DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III (claims 13-14 and 16-29) in the reply filed on July 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Colaianna reference does not teach the secondary battery as required by the claim. This is not found persuasive because as applicant has cancelled the claims in the previously presented Group I, now the restriction requirement is only between the previously presented Group II and Group III. It is noted that the claims in Group II do not require the secondary battery, and therefore, the special technical feature remains the polymer itself and is taught by the Colaianna reference.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colaianna (WO 2007/096347) in view of Isaka et al (WO 2022/181226, please refer to US 2023/0399432 for mapping).
Regarding claims 13-14, 16, 19, 21 and 23-27, Colaianna teaches a fluoropolymer comprising (page 5):
0.5 to 5 % of perfluoromethylvinylether (PMVE)
0.4-4.5 % of perfluoropropylvinylether (PPVE)
The remainder can be TFE which can be calculated to range from 99.1-90.5%
The melt flow index ranges from 1 to 60 g/10 min (page 6).
Colaianna teaches that the fluoropolymer is used as a coating for cables (page 9), however, it fails to teach the recited secondary battery comprising at least one insulating part made from the fluoropolymer.
Isaka teaches a fluoropolymer (Abstract) which can be used in coating cables ([0096]) and can be used as insulating or sealing members such as a gasket of a secondary lithium-ion batteries ([0117
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the material of Colaianna for the insulating member of a secondary lithium-ion battery as taught by Isaka. One would have been motivated to do so in order to use a fluoropolymer which has good electrical insulation, good mechanical properties and high processing properties (Colaianna, page 4).
Regarding claim 17, given the amounts of the monomers as taught by Colaianna the ratio of PPVE/PMVE can be calculated to overlap the claimed range.
Regarding claim 18, Colaianna teaches that the melting temperatures are within the range of 260 to 310 C (Tables).
Regarding claims 20 and 28-29, Colaianna teaches that the fluoropolymer is 100% of the insulating assembly part (Examples).
Regarding claim 22, modified Colaianna teaches that the insulated assembly part can be injection molded (Isaka, [0082]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below:
Applicant’s argument: Insulating assembly parts for secondary batteries which satisfy the strict requirements for the present claims, can be molded at lower temperatures and show increased temperature stability (Table 2).
Examiner’s response: It is not surprising that a higher melt flow index will result in molding at lower temperatures as that is what melt flow measures. As for the temperature stability, looking at the data in Table 2, it is very difficult to determine unexpected results with only one Inventive sample and one Comparative sample. The two samples cannot determine performance over the entire scope of the claimed invention, and therefore, applicant’s argument of unexpected results is not persuasive.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764