DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2024 and 02/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 19-21, 23, 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (2024/0080859), Shubhi hereinafter. Shubhi teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 17 and 23, Shubhi teaches a method of monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 2 & ¶0059-¶0063 ) by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 103/Fig.12) in a wireless communication system (Fig.1), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 103/Fig.12) for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 2 & ¶0059-¶0063) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1), the UE comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig.12, 4233/4235); at least one processor (Fig.12, 4201); and at least one memory (Fig.12, 4215) operably connected to the at least one processor (Fig.12, 4201) and configured to store (Fig.12, 4221) instructions (Fig.1212, 4223 & ¶0251-¶0252) causing, when executed (¶0251-¶0252), the at least one processor (Fig.12, 4201) to perform operations (Fig. 2 & ¶0059-¶0063), wherein the operations comprise: receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, first information related to a group index of a search space set and second information related to a skipping duration for PDCCH monitoring (Fig.2 & ¶0059 - A UE can be switched between the two search space set groups through detection of DCI format 2_0. This is can be done by configuring the UE with the RRC parameter searchSpaceSwitchTrigger-r16 which provides a location for the search space switching field (for a serving cell) in the DCI format 2_0. The search-space-set-switching field is one bit in size, where a bit value of zero indicates one group and a value of one indicates the second group. Herein, these two groups are referred to as group0 and group1, where the search-space-set-switching field takes the values zero and one, respectively. Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205). The UE also stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and starts a timer with a duration provided by the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0063 - If the UE is monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1, then the UE switches (or starts monitoring on) to search space sets of group0 and stops monitoring on group1 at either expiration of the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer or at the last slot of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0 (operation 207)) through the at least one transceiver (Fig.12, 4233/4235); receiving downlink control information (DCI) about including a field (Fig.2 & ¶0059 - A UE can be switched between the two search space set groups through detection of DCI format 2_0. This is can be done by configuring the UE with the RRC parameter searchSpaceSwitchTrigger-r16 which provides a location for the search space switching field (for a serving cell) in the DCI format 2_0. The search-space-set-switching field is one bit in size, where a bit value of zero indicates one group and a value of one indicates the second group. Herein, these two groups are referred to as group0 and group1, where the search-space-set-switching field takes the values zero and one, respectively. Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205). Fig.2 & ¶0063 - If the UE is monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1, then the UE switches (or starts monitoring on) to search space sets of group0 and stops monitoring on group1 at either expiration of the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer or at the last slot of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0 (operation 207)) through the at least one transceiver (Fig. 12, 4233/4235); and monitoring the PDCCH based on the field (Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201)), wherein, based on a value of the field being a first value, start of the PDCCH monitoring according to the group index of the search space set is indicated (Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201)), and wherein, based on the value of the field being a second value, skipping the PDCCH monitoring for the skipping duration is indicated (Fig.2 & ¶0063 - If the UE is monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1, then the UE switches (or starts monitoring on) to search space sets of group0 and stops monitoring on group1 at either expiration of the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer or at the last slot of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0 (operation 207)).
Re. Claims 19 and 25, Shubhi teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi further teaches wherein the field is related to PDCCH monitoring adaptation. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0044 - A UE can be provided a group index for a respective Type3-PDCCH common search space (CSS) set or UE specific search space (USS) set by searchSpaceGroupldList for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell. Fig.2 & ¶0059 - A UE can be switched between the two search space set groups through detection of DCI format 2_0. This is can be done by configuring the UE with the RRC parameter searchSpaceSwitchTrigger-r16 which provides a location for the search space switching field (for a serving cell) in the DCI format 2_0. The search-space-set-switching field is one bit in size, where a bit value of zero indicates one group and a value of one indicates the second group. Herein, these two groups are referred to as group0 and group1, where the search-space-set-switching field takes the values zero and one, respectively. Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205). The UE also stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and starts a timer with a duration provided by the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer (operation 201)).
Re. Claims 20 and 26, Shubhi teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi further teaches wherein the first information includes a first group index of a first search space set and a second group index of a second search space set. (Fig.2 & ¶0059 - A UE can be switched between the two search space set groups through detection of DCI format 2_0. This is can be done by configuring the UE with the RRC parameter searchSpaceSwitchTrigger-r16 which provides a location for the search space switching field (for a serving cell) in the DCI format 2_0. The search-space-set-switching field is one bit in size, where a bit value of zero indicates one group and a value of one indicates the second group. Herein, these two groups are referred to as group0 and group1, where the search-space-set-switching field takes the values zero and one, respectively. Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205). The UE also stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and starts a timer with a duration provided by the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer (operation 201)).
Re. Claims 21and 27, Shubhi teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi further teaches wherein the PDCCH is monitored after a specific time from a timing at which the DCI is received. (Fig.2 & ¶0050 - if the UE detects a DCI format 2_0 and a value of the search space set group switching flag field in the DCI format 2_0 is 0, the UE starts monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 0, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 1, for the serving cell at a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of the PDCCH with the DCI format 2_0. Fig.2 & ¶0051 - if the UE detects a DCI format 2_0 and a value of the search space set group switching flag field in the DCI format 2_0 is 1, the UE starts monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 1, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 0, for the serving cell at a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of the PDCCH with the DCI format 2_0.)
Re. claim 29, Shubhi teaches a base station (BS) (Fig. 1, 101/Fig. 11, 4160) for transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 2 & ¶0059-¶0063) in a wireless communication system (Fig.1/Fig. 11), the BS (Fig. 11, 4160) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 11, 4172); at least one processor (Fig. 11, 4170); and at least one memory (Fig. 11, 4180) operably connected to the at least one processor (Fig. 11, 4170) and configured to store instructions (Fig. 11, ¶0226-0229) causing, when executed, the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig. 2 & ¶0059-¶0063), wherein the operations comprise: transmitting, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, first information related to a group index of a search space set and second information related to a skipping duration for PDCCH monitoring (Fig.2 & ¶0059 - A UE can be switched between the two search space set groups through detection of DCI format 2_0. This is can be done by configuring the UE with the RRC parameter searchSpaceSwitchTrigger-r16 which provides a location for the search space switching field (for a serving cell) in the DCI format 2_0. The search-space-set-switching field is one bit in size, where a bit value of zero indicates one group and a value of one indicates the second group. Herein, these two groups are referred to as group0 and group1, where the search-space-set-switching field takes the values zero and one, respectively. Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205). The UE also stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and starts a timer with a duration provided by the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0063 - If the UE is monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1, then the UE switches (or starts monitoring on) to search space sets of group0 and stops monitoring on group1 at either expiration of the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer or at the last slot of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0 (operation 207)) through the at least one transceiver (Fig. 11, 4172); transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including a field through the at least one transceiver; and transmitting the PDCCH based on the field (Fig.2 & ¶0059 - A UE can be switched between the two search space set groups through detection of DCI format 2_0. This is can be done by configuring the UE with the RRC parameter searchSpaceSwitchTrigger-r16 which provides a location for the search space switching field (for a serving cell) in the DCI format 2_0. The search-space-set-switching field is one bit in size, where a bit value of zero indicates one group and a value of one indicates the second group. Herein, these two groups are referred to as group0 and group1, where the search-space-set-switching field takes the values zero and one, respectively. Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205). Fig.2 & ¶0063 - If the UE is monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1, then the UE switches (or starts monitoring on) to search space sets of group0 and stops monitoring on group1 at either expiration of the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer or at the last slot of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0 (operation 207)) through the at least one transceiver (Fig. 11, 4172), wherein, based on a value of the field being a first value, start of the PDCCH monitoring according to the group index of the search space set is indicated (Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201)), and wherein, based on the value of the field being a second value, skipping the PDCCH monitoring for the skipping duration is indicated (Fig.2 & ¶0063 - If the UE is monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1, then the UE switches (or starts monitoring on) to search space sets of group0 and stops monitoring on group1 at either expiration of the searchSpaceSwitchingTimer or at the last slot of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0 (operation 207)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shubhi , in view of Luo et al. (2024/0080164), Luo hereinafter.
Re. Claims 18 and 24, Shubhi teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi further discloses receiving, via RRC signaling, third information related to skipping durations for PDCCH monitoring (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0079 - a new RRC parameter, e.g., ss-set-groupOfOnDuration is introduced to determine which SS-set group the UE 103 needs to use during DRX on-duration. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0080 - The network node 101 can change the DRX configuration e.g., through RRC signaling. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0090 - the UE 103 is configured in addition to a DRX configuration, with a DRX adaptation mechanism, e.g., the UE 103 is configured with a DCI format 2-6 which the UE 103 can/should monitor outside the active time. E.g., a DCI format 2-6 outside the active time can indicate to the UE 103 if it should monitor PDCCH during the next ON duration timer or not. A DCI format 2-6 may be associated with one or more SSs, e.g., one or more Type3-PDCCH CSS. In an example embodiment, if one or more SSs associated with the DCI format 2-6 exists in both of SS groups, the UE 102 monitors the DCI format 2-6 in the related SS, but if the DCI format 2-6 is only associated with one SS group, e.g., the second SS group, but at a time the first SS group is applicable, then the UE 103 does not have to monitor DCI format 2-6 and should wake up in the next ON duration timer and monitor PDCCH. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0091 - the UE 103 is configured with a default SS group during the DRX OFF duration, in this case, the UE 103 can skip monitoring the DCIs which are associated with the SSs which are not within the default SS group); wherein each value of the field indicates one of the skipping durations for the PDCCH monitoring (Fig.2 & ¶0061 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group0 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group0 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of zero (operation 207), and stops monitoring PDCCH on search space sets associated with group1 (operation 201). Fig.2 & ¶0062 - If the UE is not monitoring PDCCH on search space sets corresponding to group1 and the UE detects DCI format 2_0, then the UE switches to search space sets of group1 provided the search-space-set-switching field indicates a value of one (operation 205)).
Yet, Shubhi does not expressly teach receiving second DCI including a second field; monitoring the PDCCH based on the second field,
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly discloses receiving second DCI including a second field; monitoring the PDCCH based on the second field (Fig. 1-7 &¶0200 - In the DCI format 2_6, there are one or more combinations of following methods for carrying the search space set group switching indication. Fig. 1-7 &¶0201 - Method one: a base station sends the DCI format 2_6 at a DRX inactivity period, and adds 1 to N bits information fields to an information field of each user in the DCI format 2_6, to instruct a search space set group switching condition of an activity period of the next DRX period of a user. For example, when the search space set group switching indication in the DCI format 2_6 received by the terminal is “1”, the terminal switches to the search space set group 1 for sparse PDCCH monitoring in the next DRX period in the target cell, to implement a purpose of energy saving of the terminal…. when the search space set group switching indication in the DCI format 2_6 received by the terminal is “1”, the terminal switches to the search space set group 1 for dense PDCCH monitoring in the next DRX period in the target cell, to improve the transmission delay performance of the terminal. Fig. 1-7 &¶0202 - Method two: the base station sends the DCI format 2_6 at a DRX activity period, and a wakeup indication field of the DCI format 2_6 is redefined to be a search space set group switching indication field. Fig. 1-7 &¶0203 - When the base station sends the DCI format 2_6 at the DRX inactivity period, the information field of each user is a wakeup indication field and an SCell dormancy indication field; and when the base station sends the DCI format 2_6 at the DRX activity period, the information field of each user is the search space set group switching indication field and the SCell dormancy indication field. The using method of the search space set group switching indication field of 1 bit may refer to Embodiment II (i.e., ¶0166-¶0172, at least).),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shubhi’s invention of a system and a method for search space set group switching when discontinuous reception and at least two search space set groups are configured for at least one serving cell of a communication network for a communication device operating in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Luo’s invention of a system and a method for switching of a search space set group in a target cell for a terminal device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing blind detection at a degree for PDCCH monitoring period by performing flexible search space set group switching, in turns, improves energy savings of the terminal device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0133/¶0200-¶0203, Luo)
Claims 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shubhi, in view of Luo, further in view of Zhou et al. (2023/0309115), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. Claims 22 and 28, Shubhi and Luo teach claims 18 and 24.
Yet, Shubhi and Luo do not expressly teach wherein a number of bit of the second field is determined based on a number of the skipping durations for PDCCH monitoring.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein a number of bit of the second field is determined based on a number of the skipping durations for PDCCH monitoring. (Fig. 37 & ¶0389 - a wireless device may receive a DCI comprising the PDCCH skipping duration indication field. The PDCCH skipping duration indication field may indicate one of the plurality of time values for PDCCH skipping on the BWP. In an example, in response to the PDCCH skipping duration indication field being set to a first value (e.g., 000, when the field is configured with 3 bits), the wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring on the BWP for a first number of slots, the first number corresponding to a first value of the plurality of time values configured by the one or more RRC messages. In response to the first value being zero, the wireless may maintain PDCCH monitoring (e.g., by not applying the PDCCH skipping) on the BWP. In response to the PDCCH skipping duration indication field being set to a second value (e.g., 001), the wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring on the BWP for a second number of slots, the second number corresponding to a second value of the plurality of time values configured by the one or more RRC messages. Fig. 37 & ¶0391 - the PDCCH skipping duration indication field may be configured with a length of 1, 2 bits, or more than 3 bits. The embodiments described above may be extended for a skipping duration indication field with a bit length different for 3 bits. See Fig. 37 next).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shubhi’s invention of a system and a method for search space set group switching when discontinuous reception and at least two search space set groups are configured for at least one serving cell of a communication network for a communication device operating in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Luo’s invention of a system and a method for switching of a search space set group in a target cell for a terminal device operating in a wireless communication system to include Zhou’s invention of a system and a method of power saving operation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for PDCCH skipping duration indication for power saving based on PDCCH skipping and SSG (search space group) switching in the wireless communication system. (¶0388, Zhou)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shubhi et al; (2024/0235787); See Abstract, ¶0006-¶0031, ¶0034-¶0037, ¶0083-¶0092, ¶0093-¶0116, ¶0124-¶0130, ¶0222-¶0230 along with Fig.1-17.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e; R1-2105794; Source: Ericsson; Title: Design of active time power savings mechanisms; e-Meeting, May 10th – 27th, 2021. See §2.1, §2.2, §2.3, §2.4, §2.5, Conclusion.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e; R1-2105744; Source: InterDigital, Inc.; Title: PDCCH monitoring reduction in Active Time; e-Meeting, May 10th – May 27th, 2021. See §2, §3.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e; R1- 2104535; Source: CATT; Title: PDCCH monitoring adaptation; e-Meeting, May 19th – 27th, 2021. See §2-§6.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e; R1-2104253; Source: Huawei, HiSilicon; Title: Extension(s) to Rel-16 DCI-based power saving adaptation for an active BWP; E-meeting, May 10th- 27th, 2021. See §2-§3.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1#105-e; R1-2104374; Source: vivo; Title: Discussion on DCI-based power saving adaptation in connected mode; e-Meeting, May 10th – 27th, 2021. See §2.1-§2.4, §3.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e; R1-2104224; Source: ZTE, Sanechips; Title: Extension to Rel-16 DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX Active Time; e-Meeting, May 10th – May 27th, 2021. See §2-§5.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #105-e; R1- 2104684; Source: Qualcomm Incorporated; Title: DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX Active Time; e-Meeting, May 10th – 27th, 2021. See §2.1-§2.2, §3.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467