CTFR 18/560,324 CTFR 91690 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 March 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 26-27, 35-36, and 43-44 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 26 and 43 recite the limitation “transmission simultaneous transmission” in lines 16 and 18 respectively. For consistency and clarification, it is recommended to change “transmission simultaneous transmission” in lines 16 and 18 respectively, to “simultaneous transmission”. Claims 26-27, 35-36, and 43-44 recite the limitation “and first SRI” in lines 17, 5, 15, 4, 19, and 3-4 respectively. For consistency and clarification with “a first SRI” in claims 26, 35, and 43 respectively, it is recommended to change “and first SRI” in lines 17, 5, 15, 4, 19, and 3-4 respectively, to “and the first SRI”. Claims 26-27, 35-36, and 43-44 recite the limitation “and second SRI” in lines 18, 7, 16, 6, 20, and 5 respectively. For consistency and clarification with “a second SRI” in claims 26, 35, and 43 respectively, it is recommended to change “and second SRI” in lines 18, 7, 16, 6, 20, and 5 respectively, to “and the second SRI” . Appropriate correction is required. Response to Arguments 07-38-02 AIA Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 , filed 15 March 2026, in view of the amendments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 26-27, 29-36, and 38-45 under 35 USC §§ 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu, Matsumura, and Yuan . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 26-27, 29-33, 35-36, 38-41, and 43-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. WO 2020/073289 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Liu”) in view of Matsumura et al. US 2024/0251405 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Matsumura”). Note Liu was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 10 November 2023 . As to claim 26 , Liu teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) having instructions, stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), configure the UE to (¶¶25, 54, and 56; figures 1 and 5): receive a downlink control information (DCI) to schedule transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using a first antenna panel and a second antenna panel simultaneously (¶¶25-26; figure 1: receive DCI having panel-specific parameters for scheduling two panels to simultaneously transmit one PUSCH); identify a first codebook to be used for the PUSCH on the first antenna panel (¶¶25-26; figure 1: first codebook of multiple beam codebook for panel 111); identify a second codebook to be used for the PUSCH on the second antenna panel (¶¶25-26; figure 1: second codebook of multiple beam codebook for panel 113); and encode the PUSCH for transmission from the first and second antenna panels based on the respective first and second codebooks (¶¶25-26 and 31; figure 1: encode the multiple beam codebook based PUSCH transmission with CW0 and CW1 mapping to panels 111 and 113), wherein the DCI indicates a first transmission precoding matrix index (TPMI) for the first codebook and a second TPMI for the second codebook (¶¶25-26; figure 1), wherein the DCI further indicates a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for the first codebook and a second SRI for the second codebook (¶¶25-26; figure 1). Although Liu teaches “One or more…for the second codebook,” Liu does not explicitly disclose “for single-codeword…second antenna panel”. However, Matsumura teaches for single-codeword multi-panel operation (¶¶94-95; figure 3A), the DCI indicates a single modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (¶¶28 and 31) and the one or more processors are configured to encode a single codeword for transmission simultaneous transmission by the first and second antenna panels by applying the first TPMI and first SRI to the encoded codeword for transmission by the first antenna panel and applying the second TPMI and second SRI to the encoded codeword for transmission by the second antenna panel (¶¶45-46, 68, 92-95, 100-101; figures 1 and 3A: UE encodes a single codeword for coherent transmission on panel #1 and panel #2 using DCI indicated first SRI and first TPMI for panel #1 and DCI indicated second SRI and second TPMI for panel #2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Liu by including “for single-codeword…second antenna panel” as taught by Matsumura because it provides Liu’s medium with the enhanced capability of supporting different multi-panel UL transmission schemes for optimal CB transmission configurable via DCI (Matsumura, ¶¶45-46, 68, 92-95, 100-101; figures 1 and 3A). As to claim 27 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 26. Liu further teaches for multi-codeword multi-panel transmission, the DCI indicates more than one MCS and the one or more processors are configured to map a first codeword to layers transmitted by the first antenna panel by applying the first TPMI and first SRI to the first codeword for transmission, and map a second codeword to layers transmitted by the second antenna panel by applying the second TPMI and second SRI to the second codeword for transmission by the second antenna panel (¶¶25-26 and 31; figure 1). As to claim 29 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 26. Liu further teaches the PUSCH transmission on the first antenna panel is multiplexed in one or more of time, frequency, or spatial relation with the PUSCH transmission on the second antenna panel (¶¶21-22 and 25-26; figure 1). As to claim 30 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 29. Liu further teaches the DCI indicates a first frequency division resource allocation (FDRA) for the PUSCH on the first antenna panel and a second FDRA for the PUSCH on the second antenna panel, or a first time division resource allocation (TDRA) for the PUSCH on the first antenna panel and a second TDRA for the PUSCH on the second antenna panel (¶¶21-22, 25-28, and 53; figure 1). As to claim 31 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 26. Liu further teaches the DCI indicates that a same or different modulation and coding scheme (MCS), new data indicator (NDI), or redundancy version is to be used for transmission of the PUSCH on the first and second antenna panels; or wherein the first and second antenna panels are associated with respective demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port groups (¶¶25-26 and 45; figure 1). As to claim 32 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 27. Liu further teaches for the multi-codeword multi-panel transmission, the instructions, when executed, further configure the UE to decode a radio resource control (RRC) message that configures a first maximum rank (maxRank) parameter for the first codeword and a second maxRank parameter for the second codeword (¶¶25-26 and 42; figure 1). As to claim 33 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 27. Liu further teaches for the multi-codeword multi-panel transmission, the instructions, when executed, further configure the UE to decode a radio resource control (RRC) message that configures a first subset of precoders for the first codeword and a second subset of precoders for the second codeword (¶¶25-26 and 44-51; figures 1-2). As to claim 35 , Liu teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) having instructions, stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processors of a next generation Node B (gNB) (¶¶55-56; figures 1 and 6), configure the gNB to: encode, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information (DCI) to schedule transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using a first codebook on a first antenna panel and a second codebook on a second antenna panel simultaneously (¶¶25-26 and 55-56; figure 1: transmit DCI having panel-specific parameters for scheduling two panels to simultaneously transmit one PUSCH, first codebook of multiple beam codebook for panel 111 and second codebook of multiple beam codebook for panel 113); and receive the PUSCH from the first or second antenna panel according to the DCI (¶¶25-26 and 29-31; figure 1: receive PUSCH from panel 111 or 113, PUSCH encoded according to the DCI), wherein the DCI indicates a first transmission precoding matrix index (TPMI) for the first codebook and a second TPMI for the second codebook (¶¶25-26; figure 1), wherein the DCI further indicates a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for the first codebook and a second SRI for the second codebook (¶¶25-26; figure 1). Although Liu teaches “One or more…for the second codebook,” Liu does not explicitly disclose “for single-codeword…second antenna panel”. However, Matsumura teaches for single-codeword multi-panel operation (¶¶94-95; figure 3A), the DCI is encoded to indicate a single modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (¶¶28 and 31) and the one or more processors are configured to decode a single codeword received simultaneously from the UE via transmission by the first and second antenna panels by application of the first TPMI and first SRI to the encoded codeword by the UE for transmission by the first antenna panel and application of the second TPMI and second SRI to the encoded codeword by the UE for transmission by the second antenna panel (¶¶45-46, 68, 92-95, 100-101; figures 1 and 3A: UE encodes a single codeword for coherent transmission on panel #1 and panel #2 using DCI indicated first SRI and first TPMI for panel #1 and DCI indicated second SRI and second TPMI for panel #2 and BS receives and decodes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Liu by including “for single-codeword…second antenna panel” as taught by Matsumura because it provides Liu’s medium with the enhanced capability of supporting different multi-panel UL transmission schemes for optimal CB transmission configurable via DCI (Matsumura, ¶¶45-46, 68, 92-95, 100-101; figures 1 and 3A). As to claim 36 , claim 36 is rejected the same way as claim 27. As to claim 38 , claim 38 is rejected the same way as claim 29. As to claim 39 , claim 39 is rejected the same way as claim 30. As to claim 40 , claim 40 is rejected the same way as claim 31. As to claim 41 , claim 41 is rejected the same way as claims 32 or 33. As to claim 43 , claim 43 is rejected the same way as claim 26. As to claim 44 , claim 44 is rejected the same way as claim 27. As to claim 45 , claim 45 is rejected the same way as claim 32 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 34 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Matsumura as applied to claims 26 and 35, and further in view of Yuan et al. WO 2021/212451 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Yuan”). Note Yuan was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 10 November 2023 . As to claim 34 , Liu in view of Matsumura teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 26. Liu further teaches wherein the PUSCH on the first antenna panel is targeted to a first transmission-reception point (TRP) and the PUSCH on the second antenna panel is targeted to a second TRP (¶¶25-26; figure 1). Although Liu in view of Matsumura teaches “The one…a second TRP,” Liu in view of Matsumura does not explicitly disclose “allocate transmission power…power of the UE”. However, Yuan teaches allocate transmission power between the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel using semi-static equal power sharing, semi-static unequal power sharing, or dynamic power sharing, wherein a total transmission power of the first and second antenna panels is less than or equal to a maximum transmission power of the UE (¶63-76; figure 4E). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Liu in view of Matsumura by including “allocate transmission power…power of the UE” as taught by Yuan because it provides Liu in view of Matsumura’s medium with the enhanced capability of precise control and power usage managed on a per panel basis (Kim, ¶¶183, 191, 272, and 341). As to claim 42 , claim 42 is rejected the same way as claim 33 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Su et al., US 2022/0045730 A1 – Method and Apparatus for Determining Channel State Information Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN T VAN ROIE whose telephone number is (571)270-0308. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian N Moore can be reached at 571-272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 8 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 9 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/560,324 Page 10 Art Unit: 2469