DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPub 2021/0202907) in view of Miyake et al. (US PGPub 2015/0228704) further in view of Yuan et al. (US PGPub 2020/0312886).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses an electronic device ([0517], “a display apparatus 10”) comprising:
a first flexible substrate ([0119], “The first substrate 100 may be a glass substrate, or may be a thin glass substrate or a plastic substrate, which is bendable or flexible”);
a plurality of light-emitting diode chips ([0518], “a light emitting device layer 103”) mounted over the first flexible substrate ([0542], “The light emitting device layer 103 may be disposed on the planarization layer 102 and may emit light toward the first surface 100a of the first substrate 100 on the basis of a top emission type”);
a first substrate provided with a first nitride film ([0575], “The first encapsulation layer 106a according to an embodiment may include an inorganic material. For example, the first encapsulation layer 106a may be referred to as a first inorganic encapsulation layer. For example, the first encapsulation layer 106a may include a single-layer structure including one of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiNx), silicon oxynitride (SiONx), titanium oxide (TiOx), and aluminum oxide (AlOx) or a stacked structure thereof”);
a second substrate provided with a second nitride film ([0579], “The third encapsulation layer 106c according to an embodiment may include an inorganic material. For example, the third encapsulation layer 106c may be referred to as a second inorganic encapsulation layer. For example, the third encapsulation layer 106c may include a single-layer structure including one of SiOx, SiNx, SiONx, TiOx, and AlOx or a stacked structure thereof”); and
a resin surrounding both an upper side and a lower side of each of the first flexible substrate ([0577], “The second encapsulation layer 106b according to an embodiment may include an organic material such as SiOCz acryl or epoxy-based resin”),
wherein the first substrate and the second substrate face each other with the first flexible substrate, ([0576], “The second encapsulation layer 106b may spread to an edge portion of the first surface 100a of the first substrate 100 due to a relatively thick thickness, but the spread of the second encapsulation layer 106b may be blocked by the dam pattern 105. For example, an end of the second encapsulation layer 106b may directly contact the first encapsulation layer 106a on the dam pattern 105. Accordingly, in some embodiments, the second encapsulation layer 106b may be disposed on only the first encapsulation layer 106a in an internal region (or an inner region) surrounded by the dam pattern 105. The second encapsulation layer 106b may be referred to as a particle cover layer”),
wherein the first nitride film and the second nitride film are in contact with each other in the cross-sectional view ([0578], “The third encapsulation layer 106c may be implemented to surround all of the second encapsulation layer 106b and the first encapsulation layer 106a uncovered by the second encapsulation layer 106b”),
wherein light emitted from the plurality of light-emitting diode chips passes through the first substrate ([0125], “Each of the plurality of pixels P may include a self-light emitting device (or a self-light emitting element), which emits light on the basis of a top emission type based on a signal supplied through corresponding pixel driving line adjacent thereto and irradiates the light onto a portion above the first surface 100a of the first substrate 100”).
While Lee discloses a substrate can be flexible and a multi-display apparatus (fig. 36), it has been known to have a device comprising a plurality of flexible substrates. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Miyake discloses a first flexible substrate; a second flexible substrate adjacent to the first flexible substrate ([0015], “The pair of substrates preferably each have flexibility”); and wherein an end portion of the first flexible substrate overlaps with an end portion of the second flexible substrate ([0012], “The display device includes a region in which the third region of the first display panel and the first region of the second display panel overlap each other”).
In view of the teachings of Lee and Miyake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include the plurality of flexible substrates of Miyake, within the display device of Lee, for the purpose of providing a display device that is suitable for increasing in size (Miyake: [0008]).
While the combination of Lee and Miyake teaches a pair of flexibility substrates, it has been known to align the pair of substrates. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Yuan discloses a first element layer over the first flexible substrate (fig. 1, element 31a,b and c); a second element layer over the second flexible substrate (fig. 1, element 30); wherein the first element layer comprises a first transistor, wherein the second element layer comprises a second transistor ([0043], transistor 30 and transistor 31), wherein an end surface of the first flexible substrate (fig. 1, element 40) is aligned with an end surface of the second flexible substrate (fig. 1, element 10), and wherein an end surface of the first element layer is not aligned with the end surface of the first flexible substrate (fig. 1, element 31 does not align with element 40).
In view of the teachings of Lee, Miyake and Yuan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to align an end surface of the first and second flexible substrate of Yuan, in the system of Lee and Miyake, for the purpose of having the characteristics of being flexible, deformable, bendable ([0045]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein the first flexible substrate and the second flexible substrate each have a light-transmitting property (Lee: [0125], “irradiates the light onto a portion above the first surface 100a of the first substrate 100”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein the second substrate has a light-transmitting property (Lee: [0125], “irradiates the light onto a portion above the first surface 100a of the first substrate 100”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein the resin has a light-transmitting property (Lee: [0125], “irradiates the light onto a portion above the first surface 100a of the first substrate 100”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein the first nitride film is a silicon nitride film (Lee: [0575], silicon nitride (SiNx)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein the plurality of light-emitting diode chips each include a micro light-emitting diode (Lee: [0201], “The inorganic light emitting device may include a semiconductor light emitting diode, a micro light emitting diode, or a quantum dot light emitting diode”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses
wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting diode chips are electrically connected to a conductive layer through a first bump and a second bump, and wherein the first bump and the second bump have different heights (Lee: [0697], “For example, a height (or a thickness) of the second dam pattern 105b may be greater than that of the first dam pattern 105a”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first flexible substrate is level or substantially level with a bottom surface of the second flexible substrate (Yuan: fig. 1, elements 10 and 40).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee, Miyake and Yuan further discloses wherein the second element layer overlaps with the end surface of the first flexible substrate and the end surface of the second flexible substrate (Yuan: figs. 1, elements 20, 10 and 40).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Miyake and Yuan further in view of Takahashi et al. (US PGPub 2021/0343243).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee, Miyake, and Yuan discloses a layer for converting while light into colored light (Lee: [0581), it has been known to use a phosphor layer and a coloring layer to perform the function of converting. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Takahashi discloses a phosphor layer and a coloring layer overlapping with one of the plurality of light-emitting diode chips ([0237], “an end portion of the phosphor layer 797 be positioned on the outer side than an end portion of the display element 782 and the end portion of the coloring layer 4301 be positioned on the outer side than the end portion of the phosphor layer 797”),
wherein an end portion of the phosphor layer is positioned on an outer side of an end portion of the one of the plurality of light-emitting diode chips, and wherein an end portion of the coloring layer is positioned on an outer side of the end portion of the phosphor layer ([0237], “an end portion of the phosphor layer 797 be positioned on the outer side than an end portion of the display element 782 and the end portion of the coloring layer 4301 be positioned on the outer side than the end portion of the phosphor layer 797”).
In view of the teachings of Lee, Miyake, Yuan and Takahashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the phosphor and coloring layers of Takahashi, within the display device of Lee, Miyake and Yuan, for the purpose of providing a structure which inhibits light leakage to an adjacent pixel and color mixture between pixels (Takahashi: [0237]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629