DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
ISSUE: CLAIM 17 – “SCREWING THE TOOTHED WASHER” IS UNCLEAR
Claim 17, step 2, recites “screwing the toothed washer and the nut on the first end of the double-headed stud.” A “toothed washer” (as used in the instant disclosure, and as ordinarily understood in the mechanical arts) is typically not a threaded component that can be “screwed on” like a nut. As written, the step is ambiguous as to what action is performed with respect to the toothed washer (e.g., placing/positioning the washer, rotating the washer with the nut, threading a specially-threaded washer, or installing an integral nut/washer piece). This ambiguity renders the metes and bounds of the method unclear.
ISSUE: CLAIM 17 – CONTACT RELATIONSHIP OF PUSH SCREW / HARD WASHER / COUPLER BUFFER DEVICE IS AMBIGUOUS
Claim 17, step 3, recites “sleeving the hard washer on the second end … tightening a push screw, wherein the push screw abuts against an outer end face of the coupler buffer device.” Because the hard washer is installed in the same step, it is unclear whether the push screw is intended to abut the hard washer (with the hard washer abutting the coupler buffer device), or whether the push screw abuts the coupler buffer device directly (with the hard washer positioned elsewhere). The claim therefore leaves uncertainty as to the required physical interface during tightening.
ISSUE: CLAIM 17 – “WITHIN A DESIGN RANGE” LACKS OBJECTIVE BOUNDARIES
Claim 17, step 4, recites “checking that a clearance value between the hard washer and the push nut is within a design range.” The phrase “within a design range” does not provide objective boundaries for determining whether the step is satisfied, because the “design range” is not recited in the claim and no objective standard is provided in the claim language for how that range is determined. As written, the claim scope depends on an unspecified design choice, rendering the claim indefinite.
ISSUE: CLAIM 17 – “MARKING THE TIGHTENING” IS INDEFINITE
Claim 17, step 4, further recites “marking the tightening.” This phrase is unclear as to what is being marked (e.g., the fastener head, the push nut, the stud end, a log sheet, a torque value), the manner of marking (e.g., paint mark, punch mark, written record), and the purpose/criteria for completion. As a result, the step is not distinctly claimed.
ISSUE: CLAIM 18 – “RESTRAINING MOMENT” IS AMBIGUOUS, AND IT IS UNCLEAR WHETHER THE TORQUE APPLIES TO EACH PUSH SCREW
Claim 18 recites “the push screw is screwed by a torque wrench in step 3, and a restraining moment is set to about 70 N·m.” The term “restraining moment” is not a standard term in this context and is ambiguous as to whether it refers to applied torque on the push screw, a reaction torque, or another moment. Additionally, in view of claim 11/17 describing a plurality of push screws, claim 18 is unclear whether “about 70 N·m” is the torque applied to each push screw, a maximum torque, an initial seating torque, or an aggregate/overall setting.
ISSUE: CLAIM 19 – “OPERATION OF PERFORMING BY …” IS UNCLEAR
Claim 19 recites “wherein the operation of performing by the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 12 comprises the steps of ….” The phrase “operation of performing by” is unclear because it does not clearly identify what operation is being performed, and it creates ambiguity as to whether the method is performed “by” the mounting structure itself, or “using” the mounting structure, or whether the claim is attempting to incorporate structural limitations in an unclear manner.
REFERENCES RELIED UPON
Reference 1 (“Davis”): US 2014/0348610 A1
Reference 2 (“CN ’493”): CN 211599493 U
Reference 3 (“Sutton”): US 4,338,037
Reference 4 (“US ’448”): US 10,396,448 B2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (Reference 1) in view of CN ’493 (Reference 2).
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (Reference 1) in view of CN ’493 (Reference 2) and further in view of Sutton (Reference 3).
Claims 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (Reference 1) in view of CN ’493 (Reference 2) and further in view of US ’448 (Reference 4).
Claims 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (Reference 1) in view of CN ’493 (Reference 2) and further in view of US ’448 (Reference 4).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (Reference 1) in view of CN ’493 (Reference 2) and further in view of Sutton (Reference 3).
───────── CLAIM 11 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2)
A coupler buffer device mounting structure, comprising: a double-headed stud passing through an installation fabrication hole of a vehicle body structure; a nut screwed on a first end of the double-headed stud; a push nut screwed on a second end of the double-headed stud and provided with a plurality of axial screw holes in a circumferential direction; and a plurality of push screws screwed into the plurality of axial screw holes of the push nut, wherein a coupler buffer device is clamped and fixed to the vehicle body structure by heads of the plurality of push screws abutting against the coupler buffer device via a hard washer.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 11
A coupler buffer device mounting structure
The combined teachings of Davis and CN ’493 are directed to heavy-duty fastening/mounting arrangements for securing components with high preload while improving tool access, and are reasonably pertinent to mounting a large rail-vehicle component (e.g., a coupler buffer device) to a vehicle body structure by threaded fasteners and washers.
a double-headed stud passing through an installation fabrication hole of a vehicle body structure
CN ’493 teaches a pull rod 108 that is a double-headed stud (“pull rod 108 is a double-headed stud”), used to connect structural members (first support plate 101 and second support plate 102). The pull rod 108 necessarily passes through corresponding openings/holes in the connected structural members 101/102 to achieve the described connection, which is consistent with a stud passing through an installation hole of a vehicle body structure.
Davis teaches that a jackscrew tightening assembly 1000 includes a central thread 1002 (nut configuration: internal thread) for threaded engagement with a mating threaded member, i.e., a bolt/stud, such that the assembly 1000 is used as a nut-like element on a threaded fastener to clamp members.
Thus, CN ’493 provides the double-headed stud configuration (pull rod 108), and Davis provides the compatible nut/tensioning hardware intended to thread onto a threaded member (central thread 1002) in order to clamp parts together.
a nut screwed on a first end of the double-headed stud
CN ’493 teaches that the pull rod 108 (double-headed stud) is secured with nuts at both ends for positioning and locking (both ends use nuts for positioning/locking). This corresponds to a nut screwed onto a first end of the double-headed stud.
a push nut screwed on a second end of the double-headed stud and provided with a plurality of axial screw holes in a circumferential direction
Davis teaches a nut-type jackscrew tightening assembly 1000 having a main body 1008 with a central thread 1002 (internal in nut configuration) for screwing onto a threaded fastener (i.e., onto an end of a stud). Davis further teaches the main body 1008 includes multiple through holes 1017 arranged around the central thread 1002 (circumferentially arrayed), each through hole 1017 having a secondary thread 1023. These through holes 1017 correspond to the claimed “plurality of axial screw holes in a circumferential direction” of the push nut.
Accordingly, Davis teaches the claimed push nut function/structure (main body 1008 with internal central thread 1002; circumferential array of threaded holes 1017/1023).
a plurality of push screws screwed into the plurality of axial screw holes of the push nut
Davis teaches jackscrews 1026 (push screws) extending through the through holes 1017 and engaging the secondary threads 1023 via jackscrew threads 1027. This corresponds to push screws screwed into the plurality of axial screw holes of the push nut.
wherein a coupler buffer device is clamped and fixed to the vehicle body structure by heads of the plurality of push screws abutting against the coupler buffer device via a hard washer
Davis teaches a bottom washer 1035 positioned adjacent a main bottom 1014 of the main body 1008, and that the jackscrews 1026 include spherical bottoms 1032 that bear against spherical faces 1041 formed into a washer top 1038 of the bottom washer 1035. In operation, the jackscrews 1026 are sequentially tightened to generate axial loads which are transferred through the washer interface (1032/1041 and washer 1035) to produce the desired clamping/preload through the central thread connection 1002 and the main body 1008.
This corresponds to the claimed arrangement in which multiple small screws produce axial thrust against a washer (hard washer) to clamp a mounted component (here, the component to be mounted such as a coupler buffer device) relative to a structural member (vehicle body structure). The “heads … abutting … via a hard washer” is satisfied by the load-bearing end(s) of the push screws (jackscrews 1026) bearing on the washer (bottom washer 1035) that interfaces with the clamped component, thereby applying the clamp force through the washer rather than directly gouging the clamped surface.
Therefore, Davis provides the push nut/push screw/washer thrust-clamping mechanics, and CN ’493 provides the double-headed stud mounting arrangement used in a rail-vehicle context.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Davis’s circumferentially arrayed jackscrew tightening assembly (main body 1008 with jackscrews 1026 acting against a washer 1035) as the “push nut” hardware on one end of CN ’493’s double-headed stud (pull rod 108) because Davis expressly teaches that jackscrew nuts circumvent the need for high-power torque wrenches by distributing tightening across multiple smaller screws, and further teaches improved tool access in tight applications by centralized access to jackscrew heads. Using Davis’s multi-jackscrew nut on a double-ended stud connection like CN ’493 predictably provides a high clamping load with smaller tools and controlled preload, which is an expected benefit for mounting heavy rail-vehicle components where access and torque application can be constrained.
───────── CLAIM 12 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2)
The coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 11, wherein a toothed washer is arranged between the nut and the vehicle body structure.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 12
Claim 12 includes the mounting structure features addressed under claim 11, including: the double-headed stud passing through an installation hole, a nut on a first end, a push nut (Davis main body 1008) on the second end with circumferential threaded holes 1017/1023, push screws (jackscrews 1026) in those holes, and a washer interface (washer 1035) through which the screws apply load to clamp the mounted component.
wherein a toothed washer is arranged between the nut and the vehicle body structure
Davis teaches that the bottom washer 1035 may be configured as a lock washer with one-directional serrations on its bottom to prevent loosening rotation (i.e., a toothed/serrated washer feature). Such serrations are teeth that bite into an adjacent surface to resist loosening.
It would have been an obvious placement/implementation of that known toothed/serrated washer functionality to position a toothed washer between the conventional nut on the first end of the stud (CN ’493 nuts on the ends of pull rod 108) and the vehicle body structure (one of the connected structural members) to resist loosening in a vibration environment (rail vehicle). The limitation is met by employing a toothed/serrated washer (as taught by Davis via washer 1035 serrations) in that location.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include a toothed/serrated washer between the nut and the vehicle body structure because Davis teaches the use of a lock washer with serrations (toothed washer behavior) to prevent loosening, and rail-vehicle mountings are subject to vibration where maintaining preload is critical. Using a toothed washer at the nut-to-structure interface is a predictable, commonly employed anti-loosening measure that would improve retention without altering the fundamental fastening architecture.
───────── CLAIM 13 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3)
The coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 11, wherein a number of the plurality of push screws is six.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 13
Claim 13 includes the mounting structure features addressed under claim 11 (Davis + CN ’493), including the push nut with circumferential threaded holes (Davis through holes 1017 with secondary threads 1023) and the push screws (Davis jackscrews 1026) in those holes.
wherein a number of the plurality of push screws is six
Sutton teaches a crosshead nut 16 having multiple threaded bores 20 and corresponding jackscrews 22 (each with a tightening cap 24), and explicitly teaches an embodiment where six jackscrews 22 are utilized. Sutton further teaches that using six jackscrews enables assembly with a torque wrench having a comparatively short handle and provides advantages in cramped spaces.
Thus, Sutton provides an express teaching of selecting “six” as the number of jackscrews (push screws) in a circumferential multi-jackscrew tightening arrangement. Applying Sutton’s explicit six-jackscrew configuration to the Davis push nut (main body 1008) yields the claimed number of push screws being six.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure Davis’s circumferential jackscrew array to use six push screws in view of Sutton because Sutton teaches that using six jackscrews provides controlled preload with smaller torque tools and improved practicality in cramped spaces. Selecting six in Davis is a straightforward design choice informed by Sutton’s explicit example, yielding predictable balanced loading and tool-access advantages while still providing the fundamental distributed-jacking function.
───────── CLAIM 14 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4)
The coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 12, wherein the nut is integral with the toothed washer.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 14
wherein the nut is integral with the toothed washer
US ’448 teaches a flange nut 700 having a nut body with threads 710 and an integral flange portion (flared region 704/step 706) that functions as an integral washer surface. US ’448 further teaches that the flange nut 700 may include serrations 709 on the flange portion to mate with opposing serrations, thereby increasing security and making loosening more difficult than tightening. The serrations 709 correspond to tooth-like features, i.e., a toothed washer effect integrally formed with the nut.
Thus, US ’448 teaches a nut (flange nut 700) integral with a toothed/serrated washer surface (serrations 709 on the integral flange region 704), satisfying the “nut integral with the toothed washer” limitation.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 14)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the nut and toothed washer as a single integral component (e.g., a serrated flange nut) as taught by US ’448 to reduce part count, simplify assembly, and improve retention against loosening (via serrations 709) in vibration environments. Incorporating a serrated flange nut in place of a separate nut-plus-toothed-washer stack is a predictable substitution that maintains the same functional interface (nut-bearing surface against the structure) while improving assembly efficiency and anti-loosening performance.
───────── CLAIM 15 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4)
The coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 11, wherein the double-headed stud is pre-formed with a raised head on a coupler side.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 15
wherein the double-headed stud is pre-formed with a raised head on a coupler side
US ’448 teaches that a threaded fastener component may include an upper region 702 that is polygonal (generally hexagonal) to facilitate gripping with a wrench or other tightening tools. This is a clear teaching of providing a raised, wrench-engageable head/region on a threaded fastener element for tool engagement.
Applying that teaching to CN ’493’s double-headed stud (pull rod 108) would result in providing a raised head (wrenching feature) on the coupler-side end of the stud so the stud can be held/removed/installed with a wrench from that side when access is limited. Such a raised head is a conventional wrenching feature (polygonal head/region) on a threaded member.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to pre-form a raised head/wrenching feature on the coupler-side end of the double-headed stud to facilitate installation and removal in constrained access environments. Davis and Sutton both recognize advantages of designs enabling tightening with smaller tools in tight locations, and US ’448 teaches providing a wrench-engageable polygonal region (upper region 702) on a threaded fastener component. Adding a raised head to the stud is a predictable modification that improves serviceability without changing the fundamental clamping mechanism.
───────── CLAIM 16 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2)
A rail vehicle having a coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 11.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 16
Claim 16 requires a rail vehicle that includes the mounting structure of claim 11.
As addressed for claim 11, Davis teaches the push nut/push screw/washer thrust-clamping arrangement (main body 1008 with central thread 1002; circumferential threaded holes 1017/1023; jackscrews 1026 bearing through washer 1035), and CN ’493 teaches a rail-vehicle context (traction locomotive) employing a double-headed stud (pull rod 108) with nuts on the ends to connect structural plates 101/102.
Accordingly, the combined teachings render obvious a rail vehicle having the mounting structure of claim 11, since CN ’493 is itself a rail vehicle application and Davis provides the improved tightening hardware to be incorporated into such rail vehicle mountings.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 16)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Davis’s multi-jackscrew nut tightening hardware into a rail vehicle mounting arrangement like CN ’493 because both address fastening in mechanically demanding environments and the substitution yields predictable benefits of reduced required tool torque and improved tightening access. Implementing the combined mounting structure on a rail vehicle is a predictable use of known fastening technology in a closely related vehicle environment.
───────── CLAIM 17 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3)
A method for mounting a coupler buffer device of a rail vehicle, wherein the operation of fixing by the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 12 comprises the steps of: step 1, lifting the coupler buffer device to a vehicle body installation position; step 2, allowing the double-headed stud through the installation fabrication hole of the vehicle body structure and an installation hole of the coupler buffer device, and screwing the toothed washer and the nut on the first end of the double-headed stud; step 3, sleeving the hard washer on the second end of the double-headed stud from an outside, screwing the push nut on the second end of the double-headed stud, and tightening a push screw, wherein the push screw abuts against an outer end face of the coupler buffer device; and step 4, checking that a clearance value between the hard washer and the push nut is within a design range and marking the tightening.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 17
Claim 17 is a mounting method that uses the mounting structure of claim 12. The structural aspects (double-headed stud, nut, toothed washer, push nut with circumferential screw holes, push screws, hard washer) are addressed above by Davis + CN ’493 (and Davis serrated/lock washer teaching for toothed washer).
step 1, lifting the coupler buffer device to a vehicle body installation position
Mounting a heavy component (such as the clamped member in CN ’493 and the clamped flange/member in Davis) inherently requires bringing the component into positional alignment with the structural mounting location before threading/fastening. Positioning by lifting is an obvious and commonly used handling step for heavy rail-vehicle components prior to inserting studs/bolts and installing nuts.
step 2, allowing the double-headed stud through the installation fabrication hole of the vehicle body structure and an installation hole of the coupler buffer device, and screwing the toothed washer and the nut on the first end of the double-headed stud
CN ’493 teaches using a double-headed stud pull rod 108 to connect the first support plate 101 and second support plate 102, which necessarily entails passing the stud through aligned openings in the plates and securing with nuts on the ends. Davis teaches a lock washer configuration (bottom washer 1035 with serrations) that functions as a toothed washer to resist loosening. Thus, passing the stud through aligned holes and threading on a washer and nut is taught/indicated by CN ’493 (stud through holes + nuts) and Davis (toothed/serrated washer concept) in combination.
step 3, sleeving the hard washer on the second end of the double-headed stud from an outside, screwing the push nut on the second end of the double-headed stud, and tightening a push screw, wherein the push screw abuts against an outer end face of the coupler buffer device
Davis teaches placing a washer (bottom washer 1035) adjacent the nut body (main body 1008) and tightening the circumferential jackscrews 1026 such that their load-bearing ends (spherical bottoms 1032) bear against the washer features (spherical faces 1041) to apply axial load and produce clamping via the central thread 1002. This corresponds to providing a washer on the stud end, threading on the push nut (main body 1008), and tightening a push screw (jackscrew 1026) so that the screw bears (through the washer) against the clamped component end face, producing the clamping force.
step 4, checking that a clearance value between the hard washer and the push nut is within a design range and marking the tightening
Sutton teaches that the crosshead nut 16 is rotated to bring its inner surface 17 to within a specified small distance of the boss face 15, and that jackscrews 22 are tightened in an alternated sequence to maintain a uniform clearance between the crosshead nut 16 and the crosshead boss face 15. Sutton identifies the clearance (illustrated as B) and explicitly teaches maintaining/checking that clearance during tightening as part of the assembly procedure, with tightening performed to predetermined torque values using torque wrenches. This corresponds to checking a clearance value between a washer/abutment interface region and the push nut during tightening to ensure proper, uniform preload and alignment.
“Marking the tightening” is an obvious workshop step to provide a visual/administrative indication that tightening/inspection has been completed (e.g., paint mark/witness mark), particularly for critical fasteners subject to inspection and maintenance.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 17)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to perform the assembly using the cited steps because: (i) Davis teaches a tightening process using circumferential jackscrews acting against a washer to generate clamp load, which inherently requires assembling the washer and threading the nut body onto the stud before tightening the jackscrews; (ii) CN ’493 teaches the underlying stud-and-nut mounting in a rail-vehicle context; and (iii) Sutton teaches that proper multi-jackscrew tightening includes maintaining and checking a clearance (B) during tightening to ensure uniformity and avoid misalignment/out-of-squareness. Combining these teachings yields a predictable, standard installation method for a multi-jackscrew push nut fastener used to mount a heavy rail-vehicle component.
───────── CLAIM 18 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3)
The method for mounting the coupler buffer device of the rail vehicle according to claim 17, wherein the push screw is screwed by a torque wrench in step 3, and a restraining moment is set to about 70 N. m.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 18
wherein the push screw is screwed by a torque wrench in step 3
Sutton explicitly teaches that the jackscrews 22 include hex nut-like caps 24 permitting the use of standard socket-type torque wrenches, and that each jackscrew is tightened to a predetermined torque value. This corresponds to tightening the push screws using a torque wrench.
and a restraining moment is set to about 70 N·m
Sutton teaches tightening to a predetermined torque value for each jackscrew. The selection of a specific torque magnitude (about 70 N·m) represents routine selection/optimization of the predetermined torque setpoint based on screw size, desired preload, friction conditions, and joint design requirements. Once the references teach torque-wrench tightening to a predetermined torque, selecting an appropriate numeric torque value for a given application is an ordinary engineering/maintenance choice.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 18)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to tighten the push screws with a torque wrench and to set a predetermined torque because Sutton expressly teaches torque-wrench tightening of jackscrews to predetermined torque values for controlled preload. Selecting an about-70 N·m setpoint is a predictable and routine implementation detail within the taught framework of torque-controlled tightening, chosen to achieve the required clamp load without over-stressing the small push screws.
───────── CLAIM 19 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3)
A method for dismounting a coupler buffer device of a rail vehicle, wherein the operation of performing by the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 12 comprises the steps of: step 1, suspending the coupler buffer device to make the coupler buffer device does not fall off after a fastener is removed; step 2, unscrewing a push screw by using a torque wrench to disengage the push screw from the hard washer; step 3, manually unscrewing and removing the push nut; step 4, unscrewing the double-headed stud and removing the double-headed stud, the nut and the toothed washer; and step 5, dismounting and removing the coupler buffer device.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 19
Claim 19 is a dismounting method for a device mounted by the structure of claim 12 (addressed above).
step 1, suspending the coupler buffer device to make the coupler buffer device does not fall off after a fastener is removed
This is an obvious safety/handling step for removing a heavy component mounted to a structure. Prior to loosening/removing the retaining fasteners, the component is supported (suspended) to prevent uncontrolled dropping.
step 2, unscrewing a push screw by using a torque wrench to disengage the push screw from the hard washer
Sutton teaches that the jackscrews 22 are tightened with torque wrenches (caps 24 allow socket-type torque wrenches). Disassembly predictably involves reversing the tightening operation by loosening/unscrewing the jackscrews so they no longer bear against their bearing pads/washer interface (bearing pads 26 against boss face 15). Davis similarly teaches loosening jackscrews 1026 relative to the washer interface (washer 1035) as part of loosening procedure. Thus, torque-wrench unscrewing of the push screws to disengage them from the washer interface is taught/suggested.
step 3, manually unscrewing and removing the push nut
Sutton teaches that the crosshead nut 16 is threadedly assembled to the piston rod 11 and is positioned with a clearance to the boss face; once the jackscrews are loosened, the nut can be unthreaded/removed. Davis teaches that after loosening jackscrews (to the extent they disengage interlock features), the main body can be loosened relative to the washer and removed. Manual removal after loosening is a predictable, routine step.
step 4, unscrewing the double-headed stud and removing the double-headed stud, the nut and the toothed washer
CN ’493 teaches a double-headed stud pull rod 108 secured with nuts on both ends. Disassembly of such a stud joint predictably includes removing the end nuts and withdrawing/removing the stud. If a toothed washer is present (as taught by Davis serrated washer concept), it is likewise removed during nut removal.
step 5, dismounting and removing the coupler buffer device
Once the fasteners are removed and the component is supported (step 1), the component can be taken away from the mounting location as a routine concluding step.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 19)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to dismount by reversing the taught installation/tightening operations because Davis and Sutton teach multi-jackscrew tightening structures where loosening the jackscrews relieves preload, permitting removal of the nut body, and CN ’493 teaches a double-ended stud secured by nuts that is removed by unthreading nuts and withdrawing the stud. Supporting (suspending) the heavy mounted component during removal is a predictable safety practice. The claimed dismounting sequence yields the expected and intended outcome of safely removing a component secured by a stud, nut, washer, and multi-jackscrew push nut system.
───────── CLAIM 20 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2)
The rail vehicle having the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 16, wherein in the coupler buffer device mounting structure, a toothed washer is arranged between the nut and the vehicle body structure.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 20
The rail-vehicle aspect and the underlying mounting structure are addressed for claim 16 (Davis + CN ’493). The toothed washer feature is addressed for claim 12: Davis teaches a lock washer configuration (bottom washer 1035) with one-directional serrations (toothed washer behavior) to resist loosening. Applying this toothed washer at the nut-to-vehicle-body interface in a rail vehicle is an obvious placement to resist loosening under vibration.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the toothed washer in the rail vehicle mounting structure to improve resistance to loosening, as taught by Davis’s serrated lock washer concept, with predictable benefits in a vibration-prone rail vehicle environment.
───────── CLAIM 21 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3)
The rail vehicle having the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 16, wherein in the coupler buffer device mounting structure, a number of the plurality of push screws is six.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 21
As addressed for claim 13, Sutton expressly teaches using six jackscrews 22 in a multi-jackscrew mounting arrangement, providing tool-access and controlled preload advantages. Applying Sutton’s six-jackscrew teaching to Davis’s jackscrew array (jackscrews 1026 in through holes 1017/secondary threads 1023) in the rail-vehicle mounting yields six push screws.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 21)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to select six push screws in the rail-vehicle mounting structure because Sutton teaches the specific six-jackscrew configuration to enable smaller torque-wrench tooling and balanced loading, which predictably benefits rail-vehicle mounting applications where access and preload control are important.
───────── CLAIM 22 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4)
The rail vehicle having the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 20, wherein in the coupler buffer device mounting structure, the nut is integral with the toothed washer.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 22
As addressed for claim 14, US ’448 teaches a flange nut 700 having integral flange structure (flared region 704/step 706) and serrations 709 on the flange surface that provide a toothed/serrated interface. Substituting US ’448’s serrated flange nut 700 for a separate nut and toothed washer stack yields a nut integral with a toothed washer for the rail vehicle mounting.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 22)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use an integral serrated flange nut (US ’448 flange nut 700 with serrations 709) to reduce part count and improve anti-loosening performance in the rail vehicle mounting. This substitution predictably simplifies assembly and enhances retention under vibration while preserving the nut-to-structure bearing function.
───────── CLAIM 23 (Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4)
The rail vehicle having the coupler buffer device mounting structure according to claim 16, wherein in the coupler buffer device mounting structure, the double-headed stud is pre-formed with a raised head on a coupler side.
─────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 23
As addressed for claim 15, US ’448 teaches providing a polygonal wrench-engageable upper region 702 on a threaded fastener component to facilitate gripping with a wrench or tightening tools. Applying that teaching to the coupler-side end of the double-headed stud used in the rail vehicle mounting (CN ’493 pull rod 108 as the double-headed stud) yields a raised head/wrenching feature on the coupler side.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide a raised head/wrenching feature on the coupler-side of the stud to improve serviceability and allow tool engagement from an accessible side, consistent with US ’448’s teaching of a wrenchable polygonal region and the recognized benefits of tool-access-friendly fasteners in constrained spaces (as emphasized by Davis and Sutton). The modification predictably facilitates installation/removal without changing the underlying clamp mechanism.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615