DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 18, 19, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thilly et al (US 2009/0306620).
Regarding Claim 1, Thilly discloses a vessel (vial 70, Fig. 3) having an electronic component (RFID 72, Fig. 3) attached to the vessel (70, Fig. 3);
wherein the vessel is a syringe barrel, vial, or cartridge (vial 70, Fig. 3; ¶ [0001-0004, 0067]) having a thermoplastic wall (base wall 73, Fig. 3; ¶ [0014, 0067]);
wherein the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is embedded (¶ [0067]) in the thermoplastic wall (73, Fig. 3) of the vessel (70, Fig. 3); and
wherein the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is configured to provide both the vessel (70, Fig. 3) in an unfilled state and a pharmaceutical package that results from filling a lumen of the vessel (70, Fig. 3) with a pharmaceutical solution and then sealing the lumen with the ability to be traced (¶ [0002-0004]).
Regarding Claim 6, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is an RFID tag (¶ [0067]).
Regarding Claim 8, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) comprises data storage (¶ [0049]).
Regarding Claim 10, Thilly discloses the thermoplastic wall (73, Fig. 3) of the vessel (70, Fig. 3) comprises COC (¶ [0014, 0067]).
Regarding Claim 12, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is overmolded (¶ [0067]) into the thermoplastic wall (73, Fig. 3) of the vessel (70, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Thilly discloses a thermoplastic material that makes up at least a portion of the vessel wall (73, Fig. 3) completely or substantially completely surrounds the electronic component (72, Fig. 3; ¶ [0067]).
Regarding Claim 14, Thilly discloses no part of the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is present on an outer surface of the vessel wall (73, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is configured to be written using an external writer (¶ [0049-0050]).
Regarding Claim 19, Thilly discloses the vessel (70, Fig. 3) is configured such that the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) can withstand sterilization (¶ [0051]).
Regarding Claim 23, Thilly discloses an inner surface, an outer surface, or both, of the wall (73, Fig. 3) in which the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is embedded are identical or substantially identical to those of the wall of the same vessel prepared without the electronic component ([¶ [0043, 0067]; compare Figs. 1 and 3, where Fig. 1 does not have the RFID tag within the base wall, but the walls are otherwise the same).
Regarding Claim 24, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) comprises identification information stored directly on the component (¶ [0004, 0013, 0049]).
Regarding Claims 25 and 26, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) is readable and writeable without connection to a computing network such as a cloud-computing network (¶ [0049-0050]; since the information is stored directly on the RFID chip, the chip can be read and written by an RFID scanner without connecting to a cloud network; this is substantially similar to that discussed by Applicant in ¶ [0178] of the published specification).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thilly et al (US 2009/0306620) as evidenced by Hyde et al (US 2016/0114104).
Regarding Claim 7, Thilly discloses the electronic component (72, Fig. 3) comprises an integrated circuit (Thilly indicates the electronic component is an RFID tag, and Hyde teaches that RFID tags include a miniature integrated circuit in ¶ [0058]); therefore, the RFID tag of Thilly inherently comprises an integrated circuit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thilly et al (US 2009/0306620) in view of Miwata (US 2021/0233433).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Thilly is silent whether the vessel further comprises a label, wherein the electronic component is embedded in a portion of the vessel that is visually concealed by the label, and wherein the vessel is configured so that the electronic component is visually concealed by a portion of the pharmaceutical package.
Miwata teaches a pharmaceutical container, thus being in the same field of endeavor, further comprising a label (4, Fig. 4) that visually conceals the bottom surface (13b, Fig. 4) of the container (100, Figs. 3-4). This allows the medication to be protected from light transmission through the container (¶ [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vessel of Thilly to include a label concealing the bottom surface of the container as taught by Miwata, such that the electronic component of Thilly/Miwata is embedded in a portion of the vessel that is visually concealed by the label which can be considered a portion of a pharmaceutical package, as taught by Miwata. This protects the medication within the container from being damaged by light transmission through the bottom of the container (as motivated by Miwata ¶ [0041]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thilly et al (US 2009/0306620) in view of Van Ginneken (US 2020/0390978).
Regarding Claim 17, Thilly is silent whether the electronic component is detectable by automated visual inspection of the vessel in an empty state.
Van Ginneken teaches a pharmaceutical container, thus being in the same field of endeavor, where the container is made of a transparent thermoplastic material (¶ [0135]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the thermoplastic material of Thilly to be a transparent thermoplastic material, as taught by Van Ginneken, to ensure the medication within the vial can be inspected visually for quality. The combination of Thilly/Van Ginneken would have the electronic component detectable by automated visual inspection of the vessel in an empty state since the wall 73 would be transparent, allowing the RFID chip to be visible through the transparent wall.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thilly et al (US 2009/0306620) in view of Watt et al (US 2013/0057390).
Regarding Claims 20 and 21, Thilly is silent whether the electronic component comprises a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor.
Watt teaches an RFID tag, thus being in the same field of endeavor, where the RFID tag includes a pressure sensor and a temperature sensor (¶ [0049]). This allows the RFID tag to track the sterilization of associated items and ensure and record that proper sterilization temperatures/pressure have been reached (¶ [0003-0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the RFID tag of Thilly to include a temperature sensor and a pressure sensor, as taught by Watt, to allow the RFID tag to also track the sterilization of the vial and ensure and record that proper sterilization temperatures and pressures have been reached (as motivated by Watt ¶ [0003-0007]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thilly et al (US 2009/0306620) in view of LaBorde (US 9977865).
Regarding Claim 22, Thilly is silent whether the electronic component is configured to register an interrogation event into a database.
LaBorde teaches a system including RFID chips affixed to medical items, thus being in the same field of endeavor, where the electronic component is configured to register an interrogation event into a database (Col. 28 lines 20-41). This allows the locations and history of the RFID tag to be maintained in a database for future reference (as motivated by LaBorde Col. 28 lines 20-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the RFID tag of Thilly to be configured to register an interrogation event into a database, as taught by LaBorde, to have the locations and history of the RFID tag be maintained in a database for future reference (as motivated by LaBorde, Col. 28 lines 20-41).
Conclusion
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781