DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species in the reply filed on February 16, 2026 is acknowledged. All claims were examined in its entirety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mintel (Database accession # 8200475’2020) in view of Popp et al. (US Patent 6433024).
Applicants claims cosmetic methods for treating and a composition comprising the following:
Mintel teaches a similar composition for cosmetic treatment for caring for keratin materials (e.g., skin).
Mintel does not disclose the composition comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide.
Popp teaches compositions comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide at pH 3-5. (See Abstract, column 2, lines 39-42, column 3, lines 31-39, and Examples 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Mintel and Popp to design a composition for cosmetic treatment for caring for keratin materials comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide having an acidic pH to improved its stability and formulation compatibility. It is well known in the art that mono and dialkyl isosorbides are stable in air and in solution with good solubility in water and common organic solvents. Additionally, it is well known in the art that mono and dialkyl isosorbides improve bioavailability, has sustained action and versatility in formulation, and has a well-established safety profile, making them suitable for various dosage forms. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Mintel and Popp when confronted with an alternate composition for cosmetic treatment for caring for keratin materials comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide having an acidic pH to improved its stability and formulation compatibility, and thus is an obvious alternative. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Mintel and Popp, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 1-20 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mintel (Database accession # 8200475’2020) in view of Pilz et al. (US Pub. 2014/0369943).
Applicants claims cosmetic methods for treating and a composition in claims 1-20.
Mintel teaches a similar composition for cosmetic treatment for caring for keratin materials (e.g., skin).
Mintel does not disclose the composition comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide.
Pilz teaches compositions comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide with an acidic pH. (See Abstract, paragraphs [0004]-[0016], and Examples a and b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Mintel and Pilz to design a composition for cosmetic treatment for caring for keratin materials comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide having an acidic pH to improved its stability and formulation compatibility. It is well known in the art that mono and dialkyl isosorbides are stable in air and in solution with good solubility in water and common organic solvents. Additionally, it is well known in the art that mono and dialkyl isosorbides improve bioavailability, has sustained action and versatility in formulation, and has a well-established safety profile making them suitable for various dosage forms. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Mintel and Pilz when confronted with an alternate composition for cosmetic treatment for caring for keratin materials comprising mono or dialkyl isosorbide having an acidic pH to improved its stability and formulation compatibility, and thus is an obvious alternative. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Mintel and Pilz, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1-20 are rejected. No claims allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622