DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application claims foreign priority of PCT/GB2022/051200 filed 05/11/2022 which claims priority of GB 2106786.3 filed 05/12/2021.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Groups 1, 2, and 3, claims 1-4, 11, 13, and 15-19 without traverse in the reply filed on 05/29/2026 is acknowledged and entered onto the record.
Status of the claims
The claims filed on 05/29/2026, election of groups 1-3 accordingly with the response filed on 05/29/2026 are entered onto the record, claims 1-4, 11, 13-19 are pending. Claims 11 and 15 are withdrawn according to Applicant’s filed amended claims. Examiner notes that claim 11 is directed towards an elected Group but has been withdrawn by Applicant. Claim 13 is also withdrawn as it depends from claim 11. Claims 1-4, 14, and 16-19 are currently examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2024 complies with the
provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file
and the information therein has been considered on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 47 of copending Application No. 18/560,341 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Appln. No.: ‘341 claims Formula V, where R1 is H, R2 and R3 are H, and X1 is Br (see ‘341 claim 47) which reads on instant claims 1, 2, and 14.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makriyannis et al., (US 2012/0172339 A1, published Jul. 5, 2012) and in view of Guy et al., (GB2591567A, published 04.08.2021)..
Regarding claim 1, Makriyannis teach resorcinol derivatives of Formula I and pharmaceutical compositions comprising those compounds (see para. [0012]-[0013]). Specifically, Makriyannis teach a compound of Formula I, wherein the resorcinol moiety has R1 and R2 are H, R3 is Br, (see para. [0014], [0016]) and Y is the structure of I 1, wherein R7 and R8 are -OH (see para. [0019], and Table 4, compound 1).
While Makriyannis teach cannabinoid compound resorcinol derivatives, the compounds disclosed therein differ from the instantly claimed compound in that it does not include the -OH group on the substituted cyclohexane.
In the same field of endeavor of cannabinoid and cannabidiol-like compounds with resorcinol moieties as thereapetuics, Guy et al., teach the cannabidiol (CBD)-type cannabinoid, 6-hydroxy cannabidiol (6-OH-CBD) (see para. [0002]), and its use as medicaments for treating epilepsy (see para. [0034], Example 2; shown below).
6-OH-CBD is one of many known metabolites and analogues of cannabidiol (see para. [0019]-[0020]. 6-OH-CBD differs from the instantly claimed compound by having a 5-carbon alkyl chain on the resorcinol moiety instead of a bromine.
Since Guy teach that 6-hyrdoxy-cannabidiols are used to treat epilepsy, one of skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant application would find it obvious to combine the compound of Makriyannis with the Br substituted resorcinol moiety and the 6-hyrdoxy-cannabidiol of Guy and retain anti-convulsant activities of the compound with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP §2143 (I)(E).
Thus claim 1 is obvious in view of Makriyannis and Guy.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, the recited limitation of “wherein the compound is (l 'R,2'R,4'S)-4-bromo-5'-methyl-2'-(prop- l-en-2-yl)- l ',2' ,3' ,4'-tetrahydro-[ 1, l '-biphenyl]-2,4' ,6-triol” only further limits the compound of claim 1 to one of two instantly disclosed isomers (see specification, pg, 11, scheme 1) of the compound of claim 1. MPEP§2144.09 (II) states “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In reWilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In reMay, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978)”.
Therefore, claim 2 is obvious in view of Makriyannis and Guy.
Regarding claim 14, which is directed to a process for the production a compound of claim 1, Guy et al., discloses methods of producing 6-hydroxy cannabidiol (see pg. 5, Example 1), which, as discussed above, is structurally similar to the compound of instant claim 1 – namely in that they both contain a substituted cyclohexane and resorcinol moiety and differing only in the alkyl side chain. The reaction methods disclosed by Guy et al, have similar reaction reagents and yield similar intermediates (see pg. 7, reaction scheme; shown below), for example, the use of acetic anhydride and the intermediate indicated by the red arrow below that is similar to the intermediate of the instant disclosure as seen in para. [0036].
`
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective of the claimed invention to apply the methods of Guy et al. used to produce structurally and functionally analogous compounds (i.e., compounds of instant claim 1). Applying a known process to a structurally analogous compound taught by the prior art represents the use of a known technique to improve similar products in the same way, where the results would be predictable to one of skill in the art (see MPEP§ 2143(I)(C).
Therefore, claim 14 is obvious in view of Makriyannis and Guy.
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makriyannis et al., (US 2012/0172339 A1, published Jul. 5, 2012) and Guy et al., (GB2591567A, published 04.08.2021),as applied to claim 1 discussed above, and in further view of Whalley et al. (US 9125859 B2, published 09.08.2015; see IDS filed 05/31/2024).
Regarding claims 3-4, Guy et al., also teach “compositions for use as a medicament comprising 6-hydroxy cannabidiol (6-OH-CBD), and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients” (see para. [0033]). However, Guy et al. does not provide any further teachings on the preparation of the pharmaceutical compositions disclosed therein. In the same field of endeavor of cannabinoid-like compounds (i.e., cannabidivarin) for use in the treatment of epilepsy, Whalley et al., teach pharmaceutical formulations suitable for oral delivery (e.g., capsules and tablets) (see Col. 8, lines 39-42).
Regarding claims 17-18, while Guy et al. does teach the use of the compositions disclosed therein for the treatment of epilepsy there is no disclosure as to seizures. However, Whalley et al. teach the cannabinoid compositions disclosed therein can be used to treat epileptic seizures (see Col. 8, lines 55-57) and preferably “generalized or a temporal lobe seizure (see Col. 9, lines 4-5).
As discussed above, since the instantly claimed compounds are similar in structure to the 6-OH-CBD and other cannabinoid-like compounds - namely by the substituted cyclohexane and resorcinol moiety it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant application to prepare pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound of instant claim 1 as capsules and tablets for oral delivery and to apply them for the treatment of epilepsy and epileptic seizures (e.g., generalized seizures) based on the teachings of Whalley et al. See MPEP §2143 (I)(D) and (E).
Thus, claims 3-4 and 17-18 are obvious over Makriyannis and Guy, and in further view of Whalley et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/ALAN J FOWLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691