Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim 20 is withdrawn
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/10/2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance. This action is made final.
Status of Rejections Pending
since The Office Action of 09/11/2025
All the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002232028, and in view of WO 2007109368, hereinafter as “028, ’368.
Regarding claim 1, ‘028 teaches a thermoelectric device comprising:
a first electrically-insulating substrate 2 having a first face and a second face opposite the first face, wherein a first plurality of electrical interconnects 6 is disposed in a first pattern on the first face [fig 1]
a second electrically-insulating substrate 1 spaced from the first electrically-insulating substrate and having a first face facing the first face of the first electrically-insulating substrate 2, wherein a second plurality of electrical interconnects (5, 7, 8) is disposed in a second pattern on the first face of the second electrically-insulating substrate [fig 1].
a plurality of thermoelectric elements (3,4) comprising n-type thermoelectric elements and p- type thermoelectric elements disposed between the first electrically-insulating substrate and the second electrically-insulating substrate, wherein each thermoelectric element extends from one of the first plurality of electrical interconnects to one of the second plurality of electrical interconnects, wherein the thermoelectric elements are arranged to form a first series-connected string of alternating n-type and p-type thermoelectric elements and a second series-connected string of alternating n-type and p-type thermoelectric elements and at least one of the n-type or p- type thermoelectric elements in the first series-connected string is electrically connected in parallel with one of the thermoelectric elements of the same type (n-type or p-type) in the second series-connected string [para 11 ] (para 11 teaches plurality of thermoelectric element being connected in series or parallel where the thermoelectric elements are arranged in matrix with column and row. Also, the plurality of thermoelectric elements electrically connected to the thermoelectric element and having the same conductivity type adjacent to each other in the row direction are at least partially connected in parallel to each other in the column direction. Thus, each row or column would be considered to be string and thermoelectric elements in each string is considered to be connected in series and each string is connected parallel to each other).
‘028 teaches the claimed limitation, but ‘028 does not teach metallic material being disposed in a third pattern on the second face of the first electrical insulating substrate.
‘369 teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a thermoelectric module (Figure 2) having opposing dielectric substrates (1A) with thermoelectric elements (6,7) mounted on interconnection elements (3) on the interior of the substrates. Regions of metallic material (5) are disposed in a pattern on the exterior face of the substrates to help prevent warping due to differential expansion coefficients between the substrate material and the metallic conductors on the inside surface of the module [fig 2 description section].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the metallic material of ‘369 to be disposed in a third pattern and fourth pattern on the second face of the first and second electrical insulating substrate as taught by ‘028 for reducing warping [description section].
Regarding claim 2, modified ‘028 teaches at least one pair of thermoelectric elements comprising a thermoelectric element in the first series-connected string and a thermoelectric element of the same type in the second series-connected string that are electrically connected in parallel is disposed at or in the vicinity of a corner or corner region of the first electrically-insulating substrate and/or the second electrically-insulating substrate [fig 1-13]
Regarding claim 3, modified ‘028 teaches at least one pair of thermoelectric elements comprising a thermoelectric element in the first series- connected string and a thermoelectric element of the same type in the second series-connected string that are electrically connected in parallel is disposed at or in the vicinity of an edge or edge region of the first electrically-insulating substrate and/or the second electrically-insulating substrate [fig 1-13].
Regarding claim 4, modified ‘028 teaches every thermoelectric element in the first series-connected string is electrically connected in parallel with one of the thermoelectric elements of the same type in the second series-connected string [fig 1-13].
Regarding claim 5, modified ‘028 teaches one or more of the thermoelectric elements in the first series-connected string is not electrically connected in parallel with one of the thermoelectric elements of the same type in the second series-connected string [fig 3A description section]
Regarding claim 6, modified ‘028 teaches the third pattern is similar to or substantially the same as the first pattern [fig 2]
Regarding claim 7, modified ‘028 teaches the third pattern has an area fraction on the second face of the first electrically-insulating substrate that is the same as an area fraction of the first pattern on the first face of the first electrically-insulating substrate [fig 2].
Regarding claim 8, modified ‘028 teaches one or more regions of metallic material are disposed in a fourth pattern on a second face opposite the first face of the second electrically-insulating substrate [fig 2].
Regarding claim 9, modified ‘028 teaches the fourth pattern is similar to or substantially the same as the second pattern [fig 2]
Regarding claim 10, modified ‘028 teaches the fourth pattern has an area fraction on the second face of the second electrically-insulating substrate that is the same as an area fraction of the second pattern on the first face of the second electrically-insulating substrate [fig 2].
Regarding claim 11, modified ‘028 teaches at least one of the first plurality of electrical interconnects and/or at least one of the second plurality of electrical interconnects is connected to two or more n-type thermoelectric elements and two or more p-type thermoelectric elements [fig 1-13]
Regarding claim 12, modified ‘028 teaches at least one of the first plurality of electrical interconnects and/or at least one of the second plurality of electrical interconnects being square and rectangular, and connected to two n-type thermoelectric elements and two p-type thermoelectric elements with the thermoelectric elements being connected to the electrical interconnect(s) close to the corners of the rectangular, e.g. square, electrical interconnect(s) [fig 1].
Claim(s) 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002232028, and WO 2007109368 and further in view of JP2018032685, hereinafter as ‘685.
Regarding claim 13-17, modified ‘028 teaches the claimed limitation, but modified ‘028 does not teach the second substrate being made up of two or more substrate parts.
‘685 teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a substrate 1 having plurality of substrate row and column of substrate parts [fig 1a-b] which is overlapped the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the second substrate of modified ‘028 to be included plurality of substate row and column of substrate parts as taught by ‘685 for preventing deformation due to high heat (abstract). According to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002232028, and WO 2007109368 and further in view of Lofy (PG Pub 20090025770)
Regarding claim 18-19, modified ‘028 teaches the claimed limitation, but modified ‘028 does not teach mounting plate connected to the third pattern of second surface of the first substate.
Lofy teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a heat transfer member 34,38 being used as heat sink for transferring heat from the device to air of fluid transfer device [para 76]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the heat transfer member of Lofy to the third pattern of second surface of the first substrate for heat sink.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. the applicant argues in substance:
None of cited references teach connecting at least one of the n-type or p-type thermoelectric elements in the first series-connected string to one of the thermoelectric elements of the same type (n-type or p-type) in the second series-connected string such that the two thermoelectric elements are connected in parallel.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Para 11 of ’028 teaches this configuration as set forth above.
None of cited references teaches one or more regions of metallic material are disposed in a third pattern on the second face of the first electrically-insulating substrate and
The examiner respectfully disagrees. ‘028 teaches the claimed limitation except the metallic material being disposed in the third pattern on the second surface of the first insulating substrate. ‘368 is only applied to teach regions of metallic material (5) are disposed in a pattern on the exterior face of the substrates to help prevent warping due to differential expansion coefficients between the substrate material and the metallic conductors on the inside surface of the module [fig 2 description section]. Thus, by adding the metallic material of ‘369 to be disposed in a third pattern and fourth pattern on the second face of the first and second electrical insulating substrate as taught by ‘028, it would reduce warping [description section].
It is improper to combine ‘028 and ‘369.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. By adding the metallic material of ‘369 to be disposed in a third pattern and fourth pattern on the second face of the first and second electrical insulating substrate as taught by ‘028, it would provide the benefit to ‘028 without destroying the structure or system of ‘028. Thus, it would lead to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine ‘028 with ‘369 to provide such benefits.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726