DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/9/2023, 12/1/2024, and 6/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. US 20230051802.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses: A floor brush assembly for a vacuum cleaner (Fig 22: 100), the floor brush assembly comprising:
a roller brush component (Fig 24: 1), the roller brush component comprising a sleeve (13) and
a roller brush body (11) rotatably mounted in the sleeve (11 within 13),
the roller brush body being provided with bristles (11) arranged in an elongated shape to form a bristle portion (Fig 10: 12 in an elongated shape),
the sleeve having an avoidance opening of an elongated shape (Fig 11: 1311 in an elongated shape), and
the bristle portion and the avoidance opening being arranged to directly face towards each other in a radial direction of the roller brush body (12 and 1311 face each other in the radial direction); and
a driving mechanism (Fig 24: 18, 181, 20, 21,22, 19, 23), the driving mechanism comprising
a first driving member (21),
a second driving member (19), and
the first driving member being configured to drive the roller brush body to rotate(21 causes brush body 11 to rotated),
the second driving member being configured to drive the sleeve to rotate (19 causes sleeve 13 to rotate), and
the first driving member (21 causes brush body 11 to rotated) and the second driving member (19 causes sleeve 13 to rotate) are eccentrically arranged to allow the bristles to be selectively extended out of or retracted into the sleeve (Par 125: the bristle is adapted to be extended out of and retracted into the scraping sleeve hole in the radial direction of the scraping sleeve during a rotation of the roller brush body and the scraping sleeve).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses:
wherein the avoidance opening extends spirally in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (Fig 11: 1311 extends in a spiral in the circumferential direction of 13), and
the bristle portion is constructed to follow a shape of the avoidance opening (Fig 10: 12 follows the shape of 1311 in 13).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses:
wherein: a plurality of bristle portions is provided and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the roller brush body (Fig 10: Multiple rows of 12 at intervals in the circumferential direction around 11); and
a plurality of avoidance openings (Fig 11: 1311 is divided into multiple holes) is provided and arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (1311 is at intervals in the circumferential direction around 11),
the plurality of bristle portions and the plurality of avoidance openings being in one-to-one correspondence (Fig 12: 12 and openings are at a one-to-one correspondence).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses:
wherein: a reinforcement rib is provided at the avoidance opening and divides the avoidance opening into a plurality of sub- openings in an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig 11: 1311 has ribs in-between dividing 1311 into sub openings); and
the bristle portion comprises a plurality of sub-bristle groups arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the roller brush body (Fig 10: Multiple rows of 12 at intervals in the circumferential direction around 11),
the plurality of sub-openings and the plurality of sub- bristle groups being in one-to-one correspondence (Fig 12: groups of 12 and groups of openings are at a one-to-one correspondence).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses: A vacuum cleaner (Fig 22: 100), comprising: a floor brush assembly (Assembly of 1) comprising:
a roller brush component (Fig 24: 1), the roller brush component comprising a sleeve (13) and
a roller brush body (11) rotatably mounted in the sleeve (11 within 13),
the roller brush body being provided with bristles (11) arranged in an elongated shape to form a bristle portion (Fig 10: 12 in an elongated shape),
the sleeve having an avoidance opening of an elongated shape (Fig 11: 1311 in an elongated shape), and
the bristle portion and the avoidance opening being arranged to directly face towards each other in a radial direction of the roller brush body (12 and 1311 face each other in the radial direction); and
a driving mechanism (Fig 24: 18, 181, 20, 21,22, 19, 23), the driving mechanism comprising
a first driving member (21),
a second driving member (19), and
the first driving member being configured to drive the roller brush body to rotate(21 causes brush body 11 to rotated),
the second driving member being configured to drive the sleeve to rotate (19 causes sleeve 13 to rotate), and
the first driving member (21 causes brush body 11 to rotated) and the second driving member (19 causes sleeve 13 to rotate) are eccentrically arranged to allow the bristles to be selectively extended out of or retracted into the sleeve (Par 125: the bristle is adapted to be extended out of and retracted into the scraping sleeve hole in the radial direction of the scraping sleeve during a rotation of the roller brush body and the scraping sleeve).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses:
wherein the avoidance opening extends spirally in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (Fig 11: 1311 extends in a spiral in the circumferential direction of 13), and
the bristle portion is constructed to follow a shape of the avoidance opening (Fig 10: 12 follows the shape of 1311 in 13).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses:
wherein: a plurality of bristle portions is provided and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the roller brush body (Fig 10: Multiple rows of 12 at intervals in the circumferential direction around 11); and
a plurality of avoidance openings (Fig 11: 1311 is divided into multiple holes) is provided and arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction of the sleeve (1311 is at intervals in the circumferential direction around 11),
the plurality of bristle portions and the plurality of avoidance openings being in one-to-one correspondence (Fig 12: 12 and openings are at a one-to-one correspondence).
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses:
wherein: a reinforcement rib is provided at the avoidance opening and divides the avoidance opening into a plurality of sub- openings in an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig 11: 1311 has ribs in-between dividing 1311 into sub openings); and
the bristle portion comprises a plurality of sub-bristle groups arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the roller brush body (Fig 10: Multiple rows of 12 at intervals in the circumferential direction around 11),
the plurality of sub-openings and the plurality of sub- bristle groups being in one-to-one correspondence (Fig 12: groups of 12 and groups of openings are at a one-to-one correspondence).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US 20230051802 in view of Xing et al. US 20210068600.
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses all of the above limitations, however, is silent as to:
wherein a flexible dust removal member is provided between an outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body and an inner peripheral wall of the sleeve.
From the same field of endeavor, Xing teaches:
wherein a flexible dust removal member is provided on an outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body (Fig 1: 112 is a soft rubber bar on the wall of the body of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller body of Xu to have supporting rubber bars in between the brush bars on the roller body as taught by Xing to help separate hairs from winding around the brush roller so to ensure there is a normal rotation of the brush (Par 61).
The combination would result in: wherein a flexible dust removal member is provided between an outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body and an inner peripheral wall of the sleeve.
Regarding claim 6, Xu as modified by Xing in the rejection of claim 5, where Xing teaches:
wherein the flexible dust removal member is integrated at the outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body (Fig 3: 112 is integrated into the outer wall of the body of 100), and
wherein a radial outer side of the flexible dust removal member elastically abuts with the inner peripheral wall of the sleeve (Supporting bar 112 extends longer than the brush bar 113; therefore when combined with Xu the supporting bar would abut the wall of the sleeve since the brushes of Xu extend through the sleeve).
Regarding claim 7, Xu as modified by Xing in the rejection of claim 5, where Xing teaches:
wherein: a plurality of flexible dust removal members is provided; and a plurality of bristle portions is provided, the plurality of flexible dust removal members and the plurality of bristle portions being alternatively arranged at the outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body (Fig 1: 112 is a soft rubber bar on the wall of the body of 100 are alternatively arranged with the brush bars 113).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses all of the above limitations, however, is silent as to:
wherein a flexible dust removal member is provided between an outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body and an inner peripheral wall of the sleeve.
From the same field of endeavor, Xing teaches:
wherein a flexible dust removal member is provided on an outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body (Fig 1: 112 is a soft rubber bar on the wall of the body of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller body of Xu to have supporting rubber bars in between the brush bars on the roller body as taught by Xing to help separate hairs from winding around the brush roller so to ensure there is a normal rotation of the brush (Par 61).
The combination would result in: wherein a flexible dust removal member is provided between an outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body and an inner peripheral wall of the sleeve.
Regarding claim 16, Xu as modified by Xing in the rejection of claim 15, where Xing teaches:
wherein the flexible dust removal member is integrated at the outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body (Fig 3: 112 is integrated into the outer wall of the body of 100), and
wherein a radial outer side of the flexible dust removal member elastically abuts with the inner peripheral wall of the sleeve (Supporting bar 112 extends longer than the brush bar 113; therefore when combined with Xu the supporting bar would abut the wall of the sleeve since the brushes of Xu extend through the sleeve).
Regarding claim 17, Xu as modified by Xing in the rejection of claim 15, where Xing teaches:
wherein: a plurality of flexible dust removal members is provided; and a plurality of bristle portions is provided, the plurality of flexible dust removal members and the plurality of bristle portions being alternatively arranged at the outer peripheral wall of the roller brush body (Fig 1: 112 is a soft rubber bar on the wall of the body of 100 are alternatively arranged with the brush bars 113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the driving mechanism further comprises a power source, a driving wheel connected to the power source, a transmission shaft, and a linkage structure, the driving wheel being connected to the first driving member through the transmission shaft and connected to the second driving member through the linkage structure” and is considered allowable subject matter. The closest prior art of Xu et al. US 20230051802 discloses the driving wheel being connected to the first driving member and second driving member through belts and not shafts and linkages. Therefore, Xu is silent as to “a linkage structure, the driving wheel being connected to the first driving member through the transmission shaft and connected to the second driving member through the linkage structure.” There is not prior art found in the search which teaches or would reasonably be obvious to modify into a vacuum that teaches these limitations.
Claim 18 distinguishes itself in the same manner as claim 8.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 depend off of an allowable claim, therefore they are also allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nguyen et al. US 20210186291 discloses a sleeve and body brush assembly similar to applicants. Peng et al. US 20200245831 discloses the gear assembly for rotating the brush assembly. Zheng et al. US 20190307302, Eriksson US 20130192021, Cohen US 6539575 and discloses a flexible member between the brushes similar to applicants.
/Andrew J Marien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745