DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 11/10/2023 has been received and entered. By the amendment, claims 1-12 are now pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2023, 05/05/2025 and 11/04/2025 was filed and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s submitted prior arts, Kaori et al., JP 2010-195901A, in view of Yumiko et al., JP 2010-202857A.
Regarding claim 1, Kaori et al. disclose a liquid dispersion of fluoride particles, the liquid dispersion comprising:
. fluoride particles [0030]
. an anionic surfactant as a dispersant for the fluoride particles ([0045])
. an organic solvent (Abstract)
. the fluoride particles are dispersed in the organic solvent ([0043], [0045]).
Kaori et al., however, do not disclose a composition of the fluoride particles. Yumiko et al. do disclose fluoride particles can be contain at least aluminum and an alkali metal [0018]-[0019]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Kaori et al. fluoride particles including at least at least aluminum and an alkali metal, as shown by Yumiko et al., to obtain a highly hard film [0021].
Re claim 2, Kaori et al. also disclose a hydrophilic group in the anionic surfactant is a proton or an onium ion (Abstract). It is noted that proton or onium ion is a chemistry property of elements.
Re claim 3, wherein the anionic surfactant is at least one of an anionic hydrocarbon surfactant and an anionic fluorocarbon surfactant represented by a following Chemical Formula (1):R-X-M (1) wherein R represents an alkyl group having 2 to 18 carbon atoms, an aryl group having 2 to 18 carbon atoms, a polyoxyalkylene alkyl ether group having 2 to 18 carbon atoms, an alkyl group having 2 to 18 carbon atoms in which at least one hydrogen atom is substituted with a fluorine atom, an aryl group having 2 to 18 carbon atoms in which at least one hydrogen atom is substituted with a fluorine atom, or a polyoxyalkylene alkyl ether group having 2 to 18 carbonatoms in which at least one hydrogen atom is substituted with a fluorine atom, X represents - COO-, -PO4-, -S03-, or -S04, and M represents a proton or an onium ion (Yumiko et al., [0042]).
Re claim 4, the modification to Kaori et al. would result a content of the anionic surfactant is in a range of 0.2 mass% to 8 mass% with respect to 100 mass% of the fluoride particles (Yumiko et al., [0025]).
Re claim 5, the modification to Kaori et al. would result the fluoride particles are particles of at least one fluoride selected from a group consisting of Na3AlF6 (Yumiko e al., [0019]).
Re claim 7, the modification to Kaori et al. would result the organic solvent is at least one of an alcohol solvent, a ketone solvent, and an ether solvent (Yumiko 9et al., [0026]).
Re claim 8, the modification to Kaori et al. would result an average dispersed particle size of the fluoride particles is in a range of 1 nm to 100 nm (Yumiko et al., [0018]).
Re claim 9, the modification to Kaori et al. would result a content of the fluoride particles is in a range of 1 mass% to 30 mass% with respect to 100 mass% of the liquid dispersion of fluoride particles (Yumiko et al., [0027]).
Re claim 11, Kaori et al. disclose a composition for forming an optical film (see Abstract)
Re claim 12, Kaori et al. also disclose an optical film comprising a cured film of the composition for forming an optical film ([0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871