DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-44 and 51-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (U.S. 2005/0206673 A1) in view of Higa et al. (U.S. 2005/0099456 A1).
Levin et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 31, a fluid component (32, §§0018-0047 and Fig. 3) for a continuous inkjet printer (Title, Figs. 1-2), comprising:
at least two ducts (e.g. 24, 110, §§0018-0047 and Fig. 3), each duct having an inner surface and each duct extending between a first end and a second end,
at least one fluid inlet formed by the first end of the at least two ducts (Fig. 3) and at least one fluid outlet formed by the second end of the at least two ducts (Fig. 3), and
an end part comprising at least one fluid connection area comprising at least one of said at least one fluid inlet and at least one fluid outlet (e.g. via the part of tubular member 154 adjacent to orifice 36, and the vacuum conduit 110, §§0028-0030 and Fig. 3),
the end part being configured to connect the fluid component to at least one other fluid component or to a part of an ink supply circuit of the continuous inkjet printer
said fluid component being a one-piece fluid component made of a single material chemically resistant to at least one organic solvent (§0018: PEEK is inherently chemically resistant to at least one organic solvent; however, any material is inherently, to some extent, chemically resistant to at least one organic solvent),
the at least two ducts being embedded in the one-piece fluid component (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 32, wherein the fluid component comprises at least one of a fluid manifold, part of a printing head, a hydraulic distributor, a fluid damper, a fluid connector, at least one chamber for a sensor, or a damping chamber (§§0017-0047 and Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 33, comprising at least two fluid connection areas (e.g. the part of tubular member 154 adjacent to orifice 36, and the vacuum conduit 110, §§0028-0030 and Fig. 3) extending in different planes.
Regarding Claim 34, said material being chemically resistant to ethanol and/or methyl isopropyl ketone (MIPK) and/or methyl ethyl ketone (MEK) (§0018: PEEK is inherently chemically resistant to ethanol and/or methyl isopropyl ketone (MIPK) and/or methyl ethyl ketone (MEK); however, any material is inherently, to some extent, chemically resistant to ethanol and/or methyl isopropyl ketone (MIPK) and/or methyl ethyl ketone (MEK)).
Regarding Claim 35, wherein at least one of said ducts comprises a directional transition having an edge with a radius of curvature tangential to a flow direction of the fluid in said duct (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 37, said at least 2 ducts extending along non-parallel directions or intersecting with each other (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 38, said at least 2 ducts extending in a same plane or in different planes (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 39, said at least 2 ducts being coupled together with a mechanical link (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 40, said chemically resistant material comprising stainless steel, or a ceramic material, or a plastic material or a glass material (§0018).
Regarding Claim 41, at least one O-ring groove or counterbore around said at least one fluid inlet and/or said at least one fluid outlet (e.g. the part of tubular member 154 adjacent to orifice 36, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 43, wherein said first fluid component is assembled with a second fluid component (e.g. 144, §§0014, 0029 and Figs. 2-3) connected with said fluid connection area of the first fluid component, wherein said second fluid component comprises at least one of a valve, a pump, a filter, a damper, a fluid connector or a hydraulic distributor, said second fluid component comprising at least one fluid inlet and at least one fluid outlet which matches with said at least one of said fluid inlet and said fluid outlet of the first fluid component, so that at least one fluid can circulate from said first fluid component to said second fluid component and/or vice versa.
Regarding Claim 44, a continuous inkjet (CIJ) printer, comprising:
- an ink supply system comprising an ink circuit (§0014, 0029 and Figs. 1-2),
- a portion for receiving an ink cartridge (86, §§0023-0025 and Figs. 1-2) and a portion for receiving a solvent cartridge (62, §0021 and Fig. 2);
- at least one fluid component according to claim 31.
Levin et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 51, said at least 2 ducts extending in different planes (Fig. 3).
Regarding independent Claim 31, wherein at least part of said fluid connection area has a roughness of less than 5 mm and at least part of the inner surface of at least one duct has a roughness of less than 10 mm.
Regarding Claim 36, a succession of layers in said chemically resistant material, each layer having a thickness of between 5 mm and 300 mm. However, the resultant structure is continuous, and the product appears to be substantially identical to that disclosed by Levin et al.. Therefore, Claim 36 is unpatentable over prior art. See MPEP §2113.
Regarding Claim 42, at least part of at least one duct having a wall with a thickness between 1 mm and 10 mm. However, Levin et al. do teach both the comparative scale (“the relatively small diameter of orifice 36, which may be on the order of 66 micron”, §0030) and the motivation to optimize (“ratio of flow through conduits 50, 110 depends on the amount of vacuum in those conduits and on the geometric dimensions of those conduits”, §0030). Furthermore, the wall thickness is inherently related to the geometry of the conduits, at least as needed for mechanical stability. Therefore, at least part of at least one duct having a wall with a thickness between 1 mm and 10 mm amounts to no more than routine optimization, and as such is unpatentable over prior art. See MPEP §2144.05 IIA.
Regarding Claim 52, wherein said roughness of said at least part of the inner surface of at least one duct is 1.5-10 mm.
Regarding Claim 53, wherein said roughness of said at least part of the inner surface of at least one duct is 1.5-3 mm.
Higa et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 31, wherein at least part of said fluid connection area has a roughness of less than 5 mm and at least part of the inner surface of at least one duct has a roughness of less than 10 mm (§0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the roughness of Higa et al. to the fluid component of Levin et al. to reduce the possibility of bubbles attaching to excessively rough surfaces and obstructing fluid flow.
Regarding Claim 52, wherein said roughness of said at least part of the inner surface of at least one duct is 1.5-10 mm (§0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the roughness of Higa et al. to the fluid component of Levin et al. to reduce the possibility of bubbles attaching to excessively rough surfaces and obstructing fluid flow.
Regarding Claim 53, wherein said roughness of said at least part of the inner surface of at least one duct is 1.5-3 mm (§0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the roughness of Higa et al. to the fluid component of Levin et al. to reduce the possibility of bubbles attaching to excessively rough surfaces and obstructing fluid flow.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (U.S. 2005/0206673 A1) and Higa et al. (U.S. 2005/0099456 A1) as applied to Claim 44 above, and further in view of Michallon (U.S. 2017/0120616 A1).
Levin et al. and Higa et al., in combination, disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 45, all limitation of Claim 44 (from which this Claim depends).
Levin et al. and Higa et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 45, a print head being connected to the ink circuit via a flexible umbilical cable, said cable containing a hydraulic connection to bring ink from the ink circuit to the print head and send ink to be recovered from the print head towards said ink circuit, and an electrical connection.
Michallon discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 45, a print head being connected to the ink circuit via a flexible umbilical cable, said cable containing a hydraulic connection to bring ink from the ink circuit to the print head and send ink to be recovered from the print head towards said ink circuit, and an electrical connection (§0152). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the flexible umbilical cable of Michallon to the printer of Levin et al. to integrate all necessary connections to the print head in a structure suitable for installing the head where necessary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 12/17/25, with respect to rejection(s) of Claim 38 under 35 U.S.C. §112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection(s) of Claim 38 under 35 U.S.C. §112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/25 with respect to prior art-based rejection(s) of Claims 31-45 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see rejections above (based on prior art of record but different channels corresponding to the “ducts” of the instant application).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 46-50 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reason for allowance of claims 46-50 is the inclusion of the limitations of a process including each duct having at least one fluid inlet and at least one fluid outlet, and the forming of at least one fluid connection area comprising at least one of said at least one fluid inlet and at least one fluid outlet, wherein the fluid component is additively manufactured by depositing successive layers of said chemically resistant material, each having a thickness of between 5 mm and 300 mm, so that at least part of said at least one fluid connection area has a roughness of less than 5 mm and at least part of an inner surface of at least one duct has a roughness of less than 10 mm. It is these limitations found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER D SHENDEROV/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853