Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (rectangular target carrier), Species b. (silver), and Species i (zinc) and claims 1-13, 15, and 16 in the reply filed on 3/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "The loader arm" in claim one is only referred to previously as Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a plurality of target carriers" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear whether this plurality of targets is different from the “at least one target” introduced in claim 1. Claim indicates there can be 1 or more targets in the group of targets, while the group of targets introduced in claim 3 must have 2 or more. It should be clarified in the claim language whether this is the same group of targets or a different group of targets.
The term “thin” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The "wall selectively expandable by coolant" of the target plug has been rendered indefinite by the use of the word "thin".
The term “front” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “front” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "The target material being disposed on the curved front face" has been rendered indefinite because it is unclear which side of the rectangular block body is considered the front.
Any claim not specifically addressed is rejected under 112b due to the claim’s dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bars (US 20210329772 A1) in view of Hirschfield et al. (US 3287592 A).
Regarding claim 1, Bars discloses (Fig. 4, 7B, 9, 11, 13, 14 and 24) a solid target irradiator system for producing radioisotopes, comprising:
a base (see frame in image below);
a target carrier feeding assembly (see fig. 24 above magazine subsystem in black boxes 300, 303, 302, and 315) coupled to the base ([0004] and [0078]), the target carrier feeding assembly having a target magazine (shelves and cartridges circled in grey in fig. 24 above) configured to hold at least one target carrier (cartridge 100 and pointed to by dashed black arrows) therein and feed (servo motor 315) the at least one target carrier (cartridge 100) for dissolution processing ([0053] and [0078]), each at least one target carrier (cartridge 100) having target material thereon (see solid black arrow on fig. 24 above) for subsequent irradiation;
a target loader assembly (servo motor 316 and positioning tray 202 see fig. 24 above) coupled to the base and spaced from the target carrier feeding assembly ([0005] and [0078]), the target loader assembly (servo motor 316 and positioning tray 202 see fig. 24 above) having a reciprocating loader arm (positioning tray 202) for selectively engaging and holding the at least one target carrier (cartridge 100) being fed by the target magazine (magazine subsystem 300), the loader arm (positioning tray 202) configured to move a held target carrier (cartridge 100) through the irradiator system to facilitate irradiation of the target material and dissolution of an irradiated target material (fig. 9 and 7B), the loader arm (positioning tray 202) having a cooling means (fig. 9 and 7B cooling channels 112a and 112b`) for internal cooling of the target material being irradiated;
and a target exit port adapted to be coupled to a cyclotron chamber in vacuum (Fig. 11 item 25),
and a dissolution assembly ([0071] foil, guide clamp, actuator, and guide clamp gasket Fig. 14 items 214 and 206) coupled to the base between the target carrier feeding assembly and the airlock assembly, the dissolution assembly ([0071] foil, guide clamp, actuator, and guide clamp gasket Fig. 14 items 214 and 206) having a selectively moveable dissolution housing (cartridge housing 102 Fig. 3) for engaging an irradiated target carrier with irradiated target material thereon, the dissolution housing having a cavity (chamber [0104], [0053], and [0006] and apertures 108 Fig. 4) in selective communication with the irradiated target carrier, the cavity configured to be filled with dissolution solvent to dissolute the irradiated target material and collect radionuclides for subsequent separation and production of radioisotopes (chamber pp. [0104], [0053], and [0006] and apertures 108 Fig. 4).
Bars does not disclose an airlock assembly coupled to the base and spaced from the target carrier feeding assembly, the airlock assembly having a gate valve, an airlock chamber within the gate valve for receiving the held target carrier therein, the airlock assembly configured to selectively establish a vacuum seal prior to introducing the held target carrier to the cyclotron chamber for irradiation; but Hirschfield teaches these.
Hirschfield is in the same solid target irradiation device art area and teaches an airlock assembly coupled to the base and spaced from the target carrier feeding assembly (fig. 1 a base 25, airlock assembly gasket 38, seal 34, and iridium seal 30, target 27), the airlock assembly having a gate valve (Fig. 1 seal 30), an airlock chamber within the gate valve (see fig. 1 space in target frame 25 for holding target members) for receiving the held target carrier therein, the airlock assembly configured to selectively establish a vacuum seal prior to introducing the held target carrier to the cyclotron chamber for irradiation (col 3 lines 25-47);
The combination of Hirschfield’s airlock assembly with Bars’ apparatus would have produced a solid target irradiation device with an airlock assembly and each element of the invention merely performs the same function as it did separately. The claim would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions. The motivation for modifying Bar’s apparatus to include Hirschfield’s airlock assembly would have been to provide a plurality of discrete target members positioned in an intercepting relationship with the accelerator beam without disturbance to the vacuum system thereof resulting in greater utility and economy of time and money (Col 2 lines 22 - 27 and col 1 lines 31-34).
Regarding claim 13, Bars in view of Hirschfield teaches all of the elements of the parent claim. Bars further discloses wherein the target carrier comprises: a substantially rectangular block body (Fig. 3 cartridge 100) having a curved front face (chamber 104 and [0066]), the target material being disposed on the curved front face ([0053] chamber 104); and a socket (see fig. 5 112a` and 112b` and Fig. 9) formed on a rear end of the substantially rectangular block body, the socket (see fig. 5 112a` and 112b` and Fig. 9) adapted to selectively engage and receive a distal end of the loader arm.
Regarding claim 15, Bars in view of Hirschfield teaches all of the elements of the parent claim. Bars further discloses wherein the target carrier comprises a target body, and a material of the target body is silver ([0055]).
Regarding claim 16, Bars in view of Hirschfield teaches all of the elements of the parent claim. Bars further discloses wherein the target material is zinc ([0053]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bars (US 20210329772 A1) in view of Hirschfield (US 3287592 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Bricault (US 2005/0069076 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bars in view of Hirschfield teaches all the elements of the parent claim. However, Bars in view of Hirschfield do not teach the airlock assembly as recited.
Bricault does. Bricault is in the same solid target irradiation device art area and teaches wherein the airlock assembly comprises an atmosphere control port in communication with the airlock chamber (fig. 3 item 10) and adapted to be coupled to an air pump (see air pumps in figure 3), the atmosphere control port facilitating selective vacuum within the airlock chamber (fig. 3 item 10) prior to introducing the held target carrier to the cyclotron chamber for irradiation and establishing ambient atmosphere within the airlock chamber after irradiation and retraction of the held target carrier back into the airlock chamber ([0106] and [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hirschfield’s airlock assembly and Bar’s apparatus with Bricault’s atmosphere control port and vacuum pumps to create an apparatus with an airlock assembly having a vacuum pump attachment, since each element was known in the art and each merely performs the same function they did individually. The motivation to combine would have been that a set of vacuum pumps makes it possible to reach in stages the high level of vacuum required in the accelerator and thus irradiation can be performed on-line in the irradiation chamber ([0106] and [0074]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to fix the 112b issues as noted in the 112b rejection section above.+
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/K.M.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646