DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshita et al. (US 20090297741 A1) in view of Parks et al. (US 20150101747 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Oshita teaches a laminated three-dimensional rigid body comprising a three-dimensional rigid body (paper container) having a wall section delimiting an open body volume, wherein the three-dimensional rigid body comprises a see-through hole (window) penetrating the wall section, and wherein at least the wall section is laminated with a laminate (Gas barrier laminate) to cover at least the wall section and the see-through hole (Oshita, Abstract, Par. 0001, 0034-0037, Claim 1, and Figs. 1-2).
Oshita is silent regarding the wall section including a base portion and a flange portion circumferentially surrounding an access opening of the open body volume.
Parks teaches a paper container comprising that is a tray having a wall section including a base portion and a flange portion circumferentially surrounding an access opening of an open body volume of the paper container (Parks, Abstract, Par. 0015-0025, and Fig. 3-4).
Oshita and Parks are analogous art as they both teach paper containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the three-dimensional rigid body of Oshita to have a base portion and a flange portion circumferentially surrounding an access opening of the open body volume. This would allow for a sealable tray with good barrier properties, wherein the contents of the tray can be viewed (Oshita, Abstract; Parks, Par. Abstract and 0015-0025).
Regarding claim 6, modified Oshita teaches the see-through hole is positioned at or in a transition area (bottom) of the wall section defining the three-dimensional shape of the body (Oshita, Par. 0034-0037 and Fig. 1). Modified Oshita further teaches the see-through hole allows the contents of the three-dimensional body to be viewed easily (Oshita, Par. 0217). Regarding the limitation of the body comprising a plurality of see-through holes, this is a mere, obvious, duplication of parts of duplicating the see-through hole to allow the contents to be viewed easily, see MPEP 2144.04, VI, B.
Regarding claim 7, modified Oshita teaches a plurality of see-through holes as stated above for claim 6 and thus teaches either an even or uneven distribution of the see-through holes.
Regarding claim 8, the size of the windows can be scaled up or down by scaling up or down the entire three-dimensional body. Therefore, the claimed largest extension E diameter of claim 8 can be achieved via an obvious change in size of the entire three-dimensional body of Oshita, see MPEP 2144.04, IV.
Regarding claim 9, modified Oshita teaches the body is made from a cellulose material (see paper) (Oshita, Abstract and Claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Oshita teaches the laminate has a layered structure (Oshita, Abstract, Claim 1, and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Oshita teaches the laminate comprises a gas barrier layer and a substrate (Oshita, Abstract, Par. 0072, and Claim 1). Modified Oshita teaches the gas barrier layer has a thickness of 0.1-100 µm (Oshita, Par. 0176). Modified Oshita teaches the substrate is a polyamide layer having a thickness of 5-100 µm (Oshita, 0122 and 0126). This results in a laminate thickness of 5.1-200 µm, which overlaps the claimed range of 25-150 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 16, modified Oshita teaches a plurality of see-through holes at or along a transition area as stated above for claims 6-7 and thus teaches either an even or uneven distribution of the see-through holes.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshita et al. in view of Parks et al. as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Qui et al. (US 6309717 B1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Oshita teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 5. Modified Oshita further teaches the body is formed from a paper layer and a polyolefin (PO) layer wherein the PO layer has a thickness of 50-200 µm (Oshita, Par. 0036, 0051, and 0113).
Modified Oshita is silent regarding the body having a material thickness B of 200 to 1200 µm.
Qui teaches a container formed a paper layer, wherein the paper layer has a thickness of greater than about 0.014 inch (355.6 µm) (Qui, Abstract, Col. 1 Lines 5-14, Col. 2 Lines 8-14).
Modified Oshita and Qui are analogous art as they both teach containers comprising a paperboard layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the paper layer of modified Oshita to have a thickness of greater than about 355.6 µm. This would allow for sufficient strength of the container (Qui, Col. 2 Lines 8-14). This would further result in an overall body thickness of modified Oshita of at least 405.6 µm, which overlaps the claimed range of 200 to 1200 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshita et al. as in view of Parks et al. applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Cleveland et al. (US 20070184220 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Oshita teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 5. Modified Oshita teaches the laminate is formed of a polymer material (Oshita, Abstract and Claim 1). Modified Oshita teaches the laminate is a gas barrier laminate (Oshita, Abstract and Claim 1).
Modified Oshita is silent regarding the laminate being made from a material that is selected from the group consisting of bio-based, petro-based, and a biodegradable polymer material.
Cleveland teaches a gas barrier laminate for use with containers comprising paper wherein the gas barrier laminate comprises biodegradable polymers (Cleveland, Abstract, Par. 0002-0004, 0013, and Claim 1).
Modified Oshita and Cleveland are analogous art as they both teach paper containers comprising a gas barrier laminate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the gas barrier laminate of modified Oshita from biodegradable polymers. This would allow for a biodegradable container (Cleveland, Abstract, Par. 0002-0004, and 0013).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 15 September 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objections and rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action.
The objections and rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action have been withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
Applicant argues that the Oshita does not teach the features of newly amended claim 1 regarding the base and flange portions. This is found moot.
The grounds of rejection have been updated above in view of the present claim amendments. In the updated grounds of rejection, newly cited Parks is relied upon to render obvious the newly amended features of claim 1 regarding the base and flange portions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782