DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-4, 21-36 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-4, 21-36 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 5-20 is/are cancelled by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 22, 27, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 22, 27, 34, the disclosure as originally filed does not provide adequate support for the exclusion of “recycled polyethylene terephthalate”, particularly when the disclosure as originally filed contains no discussion or mention of recycled materials. Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion. See MPEP 2173.05(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-4, 21-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• JP 2004-123984 (SUZUKI-JP ‘984).
SUZUKI-JP ‘984 discloses polyethylene terephthalate (PET)-based copolyester resins, wherein the copolyester derived from:
(A) a dicarboxylic acid component (a total of 100 mol%) comprising:
(1) 70-100 mol% of terephthalic acid (TPA) (corresponding to recited “component (A1)”);
(2) the remainder (i.e., up to 30 mol%) of other dicarboxylic acid(s) (e.g., aromatic dicarboxylic acids such as isophthalic acid (IPA) (corresponding to recited “component (A2)”), etc.);
(B) a glycol component (a total of 100 mol%) comprising:
(1) 60-99 mol% ethylene glycol (EG) (corresponding to the recited “component (B1);
(2) 1-40 mol% (preferably 5-25 mol%) neopentyl glycol (NPG) (corresponding to the recited “component (B2)”);
(3) less than 3 mol% diethylene glycol (corresponding to recited “component (B3)”);
wherein the PET-based copolyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.6-1.0 dL/g. Compositions containing the PET-based copolyester compositions are useful to produce a variety of molded products (e.g., molded containers, etc.). (entire document, e.g., paragraph 0003, 0015, 0019-0020, 0022-0023, 0025, etc.; Table 1, etc.)
Regarding claims 1-2, 21, 24-26, 31-33, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate known dicarboxylic acids in known amounts (e.g., isophthalic acid, in amounts of up to 30 mol%, based on the total amount of dicarboxylic acid component) in the PET-based copolyesters of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in order to produce polyester resin composition suitable for forming molded articles for various applications.
Further regarding claims 1-2, 24, 26, 31, 33, since SUZUKI-JP ‘984 discloses copolyesters derived from: (A)(2) up to 30 mol% of other dicarboxylic acid(s) such as isophthalic acid (corresponding to recited “component (A2)”); and (B)(2) 1-40 mol% neopentyl glycol (NPG) (corresponding to the recited “component (B2)”); the PET-based copolyesters of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 disclose PET-based copolyesters wherein the sum of (A)(2) + (B)(2) at least partially overlaps the recited (A2)+(B2) range of 24-43 mol% (claims 1, 24, 31) or 27-40 mol% (claims 2, 26, 33).
Regarding claims 3, 28, 35, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the molecular weight (as represented by intrinsic viscosity) of the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in order to produce molding compositions with the optimal melt viscosity at 180 ºC for specific molding methods and apparatus, and specific product structures (e.g., lower melt viscosities provide for greater fluidity which can facilitate the molding of complex and/or intricate and/or narrow shapes, etc.).
Regarding claims 4, 29, 36, one of ordinary skill in the art would have: (1) selected the composition of the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 (e.g., through appropriate selection of types and amounts of comonomers, etc.); and/or (2) incorporated effective amounts of known flexibility-enhancing and/or elongation-enhancing additives (e.g., more flexible resins and/or elastomeric resins, etc.) in molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984; in order to produce molded articles with sufficient flexibility or stretchability (as represented by tensile elongation of at least 100%) for specific packaging or film applications (e.g., packaging and/or containers capable of bending or flexing without cracking or breaking; packaging or films that resist tearing, penetration, puncturing, and/or tampering (e.g., tamper-resistant packaging; protective or reinforcing films for windows or glass laminates, etc.); packaging and/or articles which can be made using cold-forming methods; etc.).
Regarding claims 4, 29, 36, one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated effective amounts of known impact strength-increasing additives (e.g., rubbery and/or elastomeric impact modifiers; reinforcing fibers or fillers; etc.) in molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in order to obtain molded article with with sufficiently high Charpy impact strength to meet the performance requirements for specific end-use applications (e.g., to prevent cracking or breakage in containers when dropped or struck, etc.).
Regarding claims 22, 27, 34, the presence of recycled PET resin is not required in molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984.
Regarding claims 23, 30-36, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in known packaging applications such as containers for cosmetic products.
The Examiner cautions that if Applicant chooses to argue that the physical properties recited in claims 3-4, 28-29, 35-36 cannot be obtained by one of ordinary skill in the art using known improvement and/or modification techniques or methods (e.g., as discussed above) using routine experimentation, this may raise significant issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement, and that Applicant’s arguments and/or assertions may be used as admissions or supporting evidence with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement
Claim(s) 4, 29, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• JP 2004-123984 (SUZUKI-JP ‘984),
as applied to claims 1-4, 21-36 above,
and further in view of WADA ET AL (US 5,086,104) or MOCHIZUKI ET AL (US 5,115,004).
WADA ET AL ‘104 and MOCHIZUKI ET AL ‘004 disclose that it is well known in the art to combine PET-based (co)polyesters with minor amounts of polyester elastomers in order to produce molded articles with enhanced elongation (e.g., 100% or more) and/or improved impact resistance for specific applications requiring flexibility and toughness. (WADA ET AL ‘104, line 30-61, col. 3; line 5-12, col. 4; Table 1; etc.) (MOCHIZUKI ET AL ‘004, line 60, col. 2 to line 45, col. 3; line 41-53, col. 4; Table 1-2; etc.)
Regarding claims 4, 29, 36, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate effective minor amounts of known flexibility-enhancing and/or elongation-enhancing additives (e.g., thermoplastic polyester elastomers, as suggested in WADA ET AL ‘104 or MOCHIZUKI ET AL ‘004) in molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in order to produce molded articles with sufficient flexibility or stretchability (as represented by tensile elongation of at least 100%) for specific packaging or film applications (e.g., packaging and/or containers capable of bending or flexing without cracking or breaking; packaging or films that resist tearing, penetration, puncturing, and/or tampering (e.g., tamper-resistant packaging; protective or reinforcing films for windows or glass laminates, etc.); packaging and/or articles which can be made using cold-forming methods; etc.).
Further regarding claims 4, 29, 36, one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated effective amounts of known impact strength-increasing additives (e.g., rubbery and/or elastomeric impact modifiers as suggested in WADA ET AL ‘104 or MOCHIZUKI ET AL ‘004; and/or reinforcing fibers or fillers; etc.) in molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in order to obtain molded article with sufficiently high Charpy impact strength to meet the performance requirements for specific end-use applications (e.g., to prevent cracking or breakage in containers when dropped or struck, etc.).
The Examiner cautions that if Applicant chooses to argue that the physical properties recited in claims 4, 29, 36 cannot be obtained by one of ordinary skill in the art using known improvement and/or modification techniques or methods (e.g., as discussed above) using routine experimentation, this may raise significant issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement, and that Applicant’s arguments and/or assertions may be used as admissions or supporting evidence with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement.
Claim(s) 23, 30-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• JP 2004-123984 (SUZUKI-JP ‘984),
as applied to claims 1-4, 21-36 above,
and further in view of KITA ET AL (US 2013/0267674).
KITA ET AL ‘674 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize polyester resins (e.g., PET, etc.) to form molded articles (e.g., containers for cosmetics, etc.). (paragraph 0002, 0051-0057, etc.)
Regarding 23, 30-36, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize molding compositions comprising the PET-based copolyester of SUZUKI-JP ‘984 in known molded product applications such as containers for cosmetic products (as suggested in KITA ET AL ‘674).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/22/2025 (e.g., regarding TREECE ET AL ‘993, etc.) have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the Claim Amendments filed 12/22/2025.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LACROIX ET AL (US 7,022,768) disclose impact-modified PET (co)polyester compositions.
JP 2008-013664 and OHASHI ET AL (US 2016/0237207) and ITO ET AL (US 2020/0024388) disclose PET copolyesters at least partially derived from NPG.
SUZUKI ET AL (US 6,500,506) and ODAJIMA ET AL (US 5,397,610) and ODATE ET AL (US 5,089,309) disclose cosmetic containers formed from PET-based (co)polyesters.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
April 1, 2026
/VIVIAN CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787