DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 11-12, 16, 24, 52-61 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
3. Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 12, 16, 24, 56-60.
4. Applicant newly added claim 61.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “The method of claim 3, wherein the cellular network of the facility is associated with a plurality of facilities, and wherein activating the subscriber profile comprises granting the mobile device access to the cellular network at, at least a subset of, the plurality of facilities”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-4, 6, 11-12,16, 24, 52-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prayaga et al (US 2022/0217525), hereinafter “Prayaga“, in view of Gundavelli et al (US 2021/0185540), hereinafter “Gundavelli“, further in view of Menard et al (US 2017/0359163), hereinafter “Menard”.
Regarding claim 1, Prayaga teaches a method of establishing subscriber identity in a cellular network of a facility, the method comprising:
receiving a request for a subscriber profile from a mobile device of a subscriber (par [0038-0040] teach request for a carrier eSIM profile);
determining a connectivity profile based at least in part on the request received (pars [0039-0040] teach determine whether the eSIM provisioning), wherein the connectivity profile comprises one or more connectivity characteristics for providing access to the cellular network that facilitates control of one or more building systems of the facility (par [0065] teaches the SM-DS 350 may provide to the EC a secure uniform resource locator (URL) that the information handling system 330 can access in order to directly established a connection with the carrier 360 and download the carrier eSIM profile to the eSIM reads on connectivity characteristics); and
Prayaga does not explicitly teach sending the subscriber profile to the mobile device, wherein the subscriber profile is associated with the determined connectivity profile.
Gundavelli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending the subscriber profile to the mobile device, wherein the subscriber profile is associated with the determined connectivity profile (pars [0020] [0032], and [0072] teach the user may want to switch to another access network to receive the access service when signal strength of the currently used access network (e.g., the Wi-Fi network), and enables the profile to connect to the guest access service provided by the another access network that is a fifth generation (5G) radio network or a private radio network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga to Gundavelli, in order to provide to access other technologies such as a private radio network, the LTE radio network and other access networks, in which interworking between various network access technologies (as suggested by Gundavelli in paragraph [0020]).
Prayaga and Gundavelli don not explicitly teach using a cable configured to transmit both electrical power and cellular communication to the one or more building systems of the facility;
Menard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches using a cable configured to transmit both electrical power and cellular communication to the one or more building systems of the facility (pars [0023] [0028] teach using the ethernet and the wireless network interfaces to provide services in the building by using the Gigabit home networking protocol);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga, and Gundavelli to Menard, in order to extend and enhance the other network technologies that allow within a coverage area or other the region such as Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), Wi-Fi networks including an intranet, the Internet, a cellular network, a local area network (LAN), and a personal network, etc.(as suggested by Menard in paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claims 2, 52, and 57, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claims 1, 16, 24, Prayaga further teaches wherein the subscriber profile comprises an embedded Subscriber Identification Module (eSIM) profile (pars [0010] [0040] teach eSIM).
Regarding claims 3, 53, and 58, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claims 1, 16, 24, Prayaga further teaches comprising: (i) receiving an acknowledgment that the subscriber profile has been installed on the mobile device (pars [0010] [0072] teach confirming that the information handling system has an authentic subscription to services reads on an acknowledgment, and other authentication data for accessing); and (ii) responsive to receiving the acknowledgement, activating the subscriber profile on the cellular network of the facility (pars [0010] [0072-0073]).
Regarding claims 4, 54, and 59, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claims 3, 53, 58, Prayaga further teaches wherein activating the subscriber profile comprises sending an International Mobile Subscriber Identifier (IMSI) activation notification to a subscription database (pars [0040] [0057] [0065] teach an International Mobile Subscriber Identifier (IMSI)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claim 1, Prayaga further teaches wherein receiving the request comprises receiving a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) (par [0059] teach URL).
Regarding claims 11, 55, and 60, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claim 1, Pravaga does not clearly teach wherein the one or more connectivity characteristics comprise a Quality of Service (QoS) level, an access level, a time during which access to the cellular network is granted or denied, and/or a bandwidth setting, or any combination thereof.
Gundavelli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more connectivity characteristics comprise a Quality of Service (QoS) level (par [0032]), an access level, a time during which access to the cellular network is granted or denied (pars [0012] [0032-0033] teach authentication for various access networks which reads on the cellular network is granted or denied) and/or a bandwidth setting, or any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga to Gundavelli, in order to provide to access other technologies such as a private radio network, the LTE radio network and other access networks, in which interworking between various network access technologies (as suggested by Gundavelli in paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claims 12 and 56, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claim 11, Prayaga further teaches wherein the access level comprises a level of access to (i) information accessible via the cellular network, (ii) a data network accessible via the cellular network (pars [0017] [0023] teach the information accessible via the cellular network), and/or (iii) a device operatively coupled with the cellular network, or any combination of (i)-(iii).
Regarding to claim 16, Prayaga teaches a system for establishing subscriber identity in a cellular network of a facility (Figure 2), the system configured to;
receive a request for a subscriber profile from a mobile device of a subscriber (par [0038-0040] teach request for a carrier eSIM profile);
determine a connectivity profile based at least in part on the request received (pars [0039-0040] teach determine whether the eSIM provisioning), wherein the connectivity profile comprises one or more connectivity characteristics for providing access to the cellular network that facilitates control of one or more building systems of the facility (par [0065] teaches the SM-DS 350 may provide to the EC a secure uniform resource locator (URL) that the information handling system 330 can access in order to directly established a connection with the carrier 360 and download the carrier eSIM profile to the eSIM reads on connectivity characteristics); and
Prayaga does not explicitly teach send the subscriber profile to the mobile device, wherein the subscriber profile is associated with the determined connectivity profile.
Gundavelli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches send the subscriber profile to the mobile device, wherein the subscriber profile is associated with the determined connectivity profile (pars [0020] [0032], and [0072] teach the user may want to switch to another access network to receive the access service when signal strength of the currently used access network (e.g., the Wi-Fi network), and enables the profile to connect to the guest access service provided by the another access network that is a fifth generation (5G) radio network or a private radio network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga to Gundavelli, in order to provide to access other technologies such as a private radio network, the LTE radio network and other access networks, in which interworking between various network access technologies (as suggested by Gundavelli in paragraph [0020]).
Prayaga and Gundavelli don not explicitly teach using a cable configured to transmit both electrical power and cellular communication to the one or more building systems of the facility;
Menard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches using a cable configured to transmit both electrical power and cellular communication to the one or more building systems of the facility (pars [0023] [0028] teach using the ethernet and the wireless network interfaces to provide services in the building by using the Gigabit home networking protocol);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga, and Gundavelli to Menard, in order to extend and enhance the other network technologies that allow within a coverage area or other the region such as Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), Wi-Fi networks including an intranet, the Internet, a cellular network, a local area network (LAN), and a personal network, etc.(as suggested by Menard in paragraph [0028]).
Regarding to claim 24, Prayaga teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing program instructions for establishing subscriber identity in a cellular network of a facility (Figure 2), which non- transitory computer readable program instructions, when executed by one or more processors operatively coupled to a communication network, cause the one or more processors to execute operations comprising:
receiving, or directing receipt of, through the communication network a request for a subscriber profile from a mobile device of a subscriber (par [0038-0040] teach request for a carrier eSIM profile);
determining, or directing determination of, a connectivity profile based at least in part on the request received (pars [0039-0040] teach determine whether the eSIM provisioning), wherein the connectivity profile comprises one or more connectivity characteristics for providing access to the cellular network that facilitates control of one or more building systems of the facility (par [0065] teaches the SM-DS 350 may provide to the EC a secure uniform resource locator (URL) that the information handling system 330 can access in order to directly established a connection with the carrier 360 and download the carrier eSIM profile to the eSIM reads on connectivity characteristics); and
Prayaga does not explicitly teach sending, or directing the sending of, the subscriber profile to the mobile device, wherein the subscriber profile is associated with the determined connectivity profile.
Gundavelli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending, or directing the sending of, the subscriber profile to the mobile device, wherein the subscriber profile is associated with the determined connectivity profile (pars [0020] [0032], and [0072] teach the user may want to switch to another access network to receive the access service when signal strength of the currently used access network (e.g., the Wi-Fi network), and enables the profile to connect to the guest access service provided by the another access network that is a fifth generation (5G) radio network or a private radio network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga to Gundavelli, in order to provide to access other technologies such as a private radio network, the LTE radio network and other access networks, in which interworking between various network access technologies (as suggested by Gundavelli in paragraph [0020]).
Menard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches using a cable configured to transmit both electrical power and cellular communication to the one or more building systems of the facility (pars [0023] [0028] teach using the ethernet and the wireless network interfaces to provide services in the building by using the Gigabit home networking protocol);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga, and Gundavelli to Menard, in order to extend and enhance the other network technologies that allow within a coverage area or other the region such as Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), Wi-Fi networks including an intranet, the Internet, a cellular network, a local area network (LAN), and a personal network, etc.(as suggested by Menard in paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 61, the combination of Prayaga, Gundavelli and Menard teach the method of claim 1, Prayaga, Gundavelli do not clearly teach wherein the one or more connectivity characteristics facilitate control of one or more building systems of the facility using Gigabit Home Networking (G.hn).
Menard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more connectivity characteristics facilitate control of one or more building systems of the facility using Gigabit Home Networking (G.hn) (par [0023] teaches Gigabit Home Networking (G.hn)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Prayaga, and Gundavelli to Menard, in order to extend and enhance the other network technologies that allow within a coverage area or other the region such as Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), Wi-Fi networks including an intranet, the Internet, a cellular network, a local area network (LAN), and a personal network, etc.(as suggested by Menard in paragraph [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
As to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the cellular network of the facility is associated with a plurality of facilities, and wherein activating the subscriber profile comprises granting the mobile device access to the cellular network at, at least a subset of, the plurality of facilities.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641