DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 5 lines 1, 2, and 4, and Page 6 line 25 uses mixed conventions for indicating values with decimals. That is, sometimes the Specification uses a comma to denote a decimal (0,25mm), and sometimes the specification uses a dot (0.050 mm). Please use consistent conventions for decimals.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (CN 2552617 Y) in view of Iwatani et al (NPL U).
As to claim 1, Ren teaches a guide roller for hot wire rolling (Page 1, Technical Field: “This utility model belongs to metal non-cutting pressure processing in the field of rolled steel rolling guide roll structure technology.”), the guide roller including a wire guiding surface (as shown in Ren Fig 4, the guide roller surface is the exterior of roller (6)).
Ren does not teach a method for manufacturing the guide roller.
Rather, Ren teaches the guide roller is made of an aluminum alloy having a hard outer surface.
However, methods of manufacturing aluminum parts with hard outer layers were known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. See Iwatani which teaches a method of laser cladding Fe-Cr-C alloys on A5052 Aluminum using laser cladding.
Iwatani teaches the method comprising the steps of: providing a guide roller made of an Al alloy (Iwatani’s substrate is A5052 Aluminum Alloy. The structure of the guide roller is provided by Ren’s teaching of an aluminum guide roller), and applying a coating onto at least a part of the wire guiding surface by a metallic wire Direct Energy Deposition (DED) operation and/or a metallic powder DED operation (Iwatani teaches applying a Fe-Cr-C coating to the Aluminum by laser cladding, which is a DED operation. In Section 2, Iwatani teaches the use of Fe-Cr-C powder).
Iwatani is analogous art under MPEP § 2141.01(a) as being pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, that is, the provision of a hard layer to an aluminum substrate. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have manufactured the guide roller of Ren by the method of Iwatani. See MPEP § 2143 D which describes the prima facie obviousness of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. In this case, the known technique is the applying of Fe-Cr-C powder as layers onto an aluminum substrate by laser cladding for the purpose of providing a hard outer layer. The known device is the aluminum guide roller of Ren having a hard outer layer. The predictable result is the formation of the device of Ren by a laser cladding operation.
As to claim 2, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the metallic wire and/or the metallic powder is any of a Ni based alloy, a Co based alloy or a Fe based alloy (Iwatani teaches at section 2. Experimental Procedure: “As the base cladding material, Fe–Cr–C alloy powder, which was reported to have a good adhesion to aluminum alloy, was used.” The powder is Fe based as shown in table 1, since Fe is the “balance” of mass percent.).
As to claim 3, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according claim 1, wherein the step of applying the coating includes applying more than one layer by use of DED (Iwatani teaches the applying of layers (plural) at section 3.1: “General views and cross sectional micrographs of clad layers are shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3.”).
As to claim 4, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of applying the coating is done with a varied application speed (as shown for example at table 2, Iwatani uses at least four different seeds, 5, 10, 15 and 20 mm/2).
As to claim 6, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according claim 1, wherein the DED operation is any of laser cladding, plasma transferred arc (PTA), electron beam melting (EBM) or selected laser melting (SLM) (Iwatani teaches laser cladding).
As to claim 7, Ren teaches a guide roller for hot wire rolling (Page 1, Technical Field: “This utility model belongs to metal non-cutting pressure processing in the field of rolled steel rolling guide roll structure technology.”), the guide roller comprising: a guide roller ring made of an Al alloy (Ren’s inner ring 6 is made of aluminum, see Page 3 line 3), the ring having a wire guiding surface for receiving wire (as shown in Ren Fig 4, the guide roller surface is the exterior of ring (6)), and a coating covering at least a part of the wire guiding surface (outer ring 5). Ren does not teach the coating being applied by a DED operation.
Rather, Ren teaches the guide roller is made of an aluminum alloy having a hard outer surface, but not the structure of having been applied by a DED operation.
However, aluminum parts with hard outer layers were known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to be coated by a DED operation. See Iwatani which teaches a method of laser cladding Fe-Cr-C alloys on A5052 Aluminum using diode laser cladding.
Iwatani is analogous art under MPEP § 2141.01(a) as being pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, that is, the provision of a hard layer to an aluminum substrate. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have manufactured the guide roller of Ren by the method of Iwatani. See MPEP § 2143 D which describes the prima facie obviousness of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. In this case, the known technique is the applying of Fe-Cr-C powder as layers onto an aluminum substrate by laser cladding for the purpose of providing a hard outer layer. The known device is the aluminum guide roller of Ren having a hard outer layer. The predictable result is the formation of the device of Ren by a diode laser cladding operation.
As to claim 8, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the guide roller according to claim 7, wherein the coating is made of any of a Ni based alloy, a Co based alloy or a Fe based alloy (this is considered to be a Markush grouping. Iwatani teaches at section 2. Experimental Procedure: “As the base cladding material, Fe–Cr–C alloy powder, which was reported to have a good adhesion to aluminum alloy, was used.” The powder is Fe based as shown in table 1, since Fe is the “balance” of mass percent.).
As to claim 9, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the guide roller according to claim 7, wherein the coating has a radial thickness with a value of from 0.25mm to 2 mm (while Ren teaches the outer diameter A of the roller as compared to the diameter of the aluminum ring C, Ren does not give specific values of the thickness of the ring 5. Iwatani teaches the clad material is on the order of 1mm thick, as shown in Fig 9(a) which illustrates the clad layer and the Al substrate) having a 1mm scale.
As to claim 10, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches a wire rolling machine comprising a guide roller according to claim 7 (Ren teaches a machine useful for wire rolling at Fig 1, for example.).
As to claim 11, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches a wire rolling machine comprising a guide roller which has been manufactured by the method according to claim 1 (Ren teaches a machine useful for wire rolling at Fig 1, for example.).
As to claim 12, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the Fe based alloy is a stainless steel (Iwatani’s Fe-Cr-C is a stainless steel.).
As to claim 13, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the step of applying the coating includes applying 2-20 layers by use of DED (Iwatani section 3.3 paragraph 2 teaches the layer thickness is from 5 to 100 microns. As shown in Fig 9(a), the clad thickness if ~1mm. 1mm / 100 microns is 10. Thus Iwatani teaches ~10 layers of clad coating.).
As to claim 14, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the guide roller according to claim 8, wherein the Fe based alloy is a stainless steel (Iwatani’s Fe-Cr-C is a stainless steel.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Iwatani as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zuo et al. (CN 1351919 A).
As to claim 5, Ren in view of Iwatani teaches the method according to claim 4, but does not teach the application speed is varied by decreasing the speed at least one time during application of the coating.
However, in the field of cladding wire rollers, it was known at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide for variations in the speed of coating. See Zuo which teaches laser classing manufacturing of high-speed wire roller equipment (Title). Zuo abstract teaches some manufacturing parameters: “using laser cladding method for manufacturing the roller work layer, blank surface of each track cladding 2-5 layers, each layer of the overlapping area 11-15 the path overlapping between layers is 40-60 %, the cladding speed by rolling wheel blank rotary table is 360-720 [rpm].”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have decreased the speed at least one time during application of the coating. Such a person would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that a radially outward portion of the rolling surface achieves the same coverage as a radially inward portion of the surface. This is necessary since a radially outward surface has a faster linear speed than a radially inward surface since both travel at the same rpm. To ensure an even cladding thickness, the speed of the application must be changed based on the distance the surface is from the center of rotation. Zuo teaches the cladding is known to be performed anywhere from 360 to 720 rpm. 360 rpm is a decreased speed from 720 rpm.
Conclusion
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 13 November 2025