DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the central plug" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting claim 8 to depend from claim 7.,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2020/112073 to Annamarie.
With regard to claims 1, 10, Annamarie discloses a bandage applicator comprising an elongated cylinder 114 configured to be inserted in a central lumen of a spool 114, handle 118 that can be telescoped for storage, and the handle is rotatable to the cylinder 114 (see FIGS 1, 1A, ¶0038, 0039, 0043).
With regard to claims 2-6, Annamarie discloses a locking mechanism 3, 7, to lock the handle into various releasably locked telescoped positions (see FIGS 2, 3, ¶0024, 0039-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/112073 to Annamarie in view of US 2018/0200202 to Joguparthi et al.
In the specification and figures, Annamarie suggests the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claim 9, the cited prior art does not comprise an arrow indicator. The Examiner finds that the arrow indicator has a functional relationship to the dispenser apparatus, indicating in which direction a user should apply force to achieve a desired configuration. Joguparthi discloses a medicament dispenser with an arrow printed on the safety cap to indicate which direction a user should apply force to achieve a desired configuration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add an arrow indicator as disclosed by Joguparthi to the dispenser disclosed by Annamarie in order to indicate to a user where to apply force, as taught by Joguparthi.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/112073 to Annamarie in view of KR 20210071644 to Yeong et al.
In the specification and figures, Annamarie suggests the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claims 11-13, Yeong discloses a medicated wound dressing with an adhesive surface on a roller dispenser (see abstract, p2 of English translation, attached). Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Accordingly Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results; absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d at 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at1396. Accordingly, since the applicant[s] have submitted no persuasive evidence that the combination of the above elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) because it is no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions resulting in the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
In the instant case, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a medicated self-adhesive wound dressing as disclosed by Yeong on the roller apparatus disclosed by Annamarie because both elements are known in the art and simply put together.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/112073 to Annamarie in view of KR 20210071644 to Yeong et al, further in view of WO 2022/261201 to Perry.
In the specification and figures, the prior art suggests the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claim 14, the prior art suggests a bandage with a medical composition, but not a blood-clot promoter. However, Perry discloses a wound dressing that seals a wound and promotes local clot formation (see Perry p11, lines 1-70). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a clot-forming medicament as disclosed by Perry to the bandage dispenser suggested by the prior art in order to promote clot formation, as taught by Perry.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/112073 to Annamarie in view of EP 1,845,035 to Pavlik.
In the specification and figures, the prior art suggests the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claim 16, the cited prior art fails to disclose a non-circular dispenser. However, Pavlik discloses a dispenser for web-like material (such as a bandage) wherein the dispenser may be semicircular, rectangular, or triangular, and the web material may not be in a roll (see ¶0107).
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results; absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d at 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at1396. Accordingly, since the applicant[s] have submitted no persuasive evidence that the combination of the above elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) because it is no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions resulting in the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement. In the instant case, it would have been within the skill of a worker in the art at the time of filling to provide the bandage dispenser as disclosed by Annamarie with an irregular shape, as disclosed by Rodriguez, since both elements were known at the time of filing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Annamarie discloses the dispenser substantially as claimed by Applicant but does not disclose a tensioning element. GB 2,333,506 to Rodriguez discloses a bandage roller dispenser with a means to control the friction between the handle and the axle of the bandage roller in order to create tension, but does not disclose a central plug with a rod section and a dome section. As such, the prior art fails to suggest the combination of elements as claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 4 December 2025