FINAL REJECTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment and remarks received January 15, 2026. Claims 1, 2, and 6 are amended. Claims 7 and 8 are newly added. No claims are canceled. Claims 1-8 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 and 7, filed January 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tamura. Specifically, Tamura is silent to a clear teaching of the limitations newly added to independent claims 1 and 6, however, this difference is found to be obvious as detailed hereinafter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura et al. (US Patent 6,939,060, hereinafter referred to as “Tamura”).
With respect to claim 1, Tamura discloses:
A fusion splicer (see figure 3A and 3B, see title and abstract) for fusion-splicing a plurality of optical fibers (1a,1b, see figures 3A and 3B), arranged side by side along a direction intersecting a longitudinal direction (see figures 3A and 3B), with respective other optical fibers (see figures 3A and 3B, a plurality of fibers are shown, side by side), comprising:
a base member (see figure 3A, heating board 13 at the top of the figure as seen in the orientation in figure 3A is interpreted as the base member) with a groove portion (the v-grooves 14 in the top heating board 13 are interpreted as the groove portion) having a plurality of V-grooves (14) formed therein for setting the plurality of optical fibers (see figure 3B which shows the plurality of optical fibers in the v-grooves of the top heating board 13 after setting the fibers therein); and
a pair of guide walls (see figures 3A and 3B, the walls of the v-grooves 14 of the bottom heating board 13 are interpreted as the guide walls, the pair here referenced is interpreted as the leftmost surface of the leftmost v-groove 14 and the rightmost surface of the rightmost v-groove 14) configured to guide setting of the plurality of optical fibers into the plurality of V-grooves (see figure 3B), wherein the guide walls are disposed at an interval in a width direction of the groove portion, one of the guide walls constituting the pair has a guide surface capable of coming into contact with one of the plurality of optical fibers, another one of the guide walls constituting the pair has a guide surface capable of coming into contact with another one of the plurality of optical fibers (see figures 3A and 3B), and each guide surface includes a portion inclined toward the groove portion when viewed along a direction of extension of the plurality of V-grooves (see figures 3A and 3B, all the guides surfaces and guide walls are inclined toward the groove portion).
Tamura is silent to the thicknesses of the guide walls along the longitudinal direction of the plurality of optical fibers are each less than or equal to half of an overall length of the plurality of V- grooves. However, Tamura does appear to show that this is the case, the examiner’s interpretation being shown in the annotated figure 3A just below, though the examiner notes that the drawings are not disclosed to be to scale.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structure of Tamura such that the thicknesses of the guide walls along the longitudinal direction of the plurality of optical fibers are each less than or equal to half of an overall length of the plurality of V- grooves, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). One would be motivated to form the structure of Tamura with such a ratio of length of V-grooves to the thickness along that length, because having a longer V-groove results in more supported length of optical fiber inside the V-groove, creating a more stable situation for splicing the optical fibers.
Tamura further discloses claims:
2. The fusion splicer as claimed in claim 1, wherein each guide surface is disposed as a continuous extension of a groove surface of one of the plurality of V-grooves when viewed along the direction of extension of the plurality of V-grooves (see figure 3B the guide surfaces are interpreted as being disposed as continuous extensions of a groove surface of the V-grooves).
3. The fusion splicer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pair of guide walls is formed as a member separate from the base member (see figure 3A).
4. The fusion splicer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pair of guide walls is integrated with the base member (see figure 3B).
5. The fusion splicer as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the guide walls constituting the pair is configured to be movable relative to the groove portion in the width direction (see figures 3A and 3B).
With respect to claim 6, Tamura discloses:
An optical fiber splicing method of fusion-spicing (see figures 3A and 3B and title and abstract) a plurality of optical fibers (1a,1b) with respective other optical fibers by using a fusion-splicer that includes a base member (see figure 3A, heating board 13 at the top of the figure as seen in the orientation in figure 3A is interpreted as the base member) with a groove portion (the v-grooves 14 in the top heating board 13 are interpreted as the groove portion) having a plurality of V-grooves (14) formed therein for setting a plurality of optical fibers (see figure 3B which shows the plurality of optical fibers in the v-grooves of the top heating board 13 after setting the fibers therein), and a pair of guide walls (see figures 3A and 3B, the walls of the v-grooves 14 of the bottom heating board 13 are interpreted as the guide walls, the pair here referenced is interpreted as the leftmost surface of the leftmost v-groove 14 and the rightmost surface of the rightmost v-groove 14) configured to guide setting of the plurality of optical fibers into the plurality of V-grooves (see figure 3B), the optical fiber splicing method comprising:
placing the plurality of optical fibers in the plurality of V-grooves while bringing one of the plurality of optical fibers into contact with a guide surface of one of the guide walls constituting the pair (see figures 3A and 3B), the guide walls being disposed at an interval in a width direction of the groove portion (see figures 3A and 3B); and
fusion-splicing (via burner 6) the plurality of optical fibers with respective other optical fibers.
Tamura is silent to the thicknesses of the guide walls along the longitudinal direction of the plurality of optical fibers are each less than or equal to half of an overall length of the plurality of V- grooves. However, Tamura does appear to show that this is the case, the examiner’s interpretation being shown in the annotated figure 3A included above in the rejection of claim 1, though the examiner notes that the drawings are not disclosed to be to scale.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structure of Tamura such that the thicknesses of the guide walls along the longitudinal direction of the plurality of optical fibers are each less than or equal to half of an overall length of the plurality of V- grooves, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). One would be motivated to form the structure of Tamura with such a ratio of length of V-grooves to the thickness along that length, because having a longer V-groove results in more supported length of optical fiber inside the V-groove, creating a more stable situation for splicing the optical fibers.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, Tamura discloses:
wherein the pair of guide walls is disposed at a position corresponding to a center of the base member in the longitudinal direction (see figure 3A, the pair of guide walls aren’t at the end and are therefore interpreted as being corresponding to a center of the base member).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gilles (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0166710) discloses a V-groove (channel dug 2) and having guide portion (3) for guiding optical fibers into the device (see figure 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John Bedtelyon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874