DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed 11/09/2023, is a 371 filing of PCT/CN2022/092622, filed 05/13/2022, which claims foreign priority to CN202210500178.7, filed 05/07/2022, and CN202110533087.9, filed 05/14/2021. It is noted however that applicant has not filed a certified translation of the foreign applications as required by 37 CFR §1.55. Therefore, applicant is not entitled to the effective filing dates associated with the foreign priority documents.
Preliminary Amendments and Claim Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 11/09/2023 is acknowledged and entered.
Claims 3-6 and 8-11 are amended;
Claims 13 and 14 are added.
Claims 1-14 are pending and are under prosecution.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/09/2023 and 12/26/2025 are acknowledged and found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 04/15/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of the following specific species is also acknowledged:
Species A: fumaric acid salt of compound A
Species B: having characteristic peaks at peaks at 2θ angles of 3.90°±0.20°, 13.93°±0.20°, 16.86°±0.20°, and 26.37°±0.20° by X-ray powder diffraction using Cu-Kα radiation
Species C: compound A and the fumaric acid are in a molar ratio of 2:1
Species D: an anhydrate
Species E: the second active ingredient is selected from other ROCK inhibitors
With respect to the arguments filed on 04/15/2026, regarding the use of a prior art disclosure for the restriction requirement, Applicant correctly surmised that the WO’795 was the intended document to be used for prior art set forth for the restriction requirement. However, in order to circumvent any forthcoming issues with co-ownership of the prior art documents, the disclosure by Curtin et al. (WO2012067965A1, published May 24, 2012), hereinafter Curtin is hereby placed on the record as teaching the shared technical feature of the instant claims.
Curtin teaches a compound of Formula (Ic) and a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is taught, which shares a common structural core with the compound of the instant claims (claims 1-2). The compounds of the prior art by Curtin are classified as a ROCK inhibitors, corresponding directly with the compounds (Abstract). Therefore, the shared technical feature of the instant claims does not make a contribution over the prior art of record. Therefore, the claims lack unity of invention. Accordingly, the requirement for restriction is deemed proper, and hereby made FINAL.
With respect to the arguments regarding the use of the prior art for which common ownership is declared, Applicant states: “at the time the instant application was filed, neither the WO’878 nor the WO’795 were published prior to the earliest effective filing date of the instant application”, and both were “owned by Wuhan LL Science and Technology Development Co., LTD at the time the instant application was filed.”
In order for Applicant to properly invoke common ownership to disqualify a U.S. patent document as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2), Applicant must submit the required statement that the subject matter in the U.S. patent document and the claimed invention were, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment, to the same person. See 37 CFR § 1.104(c)(4)(i). The statement concerning common ownership should be clear and conspicuous (e.g., on a separate piece of paper or in a separately labeled section). The statement must be signed in accordance with 37 CFR § 1.33(b). The
To clarify, a proper statement should address common ownership in terms of the effective filing date, and not “at the time the instant application was filed.” Statements regarding “the time of filing” apply to pre-AIA requirements. Post AIA , the focus on prior art documents is in terms of on or before “the effective filing date.” Statements in terms of publication are not applicable.
Accordingly, the statement submitted by Applicant is insufficient to invoke common ownership in order to disqualify the documents as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
In accordance with the MPEP § 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
As per MPEP § 803.02, the Examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicant’s elected species does not make a contribution over the prior art of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending in the instant application. Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species. Therefore, claims 1, 2, 5, and 8 read on an elected invention and species and are therefore under consideration in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/09/2023 are objected to under 37 CFR § 1.83 (a) for the following reasons:
The different data types are indistinguishable in Figures 2, 5, 8, 12, 13, 16, 19, 22, 31, 34, 37, 39, and 40-43. The original figures may rely on color-coding of the data, a feature not available in the black and white drawings. The figures must be remade with shapes or line-types used to describe the different data displayed within the same figures.
The different data types are indistinguishable in Figures 40-42 (top panels). The figures lack a figure key to describe the different data types. The figures must be remade with a figure key describing the different types of data found within the same figures.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR § 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5, and 8 recite numerous instances of limitations which are “preferably” included. The use of “preferably” renders the claims indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. As there are numerous instances of the language “preferably” recited in the same claim, Applicant is expected to address each instance individually by way of amendment.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2, 5, and 8 recite numerous broad limitations, as well as narrow limitations within the same claim. For example, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “compound A and the fumaric acid according to a molar ratio of 1:1 or 2:1,” and the claim also recites “’ preferably, in the fumarate crystal form I, compound A and the fumaric acid are in a molar ratio of 2:1” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. As there are numerous instances of narrow and broad ranges recited within the same claim, Applicant is expected to address each instance individually by way of amendment.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, the phrase "for example" and “e.g.” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 8 recites, “the pharmaceutical composition further comprises a second active ingredient, wherein, for example, the second active ingredient is one, two or more of other ROCK inhibitors, tyrosine kinase inhibitors, tyrosinase inhibitors, inhibitors of profibrotic cytokines, serum amyloid P inhibitors, autotaxin-lysophosphatidic acid pathway inhibitors, GPR40 agonists, GPR84 antagonists, anti-acid drugs, and antibiotics.” As in the case of the broad and narrow limitations with the same claim, the claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2021093795 A1, effectively filed November 15, 2019, for the purpose of 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a) (2), cited in applicant IDS filed 11/09/2023), hereinafter Li. Citations are directed to the PatentScope translation of the foreign document.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The instant claims are drawn to a fumaric acid salt of compound A.
Li teaches compound A, as compound T345 (claim 6), also known as CAS Registry Number: RN 2643334-76-1. [Database Registry Chemical Abstracts Service, Columbus, Ohio, Accession No. RN 2643334-76-1, Entered STN: 08 Jun 2021]. Li teaches wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt may be an acid addition salt of fumaric acid (paragraph [0201], see instant claims 1 and 2). Li further teaches wherein the molar ratio of the compound to the acid can be 4 :1~1:4, such as 3:1, 2:1, 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, etc. (paragraph [0204], see instant claim 2). Finally, Li teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound taught, wherein the pharmaceutical composition can contain more than one compound according to the language “at least one of a therapeutically effective amount of a compound represented by Formula (I)” (claim 10). Therefore, the pharmaceutical composition taught by Li may comprise a second ROCK inhibitor, as instantly elected (see instant claim 8).
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. US 12735414 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches instantly claimed Formula (A) as compound T345 (see patented claim 4), and a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 5). Choosing from a finite number of solutions, it would’ve been obvious to arrive at a fumaric acid salt of the compound, therefore rendering the instant claims obvious over the patented claims.
Correspondence
No claim is allowed.
/SOPHIA P HIRAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621