Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/9/2023 and 4/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 11, lines 12-13, “first noise reduction” should be changed to --second tone mapping--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2015/0296193 to inventor Cote, hereinafter referred to as “Cote.”
As per claim 1, Cote discloses a method, comprising: receiving a first image frame; processing the first image frame through a first pass in an image correction algorithm having a first configuration to generate an intermediate first image frame {see processing logic 154 and 164, [0253] and [0254]), wherein the first configuration results in the processing including a first set of operations related to a first noise reduction operation ([0253], “fixed pattern noise reduction”); and processing the intermediate first image frame through a second pass in the image correction algorithm having a second configuration to generate a corrected first image frame (see processing logic 174, [0255]), wherein the second configuration results in the processing including a second set of operations related to a second noise reduction operation (“chroma noise reduction” [0255]).
As per claim 2, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising forming a video sequence comprising the corrected first image frame and at least a corrected second image frame (“video” [0248]).
As per claim 3, Cote discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising at least one of: storing the video sequence in a memory ([0248] “memory 100”) ; transmitting the video sequence through a wireless network; or displaying the video sequence on a display ([0248], “display 28”).
As per claim 4, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: processing the first image frame through a first pass in an image correction algorithm comprises processing the first image frame through a first image post-processing engine (IPE) (ISP pipeline processing is a back-end processing of the video via processing logic 154/164); and processing the intermediate first image frame through a second pass in the image correction algorithm comprises processing the first image frame through a second image post- processing engine (IPE) (processing logic 174 performed on the captured image/video; [0254]-[0255]).
As per claim 5, Cote discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first IPE is the same IPE as the second IPE (Cote discloses at [0540] and [0894] that multiple passes through the same logic 150/170 is useful in removing additional noise).
As per claim 6, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first configuration for the first image correction algorithm comprises applying a first tone mapping (“local tone mapping” [0254]); and the second configuration for the second image correction algorithm comprises applying a different second tone mapping (“brightness, contrast, and color adjustment” [0255]) for contrast enhancement and luminance enhancement.
As per claim 7, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first configuration for the first image correction algorithm comprises applying gamma correction (“gamma/degamma” [0254]); and the second configuration for the image correction algorithm does not comprise applying gamma correction (processing logic 174 at [0255] sets forth that “gamma/degamma” is optional, i.e. “may perform”).
As per claim 8, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: only one of the first image correction algorithm and the second image correction algorithm comprises applying a color correction matrix ([0254] only logic 164 employs “color correction matrix”).
As per claim 9, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a low-light condition is present in the first image frame; and processing the first image frame and processing the intermediate first image frame in response to the determination of the low-light condition ([0453] and [0540] where Cote discloses that noise reduction is performed in response to low-light conditions)
As per claim 11, Cote discloses a method, comprising: receiving a first image frame (“raw image data” [0250]); applying a first noise reduction to the first image frame (“fixed pattern noise reduction” [0253]); applying a first tone mapping to the first image frame after applying the first noise reduction (“tone mapping” [0254]); applying a gamma correction to the first image frame after applying the first tone mapping (“gamma” correction [0254]); applying a second noise reduction to the first image frame after applying the gamma correction (“chroma noise reduction” [0255]); applying a second tone mapping to the first image frame after applying the second noise reduction (either “color space conversion” and/or “dynamic range compression” [0255] reads on the claimed second tone mapping); applying a color correction matrix to the first image frame after applying the first noise reduction (“color adjustment” [0255]); and outputting a corrected first image frame after applying the first noise reduction, applying the first tone mapping, applying the gamma correction, applying the second noise reduction, applying the second tone mapping, and applying the color correction matrix (see [0256]).
As per claim 12, Cote discloses the method of claim 11, wherein: a first image post-processing engine (IPE) (see logic 154 and 164 [0253]-[0254]) performs the steps of applying the first noise reduction, applying the first tone mapping, and applying the gamma correction; and a second image post-processing engine (IPE) (see logic 174 [0255]) performs the steps of applying the second noise reduction, and applying the second tone mapping.
As per claim 13, Cote discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining a low-light condition is present in the first image frame; and in response to determining the low-light condition is present, performing the steps of applying the first noise reduction, applying the first tone mapping, applying the gamma correction, applying the second noise reduction, and applying the second tone mapping (see [0453] and [0540] in response to low light condition).
As per claim 14, Cote discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: forming a video sequence comprising the corrected first image frame and at least a corrected second image frame; and at least one of: storing the video sequence in a memory; transmitting the video sequence through a wireless network; or displaying the video sequence on a display (see display 28 and memory 100 [0248]).
As per claim 15, see similar claim 1 or claim 11 above.
As per claim 16, see similar claim 11 above
As per claim 17, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the image signal processor is configured to configure one of the first IPE or the second IPE to apply a color correction matrix (“color correction matrix” [0254]).
As per claim 18, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the image signal processor is configured to configure the second IPE to not apply a gamma correction ([0255] the processing logic 174 “may perform” “and/or” which makes optional the disclosed gamma correction of logic 174).
As per claim 19, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the image signal processor is configured to assign the plurality of IPEs for processing image frames from one or more image sensors (image sensors 90a and 90b, [0250]).
As per claim 20, see similar claim 1 or claim 11 above
As per claim 21, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor comprises an image signal processor (“ISP” pipe processing logic 80 [0253]).
As per claim 22, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) ([0224] “GPU”).
As per claim 23, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor comprises a central processing unit (CPU) ([0224] and microprocessor).
As per claim 24, Cote discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the apparatus comprises an image capture device (see abstract “digital camera”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited exemplifies the state of the art in low light image noise reduction that involves multiple step denoising techniques.
DAVID OMETZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2672
/DAVID OMETZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672