Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second control unit” (Claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In this case, the provided figures only show one control unit. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "lifting and lowering unit” in claim 5, “first measuring unit” in claim 6, and “second measuring unit” in claim 7.
Claim limitations "lifting and lowering unit” in claim 5, “first measuring unit” in claim 6, and “second measuring unit” in claim 7 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “…moves up and down…” (lifting and lowering unit; claim 5), “…measures a temperature of the hollow portion…, (first measuring unit, claim 6),” and “…measures a temperature of the coil…” (second measuring unit; claim 7) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Terms “lifting and lowering” and “measuring” convey only function and not any known structure for performing the claimed functions.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 5-7 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Lifting and Lowering Unit
Figure 1 shows lifting and lowering unit 4 wherein paragraph 0039-0040 describe the lifting and lowering unit having a cylindrical shape that covers the lower opening of induction heating element 2 and having a surface 41 for receiving the object to be heated. Drive unit 5 is attached to the lower part of lifting and lowering unit 4 and raises and lowers the lifting and lowering unit 4.
First Measuring Unit
Figure 1 shows measuring unit 9 and paragraph 0045 details that unit 9 measures the temperature of hollow portion SP1 and transmits information (voltage value, etc.) indicating the temperature to control unit 10. Here, the first measuring unit is understood to refer to an electronic measuring unit.
Second Measuring Unit
Figure 1 shows measuring unit 16 and paragraph 0066-0067 details that unit 16 measures the temperature of coil 1 and is in communication with control unit 10. Here, the second measuring unit is understood to refer to an electronic measuring unit.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 requires, in relevant part, a second measuring unit and a second control unit. Claim 7 depends directly from claim 1, which makes no mention of a measuring unit or control unit. As such, it is unclear if the use of “second” is intended to refer to the number of measuring/control units (e.g., at least two measuring units, at least two control units) or if it is intended to merely serve as a means to distinguish claimed features. For instance, claim 6 recites a first measuring unit and a first control unit. Does “second,” as it appears in claim 7, serve as a linguistic choice for distinguishing the structures from, for instance, those of claim 6?
Claim 8 requires, in relevant part, a second fan. Claim depends directly from claim 1, which makes no mention of a fan. As such, it is unclear if the use of “second” is intended to refer to the number of fans (e.g., at least two fans) or if it is intended to merely serve as a means to distinguish claimed features. For instance, claim 3 recites a first fan. Does “second,” as it appears in claim 8, serve as a linguistic choice for distinguishing the structures from, for instance, those of claim 3?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US2011/0306212).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a firing furnace for firing an object to be fired (Abstract) (Fig. 2; furnace 40), comprising:
Figure 2 of Sato
a coil (Fig. 2; induction coil 50), and
an induction heating element (induction target 48) being placed at an inner diameter side of the coil, in which inducted current flows due to magnetic field generated by the coil, and generates heat due to the induced current (para. 0039; “The induction coil 50 is supplied with an alternating current with a frequency range of, e.g., 10 kHz to 100 kHz and with a power of, e.g., 10 kW to 200 kW, from an alternating current source (not shown in the drawings). By supplying the alternating current to the induction coil 50, alternating magnetic fields are applied to the induction target 48. Thus, an induced current flows through the induction target 48 so that the induction target 48 can generate heat. As heat is generated by the induction target 48, the wafers 14 held in the boat 30 and the processing chamber 43 are heated to a temperature of, e.g., 1500.degree. C. to 1800.degree. C., by radiant energy emitted from the induction target 48.”),
wherein the induction heating element includes a hollow portion for locating the object to be fired (48 includes a hollow portion, which is defined by the internal volume of 48 that accommodates object 14 to be heated) and
the coil (50) being made of a conducting wire wound (in order to inductively heat 48, the coil 50 must be made of a conducting material) around an axis as a center (the center is shown by the annotated Figure 2, above).
Figure 2 of Sato
Sato further teaches the furnace (40) further comprising:
an inner diameter side flow path member (Annotated “Inner” above, which is an inner diameter side wall portion defining flow path 45, relative to the center axis) and an outer diameter side flow path member (Annotated “Outer” above, which is an outer diameter side wall portion defining flow path 45, relative to the center axis) placed between the coil (50) and the induction heating element (48),
wherein the inner diameter side flow path member is arranged at an inner diameter side of the outer diameter side flow path member (as shown in Fig. 2 above, the inner flow path member is arranged at an inner diameter side, closer to the center axis, of the outer flow path member), and
the inner diameter side flow path member and the outer diameter side flow path member constitute a flow path (45) of gas (inert gas-para. 0087) parallel to the axis (Both the center axis and flow path 45 extend in the vertical direction and are substantially parallel to each other).
Figure 2 of Sato
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches a heat insulating body (heat insulating member 56) including a groove extending in an outer diameter direction from the flow path (45) [Under broadest reasonable interpretation, “groove” is defined as “a long narrow channel or depression.” See merriam-webster.com/dictionary/groove, viewed on 06/05/2026. The above annotated groove is a long narrow channel or depression in that it is a relatively long and narrow region that is defined by the insulating member 56 and extends outwardly relative to the center axis].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fornoff et al. (US2017/0176103) in view of Sato (US2011/0306212).
Regarding claim 1, Fornoff teaches a firing furnace for firing an object to be fired (para. 0001; “sintering furnace for components made of sintered material, in particular for dental components and in particular for components made of ceramic”) comprising (Figures 1 and 2A; furnace 1):
Figure 2A of Fornoff
a coil (coil 12), and
an induction heating element (inductively heated radiator 6, shown in Figure 1, which is configured as crucible 11, shown in Fig. 2A; para. 0035) being placed at an inner diameter side of the coil (Fig. 2A, above), in which induced current flows due to magnetic field generated by the coil, and generates heat due to the induced current (para. 0035 details inductively heating the crucible in order to heat the object 15) [Note: “induced current flows due to magnetic field generated by the coil, and generates heat due to the induced current” is understood to refer to induction heating],
wherein the induction heating element includes a hollow portion for locating the object to be fired (para. 0035; “The useful region 10 is likewise in the inner space of the crucible 11, wherein the ratio of the usable volume VN of the usable region 10 to the gross volume VB of the receiving space 9 is 1:1.”) (Fig. 2A, crucible 11 includes a hollow portion, defined by the internal volume of 11 that accommodates object 15), and
the coil is made of a conducting wire wound around an axis as a center (As shown in Figure 2A, where the annotated line indicates a center. Para. 0035 details that coil 12 encircles crucible 11 and serves to inductively heat the crucible. While not explicitly stated, coil 12 is necessarily made of a conductive material in order to function as intended).
Fornoff teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the firing furnace further comprising: an inner diameter side flow path member and an outer diameter side flow path member placed between the coil and the induction heating element, wherein the inner diameter side flow path member is arranged at an inner diameter side of the outer diameter side flow path member, and the inner diameter side flow path member and the outer diameter side flow path member constitute a flow path of gas parallel to the axis.
Figure 2 of Sato
Sato relates to the field of inductively heated furnaces (Abstract) (Fig. 2; furnace 40) and teaches the furnace comprising a coil (Fig. 2; induction coil 50), an induction heating element (induction target 48) being placed at an inner diameter side of the coil, in which inducted current flows due to magnetic field generated by the coil, and generates heat due to the induced current (para. 0039; “The induction coil 50 is supplied with an alternating current with a frequency range of, e.g., 10 kHz to 100 kHz and with a power of, e.g., 10 kW to 200 kW, from an alternating current source (not shown in the drawings). By supplying the alternating current to the induction coil 50, alternating magnetic fields are applied to the induction target 48. Thus, an induced current flows through the induction target 48 so that the induction target 48 can generate heat. As heat is generated by the induction target 48, the wafers 14 held in the boat 30 and the processing chamber 43 are heated to a temperature of, e.g., 1500.degree. C. to 1800.degree. C., by radiant energy emitted from the induction target 48.”), wherein the induction heating element includes a hollow portion for locating the object to be fired (48 includes a hollow portion, which is defined by the internal volume of 48 that accommodates object 14 to be heated) and the coil (50) being made of a conducting wire wound (in order to inductively heat 48, the coil 50 must be made of a conducting material) around an axis as a center (the center is shown by the annotated Figure 2, above).
Figure 2 of Sato
Sato further teaches the furnace (40) further comprising:
an inner diameter side flow path member (Annotated “Inner” above, which is an inner diameter side wall portion defining flow path 45, relative to the center axis) and an outer diameter side flow path member (Annotated “Outer” above, which is an outer diameter side wall portion defining flow path 45, relative to the center axis) placed between the coil (50) and the induction heating element (48),
wherein the inner diameter side flow path member is arranged at an inner diameter side of the outer diameter side flow path member (as shown in Fig. 2 above, the inner flow path member is arranged at an inner diameter side, closer to the center axis, of the outer flow path member), and
the inner diameter side flow path member and the outer diameter side flow path member constitute a flow path (45) of gas (inert gas-para. 0087) parallel to the axis (Both the center axis and flow path 45 extend in the vertical direction and are substantially parallel to each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff with Sato, by adding between the coil and induction heating element of Fornoff, with the inner and outer diameter side flow path members of Sato, in order to provide an inert gas between the heating element and coil which would aid in preventing degradation of the furnace components and preventing product materials from adhering to surfaces (Sato; para. 0087).
Figure 1 of Farnoff
Regarding claim 4, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches a heat insulating body (Fig. 1; insulation body 4) including a groove extending in an outer diameter direction from the flow path [Under broadest reasonable interpretation, “groove” is defined as “a long narrow channel or depression.” See merriam-webster.com/dictionary/groove, viewed on 06/05/2026. The above annotated groove is a long narrow channel or depression in that it is a relatively long and narrow region that is defined by the insulating body 4 and extends outwardly relative to the flow path. The flow path is between the coil and the induction heating element, which are surrounded by insulation body 4. As such, the groove extends outwardly away from the flow path, at least partially.].
Regarding claim 5, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 4, and further teaches wherein the induction heating element (Fornoff, 11) has a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2B) with the axis as a center axis (Annotated Fig. 2A shown in claim 1 above), and the heat insulating body (4) includes a lower hole (opening shown in Fig. 1, closed by base 7) connected to the hollow portion (Fig. 1), wherein the firing furnace further comprising a lifting and lowering unit moves up and down between a lower position where the lower hole is opened and an upper position where the lower hole is closed (Abstract; “The furnace chamber (2) has an outer wall (3) consisting of a plurality of walls having a wall portion (7) to be opened for introduction of a component to be sintered having an object volume (VO) into the receiving space (9).”) (para. 0032; “The furnace chamber 2 has a wall portion 7 to be opened for insertion of a component 15 to be sintered into the furnace chamber 2, which here is the lower wall portion, thus the bottom of the furnace chamber 2.”) [Fornoff teaches that the base 7 opens/closes to allow access into the furnace to place/remove the object 15. A lifting/lowering unit is necessarily disclosed. Additionally, Figure 1 shows base 7 mechanically connected to chamber 2 to allow for such movement], and includes a top surface (top surface 8 of base 7) to place an object (15) to be fired (para. 0032).
Regarding claim 9, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the induction heating element includes molybdenum disilicide (Fornoff; para. 0035 details crucible 11 being made of MoSi2, or molybdenum disilicide).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Fishman (US2004/0233965).
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for the conducting wire consists of a litz wire which includes multiple bare wires which are insulated from each other and twisted together.
Fishmann relates to the art of induction furnaces (para. 0002; “induction heating and melting systems that use magnetic induction to heat a crucible in which metal or other materials can be heated and/or, melted and held in the molten state by heat transfer from the crucible.”) and teaches the conducting coil being a Litz wire which includes multiple bare wires which are insulated from each other and twisted together (para. 0024; “A preferred form of the cable is Litz wire or litzendraht, in which the individual isolated conductors are woven together in such a way that each conductor successively takes all possible positions in the cross section of the cable, so as to minimize skin effect and high-frequency resistance, and to distribute the electrical power evenly among the conductors.”) (see also Figure 4 and para. 0047; “ Instead of using a solid tubular conductor, one embodiment of the present invention uses a cable 17 wound of a large number of copper conductors isolated one from another, as shown in FIGS. 4(a), 4(b) and 4(c). One of the insulated copper conductors 14 is shown in FIG. 4(c) with the insulation 16 that isolates the copper conductor 15 from surrounding conductors. The cable 17 is of the sort known in the electronic industry as Litz wire or litzendraht. It assures equal current distribution through the copper cross section when the diameter of each individual copper wire strand is significantly smaller than the depth of current penetration .DELTA..sub.1 as given by equation (2). For the present application, a suitable but not limiting number of strands is approximately between 1,000 and 2,000. Other variations in the configuration of the Litz wire will perform satisfactory without deviating from the present invention.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sato with Fishman, by substituting the coil of Sato with the Litz wire of Fishmann, for in doing so would provide a coil that minimizes skin effect and high frequency resistance, while evenly distributing electrical power among the conductors (para. 0024 of Fishman).
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fornoff et al. (US2017/0176103) in view of Sato (US2011/0306212), and in further view of Fishman (US2004/0233965).
Regarding claim 2, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for the conducting wire consists of a litz wire which includes multiple bare wires which are insulated from each other and twisted together.
Fishmann relates to the art of induction furnaces (para. 0002; “induction heating and melting systems that use magnetic induction to heat a crucible in which metal or other materials can be heated and/or, melted and held in the molten state by heat transfer from the crucible.”) and teaches the conducting coil being a Litz wire which includes multiple bare wires which are insulated from each other and twisted together (para. 0024; “A preferred form of the cable is Litz wire or litzendraht, in which the individual isolated conductors are woven together in such a way that each conductor successively takes all possible positions in the cross section of the cable, so as to minimize skin effect and high-frequency resistance, and to distribute the electrical power evenly among the conductors.”) (see also Figure 4 and para. 0047; “ Instead of using a solid tubular conductor, one embodiment of the present invention uses a cable 17 wound of a large number of copper conductors isolated one from another, as shown in FIGS. 4(a), 4(b) and 4(c). One of the insulated copper conductors 14 is shown in FIG. 4(c) with the insulation 16 that isolates the copper conductor 15 from surrounding conductors. The cable 17 is of the sort known in the electronic industry as Litz wire or litzendraht. It assures equal current distribution through the copper cross section when the diameter of each individual copper wire strand is significantly smaller than the depth of current penetration .DELTA..sub.1 as given by equation (2). For the present application, a suitable but not limiting number of strands is approximately between 1,000 and 2,000. Other variations in the configuration of the Litz wire will perform satisfactory without deviating from the present invention.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff as modified by Sato, with Fishman by substituting the coil of Fornoff, with Litz wire taught by Fishman, for in doing so would provide a coil that minimizes skin effect and high frequency resistance, while evenly distributing electrical power among the conductors (para. 0024 of Fishman).
Regarding claim 3, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for a first fan that promotes gas flow in the flow path.
Fishmann relates to the art of induction furnaces (para. 0002; “induction heating and melting systems that use magnetic induction to heat a crucible in which metal or other materials can be heated and/or, melted and held in the molten state by heat transfer from the crucible.”) and teaches a first fan (Fig. 5A; fan 45) that promotes gas flow in the flow path (para. 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff as modified by Sato, with Fishman by adding to the flow path of modified Fornoff, with the fan taught by Fishman, for in doing so would provide a conventional mechanical means for controlling the flow of a gas, which would allow for the gas to be directed in a more controlled manner into/through the flow path.
Regarding claim 8, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for a second fan that blows air to the coil.
Fishmann relates to the art of induction furnaces (para. 0002; “induction heating and melting systems that use magnetic induction to heat a crucible in which metal or other materials can be heated and/or, melted and held in the molten state by heat transfer from the crucible.”) and teaches a second fan (Fig. 5A; fan 45) that blows air to the coil (32) (para. 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff as modified by Sato, with Fishman by adding to the coil of modified Fornoff, with the fan taught by Fishman, for in doing so would provide a conventional mechanical means for providing cooling airflow to the coil (para. 0057).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fornoff et al. (US2017/0176103) in view of Sato (US2011/0306212), and in further view of Jussel (US20200038152) and Saido et al. (US 20110000425).
Regarding claim 6, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 5, except for a ceiling part covering an opening at a top of the induction heating element, a first measuring unit that hangs from the ceiling part to the hollow portion and measures a temperature of the hollow portion, and a first control unit that controls a current flowing through the coil based on the temperature measured by the first measuring unit.
Jussel relates to a furnace (para. 0004) (Figs. 3-4; induction coil 42, heating element/susceptor 42,) for dental components (para. 0002) and teaches a ceiling part (cover 32) covering an opening (opening 26 in Fig. 1, shown but not labelled in Figs. 3-4) at a top of the induction heating element (42), a first measuring unit (temperature sensor 50) that hangs from the ceiling part (32) to the hollow portion (internal volume of 30) (para. 0109) and measures a temperature of the hollow portion (para. 0065; “ According to the invention, it is also advantageous for immediate and therefore fast acting control of furnace temperature to be possible. A temperature sensor may be provided either in the cover or, if required, directly adjacent to the receiving plate. In both cases, the temperature of the dental restoration parts can be measured continuously and accurately.”).
Jussel also implies a first control unit that controls a current flowing through the coil based on the temperature measured by the first measuring unit (para. 0065; “ According to the invention, it is also advantageous for immediate and therefore fast acting control of furnace temperature to be possible. A temperature sensor may be provided either in the cover or, if required, directly adjacent to the receiving plate. In both cases, the temperature of the dental restoration parts can be measured continuously and accurately.”). In this case, the immediate and fast acting control of furnace temperature, using the temperature sensor, implies that a control unit is present that controls the current to the induction coil based on the temperature sensor data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff as modified by Sato, with Jussel by adding to the furnace of modified Fornoff, with the temperature sensor and control unit arrangement taught by Jussel, for in doing so would allow for accurate control over furnace temperature.
Saido relates to a processing furnace (Fig. 2; 40) for heating an object (para. 0003) where the furnace comprises an induction coil (50) and a heating element (heating target object 48) (para. 0037).
Saido teaches using a temperature sensor to measure the temperature within a chamber (para. 0040). Said further teaches a first control unit (Fig. 3, main control unit 150 and temperature control unit 52) that controls a current flowing through the coil (50) based on the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (para. 0040; “the temperature sensor are electrically connected to a temperature control unit 52, and the temperature control unit 52 is configured to adjust power to the induction coil 50 based on temperature information detected by the temperature sensor so as to obtain predetermined temperature distribution in the reaction chamber 44 at a predetermined time”).
Saido, therefore, provides an explicit teaching that it was known in the art, at the time of filing, to use a control unit to control current flowing through the induction coil based on measured temperature from a temperature sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff as modified by Sato and Jussel, with Saido by adding to the temperature control of modified Fornoff, with the control unit for controlling current to the induction coil based on measured temperature taught by Saido, for in doing so would provide an automatic means for regulating the temperature within the furnace.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fornoff et al. (US2017/0176103) in view of Sato (US2011/0306212), and in further view of Kim et al. (US20190264370).
Regarding claim 7, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for a second measuring unit that measures a temperature of the coil, and a second control unit that performs forced cooling control when the temperature measured by the second measuring unit exceeds a first temperature, wherein the forced cooling control includes at least one of stopping a current flowing through the coil and blowing air to the coil.
Kim relates to an induction heater and a control method thereof (para. 0002) and teaches using an induction coil (induction heater 70) heat a heating element (22; para. 0061).
Kim teaches (Fig. 7) using a second measuring unit (temperature sensors 80a and 80b) that measures a temperature of the coil (para. 0075; temperature sensor 80a is heated by the induction heater 70 and the temperature detected by sensor 80a is higher than the air temperature Ta. [In this case, sensor 80a is described as being heated by the induction heater and the measured temperature reflects this heating. As such, the temperature detected by sensor 80a is indicative of the temperature of the induction heater]), and a second control unit (91) that performs forced cooling control when the temperature measured by the second measuring unit exceeds a first temperature, wherein the forced cooling control includes at least one of stopping a current flowing through the coil and blowing air to the coil (para. 0091; “controller 91 may obtain the temperature Td of the drum 22 based on the first detection value T1 and the second detection value T2, and may control the output of the induction heater 70 or the operation of the cooling fan 55 based on the obtained temperature Td (exactly, an estimated value of the actual temperature of the drum 22 (see FIG. 6)) of the drum 22.) (para. 0068 details that the cooling fan is for cooling coil 71 of the induction heater).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fornoff as modified by Sato, with Kim by adding to the induction coil of modified Fornoff, with the temperature sensor and control unit controlling cooling taught by Kim, for in doing so would provide an automatic means for regulating the temperature of the induction heater.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Fishman (US2004/0233965).
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for the induction heating element includes molybdenum disilicide.
Fornoff relates to a firing furnace for firing an object to be fired (para. 0001; “sintering furnace for components made of sintered material, in particular for dental components and in particular for components made of ceramic”) comprising (Figures 1 and 2A; furnace 1) and teaches the induction heating element includes molybdenum disilicide (Fornoff; para. 0035 details crucible 11 being made of MoSi2, or molybdenum disilicide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sato with Fornoff by substituting the material of the induction heating element of Sato with the molybdenum disilicide taught by Fornoff, would amount to the mere selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN C DODSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761