Foreign Priority
The present application claims priority to the applications, JP2021-081310 and PCT/JP2022/020078, with effective filing dates of 12 May 2021 and 12 May 2022, respectively.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed, 14 February 2024, wherein Applicant canceled claim 1 and added new claims 10-13.
Claims 10-13 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 14 February 2024 and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise.
The references, wherein a copy was provided but is illegible, are lined through. These references are the following: Ishida (Fragrance Journal, 2004, 32(11), 23-32); Sugiyama (Fragrance Journal, 2006, 34(10), 19-23); Hirao (Fragrance Journal, 2000, 17, 14-19); Furuse (Journal of Japanese Cosmetic Science Society, 2007, 31, 296-301); and Kaneko (Journal of Traditional Medicines, 1998, 15, 302-303).
The references, wherein a copy was not provided, are lined through. These references are the following: JP2003-306408; Yasuda (Folia Pharmacologica Japonica, 2005, 125(6), 370-384); and Lavker (Journal of Cell Biology, 1979, 73(1), 59-66).
Claim Interpretation
Claims 10-13 recite a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome. For purposes of clarity, the Examiner interprets this to be Syndrome X, insulin resistance syndrome, or dysmetabolic syndrome, as defined by Cleveland Clinic (page 2, bullet points 1-3; “Metabolic Syndrome,” Cleveland Clinic, 13 Sept 2023, <my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/10783-metabolic-syndrome>, accessed 14 Jan 2026). Additionally, Cleveland Clinic specifies that metabolic syndrome is a group of conditions that increase the risk of cardiovascular disease, Type 2 diabetes, and stroke (page 1, paragraph 2). These conditions are excess abdominal weight, hypertriglyceridemia, low levels of HDL cholesterol, elevated blood sugar levels, and high blood pressure and that possessing three or more of the conditions significantly increases risk of cardiovascular disease, Type 2 diabetes, and stroke (page 2, bullet points 4-9; page 2, paragraph 2). Additionally, Khushwaha (Obesity Medicines, 2019, 14(100084), 1-4) teaches prevention of metabolic syndrome via administration of the small molecule, sitagliptin through inhibition of DPP IV, which prevents progression of obesity from predisposed factors and prevents the breakdown of GLP-1 (page 2, column 1, paragraph 2; page 3, column 2, paragraph 2). Muñoz-Garach (Nutrients, 2016, 8(320), 1-10) teaches metabolically healthy obese people exist (page 1, paragraph 1; page 6, paragraph 4).
Additionally, claims 10-13 recite the following compounds:
. Compound 1 has the following names: 3-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid, dihydrocaffeic acid, and 3,4-dihydroxyhydrocinnamic acid. Compound 2 has the following names: 3-(4-hydroxyphenyl)propionic acid and 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid. Compound 3 has the following names: benzenepropanoic acid, hydrocinnamic acid, and phenylpropanoic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 recites a method for preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in a patient via preparing an anti-metabolic syndrome agent and administering the anti-metabolic syndrome agent. Claim 11 specifies the method for preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome according to claim 10, wherein the anti-metabolic syndrome agent inhibits cAMP phosphodiesterase activity and/or inhibits DPP IV activity. Anson (J Nutrition, 2011, 141(I), 137-143) teaches that phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid treat metabolic syndrome (Table 3, page 141). Further, Huang (Scientific Reports, 2019, 9(15585), 1-8) teaches phenolic compounds, such as compounds 1-3, inhibit DPP IV (page 8, paragraph 4). Additionally, Nishibe (Molecules, 2021, 26(2362), 1-21). teaches that phenolic compounds have activity against cAMP phosphodiesterase (abstract; page 2, paragraph 1). Accordingly, compounds 1-3 inherently possess activity against cAMP phosphodiesterase and DPP IV. Thus, the specified limitation of the anti-metabolic syndrome agent inhibits cAMP phosphodiesterase activity and/or inhibits DPP IV activity does not further limit the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anson (J Nutrition, 2011, 141(I), 137-143) as evidenced by Huang (Scientific Reports, 2019, 9 (15585), 1-8) and Nishibe (Molecules, 2021, 26 (2362), 1-21).
Anson teaches bioprocessed bran increases bioavailability of phenolic acids in men and has activity against metabolic syndrome (abstract, page 141, column 1, paragraph 4; page 141, column 2, paragraph 1; Table 3, page 141).
Anson further teaches that whole grain consumption is linked to lower risk of metabolic syndrome, which is normally associated with a low-grade chronic inflammation and that bran is rich in phenolic acids (abstract). Additionally, Anson specifies preparation of bioprocessed bread for investigating effect of bioprocessing of bran in whole wheat bread on bioavailability of phenolic compounds, plasma antioxidant capacity, and anti-inflammatory potential (page 138, paragraphs 2, 4, and 5). Anson specifies phenolic compounds, phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid, and shows that the bioprocessed bread led to lower pro- to anti-inflammatory cytokine ratios than the control bread (Table 3, page 141; page 141, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 10, Anson teaches a method for preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in men in need of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome comprising steps of: preparing an anti-metabolic syndrome agent comprising one or more active ingredients selected from the group consisting of compounds 1 to 3 represented by General Formula (I) (phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid) in the gastrointestinal tract, and administering an effective amount of the anti-metabolic syndrome agent to the patient for preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome (abstract; page 138, paragraphs 2, 4, and 5; page 141, column 1, paragraph 4; page 141, column 2, paragraph 1; Table 3, page 141).
Regarding claim 11, Anson teaches a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in a patient via preparation of anti-metabolic syndrome agents (phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid) via ingestion of bioprocessed bread (page 141, column 1, paragraph 4; page 141, column 2, paragraph 1; Table 3, page 141), as evidenced by Huang (Scientific Reports, 2019, 9 (15585), 1-8) and Nishibe (Molecules, 2021, 26 (2362), 1-21). Huang teaches phenolic compounds, such as compounds 1-3, inhibit DPP IV (page 8, paragraph 4), and Nishibe teaches that phenolic compounds have activity against cAMP phosphodiesterase (abstract; page 2, paragraph 1). Accordingly, compounds 1-3 inherently possess activity against cAMP phosphodiesterase and DPP IV. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2112(II). Thus, Anson teaches a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in a patient via preparation and administration of anti-metabolic syndrome agents that inhibit cAMP phosphodiesterase and/or DPP IV.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anson (J Nutrition, 2011, 141(I), 137-143) in view of Nishitani (JP 2016-079186, published 16 May 2016, see IDS filed 14 Feb 2024).
Anson (J Nutrition, 2011, 141(I), 137-143) is applied as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection above.
The Examiner notes the relevant teachings with respect to claims 10 and 11 are set forth above and are incorporated herein by reference.
Additional relevant teachings are set forth below.
Anson teaches a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome via preparation of compounds 1-3 in the gastrointestinal tract and administration thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Anson fails to teach the anti-metabolic syndrome agent is an oral composition.
Nishitani teaches pharmaceutical compositions and methods of preventing or ameliorating insulin resistance (metabolic syndrome as defined by Cleveland Clinic; see claim interpretation) via coffee polyphenols (akin to compounds 1-3):
, which inhibit cAMP phosphodiesterase and DPP IV ([0001], [0004], [0005], [0008], [0052], and [0053]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select the pharmaceutical composition for ameliorating or preventing insulin resistance via coffee polyphenols of Nishitani to develop a method of preventing or ameliorating via administration of compounds 1-3:
, to arrive at instant claim 12. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Anson teaches bioprocessed bran increases bioavailability of phenolic acids in men and has activity against metabolic syndrome,
-Anson teaches that whole grain consumption is linked to lower risk of metabolic syndrome, which is normally associated with a low-grade chronic inflammation and that bran is rich in phenolic acids,
-Anson teaches preparation of bioprocessed bread for investigating effect of bioprocessing of bran in whole wheat bread on bioavailability of phenolic compounds, plasma antioxidant capacity, and anti-inflammatory potential,
-Anson teaches phenolic compounds, phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid, and shows that the bioprocessed bread led to lower pro- to anti-inflammatory cytokine ratios than the control bread,
-Nishitani teaches dihydroferulic acid,
, which is similar in structure to compounds 1-3, and inhibits cAMP and DPP IV ([0001], [0004], [0005], [0008], [0052], and
-Nishitani teaches oral compositions useful in treatment of insulin resistance ([0005], [0053]).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome via administration of an oral composition of anti-metabolic agent: compounds 1-3.
Regarding claim 13, Nishitani teaches the anti-metabolic agent is suitable for blending into cosmetic or hair cosmetics ([0097], [0098]).
Double Patenting
5. Claims 10 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 17/764,666 (reference application) in view of Anson (J Nutrition, 2011, 141(I), 137-143) as evidenced by Cleveland Clinic (page 2, bullet points 4-5; “Metabolic Syndrome,” Cleveland Clinic, 13 Sept 2023, <my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/10783-metabolic-syndrome>, accessed 14 Jan 2026), Huang (Scientific Reports, 2019, 9(15585), 1-8) and Nishibe (Molecules, 2021, 26(2362), 1-21). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. Application No. 17/764,666 claims a method of lowering blood pressure in a patient via preparing a blood pressure-lowering agent and administering said agent:
(claim 6 of ‘666). ‘666 teaches a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic disease, because high blood pressure is a condition of metabolic disease, as evidenced by Cleveland Clinic (page 2, bullet points 4-5; “Metabolic Syndrome,” Cleveland Clinic, 13 Sept 2023, <my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/10783-metabolic-syndrome>, accessed 14 Jan 2026).
Regarding claim 10, ‘666 fails to teach compounds 1-3.
Anson teaches a method for preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in a patient in need of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome comprising steps of: preparing an anti-metabolic syndrome agent comprising one or more active ingredients selected from the group consisting of compounds 1 to 3 represented by General Formula (I) (phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid), and administering an effective amount of the anti-metabolic syndrome agent to the patient for preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome (abstract; page 138, paragraphs 2, 4, and 5; page 141, column 1, paragraph 4; page 141, column 2, paragraph 1; Table 3, page 141).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select the method of preventing or ameliorating lowering blood pressure (and thus metabolic syndrome) via administration of a polyphenol of ‘666 to develop a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome via compounds 1-3 to arrive at instant claim 10. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘666 teaches dihydroferulic acid,
, which is similar in structure to compounds 1-3,
-‘666 teaches compositions useful in lowering blood pressure (a condition in metabolic syndrome),
-Anson teaches bioprocessed bran increases bioavailability of phenolic acids in men and has activity against metabolic syndrome,
-Anson teaches that whole grain consumption is linked to lower risk of metabolic syndrome, which is normally associated with a low-grade chronic inflammation and that bran is rich in phenolic acids,
-Anson teaches preparation of bioprocessed bread for investigating effect of bioprocessing of bran in whole wheat bread on bioavailability of phenolic compounds, plasma antioxidant capacity, and anti-inflammatory potential, and
-Anson teaches phenolic compounds, phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid, and shows that the bioprocessed bread led to lower pro- to anti-inflammatory cytokine ratios than the control bread.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome via administration of compounds 1-3.
Regarding claim 11, Anson teaches a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in a patient via preparation of anti-metabolic syndrome agents (phenylpropanoic acid, 4-hydroxyphenyl propionic acid, and 3(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-propionic acid) via ingestion of bioprocessed bread (page 141, column 1, paragraph 4; page 141, column 2, paragraph 1; Table 3, page 141), as evidenced by Huang (Scientific Reports, 2019, 9(15585), 1-8) and Nishibe (Molecules, 2021, 26(2362), 1-21). Huang teaches phenolic compounds, such as compounds 1-3, inhibit DPP IV (page 8, paragraph 4), and Nishibe teaches that phenolic compounds have activity against cAMP phosphodiesterase (abstract; page 2, paragraph 1). Accordingly, compounds 1-3 inherently possess activity against cAMP phosphodiesterase and DPP IV. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2112(II). Thus, Anson teaches a method of preventing or ameliorating metabolic syndrome in a patient via preparation and administration of anti-metabolic syndrome agents that inhibit cAMP phosphodiesterase and/or DPP IV.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622