DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-24 are pending and currently under review.
Claims 1-12 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
The term “biofuel” in claim 17 is interpreted to refer to any biodegradable fuel material that is not a fossil-fuel according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
The term “biological transformation” in claim 24 is interpreted to merely require any step that forms a biofuel according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recites the term “hot metal” which is indefinite because “hot” is a relative term of degree that is not further specified by the instant claims or specification. It is unclear whether “hot” requires some particular temperature, or merely pertains to a category of metals, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to be met by any interpretation of “hot” as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-19 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemeth (US 3,853,538), Uribe-Sato et al. (2017, A review of thermochemical processes and technologies to use steelworks off-gases), and either one or both of Liu et al. (CN206359550, machine translation referred to herein) and/or Knop et al. (DE102011112093, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 13, Nemeth discloses a method of obtained sponge iron (ie. direct reduced iron) by charging and reducing iron oxide material with a reducing gas [abstract, col.2, fig.1]. The furnace of Nemeth meets the limitation of a direct reduction furnace as explained above, and is further depicted to include a reduction zone (10), cooling zone (13), and area in between meets the limitation of a transition zone [fig.1].
Nemeth does not expressly teach operating said direct reduction furnace in a network of plants including a blast furnace with blast furnace top gas and a CO2 conversion step to produce a liquid carbon product which is added into the direction reduction furnace as claimed. However, the examiner submits that these features would have been obvious in view of the prior art. Firstly, Uribe-Soto et al. discloses that it is known to recycle off-gas from steelworking plants such as blast furnace off-gas (BFG), wherein said BFG can be further utilized to produce methanol as a high value product from separated and converted CO2 [abstract, p.813-817]. Furthermore, Liu et al. teaches that it is known to provide methanol to a direct reduction furnace to provide reducing agents through cracking [Liu et al. abstract, p.1]; and Knop et al. teaches utilizing methanol as a source of reducing agents in a direct reduction furnace [0038-0039]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Nemeth by additionally utilizing a blast furnace (which one of ordinary skill would readily recognize to inherently product molten, hot iron material) and resulting BFG to produce high value methanol (ie. liquid carbon product) as taught by Uribe-Soto et al., wherein said methanol can be further utilized added into the direct reduction furnace of Nemeth for reduction purposes as taught by Liu et al. and/or Knop et al.
Regarding claims 14-16, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 13 (see previous). Nemeth further discloses that it is known to introduce reducing gases at a bottom of a reducing zone (10), as well as into a cooling zone (13) [fig.1]. One of ordinary skill would understand that a bottom area of a reducing zone is located between the reducing zone (as depicted by Nemeth) and the cooling zone, which meets the limitation of a transition zone.
Regarding claims 17-19, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that methanol as taught by the prior art above meets the limitations of a liquid hydrocarbon, alcohol biofuel according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claims 22-23, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 13 (see previous). Uribe-Soto et al. further teaches that the known main off-gases from which CO2 is recovered other than BFG are coke-oven off-gas and basic oxygen furnace off-gas [p.811, fig.1]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to further incorporate a coke oven and basic oxygen furnace (ie. steelmaking plant) in the network of the prior art combination, wherein one of ordinary skill would readily recognize that a coke oven will naturally produce coke and a basic oxygen furnace will naturally produce molten steel.
Regarding claim 24, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that methanol is a biofuel as disclosed above and therefore the means of producing methanol as taught by Uribe-Soto et al. naturally meets the limitation of “biological transformation” according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemeth (US 3,853,538) and others as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Weinberg et al. (US 2022/0389528).
Regarding claims 20-21, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 13 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a hydrogen amount as claimed. Weinberg et al. discloses a direct reduction furnace wherein that it is known to utilize at least 90% H2 for reducing gases in the reduction zone because H2 usage reduces greenhouse gas emissions [0012-0014]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing a reducing gas of at least 90% H2 for reduction for the aforementioned benefit taught by Weinberg et al. The examiner notes that the overlap between the disclosed H2 amount and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 17 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemeth (US 3,853,538) and others as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kuhl et al. (US 2016/0083810).
Regarding claims 17 and 24, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 13 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach that CO2 conversion includes biological transformation to produce a biofuel as claimed. Kuhl et al. discloses that it is known to utilize blast furnace off-gas, and in particular CO2, for conversion into methanol by selection of appropriate microbes and/or algae as a desirable, sellable product [abstract, 0020, 0043]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing CO2 conversion through biological means for the aforementioned benefit. The examiner notes that conversion utilizing microbes and/or algae meets the limitation of “biological transformation” and a resulting biofuel as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-24 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 and 22-24 of copending Application No. 18/290,078 in view of the references relied upon in the above rejections. The only difference between the instant claims and co-pending claims is a recitation that the liquid carbon product is obtained from converted CO2 from a blast furnace top gas. Claims 22-24 further recite additional recitations of a coke oven, steelmaking oven, and the CO2 conversion being a biological transformation step. However, these features are disclosed by and would have been obvious over the prior art above for the aforementioned reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734