DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18, 20, and 22 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s amendments/arguments filed 03/09/2026 with respect to 35 USC 103,
have been fully considered but moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references and/or rationale being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specification is utilized for the description citations below.
Regarding Claim 1 (and similarly claim 14), the phrase “the wrist has a limited rotational orientation change of between 0.1 degrees and 45 degrees between the first tool system performing the surface modification of the workpiece and the wiping medium removing fluid from the workpiece” is unclear. It is unclear if the rotation orientation change is about the X axis, Y axis, or Z axis. Additionally, it is unclear how the rotation can change the angle between the two tools as they are both attached to the same wrist that is a mounting adapter plate.
Regarding Claim 10, the phrase “the wrist has a limited rotational orientation change of between 0.1 degrees and 45 degrees between the first tool system performing the surface modification of the workpiece and the wiping medium removing fluid from the workpiece” is unclear. It is unclear if the rotation orientation change is about the X axis, Y axis, or Z axis. Additionally, it is unclear how the rotation can change the angle between the two tools as they are both attached to the same wrist that is a mounting adapter plate. No art has been developed for this claim because improper speculation as to the scope and meaning of the claims would be required by the examiner. See In re Steele 134 USPQ 292.
In the art rejection above, the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The applicant filed an IDS on 03/16/2026. It has been annotated and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 7-9, 12, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scafutto Scotton et al. (US 20190262966, hereinafter Scafutto) in view of Gagne et al. (US 20210394218, hereinafter Gagne).
Regarding claim 1, Scafutto teaches a robotic paint repair system comprising:
a robotic arm (see at least Fig. 4A and [0049]: “The platform 210 carries a robotic swivel base assembly 212 operatively connected to a proximal end of the upper arm assembly 214 to allow pivotal movements therebetween. The distal end of the upper arm assembly 214 is in turn in pivotally connected to the proximal end of the forearm assembly 216.”);
a first tool system comprising a first end effector coupled to a first tool configured to contact a workpiece to perform surface modification of the workpiece, wherein the first tool system is coupled to the robotic arm, wherein the first end effector is configured to actuate the first tool about a first axis to perform the surface modification of the workpiece (see at least Figs. 5A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0051]: “Pneumatically operated actuators 248 are carried by the support brackets 236 and are operatively connected to the mounting yokes 244 so as to allow individual movement of the sanding heads 240 towards and away from the fuselage surface during a sanding operation.”); and
a removal tool comprising a medium, wherein the removal tool is coupled to the robotic arm, wherein the removal tool is configured to actuate the medium about or along a second axis to remove material from the workpiece (see at least Figs. 5A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0052]: “More specifically, each of the pads 242 is mounted to the yoke 244 at the terminal ends of a respective pair of guide rods 246 each being mounted for sliding reciprocal movements within the support brackets 236.”); and
a wrist that is a mounting adapter plate that couples the first tool system and the removal tool to the robotic arm (see at least Figs. 4A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218.”);
wherein the wrist does not change a rotational orientation between the first tool performing the surface modification of the workpiece and the medium removing material from the workpiece (see at least Fig. 5A-5B and [0050-0052]: hand assembly 230 includes connection flange 232 (wrist that is a mounting adapter plate) that does not change a rotational orientation between the first sanding head assembly 240 (first tool) and the second sanding head assembly 240 (removal tool) with attachment pads 242 (medium removing material from the workpiece).), or the wrist has a limited rotational orientation change of between 0.1 degrees and 45 degrees between the first tool system performing the surface modification of the workpiece and the wiping medium removing fluid from the workpiece; and
wherein the first axis is offset from the second axis and the first axis is within 45 degrees of parallel with the second axis (see at least Fig. 5B, 9A, and [0051]: first sanding head assembly 240 (first tool) axis is offset from the second sanding head assembly 240 (medium removing material tool) axis and the first axis is within 45 degrees parallel with the second axis.).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach a fluid removal tool comprising a wiping medium.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises a fluid removal tool comprising a wiping medium (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool comprising a wiping medium, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Regarding claim 2, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1. Scafutto further teaches wherein the first axis and the second axis are substantially parallel being no more than 5 degrees from parallel in orientation (see at least Fig. 5B, 9A, and [0051]: first axis of the sanding head assembly and the second axis of the second sanding head assembly are parallel in orientation.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1. Scafutto further teaches wherein the first tool system is coupled to the robotic arm offset from the removal tool (see at least Fig. 5B, 9A, and [0050-0051]: sanding head assembly (first tool system) is coupled to the robotic arm and offset from the second sanding head assembly (the removal tool).).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach a fluid removal tool.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises a fluid removal tool (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Regarding claim 4, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1. Scafutto further teaches a second tool system comprising a second end effector coupled to a second tool configured to contact the workpiece, wherein the second tool system is coupled to the robotic arm (see at least Fig. 4A-6A and [0050-0052]: third sanding head assembly 240 (second tool system) comprises an additional end effector coupled to the third sanding head assembly 240 with attachment pad 242 to contact the fuselage (workpiece) and the third sanding head assembly 240 is coupled to the robot arm.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1. Scafutto further teaches wherein the medium is extensible and retractable axially along the second axis relative to the first tool (see at least Fig. 9A and [0052]: “The pads 242 are therefore capable of being independently rotated and are independently subjected to force control against the fuselage F by virtue of being extended/retracted by the actuator cylinder 248. That is, only one or more than one of the pads 242 may be rotated and/or brought to bear against the surface of the fuselage F as may be required.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wiping medium.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises wiping medium (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Regarding claim 8, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1. Scafutto further teaches wherein surface modification of the workpiece includes one of sanding, polishing or buffing the workpiece (see at least 4A-6A and [0050]: “Each sanding head assembly is provided with an attachment pad 242 for an abrasive disc at a terminal end thereof.”).
Regarding claim 9, Scafutto teaches a robotic paint repair system comprising:
a robotic arm (see at least Fig. 4A and [0049]: “The platform 210 carries a robotic swivel base assembly 212 operatively connected to a proximal end of the upper arm assembly 214 to allow pivotal movements therebetween. The distal end of the upper arm assembly 214 is in turn in pivotally connected to the proximal end of the forearm assembly 216.”);
a first tool system comprising a first end effector coupled to a first tool configured to contact a workpiece to perform surface modification of the workpiece, wherein the first end effector is configured to actuate the first tool about a first axis to perform the surface modification of the workpiece (see at least Figs. 5A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0051]: “Pneumatically operated actuators 248 are carried by the support brackets 236 and are operatively connected to the mounting yokes 244 so as to allow individual movement of the sanding heads 240 towards and away from the fuselage surface during a sanding operation.”);
a removal tool comprising a medium, wherein the removal tool is coupled to the robotic arm, wherein the removal tool is configured to actuate the medium about or along a second axis to remove material from the workpiece (see at least Figs. 5A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0052]: “More specifically, each of the pads 242 is mounted to the yoke 244 at the terminal ends of a respective pair of guide rods 246 each being mounted for sliding reciprocal movements within the support brackets 236.”); and
a wrist that is a mounting adapter plate that couples the first tool system and the removal tool to the robotic arm (see at least Figs. 4A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218.”);
wherein the first axis is offset from the second axis and the first axis is within 45 degrees of parallel with the second axis (see at least Fig. 5B, 9A, and [0051]: first sanding head assembly 240 (first tool) axis is offset from the second sanding head assembly 240 (medium removing material tool) axis and the first axis is within 45 degrees parallel with the second axis.); and
wherein the wrist does not change a rotational orientation between the first tool performing the surface modification of the workpiece and the medium removing material from the workpiece (see at least Fig. 5A-5B and [0050-0052]: hand assembly 230 includes connection flange 232 (wrist that is a mounting adapter plate) that does not change a rotational orientation between the first sanding head assembly 240 (first tool) and the second sanding head assembly 240 (removal tool) with attachment pads 242 (medium removing material from the workpiece).).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach a fluid removal tool and wiping medium removing fluid from the workpiece.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises a fluid removal tool and wiping medium removing fluid from the workpiece (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Regarding claim 12, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wherein the fluid comprises a sanding slurry.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects wherein a fluid comprises a sanding slurry (see at least [0039]: “A non-limiting example of the sanding composition can be a water-based composition. In certain examples, the sanding composition can include an abrasive and/or grit to aid in sanding the paint defect 104. Advantageously, the sanding composition can function as lubrication and/or an abrasive during a sanding process, such as a wet sanding process. It should be appreciated that different compositions can be employed for the sanding composition, such as a slurry, to aid in the sanding process.”; [0050]: “In instances, where the composition 120 is a sanding composition, the sanding process can result in the formation of a slurry. The slurry can facilitate stripping the layer of paint down to a non-defective substrate.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid that comprises a sanding slurry, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a sanding composition that function as lubrication and/or an abrasive during a sanding process [0039].
Regarding claim 14, Scafutto teaches a robotic paint repair system comprising:
a robotic arm (see at least Fig. 4A and [0049]: “The platform 210 carries a robotic swivel base assembly 212 operatively connected to a proximal end of the upper arm assembly 214 to allow pivotal movements therebetween. The distal end of the upper arm assembly 214 is in turn in pivotally connected to the proximal end of the forearm assembly 216.”);
a first tool system comprising a first end effector coupled to a first tool configured to contact a workpiece to perform a first surface modification of the workpiece, wherein the first end effector is configured to actuate the first tool about a first axis to perform the first surface modification of the workpiece (see at least Figs. 5A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0051]: “Pneumatically operated actuators 248 are carried by the support brackets 236 and are operatively connected to the mounting yokes 244 so as to allow individual movement of the sanding heads 240 towards and away from the fuselage surface during a sanding operation.”);
a second tool system comprising a second end effector coupled to a second tool configured to contact the workpiece (see at least Fig. 4A-6A and [0050-0052]: third sanding head assembly 240 (second tool system) comprises an additional end effector coupled to the third sanding head assembly 240 with attachment pad 242 to contact the fuselage (workpiece).);
a removal tool comprising a medium, wherein the removal tool is coupled to the robotic arm, wherein the removal tool is configured to actuate the medium about or along a second axis to remove material from the workpiece (see at least Figs. 5A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0052]: “More specifically, each of the pads 242 is mounted to the yoke 244 at the terminal ends of a respective pair of guide rods 246 each being mounted for sliding reciprocal movements within the support brackets 236.”); and
a wrist that is a mounting adapter plate that couples the first tool system and the removal tool to the robotic arm (see at least Figs. 4A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218.”);
wherein the first axis is offset from and substantially parallel with the second axis (see at least Fig. 5B, 9A, and [0051]: first sanding head assembly 240 (first tool) axis is offset from the second sanding head assembly 240 (medium removing material tool) axis and the first axis is substantially parallel with the second axis.);
wherein the first tool is coupled to the robotic arm (see at least Fig. 5B, 9A, and [0050-0051]: sanding head assembly (first tool system) is coupled to the robotic arm and offset from the second sanding head assembly (the removal tool).);
wherein the second tool is configured to perform one of a second surface modification of the workpiece or a second removal of material from the workpiece (see at least Fig. 4A-6A and [0050-0052]: third sanding head assembly 240 (second tool system) with attachment pad 242 performs surface modification when contacting the fuselage (workpiece).); and
wherein the wrist does not change a rotational orientation between the first tool performing the first surface modification of the workpiece and the medium removing material from the workpiece (see at least Fig. 5A-5B and [0050-0052]: hand assembly 230 includes connection flange 232 (wrist that is a mounting adapter plate) that does not change a rotational orientation between the first sanding head assembly 240 (first tool) and the second sanding head assembly 240 (removal tool) with attachment pads 242 (medium removing material from the workpiece).) or the wrist has a limited rotational orientation change of between 0.1 degrees and 45 degrees between the first tool performing the first surface modification of the workpiece and the wiping medium removing fluid from the workpiece.
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach a fluid removal tool comprising a wiping medium.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises a fluid removal tool comprising a wiping medium (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool comprising a wiping medium, with a reasonable expectation of success, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Regarding claim 16, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 14. Scafutto further teaches wherein the medium is extensible and retractable axially along the second axis relative to the first tool or the second tool (see at least Fig. 9A and [0052]: “The pads 242 are therefore capable of being independently rotated and are independently subjected to force control against the fuselage F by virtue of being extended/retracted by the actuator cylinder 248. That is, only one or more than one of the pads 242 may be rotated and/or brought to bear against the surface of the fuselage F as may be required.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wiping medium.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises wiping medium (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Regarding claim 20, Scafutto teaches a method of performing automated paint repair on a workpiece, the method comprising:
providing a first tool mounted to a robotic arm via a wrist that is a mounting adapter plate (see at least Figs. 4A-6A and [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218. A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240.”; [0051]: “Pneumatically operated actuators 248 are carried by the support brackets 236 and are operatively connected to the mounting yokes 244 so as to allow individual movement of the sanding heads 240 towards and away from the fuselage surface during a sanding operation.”);
actuating the first tool to perform a surface modification of the workpiece (see at least [0052]: “Rotation of each pad 242 is driven by a suitable motor 250 operatively carried by a base 251 attached to the yoke 244 and operatively connected to the associated pad 242. The pads 242 are therefore capable of being independently rotated and are independently subjected to force control against the fuselage F by virtue of being extended/retracted by the actuator cylinder 248. That is, only one or more than one of the pads 242 may be rotated and/or brought to bear against the surface of the fuselage F as may be required.”);
moving a second tool configured to perform removing of the workpiece without manipulating a rotational axis of the wrist of the robotic arm (see at least Fig. 5A-5B and [0050-0052]: second sanding head assembly (second tool) removes material from the workpiece without manipulating a rotational axis of the connection flange 232 (wrist) of the robotic arm since each sanding head assembly is driven by a suitable motor 250.); and
removing material of the workpiece with the second tool (see at least [0052]: “Rotation of each pad 242 is driven by a suitable motor 250 operatively carried by a base 251 attached to the yoke 244 and operatively connected to the associated pad 242. The pads 242 are therefore capable of being independently rotated and are independently subjected to force control against the fuselage F by virtue of being extended/retracted by the actuator cylinder 248. That is, only one or more than one of the pads 242 may be rotated and/or brought to bear against the surface of the fuselage F as may be required.”; [0056]: “The force control and the speed of the robot motion is controlled to define the total film thickness that will be removed by the automated process.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wiping of the workpiece with the tool.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises wiping of the workpiece with a tool (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide means to wipe a workpiece with a tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 5, 6, 13, 15, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scafutto Scotton et al. (US 20190262966, hereinafter Scafutto) and Gagne et al. (US 20210394218, hereinafter Gagne) and in further view of Liu (US 20130244551, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 5, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wherein the first and second tools are positioned between 90 degrees and 180 degrees apart, inclusive, on the robotic arm.
However, Liu teaches an apparatus and system for a polishing mechanism that comprises wherein a first and second tools are positioned between 90 degrees and 180 degrees apart, inclusive, on a robotic arm (see at least Figs. 1-2 and [0015]: “The polishing mechanism 100 includes a support base 10, a pair of magnetic valves 20, a first polishing assembly 30, a second polishing assembly 50, an adjusting assembly 70 and a shielding cover 90.”; [0023]: “Referring to FIGS. 5 and 6, the second polishing assembly 50 is similar to the first polishing assembly 30 in structure. The difference between the two polishing assemblies is that a size of the disc sander 37 of the second polishing assembly 50 is greater than that of the first polishing assembly 30.”; Fig. 7 and [0027]: “Referring to FIG. 7, when in use, the workpiece 200 is fittingly fixed. The manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move below the workpiece 200. The first polishing assembly 30 is controlled by one magnetic valve 20 to polish the top surface 205 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move toward a periphery of the workpiece 200, the first polishing assembly 30 polishes an outer surface of the sidewall 203 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move above the workpiece 200, the second polishing assembly 50 polishes an outer surface of the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200. The burrs that are formed on the top surface 205, the sidewall 203, and the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200 are removed by the polishing mechanism 100. The adjusting assembly 70 can adjust the amount of pressing force of the polishing mechanism 100 on the workpiece 200 when working.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide a means wherein a first and second tools are positioned between 90 degrees and 180 degrees apart, inclusive, on a robotic arm, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means to polish the surface of a workpiece using different sizes disc sanders without having to swap out tools [0023].
Regarding claim 6, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 4. Scafutto further teaches wherein the removal tool, the first end effector, and the second end effector are mounted to force control device (see at least Fig. 4A-6A and [0050]: “A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240. Each sanding head assembly is provided with an attachment pad 242 for an abrasive disc at a terminal end thereof.”; [0052]: “The actuator cylinders 248 are also connected to each respective yoke 244 to drive the yoke 244, and hence the attachment pad 242 attached thereto, between extended and retracted positions relative to the support brackets 236.”; [0055]: “The force against the fuselage surface F is controlled by the pneumatic cylinders 248 that can be operated independently.” First sanding assembly, second sanding assembly, and third sanding assembly are mounted on the same force control device.)
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach a fluid removal tool.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises a fluid removal tool (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
The combination of Scafutto and Gagne fails to explicitly teach wherein multiple tools are coupled to the robotic arm via a same force controller.
However, Liu teaches an apparatus and system for a polishing mechanism that comprises multiple tools are coupled to a robotic arm via a same force controller (see at least Figs. 1-2 and [0015]: “The polishing mechanism 100 includes a support base 10, a pair of magnetic valves 20, a first polishing assembly 30, a second polishing assembly 50, an adjusting assembly 70 and a shielding cover 90.”; Fig. 7 and [0027]: “Referring to FIG. 7, when in use, the workpiece 200 is fittingly fixed. The manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move below the workpiece 200. The first polishing assembly 30 is controlled by one magnetic valve 20 to polish the top surface 205 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move toward a periphery of the workpiece 200, the first polishing assembly 30 polishes an outer surface of the sidewall 203 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move above the workpiece 200, the second polishing assembly 50 polishes an outer surface of the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200. The burrs that are formed on the top surface 205, the sidewall 203, and the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200 are removed by the polishing mechanism 100. The adjusting assembly 70 can adjust the amount of pressing force of the polishing mechanism 100 on the workpiece 200 when working.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto and Gagne to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide multiple tools that are coupled to a robotic arm via a same force controller, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control multiple tools at once using the same controller to adjust force [0027].
Regarding claim 13, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 1. Scafutto further teaches wherein the removal tool and the first end effector are mounted to force control device (see at least Fig. 4A-6A and [0050]: “A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240. Each sanding head assembly is provided with an attachment pad 242 for an abrasive disc at a terminal end thereof.”; [0052]: “The actuator cylinders 248 are also connected to each respective yoke 244 to drive the yoke 244, and hence the attachment pad 242 attached thereto, between extended and retracted positions relative to the support brackets 236.”; [0055]: “The force against the fuselage surface F is controlled by the pneumatic cylinders 248 that can be operated independently.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach a fluid removal tool.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises a fluid removal tool (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a fluid removal tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
The combination of Scafutto and Gagne fails to explicitly teach wherein multiple tools are coupled to the robotic arm via a same force controller.
However, Liu teaches an apparatus and system for a polishing mechanism that comprises multiple tools are coupled to a robotic arm via a same force controller (see at least Figs. 1-2 and [0015]: “The polishing mechanism 100 includes a support base 10, a pair of magnetic valves 20, a first polishing assembly 30, a second polishing assembly 50, an adjusting assembly 70 and a shielding cover 90.”; Fig. 7 and [0027]: “Referring to FIG. 7, when in use, the workpiece 200 is fittingly fixed. The manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move below the workpiece 200. The first polishing assembly 30 is controlled by one magnetic valve 20 to polish the top surface 205 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move toward a periphery of the workpiece 200, the first polishing assembly 30 polishes an outer surface of the sidewall 203 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move above the workpiece 200, the second polishing assembly 50 polishes an outer surface of the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200. The burrs that are formed on the top surface 205, the sidewall 203, and the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200 are removed by the polishing mechanism 100. The adjusting assembly 70 can adjust the amount of pressing force of the polishing mechanism 100 on the workpiece 200 when working.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto and Gagne to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide multiple tools that are coupled to a robotic arm via a same force controller, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control multiple tools at once using the same controller to adjust force [0027].
Regarding claim 15, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 14. Scafutto further teaches wherein the first tool and the second tool are coupled to the robotic arm via force controller (see at least Fig. 4A-6A and [0050]: “A central control column 234 includes radially spaced-apart support brackets 236 each carrying a respective sanding head assembly 240. Each sanding head assembly is provided with an attachment pad 242 for an abrasive disc at a terminal end thereof.”; [0052]: “The actuator cylinders 248 are also connected to each respective yoke 244 to drive the yoke 244, and hence the attachment pad 242 attached thereto, between extended and retracted positions relative to the support brackets 236.”; [0055]: “The force against the fuselage surface F is controlled by the pneumatic cylinders 248 that can be operated independently.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wherein multiple tools are coupled to the robotic arm via a same force controller.
However, Liu teaches an apparatus and system for a polishing mechanism that comprises multiple tools are coupled to a robotic arm via a same force controller (see at least Figs. 1-2 and [0015]: “The polishing mechanism 100 includes a support base 10, a pair of magnetic valves 20, a first polishing assembly 30, a second polishing assembly 50, an adjusting assembly 70 and a shielding cover 90.”; Fig. 7 and [0027]: “Referring to FIG. 7, when in use, the workpiece 200 is fittingly fixed. The manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move below the workpiece 200. The first polishing assembly 30 is controlled by one magnetic valve 20 to polish the top surface 205 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move toward a periphery of the workpiece 200, the first polishing assembly 30 polishes an outer surface of the sidewall 203 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move above the workpiece 200, the second polishing assembly 50 polishes an outer surface of the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200. The burrs that are formed on the top surface 205, the sidewall 203, and the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200 are removed by the polishing mechanism 100. The adjusting assembly 70 can adjust the amount of pressing force of the polishing mechanism 100 on the workpiece 200 when working.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide multiple tools that are coupled to a robotic arm via a same force controller, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control multiple tools at once using the same controller to adjust force [0027].
Regarding claim 22, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 14. Scafutto further teaches reorientating the wrist about the rotational axis (see at least Fig. 6A-6B and [0049]: “A wrist assembly 218 is rotatably provided at the terminal end of the forearm assembly 216. The robotic hand assembly 230 is operatively connected to the wrist assembly 218.”; [0050]: “The robotic hand assembly 230 is depicted in greater detail accompanying FIGS. 5A and 5B. As shown therein, the hand assembly 230 includes a connection flange 232 so as to operatively connect the hand assembly 230 to the wrist assembly 218.”); and
actuating a third tool mounted to the robotic arm via the wrist to perform work on the workpiece after the sanding of the workpiece (see at least Fig. 6A-6B and [0054]: “The central control column 234 of the robotic wrist 230 also carries a spray nozzle assembly 252 that includes individual nozzles 252a. 252b and 252c each of which is fluid-connected to a supply line 254a, 254b and 254c, respectively, to a source of supply (not shown) of a liquid to be dispensed against the surface of the fuselage F during surface preparation for painting (e.g., a degreaser solution applied in step 40 of FIG. 1, an acid wash solution applied in step 65 of FIG. 1, and/or rinse water applied in steps 45, 60 and 70 of FIG. 1.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wiping of the workpiece.
However, Gagne teaches a method and system for repairing paint defects that
comprises wiping of the workpiece (see at least [0058]: “In certain examples, the robotic applicator 108 can also include a waste remover (not shown). The robotic applicator 108 can be configured to position the waste remover adjacent to the paint defect 104. The waste remover can be configured to remove excess waste from the sanding process and/or the polishing process. The excess waste can include excess polish, water, particles, clear coat, and/or paint swarf. Non-limiting examples of the waste remover or wiper can include fabric, a brush, a blowing operation, a vacuum operation, etc. It should be appreciated that one skilled in the art can select different technologies for the waste remover, as appropriate for the given application.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Gagne and provide a means to wipe a workpiece, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to wipe away and remove any excess fluid waste [0058].
The combination of Scafutto and Gagne fails to explicitly teach actuating the second tool to perform buffing of the workpiece.
However, Liu teaches an apparatus and system for a polishing mechanism that actuates a second tool mounted to a robotic arm via a wrist to perform buffing of a workpiece (see at least Figs. 1-2 and [0015]: “The polishing mechanism 100 includes a support base 10, a pair of magnetic valves 20, a first polishing assembly 30, a second polishing assembly 50, an adjusting assembly 70 and a shielding cover 90.”; Fig. 7 and [0027]: “Referring to FIG. 7, when in use, the workpiece 200 is fittingly fixed. The manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move below the workpiece 200. The first polishing assembly 30 is controlled by one magnetic valve 20 to polish the top surface 205 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move toward a periphery of the workpiece 200, the first polishing assembly 30 polishes an outer surface of the sidewall 203 of the workpiece 200. When the manipulator 300 drives the polishing mechanism 100 to move above the workpiece 200, the second polishing assembly 50 polishes an outer surface of the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200. The burrs that are formed on the top surface 205, the sidewall 203, and the base wall 201 of the workpiece 200 are removed by the polishing mechanism 100. The adjusting assembly 70 can adjust the amount of pressing force of the polishing mechanism 100 on the workpiece 200 when working.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto and Gagne to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide a means to actuates a second tool to perform buffing of a workpiece, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an additional tool to polish the workpiece using different sizes disc sanders without having to swap out tools [0023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Scafutto Scotton et al. (US 20190262966, hereinafter Scafutto) and Gagne et al. (US 20210394218, hereinafter Gagne) and in further view of Trnka (US 20150099425, hereinafter Trnka).
Regarding claim 18, modified Scafutto teaches the limitations of claim 14. Scafutto further teaches wherein at least one of the first tool system and the second tool system is coupled to a robotic arm (see at least Fig. 4A and [0049-0052]: “The platform 210 carries a robotic swivel base assembly 212 operatively connected to a proximal end of the upper arm assembly 214 to allow pivotal movements therebetween.”).
Scafutto fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first tool system and the second tool system is coupled to a second robotic arm.
However, Trnka teaches a method and apparatus for automated sanding that comprises a second tool system coupled to a second robotic arm (see at least Fig. 1 and [0032]: “In this illustrative example, first end effector 108 is associated with first robotic device 104 and second end effector 110 is associated with second robotic device 106. As used herein, when one component is "associated" with another component, the association is a physical association in the depicted examples.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scafutto to incorporate the teachings of Trnka and provide a second tool system coupled to a second robotic arm, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide additional dexterity when sanding a workpiece.
Conclusion
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656