Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US Pub 2023/0328718), hereinafter referred as Yu in view of Ko et al (“TB PPDU Format Signaling in Trigger Frame” – IDS reference), hereinafter referred to as Ko.
Regarding claim 1, A base station [AP, see fig. 7a, 8a, 9, 11, 22], comprising:
control circuitry [control circuit within AP of fig. 7a, represented by communication apparatus 1000 in fig. 22, paragraphs 0303, 0320], which, in operation, generates a control signal for uplink transmission [generates/sends trigger signal/frame, see fig. 7a, 8a, 9,11, 19], and
transmission circuitry [transceiver 1002, configured to perform S203 of fig. 8a and fig. 22], which, in operation transmits the control signal [trigger signal/frame, see fig. 5a-6b, 7a, 8a, 9 and 11], wherein
the control signal [trigger signal/frame, see fig. 5a-6b, 7a, 8a, 9, 11, 14] contains common information [common information field, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 11, 14], including a first subfield [UL Spatial Reuse subframe 1 in the Common Information field, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11] and a second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2 subfield in the Common Information field, see figs. figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11], the first subfield and the second subfield indicating information on type of the control signal [the trigger frame includes first indication information indicating a value of an SRP1 field and SRP2 field in a U-SIG of the ETH TB PPDU, see fig. 14, paragraph 0215-0230 and 0155-0158, 0160-0167, fig. 8a/8b , 6a-1 , 6a2-frame formats of common info field], the second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2 subfield in the Common Information field, see figs. figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11, 14] indicating information on a version of a radio communication standard [EHT TB standard version identifier see table 3, 8, and 9] and a third subfield [EHT subfield in the trigger frame, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b, 11, 14].
While Yu teaches in figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b of a numerous other subfield such as a third subfield in the trigger frame and teaches in table 3, 8 and 9 of version identifier, Yu fails to explicitly teach that a third subfield configuration is varied depending on the version.
Ko teaches of common info field can include the version ID subfield and the trigger frame format is based on the Version ID subfield on slide 5. Ko further teaches on slides 6 that trigger type specifies whether the version ID subfield is present. In one example, it is determined if the version ID subfield is present based on the UL length mod 3. Thus slide 9 clearly indicates when the version ID subfield of a trigger frame indicated EHT (or beyond EHT), the Trigger frame should not include the User Info field with the AID12 subfield set to 0 or 2045. This clearly reads on the third subfield configuration setting to be varied based on the version ID subfield. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of third subfield varying based on version as taught by Ko into the invention of Ye in order to determine the proper PPDU format to respond to a trigger frame.
Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches communication method, comprising:
generating, by a base station [AP, see fig. 7a, 8a, 9 and 11], a control signal for uplink transmission [sends trigger signal/frame, see fig. 7a, 8a, 9,11, 19]; and
transmitting, by the base station, the control signal [transceiver 1002, configured to perform S203 of fig. 8a; trigger signal/frame, see fig. 7a, 8a, 9 and 11], wherein
the control signal [trigger signal/frame, see fig. 5a-6b, 7a, 8a, 9, 11, 14] contains common information [common information field, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 11, 14], including a first subfield [UL Spatial Reuse subframe 1 in the Common Information field, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11] and a second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2 subfield in the Common Information field, see figs. figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11], the first subfield and the second subfield indicating information on type of the control signal [the trigger frame includes first indication information indicating a value of an SRP1 field and SRP2 field in a U-SIG of the ETH TB PPDU, see fig. 14, paragraph 0215-0230 and 0155-0158, 0160-0167, fig. 8a/8b , 6a-1 , 6a2-frame formats of common info field], the second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2 subfield in the Common Information field, see figs. figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11, 14] indicating information on a version of a radio communication standard [EHT TB standard version identifier see table 3, 8, and 9] and a third subfield [EHT subfield in the trigger frame, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b, 11, 14].
While Yu teaches in figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b of a numerous other subfield such as a third subfield in the trigger frame and teaches in table 3, 8 and 9 of version identifier, Yu fails to explicitly teach that a third subfield configuration is varied depending on the version.
Ko teaches of common info field can include the version ID subfield and the trigger frame format is based on the Version ID subfield on slide 5. Ko further teaches on slides 6 that trigger type specifies whether the version ID subfield is present. In one example, it is determined if the version ID subfield is present based on the UL length mod 3. Thus slide 9 clearly indicates when the version ID subfield of a trigger frame indicated EHT (or beyond EHT), the Trigger frame should not include the User Info field with the AID12 subfield set to 0 or 2045. This clearly reads on the third subfield configuration setting to be varied based on the version ID subfield. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of third subfield varying based on version as taught by Ko into the invention of Ye in order to determine the proper PPDU format to respond to a trigger frame.
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches wherein the information on the version is associated with a type of the control signal [see Yu, paragraphs 0296-0300, see table 3, 9, paragraph 0142, 0238, where version is associated with ETH or HE control/trigger signal/frame].
Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches further comprising reception circuitry [see fig. 20 transceiver unit 21 of a STA of fig. 7a, 8a], which, in operation, receives a response signal for the control signal based on the version associated with the type [see paragraph 0076, 0307, 0273, where response signal is associated with ETH or HE trigger frame].
Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches wherein the control circuitry [control circuit within AP of fig. 7a, represented by communication apparatus 1000 in fig. 22, paragraphs 0303, 0320] and the third subfield [ETH subfield] being different from the first subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 1] and second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2] [see figs. 10A and 10B, 6a-8a, and paragraph 0177 of a reserved field in a common information field of a trigger frame that is used for setting an uplink EHT PPDU bandwidth subfield, and HE/EHT subfield indicating an EEHT STA to send and EHT TB PPDU or an TB PPDU along with tables 3 and 9, paragraph 0142, 0238 version identifier, i.e. EHT or HE]. While Yu teaches in figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b of a numerous other subfield such as a third subfield in the trigger frame and teaches in table 3, 8 and 9 of version identifier, Yu fails to explicitly teach that a third subfield configuration is varied depending on the version.
Ko teaches of common info field can include the version ID subfield and the trigger frame format is based on the Version ID subfield on slide 5. Ko further teaches on slides 6 that trigger type specifies whether the version ID subfield is present. In one example, it is determined if the version ID subfield is present based on the UL length mod 3. Thus slide 9 clearly indicates when the version ID subfield of a trigger frame indicated EHT (or beyond EHT), the Trigger frame should not include the User Info field with the AID12 subfield set to 0 or 2045. This clearly reads on the third subfield configuration setting to be varied based on the version ID subfield. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of third subfield varying based on version as taught by Ko into the invention of Ye in order to determine the proper PPDU format to respond to a trigger frame.
Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches wherein the third subfield includes at least one of a UL Space Time Block Coding (STBC) subfield, a UL Spatial Reuse subfield, a Doppler subfield, and/or a Reserved subfield [see fig. 7b, 10a-A-b that has UL Spatial Reuse subfield or Doppler or EHT reserved subfield]. .
Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches wherein the control circuitry [control circuit within AP of fig. 7a, represented by communication apparatus 1000 in fig. 22, paragraphs 0303, 0320] configures the third subfield when the version is Extreme High Throughput (EHT) [see fig. 10A and 10B, 6a-8a ,type of control/trigger frame being EHT].
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches wherein the transmission circuitry [transceiver 1002, configured to perform S203 of fig. 8a] transmits information on the type [trigger frame EHT TB PPDU type, see fig. 7a-8a] using both the first subfield and the second subfield [see fig. 10A and 10B, 14, the transmitted trigger frame includes first indication information indicating a value of an SRP1 field and SRP2 field in a U-SIG of the ETH TB PPDU, see fig. 14, paragraph 0215-0230 and 0155-0158, 0160-0167, fig. 8a/8b , 6a-1 , 6a2-frame formats of common info field].
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches wherein the second subfield is configured in a field in the control signal, the field is being interpreted as a Reserved field when the version is HE [see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b and paragraphs 0176-0177, where second subfield is a reserved field when the version is HE TB PPDU or spatial reuse].
Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches wherein the control circuitry [control circuit within AP of fig. 7a, represented by communication apparatus 1000 in fig. 22, paragraphs 0303, 0320] information on the type of the control signal for a terminal whose version corresponds to High Efficiency Throughput (EHT) using both the first subfield and the second subfield [see fig. 10A and 10B, 14, the transmitted trigger frame includes first indication information indicating a value of an SRP1 field and SRP2 field in a U-SIG of the ETH TB PPDU, see fig. 14, paragraph 0215-0230 and 0155-0158, 0160-0167, fig. 8a/8b , 6a-1 , 6a2-frame formats of common info field].
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, “Yu (US 2023/0328718 Al) describes that "a reserved field (the reserved field includes an HE-SIG-A2 reserved field and a reserved field) in a common information field of a trigger frame is used for setting an uplink EHT PPDU bandwidth field" and that "a value of the uplink spatial reuse field UL SRP in the trigger frame is used or the HE-SIG-A" Yu, 11[0177, 0200. Yu fails to disclose or suggest "the control signal contains common information including a first subfield and a second subfield, the first subfield and the second subfield indicating information on a type of the control signal, the second subfield indicating information on a version of a radio5 communication standard, and a third subfield whose configuration is varied depending on the version" as recited in claims 1 and 14, as amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees for several reasons. First based on the amendment to claims 1, 14, 8 and 12, new grounds of rejection utilizing the Yu in view of Ko combination is remapped as the following to address the second subfield indicating information on the type of control signal….the control signal [trigger signal/frame, see fig. 5a-6b, 7a, 8a, 9, 11, 14] contains common information [common information field, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 11, 14], including a first subfield [UL Spatial Reuse subframe 1 in the Common Information field, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11] and a second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2 subfield in the Common Information field, see figs. figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11], the first subfield and the second subfield indicating information on type of the control signal [the trigger frame includes first indication information indicating a value of an SRP1 field and SRP2 field in a U-SIG of the ETH TB PPDU, see fig. 14, paragraph 0215-0230 and 0155-0158, 0160-0167, fig. 8a/8b , 6a-1 , 6a2-frame formats of common info field], the second subfield [UL Spatial Reuse 2 subfield in the Common Information field, see figs. figs. 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7b, 8a, 11, 14] indicating information on a version of a radio communication standard [EHT TB standard version identifier see table 3, 8, and 9] and a third subfield [EHT subfield in the trigger frame, see figs. 5a, 5b, 6a-1, 6b, 11, 14]. Additionally, the claim feature as amended (the first subfield and the second subfield indicating information on type of the control signal) is too broad as UL Spatial Reuse 1 uplink spatial reuse 1 and UL Spatial Reuse 2 Uplink spatial reuse 2 just by nomenclature itself indicates information and nexus of type of the control signal and its functionality. Thus, the rejection under 35 USC 103 over the combination Yu in view of Ko is maintained.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477