DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to the amendment filed on June 10, 2026. Claims 24-27, 29-30, 39-40, and 42-43 are amended. Claims 44-50 is newly added. Claims 1-23, and 32-38 are canceled.
Claims 24-31, and 39-44 will be examined.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 45-50 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claims 45-50 provide non-transitory computer-readable medium to decode deployment requirements within a request from an application service provider (ASP) in an EASRequirements information object class (IOC), the EASRequirements IOC including software image information associated with instantiation of an edge application server (EAS) virtual network function (VNF), classified in H04L41/0895.
Since applicants have received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 45-50 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should Applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-31, and 39-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giust et al. (US Publication 2022/0303196) hereafter Giust, in view of GE et al. (US Publication 2023/0239343) hereafter GE, in further view of Gupta et al. (US Publication 2023/0269135) hereafter Gupta.
As per claim 24, Giust discloses an apparatus comprising: memory to store deployment requirements for instantiation of an edge application server (EAS) virtual network function (VNF) (paragraphs 0011, 0026-28); and processing circuitry, coupled with the memory, to: retrieve the deployment requirements from the memory, wherein the deployment requirements are received within a request from an application service provider (ASP) software image information associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF (paragraphs 11, 22, 39-40: deployment requirements including software image information for that of its application); software image information associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF, the software image information including a minimum disk attribute, a minimum random access memory (RAM) attribute, a role attribute, and a software image reference attribute; and instantiate the EAS VNF based on the deployment requirements (paragraph 39-40, 46, 60: initiates operations). Although, Giust discloses allowing multiple tenants to shared MEC system, but he fails to expressly disclose the deployment requirements are received within a request from an application service provider (ASP).
However, in the same field of endeavor, GE disclose the claimed limitations of the deployment requirements are received within a request from an application service provider (ASP) (paragraphs 0074-75, 0082: application user to receive service from application provider).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate GEs’ teaching with Giust. One would be motivated to fulfill the service area requirements to enhancing the system.
Although, Giust-GE disclose allowing multiple tenants to shared MEC system in Edge application server with heterogenous application requirements, but fail to expressly disclose an EASRequirements information object class (IOC), the EASRequirements IOC including software image information associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF, the software image information including a minimum disk attribute, a minimum random access memory (RAM) attribute, a role attribute, and a software image reference attribute.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta elaborately discloses the claimed limitations of an EASRequirements information object class (IOC), the EASRequirements IOC including software image information associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF, the software image information including a minimum disk attribute, a minimum random access memory (RAM) attribute, a role attribute, and a software image reference attribute (paragraphs 4, 23, 36-37, 47).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Guptas’ teaching of deploying Edge Configuration Server from a consumer entity with teaching of GE-Giust. One would be motivated to fulfill Edge network application deployment requirements needed for EAS virtual network functions, thereby enhancing communication services.
As per claim 25, Giust discloses an apparatus wherein EASRequirements include a QoS requirements between a user equipment (UE) and the EAS VNF and a round-trip delay between the UE and the EAS VNF (paragraphs 22, 39-40). Although, Giust-GE discloses deployment request in a Edge application server, but fail to expressly disclose EASRequirements IOC further includes a QoS requirements that include a bidirectional data rate between a user equipment (UE) and the EAS VNF and a round-trip delay between the UE and the EAS VNF.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta discloses the claimed limitation of EASRequirements IOC further includes a QoS requirements that include a bidirectional data rate between a user equipment (UE) and the EAS VNF and a round-trip delay between the UE and the EAS VNF (paragraphs 3, 38, 49).
The same motivation that was utilized in the combination of claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 25.
As per claim 26, Giust discloses the apparatus wherein the minimum RAM attribute is an integer value, disclose wherein the minimum RAM attribute is an integer value to indicate a minimum number of megabytes required for EAS software (paragraphs 0039, 0063).
As per claim 27, Giust discloses an apparatus wherein the deployment requirements include at least one of a geographical location attribute of a serving location, or a topological location attribute of the serving location (paragraphs 0036, 0047).
As per claim 28, Giust discloses an apparatus wherein the topological location attribute (claim 3, paragraphs 0055, 0061) but fails to expressly disclose wherein the topological location attribute includes a next-generation NodeB (gNB) identifier list associated with one or more cell identifiers for the serving location.
However, in the same field of endeavor, GE discloses the claimed limitation of wherein the topological location attribute includes a next-generation NodeB (gNB) identifier list associated with one or more cell identifiers for the serving location (paragraphs 0113, 0124).
The same motivation that was utilized in the combination of claim 24 applies equally as well to claim 28.
As per claim 29, Giust discloses an apparatus wherein the topological location attribute includes at least one of: a tracking area identifier list associated with one or more tracking area identifiers for the serving location; and a serving public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier associated with the serving location (paragraphs 0027, 0043, 0047-49).
As per claim 30, Giust discloses an apparatus, wherein at least one of: the geographical location attribute includes a latitude value and a longitude value; and the geographical location attribute includes a civic location attribute of the serving location (paragraphs 0027, 0043, 0047-49).
As per claim 31, Giust discloses an apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises an edge computing service provider (ECSP) management system or portion thereof (paragraphs 0011, 0028).
As per claim 39, Giust discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, configure an edge computing service provider (ECSP) management system to: receive, from an application service provider (ASP), a request for instantiation of an edge application server (EAS) virtual network function (VNF) deployment requirements associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF (paragraphs 0011, 0022, 039-40), wherein the deployment requirements comprise at least one of a geographical location attribute of a serving location or a topological location attribute of the serving location (paragraphs 0036, 0047-49); and instantiate the EAS VNF based on the deployment requirements. Although, Giust discloses allowing multiple tenants to shared MEC system, but he fails to expressly disclose from an application service provider (ASP), a request for instantiation of an edge application server (EAS) (paragraph 0060: initiates operations).
However, in the same field of endeavor, GE disclose the claimed limitation of from an application service provider (ASP), a request for instantiation of an edge application server (paragraphs 0074-75, 0082).
Although, Giust-GE disclose allowing multiple tenants to shared MEC system in Edge application server with heterogenous application requirements but fail to expressly disclose an EASRequirements information object class (IOC), the EASRequirements IOC including deployment requirements associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta elaborately discloses the claimed limitations of an EASRequirements information object class (IOC), the EASRequirements IOC including deployment requirements associated with the instantiation of the EAS VNF (paragraphs 4, 23, 36-37, 47).
The same motivation that was utilized in the combination of claim 24 applies equally as well to claim 39.
As per claim 40, Giust discloses the one or more transitory computer-readable media wherein deployment requirements further comprise software image information that includes: a minimum disk attribute, a minimum random access memory (RAM) attribute, a role attribute, and a software image reference attribute (paragraphs 39, 63).
As per claim 41, Giust discloses the one or more transitory computer-readable media wherein the minimum RAM attribute is an integer value to indicate a minimum number of megabytes required for EAS software (paragraphs 0027, 0043, 0047-49).
As per claim 42, Giust discloses the one or more transitory computer-readable media wherein the topological location attribute includes at least one of (claim 3, paragraphs 0055, 0061): a tracking area identifier list associated with one or more tracking area identifiers for the serving location (paragraphs 0036, 0047); and a serving public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier associated with the serving location (paragraphs 0027, 0043, 0047-49). Although, Giust discloses but fails to expressly disclose a next-generation NodeB (gNB) identifier list associated with one or more cell identifiers for the serving location.
However, in the same field of endeavor, GE discloses the claimed limitation of wherein the topological location attribute includes at least one of a next-generation NodeB (gNB) identifier list associated with one or more cell identifiers for the serving location (paragraphs 0113, 0124).
The same motivation that was utilized in the combination of claim 24 applies equally as well to claim 42.
As per claim 43, Giust discloses the one or more transitory computer-readable media wherein d wherein the geographical location attribute includes at least one of: a latitude value and a longitude value; and a civic location attribute of the serving location (paragraphs 0027, 0043, 0047-49).
As per claim 44, Giust discloses the one or more transitory computer-readable media wherein the deployment requirements include the topological location attribute of the serving location (paragraphs 0027, 0043, 0047-49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARZANA B HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455