DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 27 April 2026 in which claims 1-3, 6-7, 12-13, 37, 39, 41-51 are currently pending and claims 4-5, 8-11, 14-36, 38, 40.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 37 is directed to an terminal, which is considered a machine. A machine is defined as “a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices” (MPEP 2106). However, the body of the claim does not consist of at least two parts/components. The parts/components are mentioned in the preamble but some are not recited in the body of the claim. In addition, the body of the claim are a series of steps.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 12-13, 37, 39, 41-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0312380 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0070704 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 37, 39, Chen discloses a method, a terminal, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (figs. 1, 2, 14).
monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in M control resource sets (CORESETs), in response to existence of the M CORESETs in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions on an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) (“the UE 115-a monitors PDCCH candidates 210 in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs .. on one or more active downlink BWPs” [0110]) and existence of repeated PDCCHs in PDCCH candidates associated with the M CORESETs, M being an integer greater than or equal to 1 (“the linked PDCCH candidates carry repeats of the same control information” [0079], “the BS 105-a may repeat a same set of coded bits in each of the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 210-b .. link PDCCH candidates 210 in different SS sets (which may be associated with corresponding control resource sets (CORESETs)) for repetition” [0085]).
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose monitor the PDCCH in a second reference CORESET and/or in a CORESET having a same QCL-typeD property as the second reference CORESET, and monitoring, by the terminal, the PDCCH in a third reference CORESET and/or in a CORESET having a same QCL-typeD property as the third reference CORESET, wherein the second reference CORESET is one CORESET among the M CORESETs, the third reference CORESET is one CORESET among the M CORESETs, and the second reference CORESET has a different QCL-typeD property from the third reference CORESET.
Nevertheless, Khoshnevisan discloses “the overlapping symbols are associated with different QCL-Type-D properties” [0048], “each CORESET of the second set of CORESETs may be associated with two QCL-Type-D properties, and each one of the two QCL-Type-D properties is different from the first monitoring QCL-Type-D property” [0065], “from the second set of CORESETs, the UE identifies a third set of CORESETs that completely overlaps the set of symbols 400” [0079], “a second set of CORESETs. Each CORESET of the second set of CORESETs occupies a symbol comprising a same QCL-Type-D property as an overlapping symbol of the set of symbols 400. PDCCH candidates in the second set of CORESETs may be monitored” [0078], “a second QCL-Type-D property of the two QCL-Type-D properties of the third CORESET is different from both the first QCL-Type-D property or the second QCL-Type-D property” [0117].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor the PDCCH in a second reference CORESET and/or in a CORESET having a same QCL-typeD property as the second reference CORESET, and monitoring, by the terminal, the PDCCH in a third reference CORESET and/or in a CORESET having a same QCL-typeD property as the third reference CORESET, wherein the second reference CORESET is one CORESET among the M CORESETs, the third reference CORESET is one CORESET among the M CORESETs, and the second reference CORESET has a different QCL-typeD property from the third reference CORESET because “a UE may identify multiple PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions across multiple CORESETs. The UE may attempt to decode one or more PDCCH candidates based on a priority rule” [0006].
Regarding claims 2, 41, 47, Chen, Khoshnevisan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Chen discloses all of the M CORESETs have a same quasi co-location type D (QCL-typeD) property; or there is a CORESET having a different QCL-typeD property among the M CORESETs; or there are CORESETs having a same QCL-typeD property among the M CORESETs (“PDCCH candidates 210 in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have a same or different QCL-TypeD properties” [0110]).
Regarding claims 3, 42, 48, Chen, Khoshnevisan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Chen discloses monitor the PDCCH in a first reference CORESET and/or in a CORESET having a same QCL-typeD property as the first reference CORESET, wherein the first reference CORESET is one CORESET among the M CORESETs (“the UE 115-a may select a CORESET in accordance with a priority rule and the UE 115-a may monitor for PDCCH candidates 210 in the CORESET and in any CORESET that has the same QCL-TypeD properties as the selected CORESET” [0111], “the UE 115-a may monitor PDCCH candidates 210 in a first CORESET, and any other CORESET from the multiple CORESETs having same QCL-TypeD properties as the first CORESET” [0110]).
Regarding claims 6, 43, 49, Chen, Khoshnevisan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Chen discloses in response to existence of a cell having a CORESET associated with a CSS in a first cell set in the overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions on the active DL BWP, the second reference CORESET is: a CORESET that belongs to a cell with a lowest index among the cell having the CORESET associated with a CSS in the first cell set, and is associated with a CSS with a lowest index, wherein the first cell set comprises: cells corresponding to the M CORESETs (“the first CORESET may correspond to a CSS set with a lowest index in the cell with the lowest index containing CSS” [0111]).
Regarding claims 7, 44, 50, Chen, Khoshnevisan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Chen discloses in response to absence of a cell having a CORESET associated with a CSS in a first cell set in the overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions on the active DL BWP, the second reference CORESET is: a CORESET that belongs to a cell with a lowest index among a cell having a CORESET associated with a USS in the first cell set, and is associated with a USS with a lowest index (“the first CORESET may correspond to a USS set with a lowest index in the cell with a lowest index .. Such a priority rule may be with respect to, firstly, whether the CORESET corresponds to a CSS set (associated with a relatively higher priority) or a USS set (associated with a relatively lower priority) and, secondly, to component carrier or serving cell index (in which a lowest index has a highest priority) and, thirdly, to SS set index (in which a lowest index has a highest priority)” [0111]).
Regarding claims 12, 45, 51, Chen, Khoshnevisan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Chen discloses in response to existence of the CORESET having the same QCL-typeD property as the second reference CORESET in a CORESET associated with PDCCH repetitions among the M CORESETs, and in response to existence of the CORESET associated with a CSS in a fourth CORESET, the third reference CORESET is: a CORESET that belongs to a cell with a lowest index among a cell to which the CORESET associated with a CSS in the fourth CORESET belongs, and belongs to the fourth CORESET and is associated with a CSS with a lowest index, wherein the fourth CORESET comprises: a CORESET having a different QCL-typeD property from the second reference CORESET in a CORESET associated with the CORESET having the same QCL-typeD property as the second reference CORESET among the M CORESETs; or the fourth CORESET comprises: a CORESET having a different QCL-typeD property from the second reference CORESET in the CORESET associated with PDCCH repetitions among the M CORESETs (“the UE 115-a monitors PDCCH candidates 210 in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in multiple CORESETs that have a same or different QCL-TypeD properties on one or more active downlink BWPs of one or more cells, the UE 115-a may monitor PDCCH candidates 210 in a first CORESET, and any other CORESET from the multiple CORESETs having same QCL-TypeD properties as the first CORESET, on the active downlink BWP of a cell from the one or more cells” [0110]).
Regarding claims 13, 46, Chen, Khoshnevisan discloses everything claimed as applied above. in response to existence of the CORESET having the same QCL-typeD property as the second reference CORESET in a CORESET associated with PDCCH repetitions among the M CORESETs, and in response to absence of the CORESET associated with a CSS in a fourth CORESET, the third reference CORESET is: a CORESET that belongs to a cell with a lowest index among a cell to which a CORESET associated with a USS in the fourth CORESET belongs, and belongs to the fourth CORESET and is associated with a USS with a lowest index (“the first CORESET may correspond to a USS set with a lowest index in the cell with a lowest index .. Such a priority rule may be with respect to, firstly, whether the CORESET corresponds to a CSS set (associated with a relatively higher priority) or a USS set (associated with a relatively lower priority) and, secondly, to component carrier or serving cell index (in which a lowest index has a highest priority) and, thirdly, to SS set index (in which a lowest index has a highest priority)” [0111]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462