DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 04/20/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 01/20/2026. Interdependent claims 17, 23 and 29 are amended. Claims 1-16 were cancelled previously. Therefore, claims 17-29 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 19-21, 23, 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shubhi et al. (2024/0235787), Shubhi787 hereinafter. Shubhi787 teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 17 and 23, Shubhi787 teaches a method (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080/¶0082/¶0256-¶0257/¶0265-¶0266) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 5, 122); at least one processor (Fig. 5, 120); and at least one memory (Fig. 5, 130) operably connected to the at least one processor (Fig. 5, 120) and configured to store instructions (Fig. 5, 130 & ¶0156) causing, when executed (Fig. 5, 120 & ¶0156), the at least one processor (Fig. 5, 120) to perform operations (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080/¶0082/¶0256-¶0257/¶0265-¶0266), wherein the operations comprise: receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, first information related to a group indices of two search space sets and second information related to a skipping duration for PDCCH monitoring (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080 - a wireless device such as, for example, a UE is configured such as by, for example, RRC configurations, for one or more cells, or group of cells, or bandwidth parts (BWPs), with the first SSSG (e.g., SSSG0) and the second SSSG (e.g., SSSG1)… the wireless device may also be configured with a skipping duration. … the skipping duration can be counted starting from the time the UE receives the skipping indication. ¶0082 - wireless device may be configured with the first SSSG containing SSs having dense PDCCH, and the second SSSG containing SSs having sparse PDCCH MOs. For example, first SSSG may include PDCCH monitoring in every slot, whereas the second SSSG includes PDCCH monitoring in every 4th slot. The determination of the configuration of the first and second SS-set group (e.g., periodicity, duration, etc.) and the skipping duration… Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield <Table 1> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield <Table 1> can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. … Fig.20-22 & ¶0265 - Wireless device can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the first group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the first group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the first group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers. ¶0266 - The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield <Table 2> that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers.) through the at least one transceiver (Fig. 5, 122); receiving downlink control information (DCI) about including a field through the at least one transceiver (Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield (Table 1:3 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first99 search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield (Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration) can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. Fig.20-22 & ¶0258 - downlink control information containing the bitfield (e.g., PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield in Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>) is received by wireless device on a first serving cell, and the corresponding 99s applicable for PDCCH monitoring on the first serving cell. Fig.20-22 & ¶0266- The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers.); and monitoring the PDCCH based on the field (Fig.20-22 & See Table 1 in ¶0256-¶0257 & Table 2 in ¶0269-¶0270), wherein, based on a value of the field being a first value, start of PDCCH monitoring according to a first group index of a first search space set among the two search space sets and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to a second group index of a second search space set among the two search space sets is indicated (Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield <Table 1> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield <Table 1> can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. Fig.20-22 & ¶0257 - the bitfield is shown in below in TABLE 1. The bitfield has 2 bits. The four resulting states can each indicate different wireless device behavior regarding PDCCH monitoring adaptation. For example, the field value 01 can indicate that the wireless device start to monitor PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #0 (and stop PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #1). For example, the field value can indicate that the wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., start to monitor PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #1 (and stop PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #0).. Also, see table 2), and wherein, based on the value of the field being a second value, skipping PDCCH monitoring for the skipping duration is indicated (Fig.20-22 & ¶0257 - the field value indicate for wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., skipping PDCCH monitoring for a time duration given by the skip duration; Also, see table 2. See snapshots next).
Re. Claims 19 and 25, Shubhi787 teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi787 further teaches wherein the field is related to PDCCH monitoring adaptation. (Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield (Table 1:3 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 <monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first99 search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield (Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 <monitor SSSG #1> & 11 <skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration) can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. Fig.20-22 & ¶0258 - downlink control information containing the bitfield (e.g., PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield in Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>) is received by wireless device on a first serving cell, and the corresponding 99s applicable for PDCCH monitoring on the first serving cell. Fig.20-22 & ¶0266- The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers.).
Re. Claims 20 and 26, Shubhi787 teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi787 further teaches wherein the first information includes the first group index of the first search space set and the second group index of the second search space set. (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080 - a wireless device such as, for example, a UE is configured such as by, for example, RRC configurations, for one or more cells, or group of cells, or bandwidth parts (BWPs), with the first SSSG (e.g., SSSG0) and the second SSSG (e.g., SSSG1)… the wireless device may also be configured with a skipping duration. … the skipping duration can be counted starting from the time the UE receives the skipping indication. ¶0082 - wireless device may be configured with the first SSSG containing SSs having dense PDCCH, and the second SSSG containing SSs having sparse PDCCH MOs. For example, first SSSG may include PDCCH monitoring in every slot, whereas the second SSSG includes PDCCH monitoring in every 4th slot. The determination of the configuration of the first and second SS-set group (e.g., periodicity, duration, etc.) and the skipping duration… Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield <Table 1> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield <Table 1> can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield.).
Re. Claims 21and 27, Shubhi787 teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi787 further teaches wherein the PDCCH is monitored after a specific time from a timing at which the DCI is received. (Fig.1-2/Fig.20-22 & ¶0124 - When the wireless device is transitioning from one PDCCH monitoring adaptation state to another PDCCH monitoring adaptation state, an application delay may incur. This is because, in general, the wireless device requires some duration to detect the adaptation indication. Fig.1-2/Fig.20-22 & ¶0133 - a wireless device is indicated by the first PDCCH with a bit combination of 01 to switch from SSSG0 to SSSG1. During the application delay, if the wireless device receives a bit combination of 01 at the second PDCCH, the wireless device will extend the application delay, i.e., the wireless device will monitor PDCCH according to the SSSG1 X ms after it receives the second PDCCH. On the other hand, if during the application delay the wireless device receives a bit combination of 00 at the second PDCCH, the wireless device will not extend the application delay, i.e., the wireless device will monitor PDCCH according to the SSSG1 X ms after it receives the first PDCCH. Fig.1-2/Fig.20-22 & ¶0228 - if the wireless device detects a DCI format in group0, the wireless device switches to monitoring PDCCH according to SS set in group1 on the serving cell at a first slot that is at least P symbols after the slot in the active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP). The wireless device sets the timer value to the value provided by searchSpaceSwitchingTimer-r16 if the wireless device detects a DCI format by monitoring PDCCH in any search space set. This applies to every subsequent detection of a DCI in any search space where if the timer is running, the wireless device restarts the timer)
Re. claim 29, Shubhi787 teaches a base station (BS) (Fig. 4) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 4, 172); at least one processor (Fig. 4, 170); and at least one memory (Fig. 4, 180) operably connected to the at least one processor (Fig. 4, 170) and configured to store instructions (Fig. 4, ¶0145) causing, when executed, the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080/¶0082/¶0256-¶0257/¶0265-¶0266), wherein the operations comprise: transmitting, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, first information related to a group indices of two search space sets and second information related to a skipping duration for PDCCH monitoring (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080 - a wireless device such as, for example, a UE is configured such as by, for example, RRC configurations, for one or more cells, or group of cells, or bandwidth parts (BWPs), with the first SSSG (e.g., SSSG0) and the second SSSG (e.g., SSSG1)… the wireless device may also be configured with a skipping duration. … the skipping duration can be counted starting from the time the UE receives the skipping indication. ¶0082 - wireless device may be configured with the first SSSG containing SSs having dense PDCCH, and the second SSSG containing SSs having sparse PDCCH MOs. For example, first SSSG may include PDCCH monitoring in every slot, whereas the second SSSG includes PDCCH monitoring in every 4th slot. The determination of the configuration of the first and second SS-set group (e.g., periodicity, duration, etc.) and the skipping duration… Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield <Table 1> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield <Table 1> can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. … Fig.20-22 & ¶0265 - Wireless device can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the first group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the first group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the first group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers. ¶0266 - The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield <Table 2> that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers.) through the at least one transceiver (Fig. 4, 172); transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including a field through the at least one transceiver (Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield (Table 1:3 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first99 search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield (Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration) can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. Fig.20-22 & ¶0258 - downlink control information containing the bitfield (e.g., PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield in Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>) is received by wireless device on a first serving cell, and the corresponding 99s applicable for PDCCH monitoring on the first serving cell. Fig.20-22 & ¶0266- The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers.); and transmitting the PDCCH based on the field (Fig.20-22 & See Table 1 in ¶0256-¶0257 & Table 2 in ¶0269-¶0270) through the at least one transceiver (Fig. 4, 172), wherein, based on a value of the field being a first value, start of PDCCH monitoring according to a first group index of a first search space set among the two search space sets and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to a second group index of a second search space set among the two search space sets is indicated (Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield <Table 1> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield <Table 1> can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. Fig.20-22 & ¶0257 - the bitfield is shown in below in TABLE 1. The bitfield has 2 bits. The four resulting states can each indicate different wireless device behavior regarding PDCCH monitoring adaptation. For example, the field value 01 can indicate that the wireless device start to monitor PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #0 (and stop PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #1). For example, the field value can indicate that the wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., start to monitor PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #1 (and stop PDCCH according to search space sets in SSSG #0).. Also, see table 2), and wherein, based on the value of the field being a second value, skipping the PDCCH monitoring for the skipping duration is indicated (Fig.20-22 & ¶0257 - the field value indicate for wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., skipping PDCCH monitoring for a time duration given by the skip duration; Also, see table 2. See snapshots next).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shubhi787, in view of GUO et al. (2023/0354364), GUO hereinafter.
Re. Claims 18 and 24, Shubhi787 teaches claims 17 and 23.
Shubhi787 further discloses receiving, via RRC signaling, third information related to skipping durations for PDCCH monitoring (Fig.20-22 & ¶0080 - a wireless device such as, for example, a UE is configured such as by, for example, RRC configurations, for one or more cells, or group of cells, or bandwidth parts (BWPs), with the first SSSG (e.g., SSSG0) and the second SSSG (e.g., SSSG1)… the wireless device may also be configured with a skipping duration. … the skipping duration can be counted starting from the time the UE receives the skipping indication. ¶0082 - wireless device may be configured with the first SSSG containing SSs having dense PDCCH, and the second SSSG containing SSs having sparse PDCCH MOs. For example, first SSSG may include PDCCH monitoring in every slot, whereas the second SSSG includes PDCCH monitoring in every 4th slot. The determination of the configuration of the first and second SS-set group (e.g., periodicity, duration, etc.) and the skipping duration… Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield <Table 1> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield <Table 1> can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. … Fig.20-22 & ¶0265 - Wireless device can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the first group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the first group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the first group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers. ¶0266 - The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield <Table 2> that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers.)); receiving second DCI including a second field (Fig.20-22 & ¶0256 - Wireless device can be configured with at least two search space set groups for at least one cell. Wireless device can be further configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell. Wireless device such as via one or more of processing circuitry, processor, radio interface, modification unit, etc., can be configured to monitor a downlink control information on at least one cell containing at least a bitfield (Table 1:3 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>> that can take field values indicating the wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first99 search space set group (SSSG #0), or to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group (SSG #1), and to skip PDCCH monitoring for a duration indicated by the higher layers, .. The bitfield (Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration) can be referred to as PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield. Fig.20-22 & ¶0258 - downlink control information containing the bitfield (e.g., PDCCH monitoring adaptation bitfield in Table 1: 01 <monitor SSSG #0>, 10 < monitor SSSG #1> & 11 < skip PDCCH monitoring for a skip duration>) is received by wireless device on a first serving cell, and the corresponding 99s applicable for PDCCH monitoring on the first serving cell. Fig.20-22 & ¶0266- The DCI transmitted by, for example, network node, can contain at least a second bitfield that can take field values indicating for wireless device to monitor PDCCH according to a first search space set group on the second group of cells, and to monitor PDCCH according to a second search space set group on the second group of cells, and to skip PDCCH monitoring on the second group of cells for a duration indicated by the higher layers); monitoring the PDCCH based on the second field (Fig.20-22 & See Table 1 in ¶0256-¶0257 & Table 2 in ¶0269-¶0270),
Yet, Shubhi787 does not expressly teach wherein each value of the second field indicates one of the skipping durations
However, in the analogous art, GUO explicitly discloses wherein each value of the second field indicates one of the skipping durations (Fig. 10C & ¶0197 - the state diagram 1020 illustrates a scenario where the wireless communication device 104 or 204 is only provided PDCCH skipping by higher layer parameters. In such scenario, the DCI indication ‘10’ can be used to indicate PDCCH skipping with the first skipping duration value, and the DCI indication ‘11’ can be used to indicate PDCCH skipping with the second skipping duration value. After the PDCCH skipping expires, the wireless communication device 104 or 204 can fall back to monitoring PDCCH according to all SSSs configured in the active DL BWP.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shubhi787’s invention of a system and a method for multi-states Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation in a 5th generation (5G)/new radio (NR) system to include GUO’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring a control channel in a 5th generation (5G)/new radio <NR> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power saving by introducing flexible and various PDCCH < physical downlink control channel > skipping duration configuration in a plurality of search space set groups for a wireless device supporting in monitoring PDCCH < physical downlink control channel > in the plurality of search space set groups (SSSGs), in turns, improves energy savings of the wireless device operating in the 5th generation (5G)/new radio <NR> wireless communication system. (¶0220/¶0401, GUO)
Claims 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shubhi787, in view of GUO, further in view of Zhou et al. (2023/0309115), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. Claims 22 and 28, Shubhi787 and GUO teach claims 18 and 24.
Yet, Shubhi787 and GUO do not expressly teach wherein a number of bit of the second field is determined based on a number of the skipping durations for PDCCH monitoring.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein a number of bit of the second field is determined based on a number of the skipping durations for PDCCH monitoring. (Fig. 37 & ¶0389 - a wireless device may receive a DCI comprising the PDCCH skipping duration indication field. The PDCCH skipping duration indication field may indicate one of the plurality of time values for PDCCH skipping on the BWP. In an example, in response to the PDCCH skipping duration indication field being set to a first value (e.g., 000, when the field is configured with 3 bits), the wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring on the BWP for a first number of slots, the first number corresponding to a first value of the plurality of time values configured by the one or more RRC messages. In response to the first value being zero, the wireless may maintain PDCCH monitoring (e.g., by not applying the PDCCH skipping) on the BWP. In response to the PDCCH skipping duration indication field being set to a second value (e.g., 001), the wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring on the BWP for a second number of slots, the second number corresponding to a second value of the plurality of time values configured by the one or more RRC messages. Fig. 37 & ¶0391 - the PDCCH skipping duration indication field may be configured with a length of 1, 2 bits, or more than 3 bits. The embodiments described above may be extended for a skipping duration indication field with a bit length different for 3 bits. See Fig. 37 next).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shubhi787’s invention of a system and a method for multi-states Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation in a 5th generation (5G)/new radio (NR) system and GUO’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring a control channel in a 5th generation (5G)/new radio <NR> wireless communication systemto include Zhou’s invention of a system and a method of power saving operation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for PDCCH skipping duration indication for power saving based on PDCCH skipping and SSG (search space group) switching in the wireless communication system. (¶0388, Zhou)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 9-10 for independent claims 17 and 23, applicant argues that Shubhi (2024/0080859 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference), fails to teach, “wherein, based on a value of the field being a first value, start of PDCCH monitoring according to a first group index of a first search space set among the two search space sets and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to a second group index of a second search space set among the two search space sets is indicated”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Shubhi787 (2024/0235787 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference), discloses the limitation as mapped in §102 rejection.
In fact, Shubhi (2024/0080859 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) is NOT used in the instant office action, hence, moot.
Similar, arguments are applicable to independent claim 29.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shubhi787.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shubhi787.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 17 and 23, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467