted by the terminal or location center or information for obtaining the gap offset”. [0011], “said base station sends the clearance configuration information to the terminal, the gap configuration information comprises gap offset to the received or the information for obtaining the gap offset for determining the gap offset”. [0018], “The beneficial effects brought by the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention is that by solution of gap offset is determined according to the cell location of PRS information, improves the terminal detects the probability of participating in cell positioning of PRS in the measurement gap, thereby improved the detection performance of the PRS”).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein WANG discloses wherein the recommendation information of PRS comprises recommended MG information ([0071], “base station of the serving cell can send RSTD to the terminal inter-frequency measurement clearance configuration information, the gap configuration signal information comprises gap pattern and the received gap offset”. [0076], “In this embodiment, by gap offset is determined according to the PRS information of the measurement cell and notifying the base station the gap offset of the serving cell, the solution of gap offset is determined according to the PRS information of the measurement cell, improves the terminal detected probability of PRS cell is measured in the measurement gap, so as to improve the detection performance of the PRS. At the same time, when the PRS information of measurement cell gap offset is determined to ensure that the measuring gap can cover locating slot, so as to ensure the terminal can detect the PRS of the measurement cell in the gap between the measuring, greatly improves the detection performance of the PRS”); the transmitting the recommendation information of PRS comprises: transmitting the recommended MG information to a serving base station of a terminal according to PRS configuration information of the terminal's serving cell and neighboring cells ([0110], “when the serving cell of the base station receives the information sent by the terminal or location center (LMF) for obtaining the gap offset, the base station of the service cell determines the terminal to the pilot frequency measurement to be RSTD”. [0111], “303: base station of the service cell according to the information for obtaining the gap offset, determining the gap offset…”. [0112], “1) when the information for obtaining the gap offset comprises PRS information of all the cell location, or PRS information comprises inter frequency cell participating in the location, firstly according to the PRS information of the inter-frequency cell participating in the location, using steps301a and 301b method of determining starting point and length of the positioning time slot, then using steps 303a and 303b method for determining gap offset”. [0116], “303b: the base station can determine the gap offset according to the starting point of the measurement gap”. [0118], “304: The base station of the serving cell transmits the RSTD pilot measurement clearance configuration information to the terminal, the gap configuration information comprising a gap pattern and gap offset”).
In re claim 13, WANG discloses a positioning method ([0013], “determining unit, used for according to the cell of a positioning reference signal PRS information defines a gap offset, or for participating in the location according to the cell of the PRS information or cell of the participating in the location determining frequency information for obtaining the gap offset information”. [0018], “The beneficial effects brought by the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention is that by solution of gap offset is determined according to the cell location of PRS information, improves the terminal detects the probability of participating in cell positioning of PRS in the measurement gap, thereby improved the detection performance of the PRS”), comprising: receiving, by a base station, recommendation information of Positioning Reference Signal, PRS [0010], “the base station receives the gap offset transmitted by the terminal or location center” (LMF). [0040], “As shown in FIG. 1-b, this embodiment provides another configuration method for measuring gap, the configuration method can be executed by terminal or location center”. [0045], “The embodiment according to the PRS information of the cell participating in the location, determining the gap offset, gap offset to notify the base station of the serving cell”. [0056], “locating slot on the starting position of the first PRS period corresponding system frame number SFN=FL00R (PRS offset /1), the starting subframe number subframe=PRS offset corresponding to the position mod10 of the positioning slots of the other PRS periodicity from the point corresponding to the system frame number, sub-frame number in the system frame number corresponding with the starting position of the first PRS period of between, phase difference between the other PRS period comprises the number of sub-frames. the positioning time slot starting position of other PRS period corresponding to the sub-frame number and the second one PRS period are the same” (receiving recommended information of PRS)); wherein the recommendation information of PRS transmitted by a LMF is configured to perform a positioning measurement by a terminal ([0066], “the terminal detects the PRS in the measurement gap, and improves the detection performance of the PRS”. [0074], “Fig. 2: Step 104, terminal receiving gap and PRS configuration information of a measurement cell corresponding to the identification of the measuring cell according to the gap configuration information for RSTD the inter-frequency measurement, and according to RSTD pilot frequency measurement result of the measurement cell determines its own position” (with this configured offset, PRS detection within the measurement gap is improved and enables the terminal to do measurements within the gap)); and transmitting, by a base station, the PRS according to the recommendation information of PRS ([0011], “said base station sends the clearance configuration information to the terminal”. [0071], “base station of the serving cell can send RSTD to the terminal inter-frequency measurement clearance configuration information, the gap configuration signal information comprises gap pattern and the received gap offset”).
WANG does not explicitly disclose location management function or LMF.
FU discloses a location management function or LMF (Fig. 4, Page 12, lines 9-12, “when the network side device is the LMF, the UE performs information interaction with the LMF as shown in FIG. 4, i.e. the UE sends request message of the information needed in the positioning process to the LMF. LMF to respond according to the request message of the UE, and sends a response message to the UE” (LMF transmitting measurement information to the UE). Page 12, lines 31-33, “so the UE can be sent by the network side device of the response message, directly obtaining the target LTE cell of the current time, or the target LTE cell and time difference of the NR cell” (receiving recommendation information from LMF comprising time difference of the NR cell). Page 3, line 1, “Specifically, the network side device is as follows: the location management entity LMF”. Page 10, lines 28-31, “step S201, the UE sends a request message to the network side device; wherein the request message for the UE acquiring the information required in the positioning process, the network side device in the 5G system, which may be used to locate comprises locating management entity LMF or 5G base station, so the UE can request message sent to the LMF” (sending a request message by UE to LMF for positioning assistance). Page 13, lines 19-31, “receiving the LMF sent information carries the measurement gap configured for the UE, detecting the target LTE cell signal according to the measurement gap, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell…Thus can be seen, in the present embodiment of the invention, the response message sending request message to the LMF by UE, and receives the direct reply according to the request message by the LMF, the current time can be obtained to the target LTE cell, or the target LTE cell of NR cell to the time difference…the UE in the locating process”. Page 11, lines 12-14, “That is, the network side device receives the request message sent by the UE after the needing information carried in the request message, to respond, so that UE according to the response message sent by the network side device, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell” (here network side device which is the LMF sends PRS recommendation information to UE for positioning)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG and FU to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurements within the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
In re claim 14, the combination discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein FU discloses wherein before receiving the recommendation information of PRS, the method further comprises: receiving an information request from a Location Management Function, LMF (Page 5, lines 2-6, “Therefore, when sending a request message to the network side device, the first identification cell of the measurement is sent to the network side device, so that the network side device according to the first mark of NR cell identification information of time difference NR cell and the target LTE cell, and sending to the UE. Specifically, the network side device is: location management entity LMF” (implicitly disclosed)), and transmitting one or a combination of following information to the LMF according to the information request: PRS candidate configuration; PRS configuration; Measurement Gap, MG information; or capability about whether the terminal supports positioning measurement without a MG (Page 3, lines 1-8, “Specifically, the network side device is as follows: the location management entity LMF or 5G base station. Specifically, carrying at least one of the following information in the request message: information of the first identification of the NR cell; information of the second identifier of the target LTE cell; requesting for obtaining information of said NR cell and time difference of the target LTE cell; request to obtain information of current time; information using other radio access technology to locate the UE” (sending information to the LMF in the request message)).
In re claim 15, the combination discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein FU discloses wherein the transmitting the MG information to the LMF, comprises: notifying the LMF of the MG information of a terminal to be positioned before a serving cell initiates a positioning service request; or notifying the LMF of the MG information of a terminal to be positioned in a case that a serving cell configures the PRS (Page 3, lines 22-28, “Specifically, carrying at least one of the following information in said response message: information of the first identification of the NR cell; the information of the current time of the target LTE cell; information of said NR cell and time difference of the target LTE cell; indicating said UE through signal detecting the target LTE cell, obtaining the current time of the target LTE cell information; information the measurement gap configured for the UE” (serving cell configuring the measurement gap for the UE)).
In re claims 19 and 29, WANG discloses a positioning method ([0013], “determining unit, used for according to the cell of a positioning reference signal PRS information defines a gap offset, or for participating in the location according to the cell of the PRS information or cell of the participating in the location determining frequency information for obtaining the gap offset information”. [0018], “The beneficial effects brought by the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention is that by solution of gap offset is determined according to the cell location of PRS information, improves the terminal detects the probability of participating in cell positioning of PRS in the measurement gap, thereby improved the detection performance of the PRS”), and an apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store program instructions; a processor configured to invoke the program instructions stored in the memory and execute following according to the program instructions: receive recommendation information of Positioning Reference Signal, PRS ([0011], “said base station sends the clearance configuration information to the terminal”. [0047], “the location center to locate the positioning assistance data RSTD of pilot frequency measurement to the terminal”. [0071], “base station of the serving cell can send RSTD to the terminal inter-frequency measurement clearance configuration information, the gap configuration signal information comprises gap pattern and the received gap offset” (receive recommendation information of the PRS by the terminal)), wherein the recommendation information of PRS is configured to perform a positioning measurement by the terminal ([0066], “the terminal detects the PRS in the measurement gap, and improves the detection performance of the PRS”. [0074], “Fig. 2: Step 104, terminal receiving gap and PRS configuration information of a measurement cell corresponding to the identification of the measuring cell according to the gap configuration information for RSTD the inter-frequency measurement, and according to RSTD pilot frequency measurement result of the measurement cell determines its own position” (with this configured offset, PRS detection within the measurement gap is improved and enables the terminal to do measurements within the gap)); and receive the PRS according to the recommendation information of PRS ([0048], “RSTD called inter-frequency measurement, is that the terminal of a measuring cell with the serving cell frequency different RSTD measurement. wherein the positioning assistance data for RSTD asynchronous frequency measuring comprises PRS information of identification and measuring cell of the measuring cell and so on. PRS information comprises I-PRS (positioning reference signal index) and n-PRS (length of the positioning time slot), for example, the value of n-PRS can be 1, 2, 4,6”. [0074], “terminal receiving gap and PRS configuration information of a measurement cell corresponding to the identification of the measuring cell according to the gap configuration information for RSTD the inter-frequency measurement, and according to RSTD pilot frequency measurement result of the measurement cell determines its own position”. [0076], “In this embodiment, by gap offset is determined according to the PRS information of the measurement cell and notifying the base station the gap offset of the serving cell, the solution of gap offset is determined according to the PRS information of the measurement cell, improves the terminal detected probability of PRS cell is measured in the measurement gap, so as to improve the detection performance of the PRS” (accuracy of detecting the PRS within the measurement gap based on recommendation information from serving base station)), and detecting the PRS ([0122], “This embodiment by cell participating in location of PRS information, for obtaining the gap offset information is determined, the information notification service for the base station cell obtaining gap offset, causing a base station for obtaining the gap offset the information of the gap offset, solution of PRS configuration gap offset The cell participating in the location, improves the terminal detects the probability of participating in cell positioning of PRS in the measurement gap, so as to improve the detection performance of the PRS. at the same time, according to the information for obtaining the gap offset to calculate the gap offset to ensure that the measuring gap can cover locating slot, so as to ensure the terminal in the measurement gap can detect the cell location involved in the PRS, which greatly improves the detection performance of the PRS”).
WANG does not explicitly disclose an apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store program instructions; a processor configured to invoke the program instructions stored in the memory and execute following according to the program instructions.
FU discloses an apparatus (Page 18, lines 15-16, “According to another aspect of the present invention, there is also provided a terminal, as shown in FIG. 8, the terminal comprising: a first processor 801, a first memory 802 and a first transceiver 803”), comprising: a memory (Fig. 8:802) configured to store program instructions; a processor (Fig. 8:801) configured to invoke the program instructions stored in the memory and execute following according to the program instructions (Page 18, lines 22-26, “Specifically, the first processor 801 is further used for program read in the first memory 802, perform the following steps: according to the current time of the target LTE cell or the target LTE cell and time difference of the NR cell, determining the position of location reference signal PRS of the target LTE cell occurs and performing positioning”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG and FU to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurements within the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
In re claim 21, FU discloses a positioning apparatus (Page 18, lines 15-16, “According to another aspect of the present invention, there is also provided a terminal, as shown in FIG. 8, the terminal comprising: a first processor 801, a first memory 802 and a first transceiver 803”), comprising: a memory (Fig. 8:802) configured to store program instructions; a processor (Fig. 8: 801) configured to invoke the program instructions stored in the memory and execute the method of claim 1 according to the program instructions (Page 18, lines 22-26, “Specifically, the first processor 801 is further used for program read in the first memory 802, perform the following steps: according to the current time of the target LTE cell or the target LTE cell and time difference of the NR cell, determining the position of location reference signal PRS of the target LTE cell occurs and performing positioning”).
In re claim 27, FU discloses a positioning apparatus (Page 20, lines 35-37, “According to another aspect of the embodiments of the invention, the invention further claims a network side device, as shown in FIG. 9, the network side device comprises: a second processor 901, a second memory 902 and a second transceiver 903”), comprising: a memory (Fig. 9:902) configured to store program instructions; a processor (Fig. 9:901) configured to invoke the program instructions stored in the memory and execute the method of claim 13 according to the program instructions (Page 21, lines 1-11, “the second processor 901 for reading the program in the second memory 902, perform the following steps receiving the request message of the UE by the second transceiver 903, and according to the request message, sending current time response message to the UE, so that the UE obtains the UE the target LTE cell according to the response message, or the target LTE cell of NR cell to the time difference value; the second transceiver 903, for receiving and sending data under the control of the second processor 901. Specifically, the NR cell carried in the request message. Specifically, the network side device is as follows: the location management entity LMF or 5G base station”).
Claims 5, 6, 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104540169 A1 (WANG et al.) (hereinafter WANG) in view of CN 110346754 A (FU et al.) (hereinafter FU) and in further view of US 20220050163 A1 (SI et al.) (hereinafter SI).
In re claim 5, the combination discloses the method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: receiving the capability reported by the terminal or a base station, about whether the terminal supports a positioning measurement without the MG, in a case that the recommendation information of PRS is determined according to the capability about whether the terminal supports a positioning measurement without the MG.
SI discloses the method further comprising: receiving the capability reported by the terminal or a base station, about whether the terminal supports a positioning measurement without the MG, in a case that the recommendation information of PRS is determined according to the capability about whether the terminal supports a positioning measurement without the MG ([0049], “In addition, the process of determining the resource position of the PRS within the BWP can be applied to a case without configuring the measurement gap. In the current positioning technology, in the case without configuring the measurement gap, because a downlink PRS configuration provided to the terminal is independent of a DL BWP configuration in the target positioning technology, it is difficult for the terminal to accurately perform measurement on a PRS if the current positioning technology is used. In this embodiment of this disclosure, in the case that the measurement gap is not configured, the resource position of the PRS in the BWP is determined based on the PRB position and the number of PRBs of the PRS resource, so as to improve a probability of detecting a PRS by the terminal. In this way, the terminal can accurately perform measurement on the PRS based on the resource position of the PRS within the BWP”. [0196], “The terminal reports information such as a BWP bandwidth in the field of LPP capability information report, and the LMF configures the corresponding measurement gap for the UE and notifies the corresponding serving cell and/or neighboring cell. The serving cell then informs the UE of the corresponding measurement gap” (terminal capability on supporting MG is determined based on the measurement reports)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG, FU and SI to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurements within the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
In re claim 6, the combination discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein SI discloses the method further comprising: requesting the terminal or the base station to report the capability about whether the terminal supports the positioning measurement without the MG ([0322], “Optionally, at least one of the behavior of determining the resource position by the terminal and the behavior of performing measurement by the terminal is configured by a network, indicated by the network, specified by the protocol, or selected by the terminal”. [0287], “Optionally, the first signaling is positioning capability reporting signaling, and the positioning capability reporting signaling includes BWP bandwidth information” (measurement reports including BWP information discloses capability by the terminal of supporting with MG)).
In re claim 7, the combination discloses the method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: requesting the terminal or a base station to report MG information.
SI discloses requesting the terminal or a base station to report MG information ([0153], “Optionally, the first signaling is used to indicate a measurement gap configuration expected by a terminal” (implicitly covered)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG, FU and SI to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurements within the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
In re claim 20, the combination discloses the method according to claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose wherein before receiving the recommendation information of PRS, the method further comprises: providing one or a combination of following information to a network side: PRS demand information; Measurement Gap, MG, information; or capability about whether a terminal supports positioning measurement without a MG.
SI discloses wherein before receiving the recommendation information of PRS, the method further comprises: providing one or a combination of following information to a network side: PRS demand information; Measurement Gap, MG, information; or capability about whether a terminal supports positioning measurement without a MG ([0124], “In specific implementation, the positioning assistance information may include at least one of the following”. [0125], “search window information of a PRS resource, PRS time domain configuration information, PRS muting pattern information, and cell timing information”). [0097], “As an optional implementation, the reporting the measurement result includes”. [0098], “reporting a first message, where the first message includes the measurement result, and further includes at least one of the following”. [0099], “a BWP identifier, a PRS resource identifier, a PRS resource set identifier, a transmission and reception point (TRP) identifier, a cell identity, and a CC identifier” (sending to LMF in measurement report or capability report)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG, FU and SI to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurements within the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104540169 A1 (WANG et al.) (hereinafter WANG) in view of CN 110346754 A (FU et al.) (hereinafter FU) and in further view of the article, QUALCOMM INCORPORATED, "On-Demand PRS," R2-2010097, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112-e, Electronic, November 2 - 13, 2020 (hereinafter Qualcomm).
In re claim 12, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS is an on-demand PRS.
Qualcomm discloses wherein the PRS is an on-demand PRS (Page 1, section 2, lines 10-16, “On--Demand DL--PRS refers to the capability to allow a UE or I.MF to request DL--PRS for positioning measurements or a change in available DL-PRS such as an increase in resources assigned for DL-PRS transmission ( e.g. increased bandwidth, increased duration of positioning occasions and/or increased frequency of positioning occasions, etc.) and possibly to indicate when (increased) DL--PR.S transmission is no longer needed. The benefits of this can include reduced network bandwidth usage for DL,-PRS when no UEs need to acquire and measure DL-PRS in a particular cell or group of cells and improved positioning accuracy and/or latency when one or more UEs need to acquire and measure DL-PRS to obtain location measurements”. Page 2, Observation 3, “Procedures for UE-triggered on-demand DL-PRS are required to support UE-based positioning for UEs caused by a request from an internal UE client”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG and FU with Qualcomm to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurement in the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
In re claim 17, the combination discloses the method according to claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the recommendation information of PRS comprises one or a combination of following: on-demand PRS or a start time of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a suspension time of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a duration of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a period of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; a testing opportunity of on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a repetition quantity of the MG corresponding to on-demand PRS; or a time slot comprising on-demand PRS.
Qualcomm discloses wherein the recommendation information of PRS comprises one or a combination of following: on-demand PRS or a start time of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS (Page 4, section 3, item 5, lines 6-8, “The LMF sends an NRPPa DL-PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs determined at step 4 and includes the new DL--PRS configuration determined for that gNB. The request may also include a start time for each new DL-PRS configuration and a duration”); on-demand PRS or a suspension time of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a duration of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a period of the MG corresponding to the on-demand PRS; a testing opportunity of on-demand PRS; on-demand PRS or a repetition quantity of the MG corresponding to on-demand PRS; or a time slot comprising on-demand PRS.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG and FU with Qualcomm to provide a positioning method and apparatus to ensure PRS measurement in the measurement gap. The advantage of doing so is higher accuracy and network performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649