CTFR 18/559,990 CTFR 78674 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 25, 26, 32, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen US 20210168006 . Regarding claim 25, 32 Chen teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) having instructions, stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processors configure a next generation Node B (gNB) to: encode, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for transmission of a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) with a plurality of PTRS ports, wherein each of the PTRS ports corresponds to a respective correspond to respective antenna panels of the UE that [[are]] is capable of simultaneous uplink transmission; and receive the PTRS from the UE according to the configuration information (As a second implementation mode, when the SRS resources for the SRSs respectively associated with the two uplink signals correspond to different PTRS ports, in this application scenario, the terminal may consider that the two uplink signals are required to be transmitted through different panels. In such case, if the network device configures the two uplink signals to be transmitted on the same time-domain resource, the terminal may simultaneously send the two uplink signals through different panels, [0041]). Regarding claims 26, 33, further configure the gNB to encode, for transmission to the UE, sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration information for codebook-based or non-codebook-based uplink transmission, wherein the SRS configuration information includes multiple SRS resource sets that correspond to respective antenna panels of the UE (two uplink signals belong to different SRS resource sets, in this application scenario, the terminal may consider that the two uplink signals are required to be transmitted through different panels, [0041]) or a single SRS resource set that corresponds to two or more of the antenna panels . 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 40, 41, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu US 20250007556 . Regarding claim 40, Liu teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) having instructions, stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processors configure a user equipment (UE) to: receive configuration information for transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) with partial sounding and starting resource block (RB) hopping across a plurality of hops; and encode the SRS for transmission based on the configuration information (fig. 3, 6, [0025, 0064]). Regarding claim 41, wherein the starting RB hopping is performed within one frequency hopping period of the SRS (fig. 3, 6, [0025, 0064]) or with a repetition factor greater than one Regarding claim 44, the SRS is periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, or aperiodic SRS ([0004]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 27, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim s 25, 32 above, and further in view of Chou US 20230081552 . Chen is silent on further configure the gNB to encode a downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to the UE to schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI indicates sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicators (SRIs) that correspond to respective antenna panels of the UE, and wherein the DCI further indicates one or multiple transmission precoding matrix indicators (TPMI) for the PUSCH. Chou teaches further configure the gNB to encode a downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to the UE to schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI indicates sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicators (SRIs) that correspond to respective antenna panels of the UE, and wherein the DCI further indicates one or multiple transmission precoding matrix indicators (TPMI) for the PUSCH ([0073]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Chen by further configure the gNB to encode a downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to the UE to schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI indicates sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicators (SRIs) that correspond to respective antenna panels of the UE, and wherein the DCI further indicates one or multiple transmission precoding matrix indicators (TPMI) for the PUSCH, as shown by Chau. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for scheduling the PUSCH . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 28, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim s 25, 32 above, and further in view of Hao US 20230276414 . Chen is silent on each of the PTRS ports is associated with a subset of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ports. Hao teaches each of the PTRS ports is associated with a subset of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ports (As an example, if a PTRS port 0 is associated with PUSCH port 1000 and 1002, PTRS port 1 may be associated with PUSCH port 1001 and 1003, [0103]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Chen by each of the PTRS ports is associated with a subset of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ports, as shown by Hao. This modification would benefit the system by providing an optimal mapping of PTRS ports to PUSCH ports . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 29, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim s 25, 32 above, and further in view of Kim US 10419087 . Chen is silent on configure the gNB to encode a downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to the UE to schedule the uplink transmission, wherein the DCI indicates PTRS-demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associations for the respective PTRS ports. Kim teaches further configure the gNB to encode a downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to the UE to schedule the uplink transmission, wherein the DCI indicates PTRS-demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associations for the respective PTRS ports (claim 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Chen by configure the gNB to encode a downlink control information (DCI) for transmission to the UE to schedule the uplink transmission, wherein the DCI indicates PTRS-demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associations for the respective PTRS ports, as shown by Kim. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method to schedule the uplink transmission . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 30, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination Chen and Kim as applied to claim 29, 37 above, and further in view of Sun US 20230362927 . Chen is silent on the DCI includes a PTRS-DMRS field with 3 or 4 bits to indicate the PTRS-DMRS associations, or separate PTRS-DMRS fields to indicate the respective PTRS-DMRS associations. Sun teaches on the DCI includes a PTRS-DMRS field with 3 or 4 bits to indicate the PTRS-DMRS associations ([0223]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Chen by the DCI includes a PTRS-DMRS field with 3 or 4 bits to indicate the PTRS-DMRS associations, or separate PTRS-DMRS fields to indicate the respective PTRS-DMRS associations, as shown by Sun. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method to indicate the respective PTRS-DMRS associations . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 31, 39, 42, and 43 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RONALD B ABELSON whose telephone number is (571)272-3165. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh can be reached at 571-272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 2 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 3 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 4 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 5 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 7 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 8 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 9 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/559,990 Page 10 Art Unit: 2476