DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
RE claims 1, 8, and 17, Applicants argue that Hsu fails to disclose the amended limitation by asserting “Hsu merely discloses that a link can be disabled or enabled through frame exchange between the STA and the AP. Amended claim 1 has further clarified that "switched to the awake state" refers to "switched from a power save mode to the awake state". The Applicant respectfully submits that there is an essential technical difference between "disable" and "power save mode" which is also well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art.”.
Applicants are correct that the general term and general concept of “power save” modes is well known in the art under that and many other terms. However, the implementation and degree to which a “power save” mode reduces functionality and power consumption widely varies in the art as there are a plurality of possible ways to reduce the power usage of a device. The claim as currently present fails to explicitly place any requirements that would clarity what actions Applicants consider a “power save” mode to take beyond switching the “state” of a link. The claims only require that an identified link of a multi-link communication is switched between “awake” and, now, “power save”. Paragraphs 3 and 4 of Hsu discloses that the ability to add or remove bands from use serves to satisfy multiple needs. In paragraph 4, Hsu states as motivation for their disclosed invention the following: “What is needed is an approach to MLO for wireless networks that can selectively enable and disable links, for example, to reduce power consumption when there is no urgent data to exchange or the amount of traffic in the network is little, or to improve peak throughput and connection stability between wireless devices.” For this reason emphasized by underline, Examiner interprets the selective disabling of links taught Hsu to remain in anticipation of the claimed invention with respect to Applicants “power save” mode. Hsu enables or disables links according to bandwidth need which further provides power savings. The disabled state of a given link is interpreted as a “power save” mode for that link. If the originally filed disclosure contains additional support for details that would further clarify Applicant’s intended meaning and function of a “power save” mode, then they must be explicitly claimed. It is improper for Examiner to read limitations into the claims from the specification.
Accordingly, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants assertions with respect to Hsu. Updated grounds of rejection are presented below where necessitated by amendment.
In response to Applicants footnote on page 7 of Applicants remarks regarding the inclusion of Xing for the rejection of claims 5, 12 and 20, the assumption is correct. It was a typographical error when arranging the rejection of claims and has been removed. No rejection based on Xing was intended for those claims. Examiner apologizes for any confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 14, 17-19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1)/(A)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2020/0163141, cited on the IDS filed November 09, 2023, Hsu hereafter).
RE claims 1, 17 and 18, Hsu discloses a communication method, electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (Paragraphs 29-32, multi-band cooperative AP and STA, capable of individual or simultaneous communication over each of a 2.4 GHz band and a 5 GHz band. Processor and memory are inherent generic components of these devices for executing a method comprised within instructions stored in said memory. See further paragraph 72), wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: determine a first message frame that includes information that at least one link of multi-links is to be switched to an awake state for multi-link communication (Paragraph 40-41, STA may initiate activation or deactivation of a given link via a frame exchange. The STA generates and transmits a request frame to the AP to either enable or disable a link); and send the first message frame (The transmitted request frame.); wherein the information includes a power management identifier that is set to a first value to indicate that the at least one link is to be switched from a power save (PS) mode to the awake state, and the information includes a link identifier corresponding to the at least one link (Paragraph 41 further discloses the request frame contains Link IDs each associated with a DISABLE flag so as to directly identify which link and its associated requested state change. In paragraph 4, Hsu states as motivation for their disclosed invention the following: “What is needed is an approach to MLO for wireless networks that can selectively enable and disable links, for example, to reduce power consumption when there is no urgent data to exchange or the amount of traffic in the network is little, or to improve peak throughput and connection stability between wireless devices.”. As such, Examiner interprets the act of placing a link in the DISABLE state anticipates the claimed “power save (PS)” mode for that given link. ).
RE claim 4, Hsu discloses the communication method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Hsu further discloses wherein the information includes a delay identifier that is configured to identify a delay for a device under the at least one link to switch to an awake state (Paragraph 40 discloses that following the request by the STA, “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link. The delay 275 can be the delay initially negotiated between the AP and the STA, or a new delay identified in the updated operational parameters carried in the request frame 265. The frame exchange 250 described above is transmitted over an enabled link 255 associated with the AP and the STA.”):
RE claims 7 and 21, Hsu discloses the communication method of claim 1 and electronic device of claim 17 as set forth above. Note that Hsu further discloses sending a third message frame that includes information that a link in the awake state in the at least one link is to enter into a PS mode (As set forth above, paragraphs 40-41 establish that the STA may either request and enable or disable of an identified link. Paragraph 41 discloses “Still with regard to FIG. 2B, the exemplary frame exchange 250 can also be used by the STA to initiate disablement of an enabled link or links according to embodiments of the present invention.” Thus, a STA may elect to request an enabled link to be placed in a disabled state. Since it is clear this is a continual function between an AP and STA, it is inherent in the art the STA also disables links previously requested to be activated, thereby producing a request frame equivalent to the claimed 3rd message. Paragraph 26 further suggests a link that is deactivated is in a power-save mode.)
RE claim 19, Hsu discloses the electronic device of claim 17 as set forth above. Note that Hsu further discloses wherein the information includes a delay identifier (Paragraph 40 discloses that following the request by the STA, “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link. The delay 275 can be the delay initially negotiated between the AP and the STA, or a new delay identified in the updated operational parameters carried in the request frame 265. The frame exchange 250 described above is transmitted over an enabled link 255 associated with the AP and the STA.”); wherein the delay identifier is configured to identify a delay for a device under the at least one link to switch to an awake state (Paragraph 40 discloses that following the request by the STA, “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link. The delay 275 can be the delay initially negotiated between the AP and the STA, or a new delay identified in the updated operational parameters carried in the request frame 265. The frame exchange 250 described above is transmitted over an enabled link 255 associated with the AP and the STA.”).
RE claims 8 and 22, Hsu discloses a communication method on multi-links, and an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions comprising: receiving a first message frame that includes information that at least one link of multi-links is to be switched to an awake state for multi-link communication (Paragraph 40-41, STA may initiate activation or deactivation of a given link via a frame exchange. The STA generates and transmits a request frame to the AP to either enable or disable a link); and performing a communication operation based on the first message frame (Paragraph 40 discloses: “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link.”); wherein the information includes a power management identifier that is set to a first value to indicate that the at least one link is to be switched from a power save (PS) mode to the awake state, and the information includes a link identifier corresponding to the at least one link (Paragraph 41 further discloses the request frame contains Link IDs each associated with a DISABLE flag so as to directly identify which link and its associated requested state change. In paragraph 4, Hsu states as motivation for their disclosed invention the following: “What is needed is an approach to MLO for wireless networks that can selectively enable and disable links, for example, to reduce power consumption when there is no urgent data to exchange or the amount of traffic in the network is little, or to improve peak throughput and connection stability between wireless devices.”. As such, Examiner interprets the act of placing a link in the DISABLE state anticipates the claimed “power save (PS)” mode for that given link ).
RE claim 11, Hsu discloses the communication method of claim 8 as set forth above. Note that Hsu further discloses wherein the information includes a delay identifier that is configured to identify a delay for a device under the at least one link to switch to an awake state (Paragraph 40 discloses that following the request by the STA, “The AP updates the operational parameters of the link and after a delay 275, AP and STA can transmit over the enabled link. The delay 275 can be the delay initially negotiated between the AP and the STA, or a new delay identified in the updated operational parameters carried in the request frame 265. The frame exchange 250 described above is transmitted over an enabled link 255 associated with the AP and the STA.”):
RE claim 14, Hsu discloses the communication method of claim 8 as set forth above. Note that Hsu further discloses receiving a third message frame that includes information that a link in the awake state in the at least one link is to enter into a PS mode (As set forth above, paragraphs 40-41 establish that the STA may either request and enable or disable of an identified link. Paragraph 41 discloses “Still with regard to FIG. 2B, the exemplary frame exchange 250 can also be used by the STA to initiate disablement of an enabled link or links according to embodiments of the present invention.” Thus, a STA may elect to request an enabled link to be placed in a disabled state. Since it is clear this is a continual function between an AP and STA, it is inherent in the art the STA also disables links previously requested to be activated, thereby producing a request frame equivalent to the claimed 3rd message. Paragraph 26 further suggests a link that is deactivated is in a power-save mode.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0103810, Kim hereafter).
RE claims 5, 12 and 20, Hsu discloses the communication methods of claims 1 and 12, and electronic device of claim 17 as set forth above. Note that Hsu further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a second message frame from an access point that supports multi-link communication when the first message frame is sent by a station that supports multi-link communication ((Paragraph 40-41, STA may initiate activation or deactivation of a given link via a frame exchange. The STA generates and transmits a request frame to the AP to either enable or disable a link. The AP enables or disables the link and replies to the request with a response frame indicating the same.),
Hsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the second message frame includes information that a link is to be switched to an awake state recommended by the access point based on a communication environment.
However, Kim teaches wherein the second message frame includes information that a link is to be switched to an awake state recommended by the access point based on a communication environment (Paragraph 315-316 teaches a Multi-Link Device AP and STA whereby the AP transmits an information element “recommend link” that is “an element or field that enables the AP MLD to recommend a link that is most appropriate to an STA of the non-AP MLD, based on various information per link (e.g., data load per link, and so on). For example, the recommend link (element/field) may be indicated as link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on. In other words, the recommend link (element/field) may include link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods and device of Hsu with the teachings of Kim in order to provide for the best performing link when managing the power state of links in a MLD AP-STA system.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Kim, and further in view of Xing (US 2017/0171811).
RE claims 6 and 13, Hsu in view of Kim disclose the communication methods of claims 5 and 12 as set forth above. Note that Kim further teaches wherein the communication environment includes at least one of a load situation (Paragraph 315-316 teaches a Multi-Link Device AP and STA whereby the AP transmits an information element “recommend link” that is “an element or field that enables the AP MLD to recommend a link that is most appropriate to an STA of the non-AP MLD, based on various information per link (e.g., data load per link, and so on). For example, the recommend link (element/field) may be indicated as link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on. In other words, the recommend link (element/field) may include link ID information of the AP MLD or AP BSS information, and so on.”).
Hsu in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication environment includes an access delay.
However, Xing teaches wherein the communication environment includes an access delay (Claims 9 and 13 teach an AP/link selection based upon QoS requirements of a STA and the suitability of a given available AP/link to meet those needs. Among these QoS requirements is average channel access delay).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods and device of Hsu in view of Kim with the teachings of Xing in order to provide for the best performing link when presented with multiple candidate links.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James P Duffy/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461