Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims require at least two malleable sections, and at least one joint, to form a pipeline. Shouldn’t there be at least two joints to form a pipeline using at least two malleable sections? Further, shouldn’t there be the same number of joints as sections? Also in claim 44, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “each interconnecting means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant does not disclose an embodiment of a pipeline which uses at least two malleable sections but only one bracket (e.g., see Applicant’s FIGS 20-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-36 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Pollmeier (EP 1400167 A2), which discloses:
30. A pipeline assembly, comprising:
a. at least one malleable sheet (1a, 1B, which are at least minimally malleable) with two first edges opposite to one another (see FIG 1); and
b. an interlocking means (2) capable of clamping said first edges of said sheet to each other resulting in a tubular body (as shown in FIG 2), wherein said interlocking means consists of a tongue (3) and groove (5) joint, wherein a tongue is formed at one of said first edges and a groove is formed at the other of said first edges (see FIG 1),
characterized in that said tongue is partially split (see the space between clamping halves 7 and 8), such that said split portion of said tongue is selectively compressible for entering in or exiting said groove (it is inherent that the bulbous ends of 7, 8 must move together during insertion into recess 5 in order to arrive at the configuration of FIG 2) and is configured to form a hole between said tongue and said groove in a length direction of said tubular body when said tongue and said groove are clamped to one another (as shown in FIGS 2, 3, the space between halves 7, 8 exist along the length of the pipe), wherein said hole is capable of receiving a liquid plastic, adhesive material or an electrofusion component (it is so capable).
31. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said tongue and said groove are clampable to one another by sliding or inserting said tongue into said groove (claim 6: “the clamp closure 2, which has a projection 3 on the side of the one wall element 1a, which can be inserted into a recess 5 on the side of the other wall element 1b”).
32. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said electrofusion component is at least one electrically conductive component to allow electrofusion welding between said tongue and said groove (further defining the electrofusion component does not operate to transform the electrofusion component into a positive recitation; this claim is met in that Pollmeier discloses a hole which is capable or receiving such an electrofusion component or an adhesive or a liquid plastic).
33. The pipeline assembly as claimed in claim 30, wherein said tubular body has a circular cross section, elliptical cross section or oval cross section (see FIG 3).
34. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said sheet includes at least one reinforcement hole in a length direction of said sheet for receiving a reinforcement member (see the holes created by the other clamp(s), FIGS 2 and 3).
35. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said sheet is made of an elastomeric material (“the outer Cover layer 12 and the inner cover layer 14 made of GRP or other suitable plastic”).
36. The pipeline assembly of claim 35, wherein said elastomeric material includes plastics (“the outer Cover layer 12 and the inner cover layer 14 made of GRP or other suitable plastic”).
Regarding claim 40, see the analysis of claim 30. Note that the disclosed pipeline includes at least two malleable sheets (1a, 1b), where the adjacent edges of each sheet are clamped together (see FIG 3).
41. The pipeline assembly of claim 40, wherein each interlocking means is configured to press said first edges of one of said sheets against one another between said first edges of the other of said sheets to form an air-tight seal between said pressed edges (“his not only results in a high clamping or locking effect achieved, but also an ideal seal of the interior 9 of the exhaust stack, so that there is an escape of exhaust air is not possible due to the clamp 2”).
Claim(s) 30-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Hageltorn (US 2,739,089), which discloses:
30. A pipeline assembly, comprising:
a. at least one malleable sheet with two first edges (10, 11) opposite to one another (see FIG 1); and
b. an interlocking means (3, 4; FIG 2) capable of clamping said first edges of said sheet to each other resulting in a tubular body (as similarly shown in FIG 9), wherein said interlocking means consists of a tongue (3) and groove (4) joint, wherein a tongue is formed at one of said first edges and a groove is formed at the other of said first edges (see FIG 1),
characterized in that said tongue is partially split (see FIG 2, bead
3 is split to receive 1), such that said split portion of said tongue is selectively compressible for entering in or exiting said groove (the bulbous ends of 3 mest flex inward after passing over 1, in order to arrive at the position of FIG 2) and is configured to form a hole between said tongue and said groove in a length direction of said tubular body when said tongue and said groove are clamped to one another (see the space between 3 and 4, due to their different shapes; FIG 2), wherein said hole is capable of receiving a liquid plastic, adhesive material or an electrofusion component (it is so capable).
31. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said tongue and said groove are clampable to one another by sliding or inserting said tongue into said groove (col. 2 lines 15-28).
32. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said electrofusion component is at least one electrically conductive component to allow electrofusion welding between said tongue and said groove (further defining the electrofusion component does not operate to transform the electrofusion component into a positive recitation; at least because this limitation is introduced as an alternatively limitation that is not positively required of claim 30).
33. The pipeline assembly as claimed in claim 30, wherein said tubular body has a circular cross section, elliptical cross section or oval cross section (see FIG 9).
34. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said sheet includes at least one reinforcement hole in a length direction of said sheet for receiving a reinforcement member (there are at least two spaces formed between 3 and 4, for example on the left and right side of the lower part of member 1; see FIG 2).
35. The pipeline assembly of claim 30, wherein said sheet is made of an elastomeric material (they are “plastic”, e.g. see Title and throughout the specification).
36. The pipeline assembly of claim 35, wherein said elastomeric material includes plastics (it is “plastic”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-39 and 50-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Pollmeier or Hageltorn, and further in view of Noel (US 4,576,846).
Regarding claim 37, Pollmeier and Hageltorn each disclose a device, during the normal and usual provision of which, the claims methods would necessarily be performed (as analogously mapped above regarding claim 30), with exception to the claimed step “b” of introducing a liquid plastic, adhesive material or electrofusion component through said hole. However Noel teaches that it was known to introduce a liquid plastic or adhesive material into such a hole (“it is also possible to produce in situ in the bisector slit projecting into the tube shell a reinforcement or stiffening by using a hardening plastic, which at the same time reinforces the bisector slit following firm adhesion or hardening. Suitable plastics for this purpose are known to the person skilled in the art.”) To create a more durable bond of Pollmeier’s or Hageltorn’s interlock, it would have been obvious to introduce a liquid plastic or adhesive material therein, as claimed by Applicant and taught by Noel.
Regarding claim 38, see the analyses of claim 31 above.
Regarding claim 39, this limitation is given limited patentable weight at least because it further defines an alternative limitation which is not positively required of claim 37.
Regarding claims 50-51, the resultant device of the obviousness analysis immediately above. includes a. a tongue formed at one of said edges; b. a groove formed at the other of said edges; and C. a sealing component for sealing said edges, characterized in that said tongue is partially split, such that said split portion of said tongue is selectively compressible for entering in or exiting said groove and is configured to form a hole between said tongue and said groove in a length direction of said edges when said tongue and said groove are clamped to one another, wherein said hole is capable of receiving said sealing component (see the corresponding analysis set forth above), and wherein said sealing component is at least one of: at least one liquid plastic; an adhesive material; and at least one electrofusion component.
Regarding claim 52, this limitation is given limited patentable weight because it merely further defines an element of the claim which is recited in alternative format and therefore not positively required.
Claim(s) 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Hageltorn, in view of Pollmeier and Noel.
Regarding claims 42-43, Hageltorn discloses bending one sheet to connect to its own edges using a tongue and groove joint (FIG 9) to create a one-piece pipe, but does not disclose the use of two sections to form a multi-piece pipe or the adhesive/liquid plastic as claimed. Pollmeier teaches that it was known in the art at the time of filing to form a similar pipe using two curved sections (FIG 3; although Pollmeider arguably does not disclose “bending” the sheet as claimed). To create a larger pipe, and/or to repair or replace a damaged section of pipe without replacing the entire pipe, it would have been obvious to use two sections of Hageltorn’s bendable sheet, as similarly taught by Pollmeier, to create two curved pipe sections that connect to one another as claimed. It also would have been obvious to introduce an adhesive or liquid plastic material as claimed and as taught by Noel in order to create a more durable seal at the interlocks.
Claim(s) 44-49 as understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cason (US 4,777,072) in view of Pollmeier.
Regarding claim 44, Cason discloses (FIG 1) using a single malleable sheet (FIG 3) which uses a single bracket interlocking means (FIG 2; note that Cason discloses a 1:1 relationship between the number of sheets and the number of brackets) to form a single round pipeline, where the bracket is clampable between by means of multiple interlocking means (52, 74), wherein each interconnecting means consists of a tongue and groove joint (52, 74), wherein one of tongue and groove of each interconnecting means is formed at an edge of one of said sheets, while the other of said tongue and groove is formed at an edge of said bracket corresponding to said edge of said sheet (see FIG 4), characterized in that each tongue is partially split (FIGS 3, 4), such that said split portion is selectively compressible for entering or exiting said groove (due to inherent flexibility thereof) and is configured to form a hole (64) between said tongue and said groove in a length direction when said tongue and said groove are clamped to one another, wherein said hole is capable of receiving a liquid plastic, adhesive material or an electrofusion component (the hole is so capable). As understood, Cason does not disclose multiple sheets/sections and multiple brackets/interconnecting means as claimed. However Pollmeier teaches that it was known to use multiple sections and multiple interconnecting means to similarly form a pipeline (see FIG 3). To create a larger pipeline, or replace only a smaller section of pipeline where damage occurs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use multiples of Cason’s sheet and bracket, as similarly taught by Pollmeier.
45. The pipeline assembly of claim 44, wherein said tubular bodies are coplanar to one another (they are in the same plane, e.g., the plane of the page of FIG 3).
46. The pipeline assembly of claim 45, wherein said tubular bodies are coaxial to one another (they share the same axis, at the center of FIG 3).
47. The pipeline assembly of claim 44, wherein each of said malleable sheets and said bracket is made of an elastomeric material.
48. The pipeline assembly of claim 47, wherein said elastomeric material includes plastics (see the hatching pattern of the figures).
Regarding claim 49, the method would necessarily be performed during the normal and usual provision of the pipeline set forth in the obviousness analysis immediately above.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
2/9/26