DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“cargo movement section” in claim 1;
“first direction restriction portion” in claim 1;
“control section” in claim 1;
“cargo pressing portion” in claim 3; and
“detection section” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwata et al. (US 2018/0339858 A1), hereafter referred to as Iwata.
Consider claim 1. Iwata teaches a transport cart (1) comprising: a cargo movement section (31) configured to place a cargo thereon and move the cargo in a horizontal first direction and a second direction opposite to the first direction; a first direction restriction portion (16 at right side of fig. 3) provided to be movable between a restriction position and a restriction release position that are in an up-down relationship and configured to restrict the movement of the cargo placed on the cargo movement section in the first direction at the restriction position and allow the movement of the cargo placed on the cargo movement section in the first direction at the restriction release position (see paragraph [0040]); and a control section (81f) configured to execute pre-restriction release processing of controlling the cargo movement section. Iwata’s control section is capable of performing the recited functional language: controlling the cargo movement section so that the cargo moves once in the second direction while maintaining a state where the first direction restriction portion is located at the restriction position before the first direction restriction portion located at the restriction position is moved to the restriction release position. Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 2. Iwata teaches a wall-shaped second direction restriction portion (16 proximate center of fig. 3) provided at a position at which the second direction restriction portion is capable of coming into contact with a surface on a second direction side of the cargo and configured to restrict the movement of the cargo in the second direction.
Consider claim 3. Iwata teaches a cargo pressing portion (13) provided above the cargo movement section along the first direction or the second direction.
Consider claim 4. Iwata teaches a detection section (see paragraph [0031]) configured to detect a position of the first direction restriction portion. Iwata’s control section is capable of performing the recited functional language: controlling the cargo movement section so that the cargo moves in the first direction after a signal that detected that the first direction restriction portion is located at the restriction release position is input from the detection section when the cargo is moved in the first direction. Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 5. Iwata teaches that the first direction restriction portion includes a main body (body portion of 16) rotatable about a shaft in an up-down direction (see figs. 6 and 7) and an engaging portion (tine portion of 16) provided at an end part of the main body and configured to restrict the movement of the cargo in the first direction by engaging with the engaged portion when the first direction restriction portion is located at the restriction position, and is movable between the restriction position and the restriction release position by the rotation of the main body about the shaft. Iwata’s engaging portion is capable of engaging with an engaged portion on a bottom surface of the cargo. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding article worked upon by an apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various loading and unloading mechanisms for transport carts.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652