Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/10/23, 7/2/24, 4/25/25, 9/23/25 and 6/26/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 15-16, 21, 24, 26, 42, 43-44 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 26, 42 and 44 recite the term “and/or”, which is indefinite as it is unclear if what precedes or follows the term “and/or” is part of the claimed invention. Examiner suggest the claim be amended to recite either “and”, “or” or “at least one of…or…”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a silicon-containing functional group". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "an alkoxy". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the residue" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what encompasses “the residue” and how “the residue” further limits the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a silicon-containing functional group" in lines 2-4 and lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the total weight of the binder solids". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear what encompasses “the binder solids” and how “the total weight of the binder solids” is determined.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the peel strength test" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear an adhesion is measured by the peel strength test as the peel strength test method is not defined by the claim. Claim 43 recites “a comparative film”, which is indefinite. It is unclear what encompasses “a comparative film” as the claim does not provide any structure for “a comparative film”. Claim 42 recites the limitation "a silicon-containing functional group". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitations "an electrochemically active material", “an electrically conductive agent”, “a fluoropolymer”, “an additive polymer” and “a silicon-containing functional group”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
To the extent the claims are understood in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections above, note the following prior art rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 15-16, 21, 42, 43-44 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al., US 2017/0263937 A1.
Zhao teaches a composite binder including an organic-inorganic hybrid polymer (addition polymer) and a fluorinated binder (fluoropolymer) uniformly mixed with each other. A repeating unit of the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer includes a silicon atom, a methacryloyloxy group, or an acryloyloxy group, and at least two alkoxy groups. The alkoxy groups and the methacryloyloxy group or the acryloyloxy group are respectively joined to the silicon atom. A method for making a cathode electrode and the cathode electrode are also disclosed (abstract). The composite binder binds a cathode active material to a cathode current collector in the cathode electrode of a lithium rechargeable battery (contains a counter electrode and an electrolyte) [0043]. A cathode active material slurry comprising the composite binder, a conducting agent, the active material and a third solvent (liquid medium) is applied to the current collector and then the solvent of the coating layer is removed by drying [0045-0053].
Regarding the liquid medium of claims 1-3 and 15-16, Zhao teaches a first solvent is miscible with the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer. The first solvent can be tetrahydrofuran or acetone. The organic-inorganic hybrid polymer has a low solubility in the second solvent, such that the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer can be precipitated. The second solvent can be at least one of water, ethanol, and methanol. In one embodiment, the second solvent is a mixed solvent of water and methanol [0037]. The third solvent may be an organic solvent [0042].
Regarding claims 6-7 and 10, Zhao teaches an amount of the repeating units in the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer can be about 40 to about 5000. The organic-inorganic hybrid polymer can be at least one of poly-γ-(triethoxysilyl)propyl methacrylate, poly-γ-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl methacrylate, poly-γ-methacryloxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane, poly-(diethoxymethylsilyl)propyl methacrylate, poly-γ-acryloxypropyltriethoxysilane, poly-γ-acryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, poly-γ-acryloxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane, poly-acryloxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane, and poly-acryloxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane [0021]. See also [0015] and [0026].
Regarding claims 8-9, a mass ratio of the fluorinated binder to the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer is 1:20 to 10:1. In some embodiments, the mass ratio of the fluorinated binder to the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer is 1:5 to 10:1. The fluorinated binder can resist deformation in these ranges. In one embodiment, the mass ratio of the fluorinated binder to the organic-inorganic hybrid polymer is 2:1 [0041].
Regarding claims 11-12, the polymerizing comprises uniformly mixing a free radical initiator and the silicon-oxygen organic monomer to form a homogeneous solution. The initiator is capable of initiating the polymerization between the silicon-oxygen organic monomer. The initiator can be azobisisobutyronitrile (AIBN), azobisdimethylvaleronitrile (AIVN) or benzoyl peroxide (BPO) (crosslinking agents) [0029-0031]. Regarding claims 15-16, fluorinated binders are disclosed at [0039-0040].
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
*
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-12, 15-16, 21, 24, 26, 42, 43-44 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al., US 2017/0110733 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 15-16, 21, 24, 26, 42, 44 and 51, Yoon teaches a cathode and a method of manufacturing the same, wherein the cathode comprises an active material layer that contains an acrylic polymer and exhibits excellent resistance to an electrolyte, excellent dispersion of its components and great adhesion to a current collector (abstract). A composition for an active material layer containing the acrylic polymer (addition polymer) is applied onto a current collector [0023]. The acrylic polymer may comprise a polymerization unit of a (meth)acrylic acid ester compound, a polymerization unit of monomer having a cross-linkable group and a solvent. Also the acrylic polymer may further comprise a polymerization unit of a monomer having a nitrogen-containing functional group or a polymerization unit of a monomer having an alkoxysilane group [0015-0020; 0094]. The composition may further comprise a fluoropolymer [0080] and an organic solvent [0097]. A monomer having an alkoxy silane group may be vinyl alkoxysilane, an allyl alkoxysilane, a (meth)acryloxy alkyl alkoxysilane and a vinyl acryloxy silane. Also, examples of the (meth)acryloxy alkyl alkoxysilane may comprise, but are not limited to, 3-(meth)acryloxypropyl methyldimethoxysilane, 3-(meth)acryloxypropyl methyldiethoxysilane, 3-(meth)acryloxypropyl trimethoxysilane, 3-(meth)acryloxypropyl triethoxysilane, (meth)acryloxymethyl triethoxysilane and (meth)acryloxymethyl tris(trimethylsiloxy)silane [0049]. The polyfunctional cross-linker in an amount of 1 to 3 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the acrylic polymer [0052]. A lithium secondary battery is discloses at [0106].
Regarding claims 6-7, Yoon teaches the acrylic polymer of the present application may have a weight average molecular weight in the range of 5,000 to 1,000,000. The term “weight average molecular weight” refers to a value measured in gel permeation chromatography (GPC) with a polystyrene standard calibration, and unless defined otherwise, a molecular weight of a particular polymer may refer to a weight average molecular weight of the polymer [0030].
Regarding claims 8-12, there are no particular limitations in the content ratio of the polymerization unit of the (meth)acrylic acid ester compound (A) and the polymerization unit of the monomer repeat unit having a cross-linkable group (B) in the acrylic polymer thus, their content ratio may be determined in consideration of the glass transition temperature and cross-linking efficiency of the polymer. In one example, the acrylic polymer may comprise the polymerization unit of the (meth)acrylic acid ester compound in an amount of 30 to 95 parts by weight and the monomers having a cross-linkable group in an amount of 0.1 to 30 parts by weight [0042]. The active material layer comprising an acrylic polymer may further comprise a fluoropolymer which acts as a binder to ensure high dispersion of the components such as a conductive material and an active material and sufficient adhesive strength to a current collector. The fluoropolymer may be comprised in an amount of 0 to 10 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the active material layer [0080]. The acrylic polymer may have a glass transition temperature ranging, for example, from −80°C to 50°C [0029]. The acrylic polymer forms a cross-linked structure with a polyfunctional cross-linker [0013].
Regarding claim 43, the peel strength of the active material layer to the current collector may be 20 gf or more when measured at a peeling speed of 0.3 m/min and a peeling angle of 180 degrees at room temperature with an electrode specimen sized at 15×150 mm2 [0014]. See also [0025].
Furthermore, Yoon teaches the acrylic polymer may further comprise an optional co-monomer polymerization unit (C) so as to ensure excellence and sufficiency in the properties such as a glass transition temperature, cross-linking efficiency, resistance to an electrolyte, and adhesive strength to a current collector. There is no particular limitation in the type and amount of such co-monomer for use, and thus can be suitably selected from the species disclosed by Yoon. See [0049], [0052] and [0056-0057].
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
*
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 15-16, 21, 24, 26, 42, 43-44 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Mudalige et al., US 2018/0337406 A1.
Mudalige teaches a particulate electroactive material present in a slurry [0008-0010]. The surface of the particulate electroactive material may be treated (e.g., prior to incorporation into a slurry, or after being incorporated into a slurry) by exposure to a silane compound (addition polymer), or the surface of the particulate electroactive material may be coated by a silane compound. In some embodiments the silane compound (or silicon-containing compound) may be capable of reacting (e.g., may be configured to react) with residual —OH and/or —COOH groups present at the particulate electroactive material surface. For instance, the silane compound (or silicon-containing compound) may have reactive groups that are reactive with residual —OH and/or —COOH groups present at the particulate electroactive material surface. The silane compound (or silicon-containing compound) may comprise one or more functional groups suitable for reacting with —OH and —COOH groups, such as leaving groups. The leaving groups may comprise alkoxy groups and/or halogen groups. Non-limiting examples of suitable alkoxy groups include linear alkoxy groups such as methoxy, ethoxy, propoxy, and butoxy groups as well as branched alkoxy groups such as tertbutoxy groups. In some embodiments, leaving groups may be capable of reacting with other leaving groups in addition to being capable of reacting with —OH and —COOH groups [0230]. Non-limiting examples of suitable silane compounds include chlorotrimethylsilane, tetraethylorthosilicate, aminopropyltriethoxy silane, trichlorooctadecyl silane, hexamethyldisilazane, (3-mercaptopropyl)trimethoxy silane, and dimethyloctadecyl((3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl)ammonium chloride [0108; 0237]. The passivating agents form oligomers and/or polymers [0149].
The slurry may comprise any suitable amount of solvent (liquid medium). In some embodiments, the solvent may make up greater than or equal to 40 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 45 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 50 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 55 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 60 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 65 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 70 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 75 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 80 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 85 wt % of the slurry, greater than or equal to 90 wt % of the slurry, or greater than or equal to 95 wt % of the slurry. In some embodiments, the solvent may make up less than or equal to 98 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 95 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 90 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 85 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 80 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 75 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 70 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 65 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 60 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 55 wt % of the slurry, less than or equal to 50 wt % of the slurry, or less than or equal to 45 wt % of the slurry. Combinations of the above-referenced ranges are also possible (e.g., greater than or equal to 40 wt % of the slurry and less than or equal to 98 wt % of the slurry, or greater than or equal to 70 wt % of the slurry and less than or equal to 98 wt % of the slurry). Other ranges are also possible [0239].
The slurry may comprise a binder (fluoropolymer). The binder may be any material that is capable of holding the particulate electroactive material together in the final electrode such that it forms a unified structure. In some embodiments, the binder comprises a polymer, such as one or more of poly(vinylidene fluoride), a poly(vinylidene fluoride copolymer) such as a copolymer with hexafluorophosphate, a poly(styrene)-poly(butadiene) copolymer, a poly(styrene)-poly(butadiene) rubber, carboxymethyl cellulose, and poly(acrylic acid). In some embodiments, the binder makes up less than or equal to 20 wt %, less than or equal to 10 wt %, less than or equal to 5 wt %, or less than or equal to 2 wt % of the slurry. In some embodiments, the binder makes up greater than or equal to 1 wt %, greater than or equal to 2 wt %, greater than or equal to 5 wt %, or greater than or equal to 10 wt % of the slurry. Combinations of the above ranges are also possible (e.g., greater than or equal to 1 wt % and less than or equal to 10 wt %). Other ranges are also possible [0240].
The slurry may further comprise an additive (i.e., a component that is not a particulate electroactive material, a solvent, or a binder). Non-limiting examples of additives include conductive materials, such as carbonaceous materials like carbon nanotubes, carbon black and/or graphite [0241].
Regarding claim 2, the slurry may contain residual water (aqueous medium) [0105]. Regarding claims 3, the slurry solvent may be an organic solvent [0238]. Regarding claim 21, the binder may comprise polyacrylic acid [0240]. Regarding claims 42-44 and 51, the electrode of Mudalige comprises a current collector with an electrode active material film on a surface of the current collector [0212-0213; 0224]. The cell of Mudalige includes an anode, a cathode and an electrolyte [0253].
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
/TRACY M DOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725