DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 24 February 2026 has been received and considered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
This Action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, 12, 16- 20, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. (US 20090028262) in view of Hessler et al. (US 20220182832) and further in view of Baligh et al. (US 20170064546).
As per claims 1, 3, 11, 16, 18, and 26, Imai et al. discloses an apparatus with memory and processor (see, for example, paragraph [0087] where a base station and mobile device must have a processor and memory to perform the steps) and a method comprising: encoding or modify at least one secret key including one or more secret key bits based on at least one of a bitmap, a hash function, or a polynomial, such that the one or more secret key bits correspond to one or more verification bits, the at least one secret key being associated with communication with a second wireless device (see paragraphs [0095]-[0097] the use of a hash of the secret key),
transmitting/receiving, to the second wireless device, an indication of the one or more verification bits, decoding the one or more verification bits based on at least one of a bitmap, a hash function, or a polynomial, such that the decoded one or more verification bits correspond to one or and transmitting/receiving, from the second wireless device, feedback corresponding to the one or more verification bits (see paragraphs [0097]-[0102] where the hashes are verified and a confirmation is sent/received when they are verified).
Imai et al. generally discloses the selection of resources, but fails to explicitly disclose to select at least one resource of a plurality of resources for the communication of the one or more verification bits based on at least one of: a source identifier (ID) of the first wireless device, a destination ID of the second wireless device, or the encoded or modified at least one secret key, wherein the indication of the one or more verification bits is transmitted via the selected at least one resource.
However, Hessler et al. teaches to select at least one resource of a plurality of resources for the communication of the one or more verification bits based on at least one of: a source identifier (ID) of the first wireless device, a destination ID of the second wireless device, or the encoded or modified at least one secret key, wherein the indication of the one or more verification bits is transmitted via the selected at least one resource (see paragraph [0108] where the resource selection is made based on authentication, i.e. verification information; see also paragraphs [0036]-[0038] and [0105]-[0108]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the resource selection of Hessler et al. in the Imai et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to only allow verified communications thereby improving the security of the system.
The modified Imai et al. and Hessler et al. system fails to explicitly disclose that the resources is associated and selected based the at least one secret key.
However, Baligh et al. teaches a system that performs a hash on a secret key and connection information where the generated hash is used for selecting a resource for use in communication between entities based a secret key (see paragraphs [0049]-[0054] where the hash, i.e. verification information, is based on the secret key since the secret key is part of the hash and this has is used to select resources on which to send the hashed value).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the resource of the modified Imai et al. and Hessler et al. system based on the secret key.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to increase the security by obfuscating the resource selection based on information only known to the entities communicating.
As per claims 2 and 17, the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the first wireless device is a UE or a base station (see Imai et al. paragraphs [0087]-[0097]).
As per claims 4, 5, 19, and 20, the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system discloses to obtain the at least one secret key including the one or more secret key bits for the communication with the second wireless device, wherein the at least one secret key is generated based on channel randomness or obtained from a third wireless device (see Imai et al. paragraphs [0094]-[0095]).
As per claims 12 and 27, the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system discloses obtaining the at least one secret key including the one or more secret key bits for the communication with the first wireless device (see Imai et al. paragraphs [0093]-[0097]).
Claims 6-8, 13, 14, 21-23, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system as applied to claims 1, 11, 16, and 26 above, in view of You et al. (US 20220386192).
As per claims 6-8, 13, 14, 21-23, 28, and 29, the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system discloses the feedback is an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative ACK (NACK), wherein the feedback is the NACK, and the at least one processor and the memory are further configured to re-configure the at least one secret key including the one or more secret key bits based on at least one of the bitmap, the hash function, or the polynomial and, wherein to re-configure the at least one secret key, the at least one processor and the memory are configured to at least one of: receive one or more reference signal resources for key determination; increase one or more resource repetitions or use a reference signal with a higher repetition; or increase a transmission power of the reference signal (see paragraphs [0097]-[0102] where then the keys do not match the process is repeated with the channel information, i.e. resource repetitions and signals).
The modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system fails to explicitly disclose these steps are in response to the ACK/NACK being received via at least one of sidelink control information (SCI), uplink control information (UCI), or downlink control information (DCI).
However, You et al. teaches performing reconfiguration in response to a message received via at least one of sidelink control information (SCI), uplink control information (UCI), or downlink control information (DCI) (see paragraphs [0054]-[0057]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the messages of the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system via control information messages.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to simplify the system by using well-known and common messaging.
Claims 9, 10, 15, 24, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system as applied to claims 1, 11, 16, and 26 above, in view of Niemi et al. (US 7246242).
As per claims 9, 10, 15, 24, 25, and 30, the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system discloses feedback for verification bits associated with a secured key, but fails to explicitly disclose the feedback includes an identifier of the at least one secret key associated with the one or more verification bits, wherein the feedback is received via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE).
However, Niemi et al. teaches the use of a key identifier included in RRC messages (see column 6 lines 12-44).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a key identifier in the feedback message transmitted via an RRC message in the modified Imai et al., Hessler et al., and Baligh et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to ensure the correct key is being verified while using common and well-known messaging protocols.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining reference(s) relate to using secret keys in wireless resource selection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Pyzocha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409