Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0207121 (Frenzel) as evidenced by US 4,081,709.
Frenzel discloses a high oil absorption silica where the oil absorption is greater than 250 ml/100g and the median particle size is less than 50 microns [0022]. The resistivity above 10 ohm-m (1000 ohm-cm) is considered inherent to the silica material itself as silica is known for its electrical insulating properties. US 4,081,709 disclosed improving resistivity of a silica powder and the lowest resistivity of untreated silica was 106 ohm-cm (1000000 ohm-cm) is well above 1000 ohm-cm as claimed. Thus, one of ordinary skill would expect the resistance of the silica of Frenzel to be above 10 ohm-m.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2004/0067649 (Hellring) as evidenced by US 4,081,709.
Hellring discloses silica having an oil absorption of at least 150 ml/100g and a median particle size of less than 50 microns [0024, claim 36]. The resistivity above 10 ohm-m (1000 ohm-cm) is considered inherent to the silica material itself as silica is known for its electrical insulating properties. US 4,081,709 disclosed improving resistivity of a silica powder and the lowest resistivity of untreated silica was 106 ohm-cm (1000000 ohm-cm) is well above 1000 ohm-cm as claimed. Thus, one of ordinary skill would expect the resistance of the silica of Hellring to be above 10 ohm-m.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 10-2022-0085247 (Yun) in view of Martin-Martinez, The Mechanics of Adhesion (Edited by Dillard), Chapter 13, page 633, 2002 as evidenced by US 4,081,709.
Yun discloses a positive electrode of a lithium secondary battery comprising 92.1 parts by weight lithium iron phosphate as the positive electrode material, 2 parts by weight carbon black as the conductive material, 2.0 parts by weight PVdF as a binder, and 3 parts by weight of fumed silica gel fine powder having a D50 of 1 microns as a moisture remover (Example 3). The silica is a physical moisture remover and Yun also discloses alumina and magnesium dioxide with D50 particle sizes of 1-5 microns. Yun does not expressly disclose the oil absorptivity of the fumed silica (ionic conductive additive) or moisture removers, however, fumed silica is known as a moisture absorber (remover) as recognized by Yun and also as disclosed by Martin-Martinez. Martin-Martinez discloses that typical properties of fumed silicas are primary particle sizes of 5-40 nm, aggregate size of 0.2-15 microns, and oil absorption of 100-330 g/100g (page 633). Here, the disclosure of g/100g is seen to equate to 1ml/100g. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide fumed silica having the typical properties such as the oil absorption disclosed by Martin-Martinez as the fumed silica of Yun to provide the desired moisture removing capabilities described by Yun. Regarding resistivity, US 4,081,709 disclosed improving resistivity of a silica powder and the lowest resistivity of untreated silica was 106 ohm-cm (1000000 ohm-cm) is well above 1000 ohm-cm as claimed. Thus, one of ordinary skill would expect the resistance of the silica of Frenzel to be above 10 ohm-m.
Regarding claim 2, Yun also describes a negative electrode.
Regarding claim 3, as stated above, the ionic additive of fumed silica is present in an amount of 3 parts by weight (3wt%).
Regarding claim 5, as stated above, the positive electrode active material is lithium iron phosphate.
Regarding claim 6, Yun discloses negative active materials including artificial and natural graphite.
Claims 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2022-0085247 (Yun) in view of Martin-Martinez, The Mechanics of Adhesion (Edited by Dillard), Chapter 13, page 633, 2002 as evidenced by US 4,081,709 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of JP 2002198036 (Akashi).
Yun discloses the addition of fumed silica to the positive electrode and also discloses that the positive electrode has a foil current collector and may be made of aluminum foil and the negative electrode has a foil current collector that may be made of copper. Yun does not specify addition of silica to the negative electrode. Akashi discloses using silicon particles in a content ratio of 1-50wt% of the negative electrode to suppress the separation phenomenon between the negative electrode active materials. Akashi discloses the negative electrode active materials may be natural or artificial graphite and the negative current collector may be copper foil. It would have been obvious to use fumed silica such as that of Yun in view of Martin-Martinez to provide suppress the separation phenomenon as discloses by Akashi. Providing fumed silica to both the negative and positive electrodes of Yun would provide moisture and oil absorption and suppress the separation phenomenon as suggested by Akashi in the negative electrode.
Yun discloses an electronic conductive additive in the positive electrode plate if carbon black at 2 parts by weight and 3 parts fumed silica (Example 3) thus providing a total weight of ionic conductive additive (silica) in a total weight of conductive additive (carbon black and silica) is 3/5 (60wt%) which falls within the range cited in claim 4. Use of similar amounts would have been obvious in the negative electrode of Yun as the amount suggested by Akashi is from 1-50wt%.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Akashi discloses a copper foil negative electrode current collector and an aluminum foil as the positive electrode collector in a manner similar to Yun.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005347195 (Tanaka) in view of KR 10-2022-0085247 (Yun) in view of Martin-Martinez, The Mechanics of Adhesion (Edited by Dillard), Chapter 13, page 633, 2002 as evidenced by US 4,081,709.
Tanaka discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising a plurality of plate groups (3) having positive and negative electrodes and provided with a battery case (1) (considered a shell). Tanaka discloses that the positive electrode includes a positive active material, a binder (such as PVdF), and a conductive material (such as graphite), but does not disclose the addition of other additives. Yun discloses a positive electrode of a lithium secondary battery comprising 92.1 parts by weight lithium iron phosphate as the positive electrode material, 2 parts by weight carbon black as the conductive material, 2.0 parts by weight PVdF as a binder, and 3 parts by weight of fumed silica gel fine powder having a D50 of 1 microns as a moisture remover (Example 3). The silica is a physical moisture remover and Yun also discloses alumina and magnesium dioxide with D50 particle sizes of 1-5 microns. Yun does not expressly disclose the oil absorptivity of the fumed silica (ionic conductive additive) or moisture removers, however, fumed silica is known as a moisture absorber (remover) as recognized by Yun and also as disclosed by Martin-Martinez as discussed above with regard to claims 1-3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the silicon dioxide ionic conductive additive of Yun and Martin-Martinez in the positive electrode plate groups of Tanaka to provide a moisture remover as discussed by Yun such an incorporation improves these characteristics. Both Yun and Tanaka disclose lithium-ion secondary batteries and one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to modify Tanaka to gain the benefits of moisture removal thereby ensuring the safety of the battery even in the presence of moisture.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that both resistivity and oil absorption are properties that are not inherent or unchangeable. It is agreed that oil absorption of the range claimed is not necessarily inherent to silica based upon the compound itself. Thus, new art applied above is relied upon to disclose oil absorption properties. However, it is not clear that the inherent high electrical insulation property of silica is changeable such that the resistivity is not inherently greater than 10 ohm-m. Silica is understood to have exceptional insulative properties, thus having high electrical resistivity. Applicant broadly asserts that it is well known that resistivity of the material strongly depends upon intrinsic purity, type and content of impurities, crystal structure, and preparation methods. Here, the art relied upon discloses silica having the basic compound structure, similar particle size and in the instance of fumed silica, high moisture absorption and evidence of high oil absorption. There is no disclosed in the prior art of alteration of the high insulative property that is widely understood to be inherent to silica itself much less any disclosure in the instant specification of specific steps necessary to obtain silica with the claimed resistivity and oil absorption. Given the known exceptional electrical insulative property inherent to silica, the resistivity is considered to be above 10 ohm-m (1000 ohm-cm). Moreover, US patent 4,081,709 found that disclosed improving resistivity of a silica powder and the lowest resistivity prior of untreated silica was 106 ohm-cm (1000000 ohm-cm) which is well above 1000 ohm-cm as claimed.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Jennifer McNeil/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723