DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s response dated 06/11/2026, Applicant amended Claims 1 and 7; canceled Claims 16 – 22; added Claims 23 – 27; and argued against all rejections previously set forth in the office action dated 05/20/2026.
In light of Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 are overcome.
Status of the Claims
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph and Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 15 and 23 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein the one or more on-premises memory devices are configured…" in lines 1 – 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The examiner noted that this claim was a dependent claim of claim 4 which include the antecedent basis for this claim 7. Since applicant change the dependency of claim 7 to claim 1, claim 7 now lacks antecedent basis for “the one or more on-premises memory devices”.
Due to at least its dependency upon Claim 7, Claim 8 is also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 11, 14 and 23 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoi et al. (US 2017/0231544) (hereinafter, Satoi) (cited in IDs dated 01/02/2024) in view of Schultz et al. (US 2016/0066068) (hereinafter, Schultz).
Regarding Claim 1, Satoi teaches a building management system (BMS) for a healthcare facility (See Satoi’s par 0005 and par 0044), the BMS comprising:
one or more processing circuits comprising one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors (Satoi in par 0105 and Fig. 3, teaches that the processor 150 includes a read only memory (ROM) 152, a random access memory (RAM) 153, a control circuit 155, and the calculation circuit 200. The control circuit 155 is an integrated circuit including, for instance, a central processing unit (CPU). The control circuit 155 controls the entire operation of the biological information detection device 100), cause the one or more processors to:
receive inputs from building devices (Satoi in par 0075, teaches that a light detector 140 converts the entered light into an electrical signal, and outputs the signal. The calculation circuit 200 generates biological information related to the blood flow in the test portion based on the signal outputted from the light detector 140. Satoi in par 0113, further teaches that measurement of biological information such as a change in the cerebral blood flow rate and blood flow component makes it possible to estimate the mental state of a subject);
determine a state-of-mind (SoM) score of a patient based on the inputs using a learning model (Satoi in par 0044, teaches that in communication (hereinafter may be referred to as “conversation”) of a user with an interactive robot via voice or image, control that changes the contents of the conversation according to a level of concentration or a mental state of the user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0113, teaches that in response to a change in feelings of human, the activity of nerve cells changes, and thereby the cerebral blood flow rate or blood flow component is changed. Thus, measurement of biological information such as a change in the cerebral blood flow rate and blood flow component makes it possible to estimate the mental state of a subject. The mental state of a subject indicates, for instance, a feeling (such as comfort and discomfort), an emotion (such as relief, anxiety, sadness and anger), a physical condition (such as liveliness and fatigue), and temperature sensation (such as hot, cold and sultry). In addition, as a derivative state, the mental state also includes an index indicating a degree of brain activity, for instance, a level of proficiency, a level of mastery, and a level of concentration); and
control one or more of the building devices based on the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0218, further teaches that the environmental control device 700 may be an air conditioner. A device capable of controlling such surrounding environment (such as temperature, sound, light, humidity and smell) of a user is referred to as an “environmental control device”. Satoi in par 0221, further teaches that where the environmental control device 700 is an air conditioner, the environmental control device 700 can automatically turn on the power supply to start the operation or decrease or increase the preset temperature during the operation. In the case where the environmental control device 700 is an audio device, the environmental control device 700 may automatically turn the sound volume down, and may automatically select a music piece (such as a classical music piece) which is expected to provide a relaxing effect, for instance).
Satoi in par 0218, teaches the control of surrounding environment of a user.
However, does not specifically disclose based on a compliance standard limiting acceptable values of temperature, humidity, and pressure within the healthcare facility.
Schultz in par 0001, teaches that air quality may be affected by a wide range of factors including temperature, humidity, air-flow, occupancy, particulate counts, the presence of various chemical and biologic materials, and/or the like. Certain types of locations may need to maintain a standard of air quality. For example, poor air quality in a health care facility such as a hospital may lead to unnecessary infections.
Schultz in par 0045, teaches humidity sensor 116 measures both air temperature and moisture.
Schultz in par 0135 – 0136, teaches setting alarm threshold may be to set thresholds per recommendations from international or U.S. based standards organizations, such as the ISO (International Standards Organization), OSHA (United Stated Occupational Safety and Health Administration), the FGI/AIA (Facilities Guidelines Institute/American Institute of Architects), and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE (American National Standard Institute/American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers/American Society for Healthcare Engineering), combinations thereof, and/or the like. Examples of metrics that may have thresholds based on standards organizations are airborne particulates, differential room pressure, air quality/CO2, and humidity.
Schultz in par 0163, teaches that the FGI/AIA ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE 170/2014 Guidelines list the following differential pressure limits for various environments.
Schultz in par 0173, further teaches that humidity sensor(s) may be employed in environmental sensing devices to measure humidity. Guidelines may be employed to set relative humidity thresholds. For example, FGI/AIA ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE 170/2014 Guidelines suggest the following relative humidity limits be maintained.
Schultz in par 0199, further teaches that environmental sensor devices may be employed to monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with various healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B are example healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9B is a chart showing example guidelines for design and construction of ORs in healthcare facilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Schultz with the teachings as in Satoi to include compliance standards associated with temperature, humidity and pressure in Satoi as disclosed in Schultz. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with healthcare guidelines (See Schultz par 0199).
Regarding Claim 2, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
Satoi further teaches:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine the SoM score based on visual information, audio information, nurse call information, thermostat information, and occupancy information (Satoi in par 0044, teaches that in communication (hereinafter may be referred to as “conversation”) of a user with an interactive robot via voice or image, control that changes the contents of the conversation according to a level of concentration or a mental state of the user may also be adopted. In addition, control on an automated driving vehicle according to a level of concentration of a driver, and control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0113, further teaches that the mental state of a subject indicates, for instance, a feeling (such as comfort and discomfort), an emotion (such as relief, anxiety, sadness and anger), a physical condition (such as liveliness and fatigue), and temperature sensation (such as hot, cold and sultry).
Regarding Claim 3, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine the SoM score based on electronic medical records information (Satoi in par 0113, further teaches that in response to a change in feelings of human, the activity of nerve cells changes, and thereby the cerebral blood flow rate or blood flow component is changed. Thus, measurement of biological information such as a change in the cerebral blood flow rate and blood flow component makes it possible to estimate the mental state of a subject. The mental state of a subject indicates, for instance, a feeling (such as comfort and discomfort), an emotion (such as relief, anxiety, sadness and anger), a physical condition (such as liveliness and fatigue), and temperature sensation. Satoi in par 0130, further teaches that the calculation circuit 200 estimates a mental state of the subject based on the biological information. For instance, the calculation circuit 200 estimates a mental state such as a level of concentration and an emotion of the subject O based on the oxygenation state of hemoglobin).
Regarding Claim 7, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Satoi further teaches
wherein the one or more on- premises memory devices are configured to store instructions (Satoi in par 0105 and Fig. 3, teaches that the processor 150 includes a read only memory (ROM) 152, a random access memory (RAM) 153, a control circuit 155, and the calculation circuit 200. The control circuit 155 is an integrated circuit including, for instance, a central processing unit (CPU). The control circuit 155 controls the entire operation of the biological information detection device 100), thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to
control one or more of the building devices based on the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0218, further teaches that the environmental control device 700 may be an air conditioner. A device capable of controlling such surrounding environment (such as temperature, sound, light, humidity and smell) of a user is referred to as an “environmental control device”. Satoi in par 0221, further teaches that where the environmental control device 700 is an air conditioner, the environmental control device 700 can automatically turn on the power supply to start the operation or decrease or increase the preset temperature during the operation. In the case where the environmental control device 700 is an audio device, the environmental control device 700 may automatically turn the sound volume down, and may automatically select a music piece (such as a classical music piece) which is expected to provide a relaxing effect, for instance) and [based on the compliance standard] by:
determining a control action based on the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0218, further teaches that the environmental control device 700 may be an air conditioner. A device capable of controlling such surrounding environment (such as temperature, sound, light, humidity and smell) of a user is referred to as an “environmental control device”. Satoi in par 0221, further teaches that where the environmental control device 700 is an air conditioner, the environmental control device 700 can automatically turn on the power supply to start the operation or decrease or increase the preset temperature during the operation. In the case where the environmental control device 700 is an audio device, the environmental control device 700 may automatically turn the sound volume down, and may automatically select a music piece (such as a classical music piece) which is expected to provide a relaxing effect, for instance);
Satoi teaches the control of surrounding environment of a user based on sensor data and thresholds associated with a patient including the mental state.
However, Satoi does not specifically disclose that based on the compliance standard: modifying the control action based on the compliance standard; and
controlling the one more building devices in accordance with the determine modified control actions based on the determined control actions and the compliance standard.
Schultz in par 0001, teaches that air quality may be managed using controlling factors such as, for example, air flow, temperature, particulate counts, and humidity. Schultz in par 0045, teaches humidity sensor 116 measures both air temperature and moisture. Schultz in par 0097, further teaches that an environmental sensor device may communicate a hazardous gas alarm from a high pressure room to an environmental sensor device in an adjoining lower pressure room. This may cause the environmental sensor device in the adjoining lower pressure room to set off its own hazardous gas alarm ahead of measuring a dangerous hazardous gas level itself. Alternatively, the environmental sensor device in the adjoining lower pressure room may lower a hazardous gas threshold in anticipation that hazardous gas may leak into its location.
Schults in par 0099, further teaches that sensor(s) may also be calibrated against a known standard. A standard is an object, system, or experiment that bears a defined relationship to a unit of measurement of a physical quantity. Standards are the fundamental reference for a system of weights and measures, against which all other measuring devices may be compared.
Schultz in par 0135 – 0136, teaches setting alarm threshold may be to set thresholds per recommendations from international or U.S. based standards organizations, such as the ISO (International Standards Organization), OSHA (United Stated Occupational Safety and Health Administration), the FGI/AIA (Facilities Guidelines Institute/American Institute of Architects), and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE (American National Standard Institute/American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers/American Society for Healthcare Engineering), combinations thereof, and/or the like. Examples of metrics that may have thresholds based on standards organizations are airborne particulates, differential room pressure, air quality/CO2, and humidity.
Schultz in par 0199, further teaches that environmental sensor devices may be employed to monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with various healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B are example healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9B is a chart showing example guidelines for design and construction of ORs in healthcare facilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Schultz with the teachings as in Satoi to include compliance standards associated with temperature, humidity and pressure in Satoi as disclosed in Schultz. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with healthcare guidelines (See Schultz par 0199).
Regarding Claim 11, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine that the SoM score is less than a threshold (Satoi in par 0044, teaches estimating a level of concentration, emotions and others of a subject, and controlling various instruments according to a result of the estimation. Satoi in par 0178, further teaches that the calculation circuit 200 measures the variance of the period of pulse wave in a predetermined time period, and can determine a mental state such as a concentrated state and a relaxed state. In general, in a concentrated or nervous state, the period of pulse wave tends to be uniform, whereas in a relaxed state, the period of pulse wave tends to vary. Thus, when the variance of the period is less than a predetermined value, the calculation circuit 200 determines that the subject O is in a concentrated state or in a nervous state. With the breathing, the variance may gradually increase and exceed a predetermined value. In this case, the calculation circuit 200 may determine that the subject O is in a relaxed state); and
adjust the temperature or lighting of the healthcare facility automatically based on the SoM score being less than the threshold to meet a patient preference (Satoi in par 0044, teaches estimating a level of concentration, emotions and others of a subject, and controlling various instruments according to a result of the estimation. Control on setting the temperature of an air conditioned or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion of an indoor user).
Regarding Claim 14, Satoi in view of Raveendran teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
monitor the SoM score over time (Satoi in par 0044, further teaches that in communication of a user with an interactive robot via voice or image, control that changes the contents of the conversation according to a level of concentration or a mental state of the user may also be adopted. In addition, control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0113, further teaches that measurement of biological information such as a change in the cerebral blood flow rate and blood flow component makes it possible to estimate the mental state of a subject);
input a change of the SoM score over time into the learning model (Satoi in par 0044, teaches that in communication (hereinafter may be referred to as “conversation”) of a user with an interactive robot via voice or image, control that changes the contents of the conversation according to a level of concentration or a mental state of the user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0113, teaches that in response to a change in feelings of human, the activity of nerve cells changes, and thereby the cerebral blood flow rate or blood flow component is changed. Thus, measurement of biological information such as a change in the cerebral blood flow rate and blood flow component makes it possible to estimate the mental state of a subject. The mental state of a subject indicates, for instance, a feeling (such as comfort and discomfort), an emotion (such as relief, anxiety, sadness and anger), a physical condition (such as liveliness and fatigue), and temperature sensation (such as hot, cold and sultry). In addition, as a derivative state, the mental state also includes an index indicating a degree of brain activity, for instance, a level of proficiency, a level of mastery, and a level of concentration. Satoi in par 0178, further teaches that the calculation circuit 200 measures the variance of the period pulse wave in a predetermined time period and can determine a mental state); and
control the one or more room devices automatically based of the change of the SoM score over time (Satoi in par 0044, further teaches estimating a level of concentration, emotions and others of a subject, and controlling various instruments according to a result of the estimation. Control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted).
Regarding Claim 23, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the instructions causes the one or more processors to control the one or more building devices by determining control decisions predicted to increase the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches estimating a level of concentration, emotions and others of a subject, and controlling various instruments according to a result of the estimation. Control on setting the temperature of an air conditioned or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion of an indoor user. Satoi in par 0221, further teaches that where the environmental control device 700 is an air conditioner, the environmental control device 700 can automatically turn on the power supply to start the operation or decrease or increase the preset temperature during the operation. In the case where the environmental control device 700 is an audio device, the environmental control device 700 may automatically turn the sound volume down, and may automatically select a music piece (such as a classical music piece) which is expected to provide a relaxing effect, for instance).
However, Satoi does not specifically disclose that the control is without violating the compliance standard.
Schultz in par 0001, teaches that air quality may be affected by a wide range of factors including temperature, humidity, air-flow, occupancy, particulate counts, the presence of various chemical and biologic materials, and/or the like. Certain types of locations may need to maintain a standard of air quality. For example, poor air quality in a health care facility such as a hospital may lead to unnecessary infections. Schultz in par 0135 – 0136, teaches setting alarm threshold may be to set thresholds per recommendations from international or U.S. based standards organizations, such as the ISO (International Standards Organization), Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers/American Society for Healthcare Engineering), combinations thereof, and/or the like. Examples of metrics that may have thresholds based on standards organizations are airborne particulates, differential room pressure, air quality/CO2, and humidity.
Schultz in par 0173, further teaches that humidity sensor(s) may be employed in environmental sensing devices to measure humidity. Guidelines may be employed to set relative humidity thresholds. For example, FGI/AIA ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE 170/2014 Guidelines suggest the following relative humidity limits be maintained.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Schultz with the teachings as in Satoi to include compliance standards associated with temperature, humidity and pressure in Satoi as disclosed in Schultz. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with healthcare guidelines (See Schultz par 0199).
Regarding Claim 24, Satoi teaches a building system for a healthcare facility (See Satoi’s par 0005 and par 0044), comprising:
building equipment operable to affect temperature, pressure, and humidity within the healthcare facility (Satoi in par 0044, teaches control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted.. Satoi in par 0112, further teaches that the biological information detection device 100 can measure a two-dimensional intensity distribution of light, and to measure various biological information such as a blood flow rate, a blood pressure, an oxygen saturation in blood, and a heart rate in the brain based on the intensity distribution. Satoi in par 0218, further teaches that the environmental control device 700 may be an air conditioner or an audio, for instance. A device capable of controlling such surrounding environment (such as temperature, sound, light, humidity and smell) of a user is referred to as an environmental control device); and
a computer programmed to:
determine, using a learning model, a state-of-mind (SoM) score of a patient based on inputs relating to the patient (Satoi in par 0044, teaches that in communication (hereinafter may be referred to as “conversation”) of a user with an interactive robot via voice or image, control that changes the contents of the conversation according to a level of concentration or a mental state of the user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0113, teaches that in response to a change in feelings of human, the activity of nerve cells changes, and thereby the cerebral blood flow rate or blood flow component is changed. Thus, measurement of biological information such as a change in the cerebral blood flow rate and blood flow component makes it possible to estimate the mental state of a subject. The mental state of a subject indicates, for instance, a feeling (such as comfort and discomfort), an emotion (such as relief, anxiety, sadness and anger), a physical condition (such as liveliness and fatigue), and temperature sensation (such as hot, cold and sultry). In addition, as a derivative state, the mental state also includes an index indicating a degree of brain activity, for instance, a level of proficiency, a level of mastery, and a level of concentration); and
determine control decisions for the building equipment based on the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0218, further teaches that the environmental control device 700 may be an air conditioner. A device capable of controlling such surrounding environment (such as temperature, sound, light, humidity and smell) of a user is referred to as an “environmental control device”. Satoi in par 0221, further teaches that where the environmental control device 700 is an air conditioner, the environmental control device 700 can automatically turn on the power supply to start the operation or decrease or increase the preset temperature during the operation. In the case where the environmental control device 700 is an audio device, the environmental control device 700 may automatically turn the sound volume down, and may automatically select a music piece (such as a classical music piece) which is expected to provide a relaxing effect, for instance);
However, Satoi does not specifically disclose adjust the control decisions to maintain compliance with a compliance standard limiting acceptable values of the temperature, pressure, and humidity within the healthcare facility; and control the building equipment using adjusted control decisions.
Schultz in par 0001, teaches that air quality may be managed using controlling factors such as, for example, air flow, temperature, particulate counts, and humidity. Schultz in par 0045, teaches humidity sensor 116 measures both air temperature and moisture. Schultz in par 0097, further teaches that an environmental sensor device may communicate a hazardous gas alarm from a high pressure room to an environmental sensor device in an adjoining lower pressure room. This may cause the environmental sensor device in the adjoining lower pressure room to set off its own hazardous gas alarm ahead of measuring a dangerous hazardous gas level itself. Alternatively, the environmental sensor device in the adjoining lower pressure room may lower a hazardous gas threshold in anticipation that hazardous gas may leak into its location.
Schults in par 0099, further teaches that sensor(s) may also be calibrated against a known standard. A standard is an object, system, or experiment that bears a defined relationship to a unit of measurement of a physical quantity. Standards are the fundamental reference for a system of weights and measures, against which all other measuring devices may be compared.
Schultz in par 0135 – 0136, teaches setting alarm threshold may be to set thresholds per recommendations from international or U.S. based standards organizations, such as the ISO (International Standards Organization), OSHA (United Stated Occupational Safety and Health Administration), the FGI/AIA (Facilities Guidelines Institute/American Institute of Architects), and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE (American National Standard Institute/American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers/American Society for Healthcare Engineering), combinations thereof, and/or the like. Examples of metrics that may have thresholds based on standards organizations are airborne particulates, differential room pressure, air quality/CO2, and humidity.
Schultz in par 0199, further teaches that environmental sensor devices may be employed to monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with various healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B are example healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9B is a chart showing example guidelines for design and construction of ORs in healthcare facilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Schultz with the teachings as in Satoi to include compliance standards associated with temperature, humidity and pressure in Satoi as disclosed in Schultz. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with healthcare guidelines (See Schultz par 0199).
Regarding Claim 25, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 24. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the inputs comprise visual information, audio information, nurse call information, thermostat information, and occupancy information (Satoi in par 0044, teaches that in communication (hereinafter may be referred to as “conversation”) of a user with an interactive robot via voice or image, control that changes the contents of the conversation according to a level of concentration or a mental state of the user may also be adopted. In addition, control on an automated driving vehicle according to a level of concentration of a driver, and control on setting the temperature of an air conditioner or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion (including sensation of heat, cold, etc.) of an indoor user may also be adopted. Satoi in par 0113, further teaches that the mental state of a subject indicates, for instance, a feeling (such as comfort and discomfort), an emotion (such as relief, anxiety, sadness and anger), a physical condition (such as liveliness and fatigue), and temperature sensation (such as hot, cold and sultry).
Regarding Claim 26, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 24. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the computer is programmed to determine the control decisions for the building equipment by predicting that the control decisions will increase the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches estimating a level of concentration, emotions and others of a subject, and controlling various instruments according to a result of the estimation. Control on setting the temperature of an air conditioned or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion of an indoor user. Satoi in par 0221, further teaches that where the environmental control device 700 is an air conditioner, the environmental control device 700 can automatically turn on the power supply to start the operation or decrease or increase the preset temperature during the operation. In the case where the environmental control device 700 is an audio device, the environmental control device 700 may automatically turn the sound volume down, and may automatically select a music piece (such as a classical music piece) which is expected to provide a relaxing effect, for instance).
Regarding Claim 27, this Claim merely recites a method of operating building equipment to affect temperature, pressure, and humidity within a healthcare facility, the method comprising steps as similarly recited in Claim 24. Accordingly, Satoi in view of Schultz discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 27, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 24.
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoi et al. (US 2017/0231544) (hereinafter, Satoi) (cited in IDs dated 01/02/2024) in view of Schultz et al. (US 2016/0066068) (hereinafter, Schultz) and in further view of Raveendran et al. (WO-2019/063079) (hereinafter, Raveendran) (Cited in IDs dated 01/08/2024).
Regarding Claim 4, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more processing circuits include one or more processing circuits located on-premises and comprising one or more on-premises memory devices, and one or more processing circuits located off-premises and comprising one or more off-premises memory devices (Raveebdran in page 19 lines 8 – 19, further teaches that each building includes a learning agent capable of optimizing energy and comfort for each of the buildings individually. Raveendran in page 53, lines 20 – 25, further teaches distributed circuit settings where circuitry is connected via communication buses, circuitry or links. In distributed settings, control/instructions may occur from both local and remote computer storage media including memory storage devices); and
wherein the one or more off-premises memory devices are configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive confidential information (Raveendran in page 39 lines 23 – 32, further teaches that parameters tat alter the state of the home automation environment 302 and the effective goal of reducing energy consumption with improved comfort are stored in a database on the computing device.; and
train the learning model using the received confidential information (Raveendran in page 39 line 23 – page 40 line 3, further teaches that the computing device 340 re-trains the home model at predetermined time intervals. The re-training is based on the experience gained throughput the pre-determined interval. The re-trained model is then used to repeat the step 410 whereby the energy and comfort of the home automation environment 302 is optimized); and
wherein the one or more on-premises memory devices are configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive the trained learning model (Raveendran in page 10 lines 26 – 30, further teaches that the building model generator generates a building model of the building automation environment. The building model is a virtual replica of the building automation environment that is trained based on historical environment data or predicted environment data or a combination. Raveendran in page 14, lines 9 – 16, further teaches that the energy learning agent is initially trained with the predicted environment data for the building automation environment. The energy learning agent can be trained to learn situations it has not encountered);
receive the inputs from in-room devices (Raveendran in page 17 lines 11 – 16, teaches that the occupant can either accept or reject the recommended state and the system automatically adapts to feedback from the occupant in order to provide maximum energy saving while not compromising on the occupant comfort levels. Raveendran in page 18 lines 15 – 21, further teaches that the feedback can be provided either via the application installed on the user device or directly through interaction with the system via voice command); and
implement the learning model (Raveendran in page 3 lines 7 – 15, teaches that the system controls and monitors the building mechanical, structural and electrical equipment such as ventilation, lighting, power systems, fire systems, and security systems and monitors occupant behavior and activity to optimize energy comfort. Raveendran in page 18 lines 15 – 21, further teaches that the comfort learning agent in combination with the emotion and behavior analyzer understand discomfort in voice patterns of the occupant to determine the comfort reward vectors that automatically generate a new comfort action)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Raveendran with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to receive user feedback in Satoi as disclosed in Raveendran. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively control the surrounding environment parameters, thus optimizing user comfort (See Raveendran’s Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Satoi in view of Raveendran and in further view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 4. Satoi further teaches:
wherein the one or more on-premises memory devices are configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
control the one or more room devices automatically based on the SoM score (Satoi in par 0044, teaches estimating a level of concentration, emotions and others of a subject, and controlling various instruments according to a result of the estimation. Control on setting the temperature of an air conditioned or changing the sound volume of audio equipment according to an emotion of an indoor user).
Regarding Clam 12, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a data set of historical environmental changes and correlated patient reactions (Raveendran in page 4 lines 7 – 17, teaches that the building model for the building automation environment can be generated based on a historical environment data and a predicted environment data. The historical environment data refers to the sensor data, the energy data and the ambient data of the building automation environment that is previously recorded). ;
build patient profiles based on the data set (Raveendran in page 15 lines 20 – 29, teaches that the convolutional networks are capable of extracting relevant information from the pixels of the video data and image data which is fed into a fully-connected neural network. The behavior or activity such as sleeping, eating, cooking, walking, position of the occupant, etc. are recognized by determining a softmax output to profile the occupant);
associate the patient with a patient profile (Raveendran in page 30 lines 4 – 10, further teaches that the occupant data is used to build the occupant profile of the occupant in the building automation environment. Raveendran in page 32, lines 7 – 16, further teaches that where there are multiple occupants, the clustering module 224 clusters the occupants into groups based on similarity in occupant profile);
input the patient profile to the learning model to affect the determination of the SoM score (Raveendran in page 6 lines 6 – 9, teaches that deep reinforcement learning includes multiple objectives such as reduced energy utilization and improved comfort in the building automation environment. Raveendran in page 26 line 30 – page 27 line 9, further teaches that the optimization of the energy and the comfort in the office space is performed by clustering the occupants into groups based on similarity in occupant profile. Occupant profile is emotion and behavior patterns of the occupant. The energy and comfort is optimized by optimizing energy and comfort at multiple sections based on a section optimization policy for each of the sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Raveendran with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to receive user feedback in Satoi as disclosed in Raveendran. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively control the surrounding environment parameters, thus optimizing user comfort (See Raveendran’s Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive patient feedback (Raveendran in page 7 lines 10 – 26, further teaches that feedback from the occupant can also be received. The occupant feedback on the new state of the building automation environment is received after analyzing emotion and behavior of the occupant); and
update the learning model based on the patient feedback (Raveendran in page 7 lines 10 – 26, further teaches that the building environment model is updated at predetermined intervals with the occupant feedback).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Raveendran with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to receive user feedback in Satoi as disclosed in Raveendran. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively control the surrounding environment parameters, thus optimizing user comfort (See Raveendran’s Abstract).
Regarding Claim 15, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive inputs from room devices including audio data from at least one audio sensor (Raveendran in page 17 lines 11 – 16, teaches that the occupant can either accept or reject the recommended state and the system automatically adapts to feedback from the occupant in order to provide maximum energy saving while not compromising on the occupant comfort levels. Raveendran in page 18 lines 15 – 21, further teaches that the feedback can be provided either via the application installed on the user device or directly through interaction with the system via voice command);
analyze the audio data using voice recognition to convert speech from a first occupant of the building into a command (Raveendran in page 18 lines 15 – 21, further teaches that the comfort learning agent in combination with the emotion and behavior analyzer understand discomfort in voice patterns of the occupant to determine the comfort reward vectors that automatically generate a new comfort action); and
controlling the one or more room devices based on the command (Raveendran in page 3 lines 7 – 15, teaches that the system controls and monitors the building mechanical, structural and electrical equipment such as ventilation, lighting, power systems, fire systems, and security systems and monitors occupant behavior and activity to optimize energy comfort. Raveendran in page 18 lines 15 – 21, further teaches that the comfort learning agent in combination with the emotion and behavior analyzer understand discomfort in voice patterns of the occupant to determine the comfort reward vectors that automatically generate a new comfort action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Raveendran with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to allow the user of Satoi to perform voice commands as disclosed in the Raveendran. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively control the surrounding environment parameters, thus optimizing user comfort (See Raveendran’s Abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoi in view of Schultz and in further view of Clayton (US 9,588,506) (hereinafter, Clayton).
Regarding Claim 8, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 7. Schultz further teaches:
wherein the modified control actions include coordination of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, a lighting system, and [a blinds system] to improve the SOM score and maintain the compliance standard.
Schultz in par 0198, teaches that environmental sensor devices may assist in facilities management by: monitoring construction and renovation areas for particulates; verifying barrier and air filtration, effectiveness; monitoring indoor air quality (IAQ); verifying performance of HVAC; and generating real-time alerts. Schultz in par 0199, further teaches that environmental sensor devices may be employed to monitor healthcare facilities for compliance with various healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B are example healthcare facility guidelines. FIG. 9B is a chart showing example guidelines for design and construction of ORs in healthcare facilities. Schultz in par 0207, further teaches that environmental sensor device(s) may also be employed to monitor room humidity, which is a requirement in ORs. Sound and light levels can also be monitored which are important factors for overall patient satisfaction.
However Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose the control of a blinds system.
Clayton teaches a building control and management system including an automation controller and a plurality of peripheral devices configured to perform building control management system functions (See Clayton’s Abstract). Clayton in Col. 19 lines 13 – 24 and Fig. 1, teaches that the automation controller 12 could control various peripheral devices 16, including lights, HVAC vents, window blinds, etc. in a coordinated manner to reduce energy consumption. For example, the temperature and light intensity within a workspace/area is defined in the controller 12. During the course of the day, the blinds would be open to varying degrees. When it is night, the controller 12 can close all of the blinds for privacy and to increase its effectiveness as a thermal barrier. During the day time, but not during operational hours, the controller 12 can leave the blinds closed, if desired, or open the blinds an appropriate amount to balance the solar impact with the temperature and lighting demands of the space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Clayton with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to include an automation controller in Satoi as disclosed in Clayton. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain light intensity and temperature in the area by operating the blind controller to allow sun light and thermal energy to enter the area (See Clayton’s Col. 19 lines 39 – 43).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoi in view of Schultz and in further view of Prugh et al. (US 2020/0341457) (hereinafter, Prugh).
Regarding Claim 9, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine a number of visitors over a specified period of time based on the inputs from the building devices; and
control one or more room devices automatically including a nurse call system to prompt a visit based on the number of visitors over a specified period of time.
Prugh in par 0033, teaches that floor contact sensors located in a room of a property can collect data that can be processed to determine the number of people in the room. Prugh in par 0124, further teaches that to prevent noise and damage to the property that can be cause by large parties, the property owners may write the terms of the rental agreement limiting the number of people allowed in the property to six people. Prugh in par 0130, further teaches that the monitoring system can correlate the floor contact sensor 210a data with other sensor data. For example, if there are a large number of people gathered in a room, the temperature of the room will rise over time. Additionally, a door sensor can detect how many times the front door 230a opens and shuts, which can assist the monitoring system in approximating the number of guests.
Prugh in par 0201, further teaches that the threshold occupancy of the property may be ten people. Therefore, the monitoring system can determine that the occupancy of the living room exceeds the threshold occupancy of the property. In response to determining that the occupancy of the living room exceeds the threshold occupancy of the property, the monitoring system can perform a monitoring system action, for example, by sending a notification to an owner of the property indicating that the occupancy exceeds the threshold occupancy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Prugh with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to monitor the number of persons in room in Satoi as disclosed in Prugh. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively provide a monitoring system that track the number of visitors, thus enhancing security,, safety and convenience of the property (See Prugh’s par 0033, 0168 and 0201).
Regarding Claim 10, Satoi in view of Schultz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Satoi in view of Schultz does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine a number of visitors over a specified period of time based on the inputs from the building devices; and
push a notification to an identified user device to request a point of contact based on the number of visitors over a specified period of time.
Prugh in par 0033, teaches that floor contact sensors located in a room of a property can collect data that can be processed to determine the number of people in the room. Prugh in par 0130, further teaches that the monitoring system can correlate the floor contact sensor 210a data with other sensor data. For example, if there are a large number of people gathered in a room, the temperature of the room will rise over time. Additionally, a door sensor can detect how many times the front door 230a opens and shuts, which can assist the monitoring system in approximating the number of guests.
Prugh in par 0131, further teaches that the monitoring system analyzes the data 235a from the floor contact sensor 210a and the sensors at the property. The monitoring system makes a determination that there are approximately 10 to 15 people in the living room, and takes an action 240a. The monitoring system takes the action 240a of notifying the property owner of the high occupancy at the property. The monitoring system sends a notification to the property owner's mobile device that there are approximately 10 to 15 people gathered in the living room. This can prompt the property owner to visit the property or to call the occupants and ask if they are throwing a party, violating the terms of the lease.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Prugh with the teachings as in Satoi and Schultz to monitor the number of persons in room in Satoi as disclosed in Prugh. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively provide a monitoring system that track the number of visitors, thus enhancing security,, safety and convenience of the property (See Prugh’s par 0033, 0168 and 0201).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 2 – 3, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 5, 9 – 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schultz (See the above rejection).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118