DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-8 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention / group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/20/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 2-3 in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged. Examiner previously indicated that claim 1 is a linking claim and that claims 9 and 11 include trivial recitations. Therefore, those claims will be examined as well. The pending claims examined are claims 1-3, 9, and 11. The remaining claims (4-8 and 10) are withdrawn.
The traversal is on several ground(s), none of which are found persuasive for the reasons set forth below. First, applicant argues that the ISR in the corresponding international patent application indicates that the claims have unity of invention. Examiner is not bound by the determination of an indication on the ISR and made his own independent determination clearly showing a lack of unity of invention. Applicant’s argument regarding efficiency, economy, prosecuting multiple applications, etc. is not persuasive. The restriction is proper. Applicant argues that D1 fails to disclose the end portion of claim 1 and that, therefore, unity exists. This is not found to be persuasive because there is no unity of invention because there is no special technical feature. See the rejection below. D1 does disclose the end portion of claim 1. Applicant alleges that the elastic features of the reference have a different use. Whether or not the biasing device (e.g. elastics) could be used as applicant asserts, they nevertheless allow the fixing means to be moved away from the part and to return to the part once released. Allowing is a very broad recitation and the element at issue does not stop the function from happening, thereby allowing it to happen.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fixing means (see claim interpretation below for details) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. The claim recites “for making bed” instead of –for making a bed—in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. The claim recites “…are connected to each other with elastic member” which is awkward and should likely recite instead –are connected to each other with an elastic member--.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fixing device, fixing means, and resilient biasing device in claim 1 and parts allowing tensioning in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the fixing means." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein the upper section and the lower section are connected to each other so that the distance between them is adjustable.” As written, is unclear as to whether this recitation is intended to still be within the context of each of the parts as recited in claim 1. It not, then “the upper section” and “the lower section” lack proper antecedent basis. It is suggested that the claim be amended to recite at the start –wherein, with regard to each of the parts, the upper section and lower section…--
Claim 3 suffers from the same deficiencies and for the same reasons as claim 2. See above.
The claim limitation “fixing means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure never properly and fully addresses what the “fixing means” actually is. The disclosure only states – “…which biasing device allows the fixing means to be moved away from the part and to return to the part once released” and “In this embodiment the upper sections are preferably equipped with suitable means for detachably attaching the fixing device to the upper section, such as a hook for example, so that the fixing means are easily accessible during the changing of the sheet.” It is unclear whether the fixing means is the hook or whether the hook is something other than the fixing means. It is unclear whether “suitable means” is “the fixing means” or whether those are different. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The claims are rejected below as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Arenstein (US Patent No. 9254046).
Re Claim 1
Arenstein discloses:
A device for making bed (see all figures),
which device comprises four parts (one for each corner – C2 L59 – C3 L11), which parts are configured to be fixed at the corner areas of a mattress of the bed (mattress 50; C2 L59 – C3 L11; see all figs), wherein each of the parts of the device comprise an upper section (20, 30) with a surface configured to be placed against an upper surface of the mattress (fig. 1) and a lower section (40) with a surface configured to be placed against a lower surface of the mattress (fig. 1), and a fixing device (12a, 12b) for fixing a sheet to the part (fig. 1; C2 L59 – C3 L11; see all figs), which fixing device is connected to the part with a resilient biasing device (10a, 10b; C3 L4-7), which biasing device allows the fixing means to be moved away from the part and to return to the part once released (fig. 1).
Re Claim 2
Arenstein discloses:
wherein the upper section and lower section are connected to each other so that the distance between them is adjustable (fig. 1).
Re Claim 3
Arenstein discloses:
wherein the upper section and the lower section of the part of the device are connected to each other with elastic member or parts (parts being a,b,c) allowing tensioning between the upper section and lower section for pressing these sections against surfaces of the mattress (fig. 1; see also C2 L59 – C3 L11).
Re Claim 11
Arenstein discloses:
A mattress (50) comprising a device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arenstein (US Patent No. 9254046).
Re Claim 9
Arenstein discloses all claim limitations, see above, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the sections of the parts are made of plastic.
It is noted that Arenstein discloses that at least a portion of the identified upper section is made of plastic (“The top plate may be made of molded plastic.”) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have the sections of the parts made of plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Examiner notes that such a modification would have been obvious for the purpose of providing a relatively low cost material, a durable material, a readily manufacturable material, a material which is readily able to be molded / formed into a particular shape, and/or a material which is comfortable for a user to interact with.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional sheet connection devices / bedding connection devices are provided including ones which have elastic connections, hooks, clips, singular units, and/or plural units.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673