DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “proton exchange membrane” and “solid polymer electrolyte” do not need to be capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said knallgas" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as though claim 6 should be dependent on claim 5, as this claim recites knallgas. For the sake of examining the claim on its merit, it will be assumed that claim 6 should be dependent on claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 26 is indefinite because it is unclear what the claim is trying to describe. The wording does not appear to make sense.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed, et al (PGPub 2020/0165733 [IDS Reference]). Reed teaches the biological conversion of gaseous carbon dioxide into a value-product. See paragraph [0002]. Reed teaches that the gas is held at a pressure greater than ambient pressure. See paragraph [0223]. Reed teaches conditions that are suitable for the support of the microorganism. See paragraph [0038]. Reed indicates that the microorganisms convert the substrate carbon into a value-product by way of carbon fixation. See paragraph [0018] [0027]. Reed indicates that the biochemical reactions involve the same electrochemical energy, including the same electron donors/acceptors. See paragraph [0046] [0052]. Reed indicates that the chemical reactants undergo the same biochemical changes as those described in the claim. See paragraph [0269]. Although Reed does not appear to state that the increased partial pressure improves the kinetics of the reaction, Reed provides for the same increase in partial pressure, and thusly Reed must also inherently teach this functionality. See paragraph [0434].
With respect to claim 1, Reed appears to teach a method that is consistent with that claimed. Although the instant claim is quite verbose, it appears as though each limitation has been met by Reed’s disclosure.
With respect to claim 3, Reed teaches carbon dioxide. See paragraph [0002].
With respect to claims 4-7, Reed teaches the chemoautrotroph knallgas microorganism: Cupriavidus necator. See paragraph [0031] [0032] [0034].
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Reed teaches the same bioreactor conditions as those claimed. See paragraph [0231] [0233] [0234].
With respect to claim 11, Reed teaches the same gaseous recirculation loop/ See paragraph [0241].
With respect to claim 12, Reed teaches the electrolysis of water using the same conditions. See paragraph [0055].
With respect to claim 13, Reed teaches that the oxygen is acquired through water electrolysis. See paragraph [0268].
With respect to claims 14 and 15, Reed teaches generating electron donors and acceptors using the same means as those claimed. See paragraph [0053] [0054].
With respect to claim 16, Reed teaches the same bioreactors. See paragraph [0221].
With respect to claim 17, Reed appears to describe the same impeller design. See paragraph [0232] [0241] [0244].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 2 and 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Reed, et al (PGPub 2020/0165733 [IDS Reference]). See the discussion of Reed above.
With respect to claim 2, Reed teaches that the substrate gas is supplied at 15 psig, which should be greater than 1 bar gauge (14 psig). If this is not what Reed taught, Reed is clear that increased partial pressure improves kinetics. See paragraph [0434]. As such, Reed either anticipates the claimed limitation, or provides the ordinary artisan to test increased pressures to determine where the improved kinetics lie.
With respect to claim 25, Reed teaches the same hydrogen or CO-oxidizing microorganisms. See paragraph [0211]. With the same oxygen sensors. See paragraph [0258] [0268]. Reed appears to use the same gas manifold as that claimed. See paragraph [0342] [0343]. Reed provides for a more detailed look at the structure of the reactor, which appears consistent with that claimed. See Figure 10. Based upon the claimed structure, and that presented in Reed, it appears as though the claimed structure is anticipated by Reed. If it can be shown that these are not identical, between the teaching of Reed, and the fact that the ordinary artisan possesses ample knowledge in the instant field, these structural limitations would be obvious to the ordinary artisan. See MPEP 2141.03.
With respect to claims 26 and 27, Reed teaches “controlled addition of oxygen,” which appears to describe the limitation (see the 35 USC 112(b) rejection). See paragraph [0173]. If this is not what Reed teaches, the ordinary artisan understands gas flow rates and can control the flow rate to optimize a culture.
With respect to claim 28, Reed teaches using ammonium hydroxide. See paragraph [0260].
With respect to claim 29, Reed teaches the same sensors and mixers. See paragraph [0233] [0241] [0258] [0268].
With respect to claim 30, Reed teaches automated culture media addition. See paragraph [0233] [0268]. Reed either anticipates the claimed structural elements, or provides for structures that are different, but provide for identical functions, thereby providing obvious variants.
With respect to claim 31, Reed measures optical density, and as such, must have an optical density sensor. See paragraph [0072]. The ordinary artisan would find it obvious to control nutrient/media input, depending on the optical density of the sample. The ordinary artisan understands that providing a sample at a set density level would require control of the nutrients.
With respect to claim 32, Reed teaches the same gas-permeable barrier, using the same microorganisms. See paragraph [0241].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/823,534 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims provide for overlapping inventions of biological conversion of inorganic or organic carbon, as a gas substrate, wherein the microorganisms utilize the same biosynthetic pathways.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/089,103 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims provide for overlapping inventions of biological conversion of inorganic or organic carbon, as a gas substrate, wherein the microorganisms utilize the same biosynthetic pathways.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sefton (PGPub 2013/0065285); Smith, et al (PGPub 2019/0300838); Sefton, et al (PGPub 2019/0300844).
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651