DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020047442 of Yan in view of JP2006128223 of Zen.
Claim 1 claims a gas control system for a reflow oven, a hearth (112) of the reflow oven (110) containing a gas, the gas comprising oxygen and a working gas, and the hearth (112) comprising a preheating zone (101), a peak zone (103) and a cooling zone (105), characterized in that the gas control system (100) comprises: an oxygen detection apparatus (120), the oxygen detection apparatus (120) being configured to detect the oxygen concentration in the peak zone (103); a first valve apparatus (131), the first valve apparatus (131) being configured to fluidly connect a working gas source (140) to the peak zone (103) of the hearth (112) in a controllable fashion; a second valve apparatus (132), the second valve apparatus (132) being configured to fluidly connect an air source (150) to the peak zone (103) of the hearth (112) in a controllable fashion; and a controller (122), the controller (122) being in communicative connection with the oxygen detection apparatus (120), the first valve apparatus (131) and the second valve apparatus (132); and the controller (122) being configured to control the degree of opening of the first valve apparatus (131) and/or the second valve apparatus (132) when the oxygen concentration detected by the oxygen detection apparatus (120) does not satisfy a preset value , in order to enable the oxygen concentration in the peak zone (103) to satisfy the preset value by adjusting the flow rate of working gas and/or air inputted into the peak zone (103) of the hearth (112).
Yan teaches a gas control system and method for a reflow soldering furnace in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Yan discloses a reflow soldering furnace with oxygen and a working gas, a preheating zone, a peak value zone, and a cooling zone, Para[0028]. Yan also teaches an oxygen detecting device that detects the oxygen concentration in the peak value zone, Para[0007]. Yan discloses a controller, configured to control the opening extent of at least one intake valve device based on an oxygen concentration signal, thereby regulating a flow rate of the working gas inputted into the furnace chamber, Para[0007]. Yan does not teach a first and second valve apparatus being configured to fluidly connect working gas and an air source to the peak zone.
Zen discloses a reflow furnace and mixed gas supply method thereto in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Zen teaches that if a mixed gas is supplied into the furnace from the center of the furnace and from the vicinity of the inlet and outlet, and the inside of the furnace has a desired oxygen concentration, a large amount of mixed gas need not be supplied. The gas supply is completely stopped, intermittently supplied, or continuously supplied with a reduced supply amount. At this time, if mixed gas is supplied from the heating zone (both the preheating zone and / or the main heating zone) in the center of the furnace, the amount of expensive inert gas used can be reduced, Para[0018]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect a working gas source and an air source taught by Zen to fluidly connect them to the peak zone disclosed by Yan in order to reduce the amount of expensive inert gas needed. Thus, Yan in view of Zen covers all limitations of claim 1.
Claim 2 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the gas control system (100) comprises a mixing duct (135), the mixing duct (135) comprising a first inlet (136), a second inlet (137) and at least one outlet (126, 127), the working gas source (140) being in fluid communication with the first inlet (136) via the first valve apparatus (131), the air source (150) being in fluid communication with the second inlet (137) via the second valve apparatus (132), and the at least one outlet (126, 127) being in fluid communication with the peak zone (103).
Yan does not teach a mixing duct for mixing the inert gas with the air supply.
Zen teaches an air pipe 18 and an inert gas pipe 19 are connected to the mixing pipe 17. The air pipe 18 is branched into three constant flow rate air pipes 20, 21, and 22. Each of the constant flow rate air pipes is provided with flow rate adjusting devices 23, 24, and 25 and opening / closing valves 26, 27, and 28, Para[0026]. Zen discloses that if a mixed gas is supplied into the furnace from the center of the furnace and from the vicinity of the inlet and outlet, and the inside of the furnace has a desired oxygen concentration, a large amount of mixed gas need not be supplied. The gas supply is completely stopped, intermittently supplied, or continuously supplied with a reduced supply amount. At this time, if mixed gas is supplied from the heating zone (both the preheating zone and / or the main heating zone) in the center of the furnace, the amount of expensive inert gas used can be reduced, Para[0018]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the mixing pipe taught by Zen in the reflow furnace disclosed by Yan to provide a mixed gas supply to the furnace, limiting the amount of expensive inert gas used. Thus, Yan in view of Zen covers all limitations of claim 2.
Claim 3 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the peak zone (103) comprises three secondary peak zones (Z10, Z11, 212), the three secondary peak zones (Z10, Z11, Z12) comprising a middle secondary peak zone (Z11) located in the middle and two side secondary peak zones (Z10, Z12) located at two sides of the middle secondary peak zone (Z11); the oxygen detection apparatus (120) is configured to detect the oxygen concentration in the middle secondary peak zone (Z11); the at least one outlet (126, 127) comprises two outlets (126, 127), the two outlets (126, 127) being in fluid communication with the two side secondary peak zones (Z10, Z12) respectively.
Yan teaches 3 zones in the peak value zone, Para[0029], Fig. 1. Yan discloses that the oxygen detecting device is configured to detect an oxygen concentration in the middle peak value zone, Para[0034], Fig. 1. Yan does not teach two outlets being in fluid communication with the two side secondary peak zones.
Zen teaches supply pipes in fluid communication with the furnace, Para[0029]. Zen discloses that if a mixed gas is supplied into the furnace from the center of the furnace and from the vicinity of the inlet and outlet, and the inside of the furnace has a desired oxygen concentration, a large amount of mixed gas need not be supplied. The gas supply is completely stopped, intermittently supplied, or continuously supplied with a reduced supply amount. At this time, if mixed gas is supplied from the heating zone (both the preheating zone and / or the main heating zone) in the center of the furnace, the amount of expensive inert gas used can be reduced, Para[0018]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the outlets in fluid communication taught by Zen with the secondary peak zones disclosed by Yan to provide a mixed gas supply to the furnace, limiting the amount of expensive inert gas used. Thus, Yan in view of Zen covers all limitations of claim 3.
Claim 4 further limits claim 1 by claiming a third valve apparatus (133), the third valve apparatus (133) being configured to fluidly connect the working gas source (140) to the preheating zone (101) of the hearth (112); the degree of opening of the third valve apparatus (133) remaining unchanged during operation of the reflow oven (110).
Yan teaches an intake valve device that establishes fluid communication between the preheating zone and the working gas source, Para[0037]. Yan discloses that when said actual detection value is smaller than said regulation set value, keeping the opening extent of said first intake valve device at a preset value and decreasing the opening extent of said second intake valve device until said actual detection value is equal to said target set value, Para[0018]. The first intake device of Yan is considered equivalent to the third valve apparatus of the claimed invention. Therefore, Yan teaches the valve apparatus limitation of claim 4. Thus, Yan in view of Zen covers all limitations of claim 4. Claim 5 further limits claim 4 by claiming that the preheating zone (101) comprises multiple secondary preheating zones (ZO1,Z02......Z09,)and the working gas source (140) is controllably in fluid communication with the secondary preheating zone (Z02) that is second-furthest from the peak zone (103) via the third valve apparatus (133).
Yan teaches a preheating zone comprising multiple secondary preheating zones, Para[0029], Fig.1. Yan discloses that the first intake valve device 131 establishes fluid communication between the preheating zone 101 and the working gas source 140, Para[0037]. Figure 1 of Yan shows the working gas source in fluid communication with the second-furthest secondary preheating zone from the peak zone, Fig 1. Therefore, Yan covers the additional limitations of claim 5. Thus, Yan in view of Zen covers all limitations of claim 5.
Claim 6 further limits claim 4 by claiming a fourth valve apparatus (134), the fourth valve apparatus (134) being configured to fluidly connect the working gas source (140) to the cooling zone (105) of the hearth (112); the degree of opening of the fourth valve apparatus (105) being determined according to the preset value.
Yan teaches an intake valve device that establishes fluid communication between the cooling zone and the working gas source, Para[0037]. Yan discloses decreasing the opening extent of said intake valve device until actual detection value is equal to said target set value, Para[0018]. Therefore, Yan covers the additional limitations of claim 6. Thus, Yan in view of Zen covers all limitations of claim 6.
Claim 7 further limits claim 6 by claiming that the cooling zone (105) comprises multiple secondary cooling zones (CO1, C02 C04), and the working gas source (140) is controllably in fluid communication with the secondary cooling zone (C03) that is second-furthest from the peak zone (103) via the fourth valve apparatus (134).
Yan discloses a cooling zone with multiple secondary cooling zones, Para[0029]. Yan discloses that the second intake valve device establishes fluid communication between the cooling zone and the working gas source, Para[0011]. Figure 1 of Yan shows the working gas source in fluid communication with the second-furthest secondary cooling zone from the peak zone, Fig 1. Therefore, Yan covers the additional limitations of claim 7. Thus, Yan in view of Zen teaches all limitations of claim 7.
Claim 10 further limits claim 1 by claiming a reflow oven, characterized by comprising: a hearth (112) , the hearth (112) comprising a preheating zone (101), a peak zone (103) and a cooling zone (105), and the hearth (112) containing a gas, the gas comprising oxygen and a working gas; and the gas control system (100) as claimed in claim 1.
Yan discloses a reflow soldering furnace with oxygen and a working gas, a preheating zone, a peak value zone, and a cooling zone, Para[0028]. Therefore, Yan covers the additional limitations of claim 10. Thus, Yan in view of Zen teaches all limitations of claim 10.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020047442 of Yan in view of JP2006128223 of Zen further in view of the combination of JPH08172263 of Taniguchi and WO2014090571 of Rodrigues.
Claim 8 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the controller (122) is configured to: determine an adjustment range according to the preset value of oxygen concentration; increase the degree of opening of the first valve apparatus (131) when the oxygen concentration detected by the oxygen detection apparatus (120 ) is greater than the maximum value of the adjustment range, to enable the oxygen concentration to reach the adjustment range by increasing the flow rate of working gas inputted into the peak zone (103) of the hearth (112);increase the degree of opening of the second valve apparatus (132) when the oxygen concentration detected by the oxygen detection apparatus (120) is less than the minimum value of the adjustment range, to enable the oxygen concentration to reach the adjustment range by increasing the flow rate of oxygen inputted into the peak zone (103) of the hearth (112); adjust the degrees of opening of the first valve apparatus (131) and the second valve apparatus (132) when the oxygen concentration detected by the oxygen detection apparatus (120) is within the adjustment range, so that the oxygen concentration in the peak zone (103) satisfies the preset value.
Yan teaches a controller and discloses that the controller 122 is configured to, based on an oxygen concentration signal, control the opening extent of the first intake valve device 131 and that of the second intake valve device 132 to regulate the amount of nitrogen supplied to the furnace chamber 112, thereby regulating the oxygen concentration in the furnace chamber 112, Para[0034]. Zen also teaches a control device but does not specifically teach that the controller controls an oxygen source.
Taniguchi teaches an automatic oxygen-concentration control apparatus for inert-atmosphere reflow furnace in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Taniguchi discloses that the atmosphere inside the furnace is sampled by the atmosphere intake pipe 16, taken into the oxygen concentration automatic control device main body 27, the oxygen concentration is measured, and the calculation is performed based on the result to obtain an appropriate flow rate of inert gas and air in the furnace. Control for injection into the body 11 is performed. That is, the flow rate control valve 23 is controlled to control the flow rate of an inert gas such as nitrogen gas supplied into the furnace body, and the flow rate control valve 26 is controlled to control the flow rate of air supplied to the furnace body, Para[0021].
Rodrigues teaches portable equipment for monitoring and controlling the level of oxygen in reflow oven atmosphere in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Rodrigues discloses that during the monitoring the equipment detects that there is too much oxygen in the reflow oven surroundings (1) (levels above those previously determined by the user), the equipment automatically injects more nitrogen to the reflow oven (1) until the level predetermined by the user is reached, Para[0032]. On the other hand, when the level of residual oxygen in the reflow surroundings is extremely low (below those values predetermined by the user), the equipment automatically reduces the nitrogen flow into the reflow oven (1), by closing the proportional valve of nitrogen flow control. (9), Para[0033]. When the oxygen level is according to what has previously been predetermined by the user, the equipment automatically locks the open position of the proportional valve of nitrogen flow control (9). This way, it is kept a constant nitrogen injection flow into the reflow oven (1) until the moment at which the equipment detects that the oxygen level is no longer as predetermined by the user, Para[0034]. Therefore, the use of a nitrogen amount lower or higher than that required for that oven specific operation (1) is avoided, preventing the waste of nitrogen, improving the quality of the final product of which specification requires low oxygen concentration in the reflow surroundings, Para[0035].
Therefore, based on the teachings of Taniguchi and Rodrigues, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the controller taught by Taniguchi and Rodrigues in the gas control system disclosed by Yan and Zen in order to control the rate of inert gas going into the furnace preventing the waste of nitrogen, and improving the quality of the final product. Thus, Yan in view of Zen further in view of Taniguchi and Rodrigues covers all limitations of claim 8.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020047442 of Yan in view of JP2006128223 of Zen further in view of JPH08172263 of Taniguchi.
Claim 9 further limits claim 6 by claiming that the first valve apparatus (131), the second valve apparatus (132) , the third valve apparatus (133) and the fourth valve apparatus (134) are flow control valves.
Yan discloses control valves, Para[0005],[0006]. Zen does not teach control valves.
Taniguchi teaches that the flow rate control valve 23 is controlled to control the flow rate of an inert gas such as nitrogen gas supplied into the furnace body, and the flow rate control valve 26 is controlled to control the flow rate of air supplied to the furnace body, Para[0021].
Therefore, based on the teaching of Yan and Taniguchi, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use flow control valves to control the flow rate of air and inert gas into the furnace body. Thus, Yan in view of Zen further in view of Taniguchi covers all limitations of claim 9.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733