DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's amendment filed on March 3, 2026 have been fully considered.
Objection to the abstract is withdrawn.
Objection to the drawing is withdrawn.
Objection to claim 19 is withdrawn.
Claims 15-16 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments filed on March 3, 2026 with respect to claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “display means configured to display . . .” in claim 9 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Function: “to display one or more display resources”
Structure: “The display means may be for example an OLED display” as described in paragraph 40, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaker et al. (US 20200035206 A1, hereinafter “Hamaker”) in view of Sunakawa et al. (US 20080211825 A1, hereinafter “Sunakawa”).
Regarding claim 9,
Hamaker teaches:
A Near-Eye Display device (Hamaker: ¶96, “. . . virtual-reality headset [12] . . .”; also see Fig. 1)
comprising: - a communication endpoint configured to establish a connection with a computing device (Hamaker: ¶96, “. . . a virtual-reality headset [12] connected to a host device [11] . . . using a connection that may be wired or wireless, or even over a network such as the Internet, but is preferably wireless. . .; ¶112, “. . . Data transmitted to the headset [12] from the host [11] is sent directly to the compositor [14], which receives it through an input engine [51]. . . “; NOTE: The computing device is the host device, and the communication endpoint is the input engine);
display means configured to display one or more display resources (Hamaker: ¶96, “. . . set of goggles [13], which incorporates two eyepieces [16]. Each eyepiece [16] is a small independent display device which in use is positioned in front of the user's eye so as together to create an impression of stereoscopic—and therefore three-dimensional—vision.”);
a storage medium (Hamaker: ¶110, “FIG. 5 . . . showing four surround buffers [52], a second memory [55] and two finished frame buffers [54] . . .; ¶112, “. . . The surround buffers [52] are areas of memory that store all the image data . . .”; ¶118, “. . . an additional memory [55] for pre-set full-screen events . . .”);
at least one processing logic (Hamaker: ¶97, “. . . The compositor [14] is a processor . . . programmable processor, . . . it receives display data and outputs two frames of composited image data. . .”; ¶176, “Functionality of the modules may be embodied in one or more hardware processing device(s) e.g. processors and/or in one or more software modules . . . software instructions to implement the described methods. . .”; NOTE: The software instructions is the processing logic that are processed by the processors.)
configured to:- upon the reception from said computing device (Hamaker: ¶32, “. . . receiving, from the host device, display data and/or display elements that the host device determines may be needed for compositing into an image at a future time . . .”; ¶131, “. . . At Step S62, the data is transmitted to the compositor [14] in the virtual reality headset [12]. It will be received by the input engine [51], which determines the nature of the data and its destination. The host [11] may transmit instructions and metadata to the compositor [14], which will also be received by the input engine [51] and transmitted directly to the composition engine [53] in order to change its behaviour. . .”; NOTE: The Near Eye Display receives the data and instructions from the host is data reception from said computing device. The computing device is the host.)
of a layout comprising at least one graphical command, each of said at least one graphical command being defined by an identifier and at least one command parameter (Hamaker: : ¶36, “wherein the image comprises at least display data forming a background layer, display elements forming one or more foreground layers and an overlay data layer ¶106, “. . . a single sprite of a spaceship—perhaps a three-dimensional wireframe allowing it to be rotated—could be stored together with the locations at which different spaceships are to be displayed and their relative sizes so that the sprite could be translated and transformed . . .”; ¶131, “. . . The host [11] may transmit instructions and metadata to the compositor [14]. . . Display data, however, is identified as such by, for example, flags in a packet header, and is placed in the appropriate surround buffer [52]. . . ”; ¶141, “. . . the composition engine [53] will compose new frames for display at Step S66. In order to do this it will take display data from each surround buffer [52] in the location of the required view, which may be stored as a set of co-ordinates indicating the four corners of the view, as a single co-ordinate and a set of dimensions, or in any other appropriate format.. . .”; NOTE: Applicant’s argues that Hamaker’s host is only limited to transmit “in practice an image” as noted in applicant’s remarks page 10. Hamaker paragraph 131 explicitly discloses that the host transmits “instructions and metadata” received by the compositor which is a part of the NED. These instructions are graphical commands because it causes the NED to composite new frames for display from the host. The identifiers are flags in the packet header, and the command parameter is the location information in the display data for the layout of an object or sprite to render to their assigned location. Host transmits graphical commands (instructions and metadata) to the NED received by the compositor >> compositor executes the graphical commands to compose new frames, therefore, the host sends a layout with graphical commands)
upon the reception from said computing device of a command to display said layout, retrieving said layout from said storage medium, and displaying said layout (Hamaker: ¶103, “Moving Middleground Scene layer (FIG. 3B): the parts of the image that move on top of the background but entirely independent of the user. In this example, the Moving Middleground Scene [3B] consists of the enemy spaceships [24], which move in accordance with instructions from the host [11]; ¶131, “At Step S62, . . . The host [11] may transmit instructions and metadata to the compositor [14], . . . Display data . . . identified as such by . . . flags in a packet header . . . the packet header could include a notification of each piece of display data's position in the sphere”)
NOTE: Host transmits graphical commands (instructions and metadata) to the NED received by the compositor >> compositor executes the graphical commands to compose new frames, therefore, the host sends a layout with graphical commands. The layout is the display data comprising the instructions and location information for the objects to be composited. The location data and the position data are both layout parameters so the spaceship can be displayed in appropriate positions. Therefore, the spaceships are displayed according to their positional data. Paragraph 112 discloses that “The composition engine [53] is able to fetch data from any or all of the surround buffers [52] in order to create frames”, which is retrieving the layout from storage medium.)
Although Hamaker teaches receiving resources from a host device and reading them from a surround buffer, Hamaker fails to explicitly disclose if the host device sends: a command to save said layout on said storage medium.
The analogous art Sunakawa teaches:
a command to save said layout on said storage medium (Sunakawa: ¶190, “. . . The layout command packet stores layout commands . . .”; ¶218, “. . . the packet analysis unit 153 analyzes the accepted (received) layout command packets, and stores layout commands in the layout storage unit 111. . .”; NOTE: The command to save the layout is in the layout command packet. Sunakawa explicitly discloses that the layout commands are stored in a layout storage by the layout command packet.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hamaker and Sunakawa and include: a command to save said layout on said storage medium.
The reason for doing so is “since the image content data and layout commands are transmitted using packet communications of the same communication scheme, the image content data and layout commands can be handled by the same packet processing system. Therefore, in addition to the effects described in the second embodiment, the interface can be simplified” (Sunakawa: ¶225).
Regarding claim 12, depending on 9,
method claim 12 is drawn to the method corresponding to the configuration of using same as claimed in apparatus of claim 9. Therefore, method claim 12 corresponds to the configuration of the apparatus of claim 9, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 14, depending on 12,
CRM claim 14 is drawn to the CRM corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 12. Therefore, CRM claim 14 corresponds to the method in claim 12, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaker in view of Sunakawa further in view of Lee et al. (US 20160085266 A1, hereinafter “Lee”)
Regarding claim 17, depending on 9,
The combination of Hamaker and Sunakawa teaches:
The Near-Eye display device of claim 9,
Hamaker further teaches:
wherein display resources belonging to a same application or program installed in the computing device are stored in a same configuration in the storage medium of the Near-Eye Display device (Hamaker: ¶129, “At Step S61, the host [11] generates display data in layers, such as those shown in FIG. 3. Different layers may be generated by different parts of a single application . . .”; ¶106, “. . . a layer may be represented by, for example, a collection of sprites and the locations in which they are to be displayed . . . could be stored together with the locations . . .”; ¶112, “. . . The surround buffers [52] are areas of memory that store all the image data comprising the display element or elements in each layer. . .”; NOTE: the generated layers which are the display resources from the same or single application are stored in a same configuration in the NED or the VR device of Hamaker in the surround buffers 52 which is the configuration.),
However, Hamaker and Sunakawa fails to teach said configuration corresponding to a defined folder.
The analogous art Lee teaches:
said configuration corresponding to a defined folder in a storage medium (Lee: ¶196, “. . . the photographing device can save the photographed photo to a preset location. In this case, the preset location may include at least one of an internal storage place of the photographing device . . . the preset location may include a specific folder in the internal storage place . . .”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hamaker, Sunakawa, and Lee and implement Lee’s method of creating specific folder as preset save location for files such that said configuration corresponding to a defined folder in a storage medium.
The reason for doing so is for better file organization such as preventing overwriting files with same file names; simplifying data management such as deleting application data all at once without affecting files of other applications.
Regarding claim 18, depending on 17,
The combination of Hamaker, Sunakawa, and Lee teaches:
The Near-Eye display device of claim 17,
Lee further teaches:
wherein the at least one processing logic is configured to receive from said computing device commands to perform one or more of:
obtaining a list of configurations in said Near-Eye Display device;
setting one of the configurations in said list as an active configuration;
reading the content of a configuration;
writing the content of a configuration (Lee, paragraph 193 “Having received the remote save command, the photographing device can save the photographed photo to a preset location . . the photographing device can save the photographed photo to a preset location. In this case, the preset location may include at least one of an internal storage place of the photographing device . . . the preset location may include a specific folder in the internal storage place . . .”; NOTE: The configuration is the specific folder. When the photo which is the content is saved in the specific folder, it writes the content to that specific folder. Saving is writing data.);
creating a configuration; deleting a configuration.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaker in view Sunakawa further in view of Lee further in view of Naga et al. (US 20110191544 A1, hereinafter “Naga”).
Regarding claim 19, depending on 17,
The combination of Hamaker, Sunakawa and Lee teaches:
The Near-Eye display device of claim 17, wherein the at least one processing logic is configured to receive commands from the computing device to:
Although the above combination teaches receiving a command from a host device to delete content (Lee: ¶194, “. . . the controller 180 can transmit a remote delete command to the photographing device [S311]. Having received the remote delete command, the photographing device can delete the photographed photo. . .), the above combination fails to teach: prior to create a configuration or save a display resource to obtain an amount of free space; if said free space is not sufficient to create the configuration or save the display resource, delete an other configuration.
The analogous art Naga teaches:
prior to create a configuration or save a display resource to obtain an amount of free space to: obtain an amount of free space (Naga: ¶30, “. . . identifying an amount of free space in the cache prior to the step of including the cache object and the child object in the cache. . . NOTE: The creating a configuration is the step of including the cache object, the cache object is the configuration);
if said free space is not sufficient to create the configuration or save the display resource, delete an other configuration (Naga: ¶30, “on determining that there is insufficient space in the cache, identifying a replaceable cache object and deleting one or more child objects associated with the replaceable cache object and/or the replaceable cache object from the cache. . .; ¶82, “. . . space is created in the cache by deleting folders . . .”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hamaker, Sunakawa, Lee, and Naga to implement deletion of folders or objects if insufficient space is determined to include: prior to create a configuration or save a display resource to obtain an amount of free space; if said free space is not sufficient to create the configuration or save the display resource, delete an other configuration.
The reason for doing so is to “ensure that related objects will be included in the cache and appropriate measures may be taken if there is insufficient space in the cache to accommodate both the cache object and the child object” (Naga: ¶9).
Regarding claim 20, depending on 19,
The combination of Hamaker, Sunakawa, Lee, and Naga teaches:
The Near-Eye display device of claim 19,
Naga further teaches:
wherein the other configuration is the configuration that has been set as active configuration since the longest time (Naga: ¶31, “. . .deleting one or more child objects associated with the replaceable cache object and/or the replaceable cache object from the cache . . .; ¶35, “The replaceable cache object may be identified as the object which has been least recently used among all objects of the cache”; ¶85, “. . . space is created . . . by deleting folders according to how often they have been accessed. Other criteria for identifying replaceable cache objects . . . pseudo least recently used (PLRU), . . .”; NOTE: the configuration that has been set as active is the time the object was last accessed or used. Naga’s system identifies a replaceable object for deletion based on its least recently used data. The least recently used object is an object that has not been access for the longest time and is identified as a replaceable object for deletion.)
Regarding claim 21, depending on 19,
The combination of Hamaker, Sunakawa, Lee, and Naga teaches:
The Near-Eye display device of claim 19,
Naga further teaches:
wherein the other configuration is the configuration that is set as active configuration the least often (Naga: ¶31, “. . .deleting one or more child objects associated with the replaceable cache object and/or the replaceable cache object from the cache . . .; ¶34, “The replaceable cache object may be identified on the basis of a frequency at which cache objects are accessed”; ¶85, “¶85, “. . . space is created . . . by deleting folders according to how often they have been accessed . . . least frequently used (LFU). . . NOTE: the configuration that has been set as active is the number of times the object was accessed or used. Naga’s system identifies a replaceable object for deletion based on a frequency at which cache objects are accessed. The least frequently used object is an object that is used the least often and is identified as a replaceable object for deletion.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK P GALERA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617