DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the Merits in response to communications filed by applicant on January 9th, 2026. Claims 1, 4, and 6-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on January 9th, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1 and 8 are currently amended and pending, claims 4, 6-7, and 9-18 are as previously presented, and pending, claims 19 and 20 are new and pending, and claims 2-3 and 5 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0391747 A1 ("Ohmura") in view of US 2018/0345967 A1 ("Oniwa") in further view of US 2018/0345953 A1 ("Mizoguchi").
Regarding claim 1, Ohmura teaches a vehicle motion control device for generating a speed command value that reduce an unstable behavior or emergency braking of a vehicle, the vehicle motion control device comprising (Ohmura: ¶ 0039, “A vehicle control device 100 according to this embodiment is configured to provide, to a vehicle 1 (see FIG. 3, etc.) equipped with this device, various driving support controls each based on a respective one of a plurality of driving support modes.”, ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle speed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that reducing a speed of the vehicle if the vehicle’s speed exceeds a limit based on the curvature of the road reduces unstable behavior of the vehicle. The vehicles speed exceeding a limit based on the curvature of the road can be considered unstable behavior because a vehicle going too fast on a curved road can cause the vehicle to veer of the road or otherwise lose control of the vehicle.):
a nearby information acquisition unit configured to acquire nearby information of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0042, “The camera 21 is configured to capture an image forward of the vehicle 1 and output captured image data. The ECU 10 is operable to identify an object (e.g., a vehicle, a pedestrian, a road, a demarcation line ( a lane border line, a white road line, or a yellow road line), a traffic light, a traffic sign, a stop line, an intersection, an obstacle, or the like) based on the image data.”, ¶ 0043, “The millimeter-wave radar 22 is a measurement device for measuring the position and speed of the object (particularly, a preceding vehicle, a parked vehicle, a pedestrian, an obstacle, or the like), and is configured to transmit a radio wave (transmitted wave) forwardly with respect to the vehicle 1 and receive a reflected wave produced as a result of reflection of the transmitted wave by the object.”);
a long-distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire long-distance information of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0046, “The navigation system 25 stores therein map information, and is configured to be operable to provide the map information to the ECU 10. Then, the ECU 10 is operable, based on the map information and the current vehicle position information, to identify a road, an intersection, a traffic light, a building, and others existing around the vehicle 1 (particularly, forward of the vehicle 1 in its traveling direction). It is to be understood that the map information may be stored in the ECU 10.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that because the map information consists of information on the road forward of the vehicle, that this constitutes long-distance information.);
a route planning unit configured to generate a route command value based on the nearby information (Ohmura: ¶ 0051, “As shown in FIG. 2, the ECU 10 comprises a single CPU functioning as an input processing part 10a, a surrounding vehicle detection part 10b, a target traveling course calculation part 10c, a speed distribution setting part 10d, and a control part l0e. In this embodiment, the ECU 10 is configured such that the above functions are executed by the single CPU. Alternatively, the ECU may be configured such that the above functions are executed by a plurality of CPUs.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passages, the nearby information is used when generating the target traveling course.),
a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route based on the long distance information (Ohmura: ¶ 0051, “As shown in FIG. 2, the ECU 10 comprises a single CPU functioning as an input processing part 10a, a surrounding vehicle detection part 10b, a target traveling course calculation part 10c, a speed distribution setting part 10d, and a control part l0e. In this embodiment, the ECU 10 is configured such that the above functions are executed by the single CPU. Alternatively, the ECU may be configured such that the above functions are executed by a plurality of CPUs.”, ¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”, ¶ 0075, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable, based on the detected opposed lane edges 6L, 6R, to calculate a lane width W of the lane SL and the curvature radius L in the curve section Sb. Alternatively, the target traveling course calculation part 10c may be configured to acquire the lane width Wand the curvature radius L from the map information of the navigation system 25.”, ¶ 0076, “With regard to the straight sections 5a, 5c, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to set a plurality of target positions P1_k of the first traveling course Rl to allow a vehicle width directional center (e.g., the position of the center of gravity) of the vehicle 1 to pass through the widthwise middle between the opposed lane edges 6L, 6R.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”,¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. As can be seen from the cited passages, the traveling course calculation part determines a first straight section, a curved section, and a second straight section that comprise the traveling course. The second straight section occurs after the first straight section and the curved section, and can therefore be considered to extend beyond the initial route sections. Furthermore map information regarding the roads is used to determine the course of the vehicle such that it remains in the middle of the lane in both of the straight sections.);
and a speed planning unit configured to: generate the speed command value of the vehicle as a travel target of the vehicle based on the nearby information and the long-distance information (Ohmura: ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle).”, ¶ 0134, “Subsequently, the speed distribution setting part 10d of the ECU 10 operates, in step S12, to execute speed limit distribution setting processing. Specifically, the speed distribution setting part 10d operates to set the speed limit distributions 40 illustrated in FIG. 6, around a surrounding object such as a surrounding vehicle detected in the step S11 by the surrounding vehicle detection part 10b.”. ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11. Further, the control part 10e operates to correct a selected one of the calculated target traveling courses to satisfy the speed limit distributions 40, thereby calculating a corrected traveling course defining a traveling trajectory and a traveling speed appropriate to the traveling trajectory.”. As can be seen from the cited passages, the control device is configured to determine a speed limit distribution based on the legal speed limit of the road, the presence or absence of another vehicle/object, and potential curves in the road. This information clearly constitutes nearby information. Furthermore, the speed is additionally set based set based on the long-distance information, which is information such as the presence or absence of curves in future points of the road and the speed limit along future sections. This information clearly constitutes long-distance information Such information is detailed in ¶ 0046, ¶ 0074-0076, and ¶ 0133. This speed limit distribution is the used to set the traveling speed of the vehicle),
select, from the speed command value based on the route command value and the speed command value based on the long-distance route, the speed command value at a smaller speed (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle peed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passage, the vehicle can be configured to drive at a setup speed set by the controller which functions as the long distance speed, then the speed limit at the different section of the route or the allowable speed based on the curvature of the road are determined and the velocity is set to the lower of the speed limits.),
and outputs the speed command value selected (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle peed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passage, the speed is set to the lower value determined in the step detailed.),
wherein the route command value comprises a route as the travel target of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0074, “As shown in FIG. 3, the first traveling course R1 is set, by a distance corresponding to a given time period, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling in the lane 5L serving as the traveling road, in conformity to the shape of the road 5. Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the route command value is clearly a route that is the travel target of the vehicle),
wherein the vehicle motion control device utilizes the speed command value as outputted by the speed planning unit to control and reduce the unstable behavior or the emergency braking of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0040, “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control device 100 comprises: a vehicle control and computing unit (ECU) 10, a plurality of sensors and switches, a plurality of control systems, and a driver manipulation unit (not shown) for allowing user input regarding the driving support modes, each equipped in the vehicle ( own vehicle) 1. The sensors and switches include: a camera 21 for capturing an image of a vehicle exterior of the vehicle; a millimeter-wave radar 22; a vehicle speed sensor 23 for detecting the behavior of the vehicle; a position measurement system 24; a navigation system 25; and an inter-vehicle communication system 26. Further, the control systems include an engine control system 31, a brake control system 32, and a steering control system 33.”, ¶ 0049, “The brake control system 32 comprises a controller for controlling a braking device of the vehicle 1. The ECU 10 is operable, when there is a need to decelerate the vehicle 1, to output, to the brake control system 32, a braking request signal for requesting to generate a braking force to be applied to the vehicle 1, so as to obtain the target acceleration/deceleration.”, ¶ 0057, “Then, the control part l0e is operable to generate a request signal for allowing the own vehicle to travel along the determined optimal corrected traveling course, and out put the generated request signal to one or more of at least the engine control system 31, the brake control system 32 and the steering control system 33.”, ¶ 0136, “Subsequently, the control part l0e of the ECU 10 operates, in step S14, to output a request signal to each of one or more control systems concerned (the engine control system 31, the brake control system 32 and/or the steering control system 33) so as to allow the own vehicle to travel on the corrected traveling course calculated in the step S13. Specifically, the ECU 10 operates to generate a request signal according to a target control amount of each of the engine, brake, and steering, determined by the calculated corrected traveling course, and output the generated request signal. Thus, the processing in the steps S13 and S14 serves as a control step of controlling speed and/or steering of the own vehicle to satisfy the set speed limit distributions.”).
Ohmura does not teach a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information
wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously
Oniwa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information (Oniwa: ¶ 0040, “The navigation device 50 includes, for example, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver 51, a navigation HMI 52, and a route determinator 53 and holds first map information 54 in a storage device such as a hard disk drive (HDD) or a flash memory. The GNSS receiver specifies the position of the own-vehicle M on the basis of signals received from GNSS satellites. The position of the own-vehicle M may also be specified or supplemented by an inertial navigation system (INS) using the output of the vehicle sensors 40. The navigation HMI 52 includes a display device, a speaker, a touch panel, a key, or the like. The navigation HMI 52 may be partly or wholly shared with the HMI 30 described above. For example, the route determinator 53 determines a route from the position of the own-vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 (or an arbitrary input position) to a destination input by the occupant using the navigation HMI 52 by referring to the first map information 54.”, ¶ 0041, “The first map information 54 is, for example, information representing shapes of roads by links indicating roads and nodes connected by the links. The first map information 54 may include curvatures of roads, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route determined by the route determinator 53 is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may also perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route determined by the route determinator 53. The navigation device 50 may be realized, for example, by a function of a terminal device such as a smartphone or a tablet possessed by the user. The navigation device 50 may also transmit the current position and the destination to a navigation server via the communication device 20 and acquire a route returned from the navigation server. The route to the destination that the route determinator 53 determines on the basis of the first map information 54 is an example of the “scheduled route.” The route to the destination determined by the navigation server which is the communication partner of the navigation device 50 is another example of the “scheduled route.””, ¶ 0064, “For example, the switching controller 142 switches the driving mode from the manual driving mode to the automated driving mode at a scheduled start point of the automated driving. The switching controller 142 switches the driving mode from the automated driving mode to the manual driving mode at a scheduled end point (for example, the destination) of the automated driving.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the route determined in the cited passages would clearly be to an area beyond the sensors, as the destination is set using map information. As such, the cited passages clearly teaches a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle.).
Ohmura teaches a vehicle motion control device for generating a speed command value that reduces an unstable behavior or emergency braking of a vehicle, the vehicle motion control device comprising: a nearby information acquisition unit configured to acquire nearby information of the vehicle; a long-distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire long-distance information of the vehicle; a route planning unit configured to generate a route command value based on the nearby information; a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route based on the long-distance information; and a speed planning unit configured to: generate the speed command value of the vehicle as a travel target of the vehicle based on the nearby information and the long-distance information, select, from the speed command value based on the route command value and the speed command value based on the long-distance route, the speed command value at a smaller speed, and output the speed command value as selected, wherein the route command value comprises a route as the travel target of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle motion control device utilizes the speed command value as outputted by the speed planning unit to control and reduce the unstable behavior or the emergency braking of the vehicle. Ohmura does not teach a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information. Oniwa teaches a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to have modified the device taught in Ohmura with a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information taught in Oniwa. Furthermore, the device taught in Ohmura is configured to control the vehicle while it is traveling along a route determined using map information, but does not explicitly state where the destination of the route is. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the device in Ohmura such that the long distance route is generated with respect to a long distance area beyond the range of a sensor as taught in Oniwa according to methods known in the art. Determining a long distance route to a specific destination for control in an autonomous vehicle would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a vehicle motion control device comprising: a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Ohmura with a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information taught in Oniwa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Ohmura in view of Oniwa does not teach wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously.
Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously (Mizoguchi: Figure 4, ¶ 0015, “Sign 1 in FIG. 1 indicates a traveling control system for a vehicle such as an automobile, and the traveling control system executes vehicle travel control including autonomous self-driving. This traveling control system 1, which is centered around a traveling control device 100, is configured to be provided with an external environment recognition device 10, a positioning device 20, a map information processing device 30, an engine control device 40, a transmission control device 50, a brake control device 60, a steering control device 70, and an alarm and information presentation control device 80, and each device is network-connected via a communication bus 150.”, ¶ 0035, “Accordingly, the traveling control device 100 is provided with a deceleration correction determination unit 101, a lane detection evaluation unit 102, a control gain setting unit 103, and a deceleration control unit 104 as functional units relating to curve deceleration control. Schematically, in a case where the traveling control device 100 determines by using the functional units that the host vehicle needs to be decelerated while passing through the curve ahead, the traveling control device 100 enables curve traveling at an appropriate vehicle speed by evaluating the host vehicle traveling lane detection state and changing various control gains relating to curve traveling in accordance with the evaluation value.”, ¶ 0036, “Specifically, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 acquires information such as the lane width and curvature radius of the curve where the host vehicle enters from the positioning device 20 and the map information processing device 30 and calculates the lateral acceleration during the curve traveling based on the curvature radius of the curve and the curve traveling speed at the current target vehicle speed. Then, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 determines whether vehicle speed deceleration correction prior to the curve entry is necessary by comparing the lateral acceleration at the current target vehicle speed and allowable lateral acceleration set in advance to each other.”, ¶ 0037, “The allowable lateral acceleration is set in advance in view of the curvature radius, the lane width, a road gradient of the curve and soon such that curve traveling can be performed at an appropriate vehicle speed at which the driver has no discomfort or anxiety. In a case where the lateral acceleration at the current target vehicle speed exceeds the allowable lateral acceleration, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 determines that vehicle speed deceleration correction prior to curve entry is necessary and notifies the lane detection evaluation unit 102 and the control gain setting unit 103 of the determination. In a case where the lateral acceleration at the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the allowable lateral acceleration, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 determines that no vehicle speed deceleration correction prior to curve entry is necessary and puts the other functional units relating to curve deceleration control into a standby state.”, ¶ 0048, “For instance, in a case where it is determined that deceleration is necessary with a curve detected ahead during traveling and the evaluation result at the evaluation value calculation distance LR1 is Value_Line>PLine, each of GV, GLimit, and GL is 1.0 during normal curve traveling assuming a dry road, and thus deceleration is initiated when the normal control initiation distance LR2 set in advance is reached from the reference point where curve deceleration has been determined necessary as illustrated in FIG. 4. Then, a vehicle speed V is decelerated to the target vehicle speed VR_TGT until the curve initiation distance LR3 is reached from the control initiation distance LR2 and the vehicle speed at curve entry is controlled.”, ¶ 0050, “In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the control initiation distance LR2 is changed to the shorter-than-normal control initiation distance L′R2 and deceleration is initiated earlier than normal. Then, the vehicle speed V is decelerated to the target vehicle speed V′R_TGT, which is lower than the target vehicle speed VR_TGT at normal curve entry, until the curve initiation distance LR3 is reached from the control initiation distance L′R2 and the vehicle speed at curve entry is controlled. At this time, the rate limiter is also changed to the rate limiter P′RateLimit smaller than the normal rate limiter PRateLimit at the control initiation distance L′R2 and deceleration is more gently performed toward the target vehicle speed V′R_TGT.”. The cited passages describe the process by which a smooth transition from a higher velocity to a lower velocity is performed when the vehicle is determined to be entering a curved portion of road. Said speed is set based on the long-distance route command (i.e. the traveling speed of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the route) and the route command (i.e. the speed the vehicle needs to travel to comfortably take the curve). Furthermore, the change in velocity for the curved section is demonstrated in Figure 4. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these graphs represent a smooth change between vehicle speed. Additionally, ¶ 0016-0027, describe the sensors and information said sensor gather that the vehicle uses to determine the aforementioned route commands. Therefore, the cited passages clearly teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Ohmura in further view of Oniwa with wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously taught in Mizoguchi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by smoothly transitioning between vehicle speeds, occupant discomfort is lowered (Mizoguchi: ¶ 0037, “The allowable lateral acceleration is set in advance in view of the curvature radius, the lane width, a road gradient of the curve and soon such that curve traveling can be performed at an appropriate vehicle speed at which the driver has no discomfort or anxiety.”, ¶ 0059, “In addition, since the road surface situation of the road on which the host vehicle travels is evaluated with the lane line detection state, the actual road surface situation is allowed to match a driver's senses caught as the state of visibility of a white line, and thus curve traveling can be performed at a vehicle speed the driver is comfortable with.”).
Regarding claim 4, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value at which a physical quantity is within a specified value, and wherein the physical quantity is related to a behavior of the vehicle when the vehicle travels along the route command value and the long-distance route (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle speed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. As can be clearly seen from the cited passage, the traveling course calculation part is configured to correct the target speed based on a behavior of the vehicle, such as maintaining a speed set by the driver.).
Regarding claim 7, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the nearby information corresponds to information surrounding the vehicle acquired from a sensor that detects a surrounding environment of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0042, “The camera 21 is configured to capture an image forward of the vehicle 1 and output captured image data. The ECU 10 is operable to identify an object (e.g., a vehicle, a pedestrian, a road, a demarcation line ( a lane border line, a white road line, or a yellow road line), a traffic light, a traffic sign, a stop line, an intersection, an obstacle, or the like) based on the image data.”, ¶ 0043, “The millimeter-wave radar 22 is a measurement device for measuring the position and speed of the object (particularly, a preceding vehicle, a parked vehicle, a pedestrian, an obstacle, or the like), and is configured to transmit a radio wave (transmitted wave) forwardly with respect to the vehicle 1 and receive a reflected wave produced as a result of reflection of the transmitted wave by the object.”),
And wherein the long-distance information corresponds to information surrounding the vehicle acquired from a map information storage unit that stores map information (Ohmura: ¶ 0046, “The navigation system 25 stores therein map information, and is configured to be operable to provide the map information to the ECU 10. Then, the ECU 10 is operable, based on the map information and the current vehicle position information, to identify a road, an intersection, a traffic light, a building, and others existing around the vehicle 1 (particularly, forward of the vehicle 1 in its traveling direction). It is to be understood that the map information may be stored in the ECU 10.”).
Regarding claim 8, Ohmura teaches a vehicle motion control method for generating a speed command value that reduce an unstable behavior or emergency braking of a vehicle comprising (Ohmura: ¶ 0039, “A vehicle control device 100 according to this embodiment is configured to provide, to a vehicle 1 (see FIG. 3, etc.) equipped with this device, various driving support controls each based on a respective one of a plurality of driving support modes.”, ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle speed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that reducing a speed of the vehicle if the vehicle’s speed exceeds a limit based on the curvature of the road reduces unstable behavior of the vehicle. The vehicles speed exceeding a limit based on the curvature of the road can be considered unstable behavior because a vehicle going too fast on a curved road can cause the vehicle to veer of the road or otherwise lose control of the vehicle.):
acquiring nearby information of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0042, “The camera 21 is configured to capture an image forward of the vehicle 1 and output captured image data. The ECU 10 is operable to identify an object (e.g., a vehicle, a pedestrian, a road, a demarcation line ( a lane border line, a white road line, or a yellow road line), a traffic light, a traffic sign, a stop line, an intersection, an obstacle, or the like) based on the image data.”, ¶ 0043, “The millimeter-wave radar 22 is a measurement device for measuring the position and speed of the object (particularly, a preceding vehicle, a parked vehicle, a pedestrian, an obstacle, or the like), and is configured to transmit a radio wave (transmitted wave) forwardly with respect to the vehicle 1 and receive a reflected wave produced as a result of reflection of the transmitted wave by the object.”);
acquiring long-distance information of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0046, “The navigation system 25 stores therein map information, and is configured to be operable to provide the map information to the ECU 10. Then, the ECU 10 is operable, based on the map information and the current vehicle position information, to identify a road, an intersection, a traffic light, a building, and others existing around the vehicle 1 (particularly, forward of the vehicle 1 in its traveling direction). It is to be understood that the map information may be stored in the ECU 10.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that because the map information consists of information on the road forward of the vehicle, that this constitutes long-distance information.);
generating a route command value based on the nearby information (Ohmura: ¶ 0051, “As shown in FIG. 2, the ECU 10 comprises a single CPU functioning as an input processing part 10a, a surrounding vehicle detection part 10b, a target traveling course calculation part 10c, a speed distribution setting part 10d, and a control part l0e. In this embodiment, the ECU 10 is configured such that the above functions are executed by the single CPU. Alternatively, the ECU may be configured such that the above functions are executed by a plurality of CPUs.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passages, the nearby information is used when generating the target traveling course.),
generating a long-distance route as a route based on the long-distance information (Ohmura: ¶ 0051, “As shown in FIG. 2, the ECU 10 comprises a single CPU functioning as an input processing part 10a, a surrounding vehicle detection part 10b, a target traveling course calculation part 10c, a speed distribution setting part 10d, and a control part l0e. In this embodiment, the ECU 10 is configured such that the above functions are executed by the single CPU. Alternatively, the ECU may be configured such that the above functions are executed by a plurality of CPUs.”, ¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”, ¶ 0075, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable, based on the detected opposed lane edges 6L, 6R, to calculate a lane width W of the lane SL and the curvature radius L in the curve section Sb. Alternatively, the target traveling course calculation part 10c may be configured to acquire the lane width Wand the curvature radius L from the map information of the navigation system 25.”, ¶ 0076, “With regard to the straight sections 5a, 5c, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to set a plurality of target positions P1_k of the first traveling course Rl to allow a vehicle width directional center (e.g., the position of the center of gravity) of the vehicle 1 to pass through the widthwise middle between the opposed lane edges 6L, 6R.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. As can be seen from the cited passages, the traveling course calculation part determines a first straight section, a curved section, and a second straight section that comprise the traveling course. The second straight section occurs after the first straight section and the curved section, and can therefore be considered to extend beyond the initial route sections. Furthermore map information regarding the roads is used to determine the course of the vehicle such that it remains in the middle of the lane in both of the straight sections.);
generating the speed command value of the vehicle as a travel target of the vehicle, based on the nearby information and the long-distance information (Ohmura: ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle).”, ¶ 0134, “Subsequently, the speed distribution setting part 10d of the ECU 10 operates, in step S12, to execute speed limit distribution setting processing. Specifically, the speed distribution setting part 10d operates to set the speed limit distributions 40 illustrated in FIG. 6, around a surrounding object such as a surrounding vehicle detected in the step S11 by the surrounding vehicle detection part 10b.”. ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11. Further, the control part 10e operates to correct a selected one of the calculated target traveling courses to satisfy the speed limit distributions 40, thereby calculating a corrected traveling course defining a traveling trajectory and a traveling speed appropriate to the traveling trajectory.”. As can be seen from the cited passages, the control device is configured to determine a speed limit distribution based on the legal speed limit of the road, the presence or absence of another vehicle/object, and potential curves in the road. This information clearly constitutes nearby information. Furthermore, the speed is additionally set based set based on the long-distance information, which is information such as the presence or absence of curves in future points of the road and the speed limit along future sections. This information clearly constitutes long-distance information Such information is detailed in ¶ 0046, ¶ 0074-0076, and ¶ 0133. This speed limit distribution is the used to set the traveling speed of the vehicle.),
selecting, from the speed command value based on the route command value and the speed command value based on the long-distance route, the speed command value at a smaller speed (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle peed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passage, the vehicle can be configured to drive at a setup speed set by the controller which functions as the long distance speed, then the speed limit at the different section of the route or the allowable speed based on the curvature of the road are determined and the velocity is set to the lower of the speed limits.),
and outputting the speed command value as selected (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle peed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passage, the speed is set to the lower value determined in the step detailed.),
wherein the route command value comprises a route as the travel target of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0074, “As shown in FIG. 3, the first traveling course R1 is set, by a distance corresponding to a given time period, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling in the lane 5L serving as the traveling road, in conformity to the shape of the road 5. Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the route command value is clearly a route that is the travel target of the vehicle),
wherein the vehicle motion control method utilizes the speed command value as outputted by the speed planning unit to control and reduce the unstable behavior or the emergency braking of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0040, “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control device 100 comprises: a vehicle control and computing unit (ECU) 10, a plurality of sensors and switches, a plurality of control systems, and a driver manipulation unit (not shown) for allowing user input regarding the driving support modes, each equipped in the vehicle ( own vehicle) 1. The sensors and switches include: a camera 21 for capturing an image of a vehicle exterior of the vehicle; a millimeter-wave radar 22; a vehicle speed sensor 23 for detecting the behavior of the vehicle; a position measurement system 24; a navigation system 25; and an inter-vehicle communication system 26. Further, the control systems include an engine control system 31, a brake control system 32, and a steering control system 33.”, ¶ 0049, “The brake control system 32 comprises a controller for controlling a braking device of the vehicle 1. The ECU 10 is operable, when there is a need to decelerate the vehicle 1, to output, to the brake control system 32, a braking request signal for requesting to generate a braking force to be applied to the vehicle 1, so as to obtain the target acceleration/deceleration.”, ¶ 0057, “Then, the control part l0e is operable to generate a request signal for allowing the own vehicle to travel along the determined optimal corrected traveling course, and out put the generated request signal to one or more of at least the engine control system 31, the brake control system 32 and the steering control system 33.”, ¶ 0136, “Subsequently, the control part l0e of the ECU 10 operates, in step S14, to output a request signal to each of one or more control systems concerned (the engine control system 31, the brake control system 32 and/or the steering control system 33) so as to allow the own vehicle to travel on the corrected traveling course calculated in the step S13. Specifically, the ECU 10 operates to generate a request signal according to a target control amount of each of the engine, brake, and steering, determined by the calculated corrected traveling course, and output the generated request signal. Thus, the processing in the steps S13 and S14 serves as a control step of controlling speed and/or steering of the own vehicle to satisfy the set speed limit distributions.”).
Ohmura does not teach a long-distance route generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information
wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously
Oniwa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information (Oniwa: ¶ 0040, “The navigation device 50 includes, for example, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver 51, a navigation HMI 52, and a route determinator 53 and holds first map information 54 in a storage device such as a hard disk drive (HDD) or a flash memory. The GNSS receiver specifies the position of the own-vehicle M on the basis of signals received from GNSS satellites. The position of the own-vehicle M may also be specified or supplemented by an inertial navigation system (INS) using the output of the vehicle sensors 40. The navigation HMI 52 includes a display device, a speaker, a touch panel, a key, or the like. The navigation HMI 52 may be partly or wholly shared with the HMI 30 described above. For example, the route determinator 53 determines a route from the position of the own-vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 (or an arbitrary input position) to a destination input by the occupant using the navigation HMI 52 by referring to the first map information 54.”, ¶ 0041, “The first map information 54 is, for example, information representing shapes of roads by links indicating roads and nodes connected by the links. The first map information 54 may include curvatures of roads, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route determined by the route determinator 53 is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may also perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route determined by the route determinator 53. The navigation device 50 may be realized, for example, by a function of a terminal device such as a smartphone or a tablet possessed by the user. The navigation device 50 may also transmit the current position and the destination to a navigation server via the communication device 20 and acquire a route returned from the navigation server. The route to the destination that the route determinator 53 determines on the basis of the first map information 54 is an example of the “scheduled route.” The route to the destination determined by the navigation server which is the communication partner of the navigation device 50 is another example of the “scheduled route.””, ¶ 0064, “For example, the switching controller 142 switches the driving mode from the manual driving mode to the automated driving mode at a scheduled start point of the automated driving. The switching controller 142 switches the driving mode from the automated driving mode to the manual driving mode at a scheduled end point (for example, the destination) of the automated driving.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the route determined in the cited passages would clearly be to an area beyond the sensors, as the destination is set using map information. As such, the cited passages clearly teaches a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle.).
Ohmura teaches vehicle motion control method for generating a speed command value that reduce an unstable behavior or emergency braking of a vehicle such as, the vehicle motion control method comprising: acquiring nearby information of the vehicle; acquiring long-distance information of the vehicle; generating a route command value based on the nearby information; generating a long-distance route based on the long-distance information; and a speed planning unit configured to: generating the speed command value of the vehicle as a travel target of the vehicle based on the nearby information and the long-distance information; selecting, from the speed command value based on the route command value and the speed command value based on the long-distance route, the speed command value at a smaller speed; and outputting the speed command value as selected, wherein the route command value comprises a route as the travel target of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle motion control method utilizes the speed command value as outputted by the speed planning unit to control and reduce the unstable behavior or the emergency braking of the vehicle. Ohmura does not teach generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information. Oniwa teaches generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to have modified the method taught in Ohmura with generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information taught in Oniwa. Furthermore, the method taught in Ohmura is configured to control the vehicle while it is traveling along a route determined using map information, but does not explicitly state where the destination of the route is. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method in Ohmura such that the long distance route is generated with respect to a long distance area beyond the range of a sensor as taught in Oniwa according to methods known in the art. Determining a long distance route to a specific destination for control in an autonomous vehicle would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a vehicle motion control method comprising: generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Ohmura with generating a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle based on the long distance information taught in Oniwa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Ohmura in view of Oniwa does not teach wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously.
Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously (Mizoguchi: Figure 4, ¶ 0015, “Sign 1 in FIG. 1 indicates a traveling control system for a vehicle such as an automobile, and the traveling control system executes vehicle travel control including autonomous self-driving. This traveling control system 1, which is centered around a traveling control device 100, is configured to be provided with an external environment recognition device 10, a positioning device 20, a map information processing device 30, an engine control device 40, a transmission control device 50, a brake control device 60, a steering control device 70, and an alarm and information presentation control device 80, and each device is network-connected via a communication bus 150.”, ¶ 0035, “Accordingly, the traveling control device 100 is provided with a deceleration correction determination unit 101, a lane detection evaluation unit 102, a control gain setting unit 103, and a deceleration control unit 104 as functional units relating to curve deceleration control. Schematically, in a case where the traveling control device 100 determines by using the functional units that the host vehicle needs to be decelerated while passing through the curve ahead, the traveling control device 100 enables curve traveling at an appropriate vehicle speed by evaluating the host vehicle traveling lane detection state and changing various control gains relating to curve traveling in accordance with the evaluation value.”, ¶ 0036, “Specifically, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 acquires information such as the lane width and curvature radius of the curve where the host vehicle enters from the positioning device 20 and the map information processing device 30 and calculates the lateral acceleration during the curve traveling based on the curvature radius of the curve and the curve traveling speed at the current target vehicle speed. Then, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 determines whether vehicle speed deceleration correction prior to the curve entry is necessary by comparing the lateral acceleration at the current target vehicle speed and allowable lateral acceleration set in advance to each other.”, ¶ 0037, “The allowable lateral acceleration is set in advance in view of the curvature radius, the lane width, a road gradient of the curve and soon such that curve traveling can be performed at an appropriate vehicle speed at which the driver has no discomfort or anxiety. In a case where the lateral acceleration at the current target vehicle speed exceeds the allowable lateral acceleration, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 determines that vehicle speed deceleration correction prior to curve entry is necessary and notifies the lane detection evaluation unit 102 and the control gain setting unit 103 of the determination. In a case where the lateral acceleration at the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the allowable lateral acceleration, the deceleration correction determination unit 101 determines that no vehicle speed deceleration correction prior to curve entry is necessary and puts the other functional units relating to curve deceleration control into a standby state.”, ¶ 0048, “For instance, in a case where it is determined that deceleration is necessary with a curve detected ahead during traveling and the evaluation result at the evaluation value calculation distance LR1 is Value_Line>PLine, each of GV, GLimit, and GL is 1.0 during normal curve traveling assuming a dry road, and thus deceleration is initiated when the normal control initiation distance LR2 set in advance is reached from the reference point where curve deceleration has been determined necessary as illustrated in FIG. 4. Then, a vehicle speed V is decelerated to the target vehicle speed VR_TGT until the curve initiation distance LR3 is reached from the control initiation distance LR2 and the vehicle speed at curve entry is controlled.”, ¶ 0050, “In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the control initiation distance LR2 is changed to the shorter-than-normal control initiation distance L′R2 and deceleration is initiated earlier than normal. Then, the vehicle speed V is decelerated to the target vehicle speed V′R_TGT, which is lower than the target vehicle speed VR_TGT at normal curve entry, until the curve initiation distance LR3 is reached from the control initiation distance L′R2 and the vehicle speed at curve entry is controlled. At this time, the rate limiter is also changed to the rate limiter P′RateLimit smaller than the normal rate limiter PRateLimit at the control initiation distance L′R2 and deceleration is more gently performed toward the target vehicle speed V′R_TGT.”. The cited passages describe the process by which a smooth transition from a higher velocity to a lower velocity is performed when the vehicle is determined to be entering a curved portion of road. Said speed is set based on the long-distance route command (i.e. the traveling speed of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the route) and the route command (i.e. the speed the vehicle needs to travel to comfortably take the curve). Furthermore, the change in velocity for the curved section is demonstrated in Figure 4. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these graphs represent a smooth change between vehicle speed. Additionally, ¶ 0016-0027, describe the sensors and information said sensor gather that the vehicle uses to determine the aforementioned route commands. Therefore, the cited passages clearly teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Ohmura in further view of Oniwa with wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously taught in Mizoguchi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by smoothly transitioning between vehicle speeds, occupant discomfort is lowered (Mizoguchi: ¶ 0037, “The allowable lateral acceleration is set in advance in view of the curvature radius, the lane width, a road gradient of the curve and soon such that curve traveling can be performed at an appropriate vehicle speed at which the driver has no discomfort or anxiety.”, ¶ 0059, “In addition, since the road surface situation of the road on which the host vehicle travels is evaluated with the lane line detection state, the actual road surface situation is allowed to match a driver's senses caught as the state of visibility of a white line, and thus curve traveling can be performed at a vehicle speed the driver is comfortable with.”).
Regarding claim 9, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the nearby information comprises travel state information and a route command value P identifying a physical quantity that falls within a specified value, and wherein the physical quantity is related to the unstable behavior when the vehicle travels only along the route command value P. (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle speed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that reducing a speed of the vehicle if the vehicle’s speed exceeds a limit based on the curvature of the road reduces unstable behavior of the vehicle. The vehicles speed exceeding a limit based on the curvature of the road can be considered unstable behavior because a vehicle going too fast on a curved road can cause the vehicle to veer of the road or otherwise lose control of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 10, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the long-distance information comprises a long-distance speed and a long-distance route F (Ohmura: ¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”, ¶ 0075, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable, based on the detected opposed lane edges 6L, 6R, to calculate a lane width W of the lane SL and the curvature radius L in the curve section Sb. Alternatively, the target traveling course calculation part 10c may be configured to acquire the lane width Wand the curvature radius L from the map information of the navigation system 25.”, ¶ 0076, “With regard to the straight sections 5a, 5c, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to set a plurality of target positions P1_k of the first traveling course Rl to allow a vehicle width directional center (e.g., the position of the center of gravity) of the vehicle 1 to pass through the widthwise middle between the opposed lane edges 6L, 6R.”, ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100.”. As can be seen from the cited passages, the traveling course calculation part determines a first straight section, a curved section, and a second straight section that comprise the traveling course. The second straight section occurs after the first straight section and the curved section, and can therefore be considered to extend beyond the initial route sections. Furthermore map information regarding the roads is used to determine the course of the vehicle such that it remains in the middle of the lane in both of the straight sections. Additionally, the cited passage teaches the long distance speed, which in the cited passage, is the setup vehicle speed which is the speed the vehicle is to maintain over the course of the route.).
Regarding claim 11, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the speed planning unit determines whether or not a nearby speed is greater than a long-distance speed in an overlapping range of a route command value P and an long-distance route F to select the speed command value (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits.”. The cited passage clearly teaches determining if the nearby speed (i.e. the speed limit or speed based on the curvature of the road) is greater than the long-distance speed (i.e. the setup speed). Furthermore, this is clearly done by comparing the speeds of an overlapping region of the two routes (i.e. the curved portion of the route).).
Regarding claim 12, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the speed command value comprises a physical quantity related to the unstable behavior, a circular turning, a longitudinal acceleration, or a legal maximum (¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle speed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”).
Regarding claim 13, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the vehicle motion control device comprises a travel control unit that sets a target driving force, a target braking force, or a target steering angle to control the control and reduce the unstable behavior or the emergency braking of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0048, “The engine control system 31 comprises a controller for controlling an engine of the vehicle 1. The ECU 10 is operable, when there is a need to accelerate or decelerate the vehicle 1, to output, to the engine control system 31, an engine output change request signal for requesting to change an engine output so as to obtain a target acceleration/deceleration.”, ¶ 0049, “The brake control system 32 comprises a controller for controlling a braking device of the vehicle 1. The ECU 10 is operable, when there is a need to decelerate the vehicle 1, to output, to the brake control system 32, a braking request signal for requesting to generate a braking force to be applied to the vehicle 1, so as to obtain the target acceleration/deceleration.”, ¶ 0050, “The steering control system 33 comprises a controller for controlling a steering device of the vehicle 1. The ECU 10 is operable, when there is a need to change the traveling direction of the vehicle 1, to output, to the steering control system 33, a steering direction change request signal for requesting to change a steering direction so as to obtain a target steering angle.”, ¶ 0057, “Then, the control part l0e is operable to generate a request signal for allowing the own vehicle to travel along the determined optimal corrected traveling course, and out put the generated request signal to one or more of at least the engine control system 31, the brake control system 32 and the steering control system 33.”, ¶ 0136, “Subsequently, the control part l0e of the ECU 10 operates, in step S14, to output a request signal to each of one or more control systems concerned (the engine control system 31, the brake control system 32 and/or the steering control system 33) so as to allow the own vehicle to travel on the corrected traveling course calculated in the step S13. Specifically, the ECU 10 operates to generate a request signal according to a target control amount of each of the engine, brake, and steering, determined by the calculated corrected traveling course, and output the generated request signal. Thus, the processing in the steps S13 and S14 serves as a control step of controlling speed and/or steering of the own vehicle to satisfy the set speed limit distributions.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the vehicle is configured to determine a target driving force, a target steering angle, and a target braking force in order to achieve the route and speed command values. Additionally one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the engine force is the driving force.).
Regarding claim 14, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the vehicle motion control device comprises a travel control unit that a power train system , a brake system, or a steering system of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0040, “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control device 100 comprises: a vehicle control and computing unit (ECU) 10, a plurality of sensors and switches, a plurality of control systems, and a driver manipulation unit (not shown) for allowing user input regarding the driving support modes, each equipped in the vehicle ( own vehicle) 1. The sensors and switches include: a camera 21 for capturing an image of a vehicle exterior of the vehicle; a millimeter-wave radar 22; a vehicle speed sensor 23 for detecting the behavior of the vehicle; a position measurement system 24; a navigation system 25; and an inter-vehicle communication system 26. Further, the control systems include an engine control system 31, a brake control system 32, and a steering control system 33.”).
Regarding claim 15, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the long-distance route generation unit generates the long-distance route beyond an area detectable by from a sensor that detects a surrounding environment of the vehicle (¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”, ¶ 0075, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable, based on the detected opposed lane edges 6L, 6R, to calculate a lane width W of the lane SL and the curvature radius L in the curve section Sb. Alternatively, the target traveling course calculation part 10c may be configured to acquire the lane width Wand the curvature radius L from the map information of the navigation system 25.”, ¶ 0076, “With regard to the straight sections 5a, 5c, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to set a plurality of target positions P1_k of the first traveling course Rl to allow a vehicle width directional center (e.g., the position of the center of gravity) of the vehicle 1 to pass through the widthwise middle between the opposed lane edges 6L, 6R.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system is configured to set the long distance information using map information of the road forward the vehicle, and that the road forward of the vehicle would include areas outside the range of the sensors.).
Regarding claim 16, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the long-distance route generation unit generates the long-distance route by requiring less calculation load to compensate for long-distance route information that is not covered by the route command value (Ohmura: ¶ 0071, “Each of the traveling courses (first to third traveling courses) in FIGS. 3 to 5 is computed based on the shape of a traveling road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling, a traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle, the traveling behavior of the vehicle 1, and the setup vehicle speed, without taking into account surrounding object detection information regarding an object (an obstacle such as a surrounding vehicle or a pedestrian) on the traveling road or around the traveling road. Thus, in this embodiment, each of the traveling courses is computed without taking into account information about surrounding objects, so that it is possible to suppress the overall computational load of these traveling courses.”. The cited passage teaches using the long distance information to determine the trajectory of the vehicle as it requires less computational load than using nearby information.).
Regarding claim 17, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the long-distance route generation unit generates a long-distance speed at which a physical quantity falls within a specified value and being related to a behavior of the vehicle when the vehicle travels along the long-distance route (Ohmura: ¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”, ¶ 0075, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable, based on the detected opposed lane edges 6L, 6R, to calculate a lane width W of the lane SL and the curvature radius L in the curve section Sb. Alternatively, the target traveling course calculation part 10c may be configured to acquire the lane width Wand the curvature radius L from the map information of the navigation system 25.”, ¶ 0076, “With regard to the straight sections 5a, 5c, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to set a plurality of target positions P1_k of the first traveling course Rl to allow a vehicle width directional center (e.g., the position of the center of gravity) of the vehicle 1 to pass through the widthwise middle between the opposed lane edges 6L, 6R.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle peed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. The cited passages show that the system determines the long distance route command such that the vehicle remains within the center of the lane as the vehicle travels along the straight and curved sections of the road, as well as sets the speed to be within the legal speed limit of the road and the speed required to safely take the curve.).
Regarding claim 18, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value based on a position of the vehicle and a upper limit value of a behavior of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0078, “Basically, a target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k of the first traveling course Rl is set to a given setup vehicle speed ( constant speed) set by the driver or preliminarily set by the vehicle control device 100. However, when this setup vehicle speed exceeds a speed limit acquired from the speed sign S or the like, or a speed limit determined according to the curvature radius L of the curve section Sb, the target speed Vl_k at each of the target positions Pl_k on the traveling course is limited to a lower one of the two speed limits. Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle peed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. The cited passages clearly show that the vehicle sets its speed based, in part, on its position and an upper limit.).
Regarding claim 19, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the long-distance route has a start point corresponding to an end point of the route command value (Oniwa: ¶ 0042, “The MPU 60 functions, for example, as a recommended lane determinator 61 and holds the second map information 62 in a storage device such as an HDD or a flash memory. The recommended lane determinator 61 divides the route provided from the navigation device 50 into a plurality of blocks (for example, into blocks each 100 meters long in the direction in which the vehicle travels) and determines a recommended lane for each block by referring to the second map information 62. The recommended lane determinator 61 performs a process of determining the recommended lane such that it is given a position in a lane order counted from the leftmost lane. When there is a branch point, a merge point, or the like on the route, the recommended lane determinator 61 determines a recommended lane such that the own-vehicle M can travel on a reasonable route for proceeding to the branch destination.”, ¶ 0070, “FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an exemplary scenario in which a branching event is activated. In the shown example, an own-vehicle M is traveling on a main line ML and a route entering a branch lane BL which branches from the main line ML is defined as a route to the destination determined by the route determinator 53. The branch lane BL is, for example, a road for connecting an expressway and an ordinary road which is called a ramp, and forms a fully curved road. When such a branch lane BL is included in a scheduled route, the behavior plan generator 123 activates a branching event. For example, a target trajectory and a target speed (including a target acceleration) for smoothly traveling from the main line ML to the branch lane BL by lane change or virtual lane keeping are determined in the branching event.”, ¶ 0077, “Next, the behavior plan generator 123 determines whether or not an event to be activated is a branching event (step S104). For example, when a branch lane BL is included in the route acquired from the MPU 60 and the own-vehicle M has reached near a branch point of the branch lane BL, the behavior plan generator 123 determines that the event to be activated is a branching event. “Near” the branch point indicates, for example, a section up to several kilometers before reaching the branch point. When the event to be activated is not a branching event, the processing of this flowchart ends. When the curvature of the route acquired from the MPU 60 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value (for example, about several tens[%]), the behavior plan generator 123 determines that the event to be activated is a curve traveling event in the processing of S104 and performs processing which will be described below.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the main line ML represents the long-distance route and the branch lane represents the route command value. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, after the branch lane is cleared by the vehicle, the main line would resume from where the branch lane ended, as the main line is defined as the route to the destination.).
Regarding claim 20, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi teaches wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value at which a physical quantity falls within a specified value when the vehicle travels along the route command value as well as along the long-distance route beyond the route command value (Ohmura: ¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first traveling course R1 is set, in each of the straight sections 5a, 5c, to allow the vehicle 1 to maintain traveling along approximately the widthwise middle of the lane 5L, and set, in the curve section 5b, to allow the vehicle 1 to travel on an inner side or in-side (on the side of a center O of a curvature radius L of the curve section 5b) with respect to the widthwise middle of the lane 5L.”, ¶ 0075, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable, based on the detected opposed lane edges 6L, 6R, to calculate a lane width W of the lane SL and the curvature radius L in the curve section Sb. Alternatively, the target traveling course calculation part 10c may be configured to acquire the lane width Wand the curvature radius L from the map information of the navigation system 25.”, ¶ 0076, “With regard to the straight sections 5a, 5c, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to set a plurality of target positions P1_k of the first traveling course Rl to allow a vehicle width directional center (e.g., the position of the center of gravity) of the vehicle 1 to pass through the widthwise middle between the opposed lane edges 6L, 6R.”, ¶ 0131, “In the information acquisition processing, the ECU 10 operates to acquire the current vehicle position information, the map information, information regarding the surrounding object, and the like, from the position measurement system 24, the navigation system 25 and the inter vehicle communication system 26, and acquire the sensor information from the camera 21, the millimeter-wave radar 22, the vehicle speed sensor 23 and others.”, ¶ 0078, “Further, the target traveling course calculation part 10c is operable to appropriately correct the target positions Pl_k and the target speed Vl_k, according to a current behavior state (i.e., vehicle speed, acceleration, yaw rate, steering angle, lateral acceleration, etc.) of the vehicle 1. For example, when a current value of the vehicle speed is largely different from the setup vehicle speed, the target speed is corrected so as to allow the vehicle speed to come close to the setup vehicle speed.”, .”, ¶ 0133, “In the object detection processing, the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the current vehicle position information, the map information, the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information, traveling road information regarding the shape of a traveling road in areas around and forward of the vehicle 1 (the presence or absence of a straight section and a curve section, the length of each of the straight and curve sections, the curvature radius of the curve section, a lane width, the positions of opposed lane edges, the number of lanes, the presence or absence of an intersection, a speed limit determined by the curvature of the curve section, etc.), traveling regulation information (legal speed limit, red light, etc.), and the preceding vehicle trajectory information (traveling trajectory of a preceding vehicle). As the object detection processing, the surrounding vehicle detection part l0b of the ECU 10 operates to detect, based on the information from the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the sensor information from the camera 21 and the like, surrounding object information regarding a surrounding object including a surrounding vehicle (the presence or absence, type, size, position, etc., of an obstacle on a traveling courser). Thus, the processing in the steps Sl0 and S11 serves as a traveling course information acquisition step of detecting a surrounding vehicle traveling around the own vehicle, and acquiring traveling course information regarding a traveling course of the detected surrounding vehicle 3, from the surrounding vehicle via the inter-vehicle communication system 26 and the like.”, ¶ 0135, “Subsequently, in step S13, the target traveling course calculation part 10c of the ECU 10 operates to calculate the target traveling courses illustrated in FIGS. 3 to 5, using the traveling road information detected in the step S11.”. The cited passages show that the system a speed command value such that a physical quantity (the speed to be within the legal speed limit of the road and the speed required to safely take the curve) based on both the route command value and the long distance command value. This clearly shown, as the system is configured to use local information such as the curvature of the current segment of the road, the speed limit of the curved section, detected objects, etc., as well as long distance information derived from map data, such as the speed limit over the length of each road, curved sections ahead of the vehicle, and other information of the road that exists ahead of the vehicle.).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200391747 A1 ("Ohmura") in view of US 2018/0345967 A1 ("Oniwa") in further view of US 2018/0345953 A1 ("Mizoguchi") in further view of JP 2018114913 A ("Hirano").
Regarding claim 6, Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi does not teach wherein based on size of calculation load or accuracy of the long- distance information, the speed planning unit changes priority of information for using to generate the speed command value or selects information for using to generate the speed command value.
Hirano, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein based on size of calculation load or accuracy of the long- distance information, the speed planning unit changes priority of information for using to generate the speed command value or selects information for using to generate the speed command value (Hirano: ¶ 0016, “Further, the support content determination unit 152 may change the output timing of a warning for the driver or the correction amount based on the automatic control of the vehicle according to the accuracy of the information related to the traveling state of the vehicle. Specifically, the support content determination unit 152 sets the information acquired by the sensor mounted on the vehicle as the most accurate information, and is acquired by the sensor mounted on the surrounding vehicle or the sensor installed on the road. The information may then be the information with high accuracy, and the information acquired through the Internet line may be the information with the lowest accuracy. In this case, as an example, the support content determination unit 152 first acquires information based on statistical data collected from a plurality of vehicles from the external server 200 that manages traveling information of the plurality of vehicles through the Internet line. And the assistance content determination part 152 determines the content of the rough driving assistance based on the information acquired in this way. Subsequently, the support content determination unit 152 acquires information from a nearby vehicle or a sensor installed on the road within a certain distance from the vehicle 100. And the assistance content determination part 152 corrects the content of the rough driving assistance determined previously based on the information acquired in this way. Thereafter, the support content determination unit 152 acquires information from a sensor mounted on the vehicle. And the assistance content determination part 152 further corrects the content of driving assistance based on the information acquired in this way.”. As can be seen from the cited passage, the system gives priority to data gathered from sources determined to have a higher accuracy and adjusts the support content based on this.).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the vehicle control device and method of changing priority of information for using to generate the speed command value based on accuracy of the long- distance information into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to have combine the vehicle control method taught in Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi with the method of changing priority of information for using to generate the speed command value based on accuracy of the long- distance information taught in Hirano. Furthermore, even though the accuracy of the information is only used to adjust the support provided to the driver, because the method is already used to control and modify a command value of the vehicle, such a method could easily be applied to the determination of the speed command value without changing or introducing new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a vehicle control device that is able to change the priority of information for using to generate the speed command value based on accuracy of the long- distance information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the vehicle control device taught in Ohmura in view of Oniwa in further view of Mizoguchi with the method of changing priority of information for using to generate the speed command value based on accuracy of the long- distance information taught in Hirano with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 9th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on Pages 8-9, Applicant argues that the primary reference fails to teach or suggest the limitations of the independent claims 1 and 8. Specifically on Page 11 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that the primary reference fails to teach the limitation “select, from the speed command value based on the route command value and the speed command value based on the long-distance route, the speed command value at a smaller speed”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection section in the Non-Final Office action mailed November 28th, 2025, stated above in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection section of this action, and stated herein, the primary reference Ohmura teaches a speed planning unit configured to: generate the speed command value of the vehicle as a travel target of the vehicle based on the nearby information and the long-distance information (Ohmura: ¶ 0133, ¶ 0135), select, from the speed command value based on the route command value and the speed command value based on the long-distance route, the speed command value at a smaller speed (Ohmura: ¶ 0078), and outputs the speed command value selected (Ohmura: ¶ 0078), wherein the route command value comprises a route as the travel target of the vehicle (Ohmura: ¶ 0074). As is stated in ¶ 0133 and ¶ 0135, the vehicles is configured to set a speed command for the travelling course based on the vehicles current position, the object detection results from the sensors on the vehicle, and information regarding the road around and forward the vehicle. The current position, object detection results, and road information currently around the vehicle all clearly comprise nearby information. The road information forward the vehicle, derived from map information, which can include information regarding the shape of the road, number of lanes, speed limit, etc., clearly comprises long distance information. As such, the system is clearly configured to determine a speed command value based on the route command and long distance information. As is stated in ¶ 0078, the system is configured to set the speed as the smaller speed (i.e. if the current speed if is larger than a legal speed limit, the system will set the speed to the legal speed limit or if the current speed is too fast to safely travel a curved section of road). Therefore, for the reasons stated above and herein, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8, specifically on Pages 9-10 of Applicant’s arguments, wherein Applicant argues that the primary reference does not teach the limitations “a long-distance route generation unit configured to generate a long-distance route to a long-distance area beyond an area detectable by a sensor of the vehicle” and “wherein the speed planning unit generates the speed command value to smooth a speed change utilizing the route command value and the long-distance route simultaneously” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658