DETAILED ACTION
Response to Applicants Arguments/Amendments
Because of the amendments made to claims 10, the previous claim objection and 112(b) rejection have both been withdrawn. The art rejections have been withdrawn because of the amendments. New rejections are put forward. The examiner has withdrawn rejections in the Obviousness-Type Double Patenting Section because of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,8,13-14 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dictenberg (US 20190201381)
Dictenberg teaches providing the biological tissue sample with a perfusate and/or solution comprising an apoptotic inhibitor and a permeating cryoprotective agent (glycerol) for a first time period, thereby providing a treated biological tissue sample, and cooling the treated biological tissue sample to a subzero temperature (Abstract, Paragraphs 9-10,16-17,50,52-53, 110,169,176-177 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 1. Dictenberg discloses that providing comprises perfusing the biological tissue sample with the perfusate or storing the biological tissue sample in solution (Paragraphs 169, 176-177 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 2. Dictenberg discloses wherein the perfusate or the solution comprises a subzero perfusion solution or a storage solution (Paragraphs 110, 169,176-177 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 3. Dictenberg discloses wherein said providing is conducted prior to, during, and/or after cooling the biological tissue sample to a subzero condition (Paragraphs 110, 169,176-177 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 4. Dictenberg discloses wherein the subzero conditions comprise supercooling, subzero non-freezing, partial freezing, cryopreservation (Abstract, Paragraphs 110,169,176-177 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 5. Dictenberg discloses wherein the apoptotic inhibitor is a BAX inhibitor (Paragraph 9 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 8. Dictenberg discloses wherein the perfusate or solution further comprises antioxidants (Paragraph 123 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 13. Dictenberg discloses delivering to an in vitro system the biological tissue sample (Abstract, Paragraph 19 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 14. . Dictenberg discloses that the biological tissue sample is a solid organ (Paragraph 50) as in instant Claim 35.
The reference anticipates the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 23, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dictenberg (US 20190201381) in view of Hoglen et al. “A Caspase Inhibitor, IDN-6556, Ameliorates Early Hepatic Injury in an Ex Vivo Rat Model of Warm and Cold Ischemia” Liver Transplantation 13:361-366, 2007
Dictenberg applies as above to teach claims 1-5,8,13-14, and 35. Dictenberg teaches that its biological sample can be placed in a storage solution containing an apoptotic inhibitor (a first apoptosis inhibitor). Dictenberg teaches that both storage and/or perfusion can be cooled under subzero conditions; and wherein at least one solution or perfusate comprises an apoptosis inhibitor and a permeating cryoprotective agent (glycerol) (Abstract, Paragraphs 9-10,16-17,52-53, and 110,169,176-177) as in instant Claim 6 and 23.
Dictenberg does not teach that its biological sample can be perfused with a solution containing IDN-6556/emricasan/a pan-caspase/a caspase 8 and 9 inhibitor (Abstract of Hoglen). Hoglen teaches the perfusion of the tissue/organ with IDN-6555/emricasan/a pan-caspase/a caspase8/9 inhibitor (Page 362, Ex Vivo Cold Ischemia and Warm Reperfusion Model of Hoglen). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have incorporated the IDN-6556 perfusion process of Hoglen with the process taught in Dictenberg. An artisan would have been motivated to have used the perfusion process of Dictenberg that involves administration of IDN-6556 because it improves blood flow within the organs/tissue (Abstract of Hoglen). Because the perfusion containing IDN-6556 improves blood flow within the organ/tissue, there would have been a high expectation for success (Abstract of Hoglen) as in instant Claims 6,8-11 and 23.
Dictenberg does not teach a thawing process. Hoglen teaches warming the biological tissue sample to a recovery temperature; perfusing the biological tissue sample with a recovery solution, thereby providing a treated and recovered biological tissue sample; (Page 361, Ex Vivo Cold Ischemia and Warm Reperfusion Model of Hoglen). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have included the thawing process taught in Hoglen. An artisan would have been motivated to have used such a thawing process in order to successfully revive the tissue for subsequent use (Ex Vivo Cold Ischemia and Warm Reperfusion Model of Hoglen) as in instant Claim 23.
Dependent Claims taught by Dictenberg
Dictenberg discloses wherein said storing comprises a subzero condition (Paragraph 110) as in instant Claim 7. Dictenberg discloses injecting the biological tissue sample (162 of Dictenberg). An artisan would have been motivated to have used this in vitro or in vivo since it can still deliver the composition to an organ as in instant Claim 15.
Dependent Claims taught by Hoglen
Hoglen discloses perfusing the biological tissue sample with the perfusate comprising a second apoptosis inhibitor where the second apoptosis inhibitor is different from the apoptotic inhibitor present in Dictenberg (Page 362, Ex Vivo Cold Ischemia and Warm Reperfusion Model) as in instant Claim 6. Hoglen discloses the use of apoptotic inhibitor IDN-6556/emricasan/a pan-caspase inhibitor/ a caspase 8 and 9 inhibitor (Abstract of Hoglen) as in instant Claims 8-11. Hoglen discloses where the concentration is maintained during the first time period (Figure 1A-C) as in instant Claim 12. Hoglen discloses that the providing comprises delivering to an in vitro system the biological tissue sample (Page 362 of Hoglen) as in instant Claim 14. Hoglen samples are rat livers (Page 361 of Hoglen) as in instant Claim 35. Hoglen teaches wherein the viability was checked using ALT (Page 362, Ex Vivo Cold Ischemia and Warm Reperfusion Model) as in instant Claim 36.
Dictenberg teaches a storage solution and/or a perfusion solution with an apoptosis inhibitor that can be used to successfully preserve and protect a tissue sample/organ. Dictenberg does not teach using an apoptotic inhibitor such as a caspase inhibitor (IDN-6556). However, an artisan would have been motivated to have included a perfusion process with IDN-6556 because it is able to improve blood flow as taught in Hoglen. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All of the clamed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable in molecular biology and tissue preservation. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dictenberg (US 20190201381) in view of Yarmush (US 20140030231)
Dictenberg teaches perfusing the biological tissue with a perfusate solution in a bioreactor, wherein at least one of the solution or the perfusate comprises an apoptosis inhibitor and a permeating cryoprotective agent (glycerol); and cooling the biological tissue sample to a subzero temperature (Abstract, Paragraphs 47,110,163-164,166,169,176-177 of Dictenberg) as in instant Claim 19.
Dictenberg teaches that perfusion can occur in a bioreactor (a machine) but does not expressly state that the bioreactor directly carries out perfusion. However, Yarmush teaches that the perfusion operation can be carried out using a machine (Figure 54 and Paragraph 119 of Yarmush). Yarmush teaches flushing the biological tissue sample with a solution and perfusing the biological sample with a perfusate by machine perfusion (Paragraphs 344-349). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have used the perfusate machine taught by Yarmush. An artisan would have been motivated to have used Yarmush’s machine because it successfully flushes and perfuses the biological specimen. Furthermore, there would be further motivation for using Yarmush’s perfusion device because it allows for the evaluation of the function of the graft prior to transplantation while perfusion is occurring (Paragraph 227 of Yarmush). For example, a machine capable of carrying out perfusion can be designed to evaluate tissues samples/graft by measuring the ATL levels (Paragraph 227 of Yarmush), allowing for assessing of tissue before transplant. Because Yarmush’s perfusion machines are able to successfully perfuse and evaluate signs of viability in tissue samples used for therapeutic purposes, there would have been a high expectation for success using Yarmush’s machine perfusion process with the process of Dictenberg.
Dictenberg teaches a process of exposing a biological sample to a perfusion/storage solution that contains an apoptotic inhibitor and a cryoprotective agent in subzero temperatures. Dictenberg does not teach that such a perfusion operation can be carried out directly by an automated machine. However, an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have used Yarmush’s machine to carry out such an operation to control the perfusion process and to successfully monitor the tissue sample to better improve the perfusion process. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All of the clamed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable in molecular biology and tissue preservation. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No.12,167,729. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4 of Patent 12,167,729 recite the limitations present in instant claims 1-2. Claim 4 of Patent 12,167,729 recites a perfusion solution containing insulin (an apoptosis inhibitor) that is used to preserve a biological sample. Claim 4 teaches the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2. Claim 4 of Patent 12,167,729 recites that the perfusion solution with an apoptosis inhibitor and cryoprotective agent is used for perfusion during supercooling. Therefore, claim 4 of Patent 12,167,729 also corresponds to instant claims 3-5.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638