DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be an undue burden to examine the full scope of the application. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not a requirement that needs to be met when restricting a 371 application. The examiner has demonstrated that the special technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art, as such restriction is proper. Applicant remarks that the dual dispersibility and unique sensory property represents a distinguishing feature of the claimed over the prior art. THIs is not persuasive as it is unsupported by factual evidence.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “one or more kinds selected from…” the use of the word “kinds” renders the claim indefinite as its unclear if the selection is limited to those listed or if it includes derivatives of those listed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2010059272. JP’272 is cited on the 11/10/2023 IDS.
JP’272 discloses a surface treated inorganic oxide (i.e. main constituent) which is surface treated with a sulfur containing organic silane compound and at least one hydrophobizing agent selected from the groups consisting of fatty acids, higher alcohols, polyether’s and surfactants (Abs). The treatment of the particle surface of the silica allows for excellent dispersibility [0014].
Regarding claim 1: JP’272 teaches the use of silica as the inorganic oxide and teaches that silica has silanol groups on the particles surface and surface treatment with hydrophobic agents helps with dispersibility (which reads on based material powder being an inorganic material) [0002]. The hydrophobic treatment can be at least one of a higher fatty alcohol such as stearyl alcohol (reading on higher aliphatic alcohol) and cationic surfactants [0029-0030]. As JP’272 teaches the use of “at least one” treatment, it would have been prima facie obvious to use two of the treatments taught to be suitable for use, such as stearyl alcohol and a cationic surfactant.
Regarding claim 2: Claim 2 recites an emulsion viscosity ratio which appears to be a resultant property of mixing the claimed powder with water under specific conditions. As the prior art makes obvious the claimed composite powder having the same structural limitations (i.e. the same base material with the same surface treatments and overlapping surface treatment to base material powder ratio, see claims below), the powder claimed and the powder of the prior art are expected to have the same properties absent evidence to the contrary. The U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claims 3-4: JP’272 teaches that a suitable cationic surfactant for use includes distearyl dimethyl ammonium salt, wherein the salts include bromide and chloride, thus the use of distearyl dimethyl ammonium chloride is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 5: As discussed above, JP’272 makes obvious the use of stearyl alcohol (C18).
Regarding claim 6: As discussed above, JP’272 makes obvious the use of silica as the inorganic oxide.
Regarding claims 7-8: JP’272 teaches using 1-20, preferably 2-10, parts by weight of the hydrophobic agent based on 100 parts of the silica (i.e. base material). As JP’272 makes obvious using a mixture of agents, it would have been prima facie obvious to use this mixture in a total amounts of 1-20 parts, preferably 2-10parts, based on 100 parts silica and this provides amounts of aliphatic alcohol and cationic surfactant which overlap with the claimed ranges and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious absent criticality.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613