Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/EP2022/062129 filed 5-5-22, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EPO EP21173021.3 filed 5-10-21.
Information Disclosure Statement
These information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8-29-24, 2-17-25, 5-30-25 & 7-29-25. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11-10-23. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 & 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 111448841 A) in view of Liu (US 2024/0306209 A1).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original)
A user equipment, UE, for accessing a slice specific random-access channel, RACH, resources pool, wherein the UE is in connected-mode with an inactive state and triggers a random-access, RA, procedure for resumption of a radio resource control, RRC, connection {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp15, ¶2 wherein “the NAS layer provides access category information to the AS layer when requesting the AS layer to initiate the RRC connection, and the AS layer then initiates a random access to establish an RRC connection”; ¶7-¶8 wherein “the UE is in one of the following items: idle state (idle) or inactive state (inactive)}, wherein the UE is configured to:
- provide at least one slice identifier from a non-access stratum, NAS, layer to an access stratum, AS, layer {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp15, ¶2 wherein “the NAS layer provides access category information to the AS layer when requesting the AS layer to initiate the RRC connection, and the AS layer then initiates a random access to establish an RRC connection”; ¶7-¶8 wherein “the UE is in one of the following items: idle state (idle) or inactive state (inactive);” and ¶9 wherein “when the network configures the first random access configuration information corresponding to different access categories for the UE, the access category is corresponding to the slice; when the UE has the uplink service, the NAS layer establishes a wireless connection at the request AS layer, and indicates the access category corresponding to the access at the same time”}; and
- determine, by the AS layer, at least one network slice to use for the RRC connection based on the provided at least one slice identifier layer {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp15, ¶9 wherein “the AS layer of the UE judges the target slice corresponding to the service according to the access category; from the first random access configuration information of the access category corresponding to the target slice, selecting the random access resource configured for the target slice.”}.
Jiang does not explicitly disclose resource pool.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu (US 2024/0306209 A1) discloses a resource pool {Liu: ¶0007 wherein “The method is applied to a user equipment (UE) and includes receiving resource configuration information, in which the resource configuration information is configured to configure resources in a specified random access resource pool corresponding to at least one network slice, determining a first random access resource based on slice information of target network slices and the resource configuration information, in which the target network slices are network slices for the UE to initiate a random access, and initiating the random access based on the first random access resource.”}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to Liu’s teaching to Jiang’s system with the motivation being to the motivation being to improve “network congestion”{Liu: ¶0033} and to “reduce interference”{Liu: ¶0036}.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) With the same reasons as set forth in the UE according to claim 7, wherein the at least one slice identifier corresponds to a single network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, comprising a standardized slice/service type, SST. {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp17, ¶4 wherein “the slice can be through single network slice selection auxiliary information (SingleNetwork Slice Selection Assistance Information, S-NSSAI) identification, or through slicing/service type (SST) identification”; Liu: ¶0174 wherein “the slice information of the target network slices may include, but is not limited to, at least one of single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a slice service type (SST), a slice differentiator (SD) identifier, a slice index, or an operator defined access type.”}
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) With the same reasons as set forth in the UE according to claim 10, wherein the S-NSSAI further comprises an operator defined access category that correspond to a network slice. {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp17, ¶4 wherein “the slice can be through single network slice selection auxiliary information (SingleNetwork Slice Selection Assistance Information, S-NSSAI) identification or through slicing/service type (SST) identification”; Liu: ¶0174 wherein “the slice information of the target network slices may include, but is not limited to, at least one of single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a slice service type (SST), a slice differentiator (SD) identifier, a slice index, or an operator defined access type.”}
Regarding Claim 1. (Original)
-Claim 1 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
A method for accessing a network slice specific random-access channel, RACH, resources pool at a user equipment, UE, wherein the UE is in connected-mode with an inactive state and triggers a random-access, RA, procedure for resumption of a radio resource control, RRC, connection, comprising:
- providing at least one slice identifier from a non-access stratum, NAS, layer to an access stratum, AS, layer; and
- determining, by the AS layer, at least one network slice to use for the RRC connection based on the provided at least one slice identifier.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The method according to any one of claim[s] 1, wherein the at least one slice identifier corresponds to a single network slice selection assistance information, S- NSSAI, comprising a standardized slice/service type, SST.
-Claim 4 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 7 & 10.
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) The method according to claim 4, wherein the S-NSSAI further comprises an operator defined access category that correspond to a network slice.
-Claim 5 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 7 & 11.
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) A computer program comprising computer program code which, when executed by a computer, causes at least one computer to perform the method of claim 1. {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp35 & ¶2-¶5 wherein “computer storage medium is stored with computer executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions for executing the communication method of each of the embodiments.”}
Regarding Claim 16. (Currently Amended) A computer program product comprising program instructions stored on a computer readable medium to execute the method according to claim 1 when said program is executed on a computer {Jiang (CN 111448841 A): pp35 & ¶2-¶5 wherein “computer storage medium is stored with computer executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions for executing the communication method of each of the embodiments.”}.
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) With the same reasons as set forth in the UE according to claim 11, wherein the UE is further configured to:- apply RACH configuration parameters corresponding to the at least one determined network slice for the RA procedure selection and preamble transmission {Liu: ¶0007 wherein “a user equipment (UE) and includes receiving resource configuration information, in which the resource configuration information is configured to configure resources in a specified random access resource pool corresponding to at least one network slice, determining a first random access resource based on slice information of target network slices and the resource configuration information, in which the target network slices are network slices for the UE to initiate a random access, and initiating the random access based on the first random access resource.” In other words, by determined that the first random access resource based on slice information, the UE has applied RACH configuration parameter corresponding to the determined slice for initiated a random access, as claimed, emphasis added; see also step 1403-Fig.14}.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended)
With the same reasons as set forth in claim 7, Liu disclose “a base station, BS {Liu: base station, Fig.14}, for resumption of a radio resource control, RRC, connection with a user equipment, UE, according to claim 7, wherein the BS is configured to:
- configure a network slice specific random-access channel, RACH, configuration per network slice or network slice group, wherein the RACH configuration is associated with a slice identifier; - transmit the RACH configuration to the UE {Liu: step 1401-Fig.14 & ¶0226-¶0229 wherein ¶0226 “the base station may send the slice information of the target network slices to the UE in different ways, so that the UE may determine the first random access resource for initiating the random access based on the slice information of the target network slices and the resource configuration information, which is easy to implement and high in availability”. ¶0227-¶0229 “In some optional embodiments, referring to FIG. 14, FIG. 14 is a flow chart showing a random access method according to an embodiment. The method may include steps as follows. In step 1401, a base station sends resource configuration information. The resource configuration information is configured to configure resources in a specified random access resource pool corresponding to at least one network slice. After determining the resource configuration information, the base station sends it to the UE. ”} and
- receive a preamble transmission of the UE comprising RACH configuration parameters corresponding to the transmitted RACH configuration {Liu: step 1403-Fig.14 & ¶230-¶0232 wherein “In step 1403, the UE initiates a random access based on the first random access resource”}.
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended)
-Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasons a set forth in claims 7 & 13.
A wireless communication system comprising a base station, BS, and a user equipment, UE, wherein the system is configured to:
- configure, at the BS, a network slice specific random-access channel, RACH, configuration per network slice or network slice group, wherein the RACH configuration is associated with a slice identifier;
- transmit the RACH configuration from the at the BS to the UE;
- provide at least one slice identifier from a non-access stratum, NAS, layer of the UE to an access stratum, AS, layer of the UE;
- determine, by the AS layer of the UE, a network slice or a group of network slices to use for the RRC connection based on the provided at least one slice identifier; and
- transmit a preamble comprising RACH configuration parameters corresponding to the determined RACH configuration from the UE to the BS.
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1 further comprising:- applying RACH configuration parameters corresponding to the at least one determined network slice for the RA procedure selection and preamble transmission.
-Claim 6 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 7 & 12.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 111448841 A) in view of Liu (US 2024/0306209 A1), as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Cheng (US 2024/0049290 A1).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) With the same reasons as set forth in the method according to claim 1, Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein providing the at least one slice identifier is performed in response to the RA procedure being triggered due to at least one uplink user data packet of one or more protocol data unit, PDU, sessions, and wherein the at least one slice identifier is associated with the PDU sessions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cheng (US 2024/0049290 A1) disclose wherein providing the at least one slice identifier is performed in response to the RA procedure being triggered due to at least one uplink user data packet of one or more protocol data unit, PDU, sessions, and wherein the at least one slice identifier is associated with the PDU sessions {Cheng: ¶0100 wherein “the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120 in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, a paging message that includes an indication identifying an intended slice for a PDU session associated with downlink (e.g., MT) traffic for the UE 120. The UE 120 may receive the paging message including the indication identifying the intended slice, and the UE 120 may select RACH resources and/or RACH parameters based at least in part on the intended slice. The UE 120 may transmit, to the base station 110, a request to initiate a slice-aware RACH procedure using the selected RACH resources and/or RACH parameters.” See also ¶0181 wherein “A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, a paging message that includes an indication identifying an intended slice for a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with downlink traffic for the UE; and transmitting, to a base station, a request to initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure based at least in part on the intended slice.”}
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to Cheng’s teaching to Jiang’s system with the motivation being to reduce “the latency of the RACH procedure for the UE 120” and to prioritize RACH procedure “based on an application, application type, traffic type, or use case associated with the intended slice.”{Cheng: ¶0100}
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 & 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) The prior art fails to teach the method according to claim 1, wherein providing the at least one slice identifier is further performed in response to the RA procedure being triggered due to a UE-initiated 5G mobility management, 5GMM, procedure and the 5GMM procedure being a UE initiated NAS transport procedure to deliver one or more 5G session management, 5GSM, messages, and wherein the at least one slice identifier is associated with the 5GSM messages.
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) The prior art fails to teach the UE according to claim 7, wherein the UE is configured to provide the at least one slice identifier in response to the RA procedure being triggered due to a UE-initiated 5G mobility management, 5GMM, procedure and the 5GMM procedure being a UE initiated non- access stratum, NAS, transport procedure to deliver one or more 5G session management, 5GSM, messages, wherein the at least one slice identifier is associated with the 5GSM messages.
Regarding Claim 9. (Currently Amended) The prior art fails to teach the UE according to claim 7, wherein the UE is further configured to provide the at least one slice identifier in response to the RA procedure being triggered due to a UE-initiated 5G mobility management, 5GMM, procedure and the 5GMM procedure being a UE initiated non-access stratum, NAS, transport procedure to deliver one or more 5G session management, 5GSM, messages, wherein the at least one slice identifier is associated with the 5GSM messages.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US 20130040605 A1, same assignee) discloses Improved systems and techniques for controlling access to network resources. A base station broadcasts extended access barring (EAB) and access class barring (ACB) information. Upon a determination by a user equipment that the user equipment requires service from the base station, the user equipment determines its EAB category and call type. The user equipment receives the EAB and ACB information broadcast by the base station and determines if it is subject to EAB based on its EAB category. If the user equipment is not subject to EAB, the user equipment determines if its call type is subject to ACB and, if the call type is subject to ACB, applies access class barring based on its call type {Claims 1-20}.
Yilmaz (US 2023/0397260 A1, same assignee) discloses an apparatus, comprising means for performing: receiving a first message, the first message indicating information for at least one network slice identity in one or more radio network areas; receiving a second message, the second message indicating configuration information for one or more network slices; determining a configuration to be used for a given network slice based on the first and second messages {claims 27-46}.
Byun (US 2019/0387570 A1) discloses a method by which an access stratum (AS) layer of a terminal determines a radio resource control (RRC) state in a wireless communication system, and a device for supporting the same. The method can comprise the steps of: entering an RRC_INACTIVE state; receiving, from a core network (CN), CN paging in the RRC_INACTIVE state; forwarding a UE ID of the terminal and a CN domain to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the terminal; receiving an RRC connection release request from the NAS layer of the terminal; and entering an RRC_IDLE state on the basis of the received RRC connection release request {Figs.7-9}.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464