DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the non-solid flow separator recited in Claims 13-15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “mechanically actuation” should be amended to: “mechanically . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200025389 A1 (hereinafter “ERBE”).
Regarding Claims 1-7, 9 and 16, ERBE discloses a cooling system for sensitive electronics, comprising:
the sensitive electronics (10) adjacent to a heating chamber (2), and within an electronics chamber (defined by the interior space of door 4);
a flow separator (16) axially extending through the electronics chamber; and
an air intake (see the bottom of door 4 which defines said electronics chamber) that flows air external to the heating chamber and electronics chamber into the electronics chamber axially to the flow separator, such that the flow forms a thermal break zone (the space between said flow separator and the inner pane 12) adjacent the heating chamber on one side of the flow separator, and a cooling zone (the space between said flow separator and the outer pane 13) on an other side of the flow separator about the sensitive electronics;
wherein the sensitive electronics are optical electronics (see para. [0028]: “In the exemplary embodiment shown, the sensor 10 is embodied as an optical sensor, in order to capture image information, particularly in the form of a digital image or a video stream.”);
wherein the optical electronics comprise a camera system (see again para. [0028]: “In the exemplary embodiment shown, the sensor 10 is embodied as an optical sensor, in order to capture image information, particularly in the form of a digital image or a video stream.”);
wherein the heating chamber (2) comprises an oven chamber (2);
wherein the thermal break zone (the space between said flow separator and the inner pane 12) provides a region of low thermal conductivity that reduces or substantially prevents thermal energy from reaching the flow separator (16);
wherein the flow separator separates the flow into two or more partial flows (i.e., a first partial flow between said inner pane 12 and said flow separator 16; and a second partial flow between said outer pane 13 and said flow separator 16);
wherein the partial flows on either side of the flow separator are uni-directional (the partial flows proceed in the same direction towards the top of said door 4);
wherein the flow separator (16) comprises a solid element;
further comprising a vent (15) from which the flow exits the electronics chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERBE.
Regarding Claim 10, ERBE does not disclose wherein the solid element comprises one of glass or plastic.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ERBE wherein the solid element comprises one of glass or plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERBE in view of US 11,202,347 B2 (hereinafter “ARMSTRONG”).
Regarding Claim 17, ERBE discloses wherein the air intake comprises a fan (see para. [0009]: “For this purpose, an air volume is blown through a gap out of the door or into the door by a motor having an impeller and arranged in the cooking appliance.”).
ERBE does not specifically disclose an axial fan.
ARMSTRONG teaches an oven (110) wherein an oven door (150) comprises an axial fan (see at least Col. 8, Lns. 54-55: “air handler 216 includes a plurality of fans (e.g., axial fans 286, 288)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ERBE to comprise an axial fan as taught and/or suggested by ARMSTRONG, since both references teach fan for providing an air flow through an oven door, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one fan for the other to achieve the predictable result of providing an air flow through an oven door.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERBE in view of EP 3121573 B1 (hereinafter “HERZOG”).
Regarding Claim 8, ERBE does not disclose wherein the partial flows on either side of the flow separator are in opposing directions.
HERZOG teaches a cooling system wherein the partial flows (19) on either side of the flow separator (12) are in opposing directions (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ERBE wherein the partial flows on either side of the flow separator are in opposing directions as taught and/or suggested by HERZOG, since both references teach cooling partial flows on either side of a flow separator for cooling sensitive electronics, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one flow pattern for the other (i.e., unidirectional or bidirectional flow) to achieve the predictable result of providing cooling partial flows on either side of a flow separator. Furthermore, HERZOG discloses “In FIG. 3, the airflow 19 is bidirectionally guided through the door column 18 in a counterflow-like manner. This is advantageous if the door column 18 is divided into at least two sub-chambers. However, unidirectional airflow 19 is also possible.” Thus, HERZOG teaches the use of both unidirectional or bidirectional cooling flows for cooling sensitive electronics.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERBE in view of CN 112137415 A (hereinafter “REN”).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, ERBE does not disclose wherein the solid element is mechanically actuated; wherein the mechanically actuation includes a hinge.
REN teaches a camera (20) wherein the solid element (21; i.e., the camera support housing) is mechanically actuated (see at least elements 23-26); wherein the mechanically actuation includes a hinge (28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ERBE wherein the solid element is mechanically actuated; wherein the mechanically actuation includes a hinge as taught and/or suggested by REN, since such a modification would provide a means to adjust the camera angle so as to optimally image a cooking process or food item being cooked within said heating chamber for observation and/or heating control purposes.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERBE in view of US 7055541 B2 (hereinafter “SEIFERT”).
Regarding Claims 13-15, ERBE does not disclose wherein the flow separator is non-solid; wherein the non-solid flow separator comprises a laminar or turbulent flow; wherein the non-solid flow separator comprises an air jet.
SEIFERT teaches a means to control a flow direction wherein a flow separator (42) is non-solid; wherein the non-solid flow separator comprises a laminar or turbulent flow (i.e., the flow generated by the non-solid flow separator 42 is perpendicular to the flow 26 being separated which would result in a turbulent flow); wherein the non-solid flow separator comprises an air jet (see Col. 2, Lns. 40-41: “Pneumatic valves that employ compressed air have been developed and demonstrated to be suitable for flow control”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ERBE wherein the flow separator is non-solid; wherein the non-solid flow separator comprises a laminar or turbulent flow; wherein the non-solid flow separator comprises an air jet as taught and/or suggested by SEIFERT, since such a modification would provide a means to actively control the flow direction thus allowing greater control over the quantity and the amount of time that the flow is directed to said thermal break zone adjacent the heating chamber on one side of the flow separator and to said cooling zone on an other side of the flow separator about the sensitive electronics, thereby allowing active regulation of said thermal break zone and said cooling zone.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799