DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 17, 18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0100053, Park hereafter.
RE claims 1, 17 and 18, Park discloses a communication method, electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (Figures 1C and 3, AP MLD, Figure 10 being a component diagram for a device implementing the methods of Park) comprising: determining a first message frame that includes information that at least one link of multi-links is to be switched to an awake state for multi-link communication; and sending the first message frame; wherein the information includes a power management identifier that is set to a first value to indicate that the at least one link being enabled but in a power save (PS) mode is to be switched to the awake state, and the information includes a link identifier corresponding to the at least one link (Paragraphs 25-30 teaches a system comprised of a Access Point Multi Link Device, or AP MLD, and a non-AP MLD. A connection is established between them over a plurality of links. The paragraphs cited teach that a bitmap may be exchanged between them whereby each link has a Link ID assigned and the bit position of the bitmap maps to each link. The bits indicate whether the mode of the link is “active” or in a “power management mode”. Paragraph 27 discloses “There are two power mode modes of operation, 1) active mode and 2) power management mode. In the active mode, the device is always in the awake state. However, in the power management mode, the device can be in the awake state or in the doze state. The device can switch between the active mode and the power management mode. Once the device is in the power management mode, the device can have a power state either awake state (active, power on) or doze state (asleep, power off).” Based on the distinctions here, the active mode merely means the link is not set to enter a power save mode. Power management mode however means the link is still active/enabled, but allowed to be periodically dozed and awakened to save power. The link itself is not released in any way. Per paragraphs 28-29, the bitmap both indicates to each MLD what the mode of each link is and any change to the bit value in each position is used to direct the other to change the mode of the link. Figure 6 is an example of the bitmap.)
RE claims 8 and 22, Park discloses a communication method on multi-links, and an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (Figures 1C and 3, Non-AP MLD, Figure 10 being a component diagram for a device implementing the methods of Park), wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions comprising: receiving a first message frame that includes information that at least one link of multi-links is to be switched to an awake state for multi-link communication; and performing a communication operation based on the first message frame; wherein the information includes a power management identifier that is set to a first value to indicate that the at least one link being enabled but in a power save (PS) mode is to be switched to the awake state, and the information includes a link identifier corresponding to the at least one link (Paragraphs 25-30 teaches a system comprised of a Access Point Multi Link Device, or AP MLD, and a non-AP MLD. A connection is established between them over a plurality of links. The paragraphs cited teach that a bitmap may be exchanged between them whereby each link has a Link ID assigned and the bit position of the bitmap maps to each link. The bits indicate whether the mode of the link is “active” or in a “power management mode”. Paragraph 27 discloses “There are two power mode modes of operation, 1) active mode and 2) power management mode. In the active mode, the device is always in the awake state. However, in the power management mode, the device can be in the awake state or in the doze state. The device can switch between the active mode and the power management mode. Once the device is in the power management mode, the device can have a power state either awake state (active, power on) or doze state (asleep, power off).” Based on the distinctions here, the active mode merely means the link is not set to enter a power save mode. Power management mode however means the link is still active/enabled, but allowed to be periodically dozed and awakened to save power. The link itself is not released in any way. Per paragraphs 28-29, the bitmap both indicates to each MLD what the mode of each link is and any change to the bit value in each position is used to direct the other to change the mode of the link. Figure 6 is an example of the bitmap.).
RE claims 7 and 21, Park discloses the communication method of claim 1 and electronic device of claim 17 as set forth above. Note that Park further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: send a third message frame that includes information that a link in the awake state in the at least one link is to enter into the PS mode (Paragraphs 25-30 teaches a system comprised of a Access Point Multi Link Device, or AP MLD, and a non-AP MLD. A connection is established between them over a plurality of links. The paragraphs cited teach that a bitmap may be exchanged between them whereby each link has a Link ID assigned and the bit position of the bitmap maps to each link. The bits indicate whether the mode of the link is “active” or in a “power management mode”. Paragraph 27 discloses “There are two power mode modes of operation, 1) active mode and 2) power management mode. In the active mode, the device is always in the awake state. However, in the power management mode, the device can be in the awake state or in the doze state. The device can switch between the active mode and the power management mode. Once the device is in the power management mode, the device can have a power state either awake state (active, power on) or doze state (asleep, power off).” Based on the distinctions here, the active mode merely means the link is not set to enter a power save mode. Power management mode however means the link is still active/enabled, but allowed to be periodically dozed and awakened to save power. The link itself is not released in any way. Per paragraphs 28-29, the bitmap both indicates to each MLD what the mode of each link is and any change to the bit value in each position is used to direct the other to change the mode of the link. Figure 6 is an example of the bitmap.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11 and 19 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hsu et al. (US 2020/0163141, cited on the IDS filed November 09, 2023, Hsu hereafter).
RE claims 4, 11 and 19, Park discloses the communication methods of claims 1 and 11, and the electronic device of claim 17 as set forth above. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the information includes a delay identifier; wherein the delay identifier is configured to identify a delay for a device under the at least one link to switch to an awake state.
However, Park Hsu teaches wherein the information includes a delay identifier (Paragraph 40 discloses that following the request by the STA, “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link. The delay 275 can be the delay initially negotiated between the AP and the STA, or a new delay identified in the updated operational parameters carried in the request frame 265. The frame exchange 250 described above is transmitted over an enabled link 255 associated with the AP and the STA.”); wherein the delay identifier is configured to identify a delay for a device under the at least one link to switch to an awake state (Paragraph 40 discloses that following the request by the STA, “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link. The delay 275 can be the delay initially negotiated between the AP and the STA, or a new delay identified in the updated operational parameters carried in the request frame 265. The frame exchange 250 described above is transmitted over an enabled link 255 associated with the AP and the STA.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods and device of Park with the teachings of Hsu in order to provide for scheduling a future power mode change.
Claims 5, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hsu and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0103810, Kim hereafter).
RE claims 5, 12 and 20, Park in view of Hsu discloses the communication methods of claims 1 and 12, and electronic device of claim 17 as set forth above. Note that Park in view of Hsu further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a second message frame from an access point that supports multi-link communication when the first message frame is sent by a station that supports multi-link communication ((Paragraph 40-41, STA may initiate activation or deactivation of a given link via a frame exchange. The STA generates and transmits a request frame to the AP to either enable or disable a link. The AP enables or disables the link and replies to the request with a response frame indicating the same.),
Park in view of Hsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the second message frame includes information that a link is to be switched to an awake state recommended by the access point based on a communication environment.
However, Park in view of Hsu teaches wherein the second message frame includes information that a link is to be switched to an awake state recommended by the access point based on a communication environment (Paragraph 315-316 teaches a Multi-Link Device AP and STA whereby the AP transmits an information element “recommend link” that is “an element or field that enables the AP MLD to recommend a link that is most appropriate to an STA of the non-AP MLD, based on various information per link (e.g., data load per link, and so on). For example, the recommend link (element/field) may be indicated as link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on. In other words, the recommend link (element/field) may include link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods and device of Park in view of Hsu with the teachings of Kim in order to provide for the best performing link when managing the power state of links in a MLD AP-STA system.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hsu, in view of Kim, and further in view of Xing (US 2017/0171811).
RE claims 6 and 13, Park in view of Hsu, and further in view of Kim disclose the communication methods of claims 5 and 12 as set forth above. Note that Kim further teaches wherein the communication environment includes at least one of a load situation (Paragraph 315-316 teaches a Multi-Link Device AP and STA whereby the AP transmits an information element “recommend link” that is “an element or field that enables the AP MLD to recommend a link that is most appropriate to an STA of the non-AP MLD, based on various information per link (e.g., data load per link, and so on). For example, the recommend link (element/field) may be indicated as link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on. In other words, the recommend link (element/field) may include link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on.”).
Hsu in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication environment includes an access delay.
However, Xing teaches wherein the communication environment includes an access delay (Claims 9 and 13 teach an AP/link selection based upon QoS requirements of a STA and the suitability of a given available AP/link to meet those needs. Among these QoS requirements is average channel access delay).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods and device of Park in view of Hsu, and further in view of Kim with the teachings of Xing in order to provide for the best performing link when presented with multiple candidate links.
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461